We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little bit of perfection in paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Altana Traditional Houses and Suites
Ranked #4 of 51 Hotels in Imerovigli
Certificate of Excellence
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A little bit of perfection in paradise”
Reviewed 14 January 2010

We had the good fortune of having Altana recommended to us by a friend. We stayed for 10 days and wanted to stay longer. Santorini is beautiful but the little town/village/area above Fira of Imerovigli is without a doubt the jewel in the crown and Altana Traditional Houses is diamond to which all others should aspire to be like.

It is run by a family (originally from Athens) who have built the hotel out of a delightful collection of little houses, as is the way on Santorini. It would be an insult to this stylish, but subtle, hotel to call it ‘boutique’. It is far beyond that in terms of sophistication whilst retaining a homely and personal feel.

Every room is a work of art. Ours was part house, part cave and was just the right temperate day and night. No need for the A/C that was in the room.

Staff were attentive and courteous and the owners (twin brothers and their mother) could not have been more helpful. They arranged a car for us to hire and several wonderful excursions.

We will be going back!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SueandchrisLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    280
    12
    0
    4
    2
See reviews for
45
208
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 October 2009

Marios and Christos and their lovely mother took care of our every need. I was first introduced to Altana in 1993 and had a lovely stay then. The addition of updated suites, bathrooms....the pool, fabulous. We especially loved the fantastic breakfasts complete with surprises from their family farm and mother. The brothers offered EXCELLENT recommendations and assistance with restaurants, rental car, the works. We are already planning our next trip to Santorini and other islands based on recommendations from Christos on some of the smaller remote Greek Islands. Susan, Charlotte, NC

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank foodie-travelor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pozzuoli, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2009

I would stay at Altana again in a heartbeat. If only for the amazing attention that Mario and Christos (who operate the hotel) give to every guest. It is such a unique experience to have the staff remember your name from day one, and go out of their way to make every aspect of your stay simple and provide anything you need on request. And of course the location is amazing, I think probably some of the best caldara views because of the location of the hotel in Imerovigli.
If you stay at this hotel make sure to prearranage for a dinner on your private patio. the locally sourced traditional Santorinian food that mario and chris serve is the best I had during my whole stay on the island. I really can't say anymore about how amazing our stay was at Altana.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JRB23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lgbulldogs
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 August 2009

The Altana was a dream come true for our honeymoon. From the moment we arrived, the twin brothers (Mario and Cristos) took great care of us. The room was very nice and the staff would get you anything you needed. The mini bar was very reasonably priced. The brothers were very attentive to their customers. They went out of our way to make our stay special. Our ferry to Crete was cancelled and we ended up staying with them an extra day. The ferry was off and on three times They coordinated all of the changes and all we had to do was sit back and enjoy ourselves. We did not have much time prior to arriving to research the island but the brothers provided great recommendations for food and excursions around the island. The staff made our reservations for dinner and also for a rental car. Everything was perfect. They went the extra mile to make sure we had a great stay. The location of the hotel was great because it is only a 20 minute or so walk to the capital town of Fira but it is far enough away that it is quiet. There is a great traditional greek restaurant (Tavern Imerovigli) only a few minutes walk away with amazing food. We had saganaki and greek salad too many times because it was so good. The Altana was a great place to stay. We did not want to leave.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lgbulldogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 July 2009

The Altana hotel is one of the truly great places this well traveled person has ever been to. The owners are attentive to your particular needs, the rooms are beautiful, the facilities are perfect and the view from your front door is breathtaking. If you are going to Santorini, staying at the Altana is a must!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank totti1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel Altana for three nights in Santorini. We never wanted to leave! The hotel views are breathtaking. Our room was out of a storybook. Everything was beautiful Marios, Christos and Sonya where the most amazing hosts. We had gotten a frommers guide but found that is was not that useful for Greece. Christos provided us with a map of the island and highlighted areas for us to visit. he was spot on! Every where he suggested was amazing. He let us know it was worth the climb to the swimming area in Oio and even gave us names of restaurants. They also sent us to the Domain Sigalli (sp?) vineyard. Amazing! Fabulous wine and beautiful vineyard.

I am convinced the Pool provides the best views of the sunset on all of the island. You are at the top and you watch the moon rise as the sun sets!

Besides the rooms the hotel has a little setting area in what was once a 1700's pub. Breakfast was lovely and we tried some fun cocktails made with fresh island ingredants. We learned about the history of the hotel and the area. It is so obvious that they love what they do ... and they pass the love on to their guest. We would go back in heartbeat!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karnoldnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2009

Every year, i chose to spend a few days in Santorini. After having stayed in quite a few hotels, i decided - some 5 years ago - that Altana is THE place for me to stay. Situated at the highest point of Imerovigli, it offers breathtaking views and the most private jacuzzi pool in the village (everyone who passes by cannot help but notice and envy it!) with view to both sides of the island, not to mention that it is ideal for those not too keen on climbing steps! The family that owns the hotel are always very welcoming and serving, always trying to do their best to satisfy all of our requests. The hotel's recent renovation has made it even more beautiful and has significately upgraded the rooms (at least, the one we are staying in every time we visit). Everyone says that Santorini gets very crowded and has a wild night life....well, for me, Santorini is my relaxing spot and my Altana room is my sanctuary. My partner and I find it the perfect place to rediscover ourselves and relax. Mario and Christo thank you again for everything! I hope that i will keep coming for many many more years...

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dgal76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Imerovigli
0.2 mi away
Pegasus Suites & Spa
Pegasus Suites & Spa
#17 of 51 in Imerovigli
293 reviews
0.1 mi away
Iconic Santorini, a boutique cave hotel
0.1 mi away
Iliovasilema Suites
Iliovasilema Suites
#21 of 51 in Imerovigli
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kapari Natural Resort
Kapari Natural Resort
#10 of 51 in Imerovigli
476 reviews
0.0 mi away
Honeymoon Petra Villas
Honeymoon Petra Villas
#14 of 51 in Imerovigli
421 reviews
2.9 mi away
Petit Palace Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Altana Traditional Houses and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Altana Traditional Houses and Suites

Property: Altana Traditional Houses and Suites
Address: Imerovigli 84700, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Imerovigli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Imerovigli
#4 Family Hotel in Imerovigli
#5 Romantic Hotel in Imerovigli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Altana Traditional Houses and Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This charming boutique hotel brings centuries-old style, history and hospitality luxuriously to life at the highest point of Santorini’s breathtaking volcanic Caldera, in Imerovigli. The restoration project of a Traditional Mansion owned by a family of generations of Captains that began in 1979 established Altana Hotel in 1983 as the first high standard guest house in the area of Imerovigli and certainly among the first on the Santorinian Caldera. This historical building complex dating back over a century, between 1779 and 1883 has been preserved, restored and renovated to meet the highest standards of modern luxury. The 6 apartments and 8 suites at Altana, each unique, blend traditional local architecture and aesthetics with modern amenities that tastefully cater for any true traveler's comfort. A unique sensitivity to detail and restored original objects revive the simple elegance of tradition and pay homage to the history of the mansion. A deeply personal service philosophy offers a unique hospitality experience in a setting surrounded by an endless horizon of blue in a bird’s eye view of the Santorinian Caldera, the Volcano, and the whole of the Southern Aegean Sea, including the neighboring islands. Enjoy a dip under the sun in the highest swimming pool on the island and feel free against the sea breeze. Lose your breath to the vibrant sunrises and mystical sunsets from your private veranda. Relax in your suite’s private Jacuzzi pool or rejuvenate your mind and body with a plethora of massage, yoga, chi-kung and beauty treatments. Enjoy homemade breakfast till noon or experiment with local homemade delicacies, sweets and wine-tasting at ‘Kafeneion’, our preserved cave-house bistro. Sample a world of gastronomy with our cooking lessons, gourmet degustation & private candle-lit dinner experiences, which incorporate our own organically grown produce straight from the volcanic soil of the Altana farm. Savor the atmosphere of relaxation and discovery that will inspire some of the most romantic and exciting moments of your life. Dive into the magic of something old and discover something new...welcome to Altana, let us immerse you into the magic of Santorini. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Cancelon so you can book your Altana Traditional Houses and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Altana Traditional Houses Hotel Imerovigli
Altana Traditional Hotel
Hotel Altana Traditional
Altana Traditional Houses And Suites Santorini/Imerovigli

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing