We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best hotel experience of my life”
Review of Astra Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Astra Suites
Ranked #4 of 48 Hotels in Imerovigli
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best hotel experience of my life”
Reviewed 21 August 2011

My brother and I spent two nights on Santorini and stayed at the Astra suites. First, the service at this place is second to none. George gave us a fantastic introduction to the island and Astra, and the other staff was wonderful. It's not just that the staff are helpful -- everyone is super friendly, very genuine, and goes out of their way to help with you anything you need. My brother and I decided at 11pm that we wanted to rent an ATV for the next day, and so we went to the reception and the staff person showed us a book with pictures of different ATVs. She talked to us about the different options, we picked one, and then within minutes she had arranged for that very model to be delivered to the hotel the next morning. This is just one example of how she and all of the rest of the staff were so knowledgeable and accommodating.

The restaurant's food was terrific, the view was amazing, and the staff -- like everyone else at hotel -- was extremely friendly and professional. Top-notch folks.

The view from the balcony of our room was breathtaking. They serve you breakfast on your balcony each morning (you fill out a card the night before saying what exactly you want and what time you want it delivered), and you have an amazing view of the caldera while you enjoy your breakfast.

Calling this place a hotel does not do it justice. This is fantastic operation, and there are so many small details that make this place so much better than any place I've ever stayed. I know this review has been filled with superlatives, but I truly have nothing negative to say. Bring your friends, family, spouse, partner, whoever -- this is a special place.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Daniel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,359 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,267
    66
    14
    8
    4
See reviews for
182
934
14
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 August 2011

Astra will remain one of THE best places to stay we have ever been. Santorini and Astra proved the perfect setting for me to propose to my girlfriend, and 'the lady, she say YES?!!!'

George, Helen and everyone else at the hotel looked after us. It was all the little touches that made it for us, from the surprise strawberries and champagne, to being able to have dinner on our balcony. It all made for a very restful and beautiful break for us both. We will be happily recommending Astra to anyone that will listen?!!

The views are incredible and the memories we will hold dear. Hopefully we get to go back one day!!

Room Tip: the cliff walk from Astra to Fira is a good 40 minutes gentle stroll - worth it for the views though...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iamspent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redding, California
1 review
Reviewed 19 August 2011

The beauty and comfort is almost indescribable, our stay far exceeded every expectation we had. The staff and operation of the facility is absolute perfection, at every level, and their genuine interest in attending to whatever we needed allowed us be relaxed every minute we were there, and made our stay at Astra Suites a trip of a lifetime, one we will never forget, from breakfasts delivered each morning on our room patio overlooking the Caldera, to excellent roof top Dinners with the best direct view on the spectacular Santorini sunsets on the Island. The most difficult part of our stay, is figuring out "how to get back"!

Room Tip: reserve early
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 August 2011

my spouse and i spent a week in paradise here at the astra suites. we were looking to get away to a private, secluded sort of place for a belated honeymoon... and that's just what we got. the staff could not have been more respectful, kind, and accommodating!
for example, when we found that our ipads were not working (internet-wise), george graciously suggested that we use one of his laptops for our stay (which we did). the view from our balcony was so gorgeous, and the food so wonderful, that we ate breakfast and dinner on the balcony every day of our stay.....we appreciate privacy so it was wonderful that we received a phone call asking if it was ok for a staff member to come to the room (whether it be room service or housekeeping or evening turn-down service). even with an ATV crash and a subsequent visit to the fira hospital for stitches, our stay at the astra made this, by far, the best trip i've ever experienced! (and i've done a lot of traveling)......one suggestion: be prepared for a lot of walking......work out on a
stair climber before you go!!!

Room Tip: put in your question early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robyn z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2011

My wife and I decided to go "island hopping" in Greece for our honeymoon. We visited three islands, Crete, Santorini and Mykonos. We realized that we could have stayed in Santorini only and take a boat to visit another island(s) for a day...

Anyways, Astra Suites stood out from all the competitors. This hotel located on an edge of a cliff directly across from the caldera, volcano and the famous sunset (which you can watch at the privacy of your room). George and the rest of his staff were very informative, professional and patient in providing us with anything we needed. We only ate once at the restaurant and the food tasted delicious. We had a pool suite which allowed us to have a romantic dinner by the pool looking at the sunset. We even had a 30 min photo shoot session with a photographer. (you can ask the hotel staff about scheduling a session if you would like a day or two in advance). The place and rooms are spic and span, the food is very fresh and the quality of service is unbeatable. This place deserves a five star rating as it's by far more superior than the other five star resorts i stayed at during my trip.
Thank you George, Jason and the rest of the staff for making this a wonderful experience for me and my wife. Hope to see you again.

Room Tip: The Pool Suite is perfect for honeymooners or couples. Private, perfect water temp. Can have your ow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jack m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2011

This was our first time in Santorini and we were delighted with our choice of hotel.
Location is great,, beautiful surroundings and wonderful staff.
We loved having our breakfast delivered to our room (food is very good) and being able to enjoy it from our deck while appreciating the spectacular view of the caldera!
We just wish we could have stayed on a little longer. Thank you George for a wonderful and memorable stay!.

M. Da Silva
Montreal, Canada

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mary d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2011

I stayed here with a friend mid-July for two nights and it was the most magical places on earth. The sunset was SPECTACULAR. It is literally the most beautiful place on earth to sip cocktails by a pool and enjoy the view.
The service was sublime. George (the manager) upgraded us from a senior suite to a superior one for free! Can't get better than that :) The continental breakfast was also delicious - They hand you a form to fill out asking what you'd like for breakfast the following morning with about 20 options to choose from. You can pick as many things as you like and it arrives whatever time you like! Coffees, fruit salad, eggs, bacon, cereal juices, you name it! Such lovely and friendly staff as well who are always so willing to help.
The location is also probably the best in Santorini. You are basically just north of the middle of the island and travelling anywhere on scooters takes no longer than 20 minutes.
I will not be staying at another place in Santorini again. I got lucky the first time and I'll be here over and over again, many more holidays to come. Thank-you guys!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wild_nothing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Imerovigli
0.4 mi away
Pegasus Suites & Spa
Pegasus Suites & Spa
#14 of 48 in Imerovigli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
1.6 mi away
San Antonio Suites
San Antonio Suites
#10 of 48 in Imerovigli
5.0 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chromata Hotel
Chromata Hotel
#11 of 48 in Imerovigli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Rocabella Santorini Resort & Spa
2.9 mi away
Katikies Hotel
Katikies Hotel
#7 of 55 in Oia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 907 reviews
0.2 mi away
Iconic Santorini, a boutique cave hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astra Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astra Suites

Property: Astra Suites
Address: PO Box 45, Imerovigli 847 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Imerovigli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Imerovigli
#2 Luxury Hotel in Imerovigli
#2 Romantic Hotel in Imerovigli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Astra Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built at the highest point of Santorini’s steep cliffs at the legendary caldera, the Astra Suites complex enjoys the privilege of a magical panoramic view to the caldera and the immense Aegean Sea. It is the place where everything and everybody “conspire” to make you feel a VIP during your vacations. Twenty seven sumptuous Suites decorated in Cycladic style and 8 tempting suites with jacuzzi and private swimming pool welcome you to a hospitable environment where the discreet service of each individual guest is the complex’s basic instinct, and the protection of his private moments constitutes the staff’s basic priority. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Bookgreece.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Astra Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astra Hotel Imerovigli
Astra Apartments Hotel
Astra Apartments Imerovigli
Astra Apartments Santorini
Astra Suites Santorini/Imerovigli

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing