We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“loved it.......”
Review of Astra Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Astra Suites
Ranked #5 of 48 Hotels in Imerovigli
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“loved it.......”
Reviewed 10 August 2011

This was our first time in Santorini and we were delighted with our choice of hotel.
Location is great,, beautiful surroundings and wonderful staff.
We loved having our breakfast delivered to our room (food is very good) and being able to enjoy it from our deck while appreciating the spectacular view of the caldera!
We just wish we could have stayed on a little longer. Thank you George for a wonderful and memorable stay!.

M. Da Silva
Montreal, Canada

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mary d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,362 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,270
    66
    14
    8
    4
See reviews for
182
937
14
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2011

I stayed here with a friend mid-July for two nights and it was the most magical places on earth. The sunset was SPECTACULAR. It is literally the most beautiful place on earth to sip cocktails by a pool and enjoy the view.
The service was sublime. George (the manager) upgraded us from a senior suite to a superior one for free! Can't get better than that :) The continental breakfast was also delicious - They hand you a form to fill out asking what you'd like for breakfast the following morning with about 20 options to choose from. You can pick as many things as you like and it arrives whatever time you like! Coffees, fruit salad, eggs, bacon, cereal juices, you name it! Such lovely and friendly staff as well who are always so willing to help.
The location is also probably the best in Santorini. You are basically just north of the middle of the island and travelling anywhere on scooters takes no longer than 20 minutes.
I will not be staying at another place in Santorini again. I got lucky the first time and I'll be here over and over again, many more holidays to come. Thank-you guys!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wild_nothing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2011

Astra Suites exceeds it's online ratings and descriptions (if that is even possible!). It is a spectacular property! We spent 4 nights in a junior suite and cannot wait to go back. The suite was very clean and comfortable. The kitchenette was a bit of a disappointment as I suffer from allergies and wanted the convenience of preparing my own food, but when I was contacted to discuss alternatives and presented with wonderful options that disappointment was soon forgotten. The only other uncomfortable moment was when we discovered that we could not have a late checkout and the room that was provided for storing luggage/showering was shared with a number of other guests.
The infinity pool overlooking the volcano is heavenly and the sunsets spectacular. The walk into town is also beautiful. George provided perfect guidance and a personal touch as to what to see and do. If you are going to Santorini, this is the postcard perfect place to stat for an unforgettable holiday. We will return.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StephenandKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saratov, Russia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2011

It was our honeymoon trip and it couldn't be better. Astra is just the perfect place for a romantic stay. The room built in solid rock was nice, with kitchenette and WiFi. Like a comfortable cave with high arched ceiling and all facilities.

We we lucky to have an amazing private terrace where we had breakfast with unbelievable view on caldera. Those Santorini views, you will never forget them!

The pool area is great, gotta see the pictures to get the excitement. Once you there you will never want to leave. In the poolbar - probably the best mojito I've ever had. Too bad barman "uncle Chris" has probably already left for Canada as he intended :(

Staff is great, friendly and professional. There was just that serbian waiter at the restaurant who was a bit snippy, but we could deal with it.

Guests are mostly Americans, middle-aged and older. We've met some nice old couples celebrating their 40th anniversary on Santorini. We've seen no kids in the hotel - they were either not allowed or it was just our luck :).

The hotel is rather expensive but it's well worth it. Great place, great atmosphere, great staff but mostly it's THE VIEW that counts.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a private terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MyxuH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2011

Astra in Santorini was like a VIP section in heaven on earth! As newly-weds on our honeymoon, my wife and I had read some great reviews of this place and it was also highly recommended by our travel agent. Truth be said, Astra delivers more than everything you've heard about it!

We booked the Honeymoon Suite for 4 nights and were thoroughly delighted when we arrived there. The view from the balcony is surreal and the private jacuzzi was the cherry on top! My wife even did a little "happy dance" after our friendly luggage boy left our room!

For the first 2 days, Astra provided us with a complimentary bottle of white wine or champagne with strawberries and chocolates. The room was spacious, tastefully furnished and apt for a place like Santorini. The bathroom was minimalistic, yet extremely appealing!

What set Astra apart from all the other hotels we stayed in on our 3-week honeymoon was the friendly, loving and genuine hospitality from the entire staff of Astra. From helping us book ATVs to get around Santorini to loaning us DVDs to watch to serving the most beautiful breakfast in our rooms every morning, the staff at Astra overwhelmed us.

We highly recommend this place to all couples, even if not on their honeymoon. It is also a great place for families with young children!

Room Tip: The Honeymoon Suite is what couples want! Its worth every Euro spent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AbhiAni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 August 2011

This is a great hotel in Santorini and one of my favourite places to stay in the world. This was our 3rd visit to Astra over about 12 years. First time with our 2 children.
My wife and I love the rooms the design and location very much with breathtaking views over the island's caldera.
I real Greek island experience.
George and his staff are A1 and do everything they can to make the stay memorable.
Thats why we go back.
Peter and Sia Kelly

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PNKJakarta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2011

My mother and I stayed at Astra Suites for 4 nights as part of our self guided Greek Island tour. This hotel is exceptional! We stayed in a honeymoon suite as it was all the had available but they ensured that it wasn't couple-y, just a wonderful suite! We were met by the general manager upon arrival and he seemed genuinely excited to have us visiting their hotel. One of the hotel staff extensively reviewed the area of Imerovigli, restaurants, things to do, how to use the bus, how to get a taxi, and how to walk to Firastefani and Fira.

The room had a jacuzzi tub on the balcony but tucked a bit out of public view which was a great way to relax in the evenings because it still gets a bit chilly. It would also be nice for couples. It also had a very charming living area, kitchenette, and enormous bathroom! The hotel offers breakfast which you order the evening before and pick your time for delivery. They call about 10 minutes ahead to make sure you're ready. Great menu choices and everything was delicious! It was even more amazing to be sitting at your patio watching the beautiful seascape! They also have THE BEST sunset views. I don't know why people insist on Oia for sunsets. We saw one there and it IS beautiful, but why watch there when you can sit on your balcony with a glass of wine? Bliss! We ate at their restaurant for sunset one evening and it was very good with exceptional service.

We made the walk to Fira twice. It's a solid 40-45 minutes and I wouldn't recommend it during peak sun time hours because there's no shade and it's hot as heck, but we went late afternoon and came back after sunset and it was very pleasant.

The hotel staff are incredibly helpful and very respectful. I was sick one day due to too much sunshine and they were all genuinely concerned! They brought me a bread basket for my upset stomach, extra water (only bottled for drinking on the island) and almost everyone stopped me the next day to make sure I was okay. So charming!

This was by far the best experience of our island tour and I can't recommend this hotel enough. My husband will be coming with me for my next Greece trip and this hotel is on our MUST do list. This hotel fulfilled every one of my expectations for an all white building tucked into the caldera with excellent views and privacy. This hotel embodies Santorini in everything it does.

Room Tip: Check out their online map of rooms - very helpful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beth_kristen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Imerovigli
0.4 mi away
Pegasus Suites & Spa
Pegasus Suites & Spa
#14 of 48 in Imerovigli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
1.6 mi away
San Antonio Suites
San Antonio Suites
#10 of 48 in Imerovigli
5.0 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chromata Hotel
Chromata Hotel
#11 of 48 in Imerovigli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Rocabella Santorini Resort & Spa
2.9 mi away
Katikies Hotel
Katikies Hotel
#7 of 55 in Oia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 908 reviews
0.2 mi away
Iconic Santorini, a boutique cave hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astra Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astra Suites

Property: Astra Suites
Address: PO Box 45, Imerovigli 847 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Imerovigli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Imerovigli
#2 Romantic Hotel in Imerovigli
#3 Luxury Hotel in Imerovigli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Astra Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built at the highest point of Santorini’s steep cliffs at the legendary caldera, the Astra Suites complex enjoys the privilege of a magical panoramic view to the caldera and the immense Aegean Sea. It is the place where everything and everybody “conspire” to make you feel a VIP during your vacations. Twenty seven sumptuous Suites decorated in Cycladic style and 8 tempting suites with jacuzzi and private swimming pool welcome you to a hospitable environment where the discreet service of each individual guest is the complex’s basic instinct, and the protection of his private moments constitutes the staff’s basic priority. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Bookgreece.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Astra Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astra Hotel Imerovigli
Astra Apartments Hotel
Astra Apartments Imerovigli
Astra Apartments Santorini
Astra Suites Santorini/Imerovigli

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing