We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Astra Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Astra Suites
Ranked #4 of 48 Hotels in Imerovigli
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Superb hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

We are just back from three amazing nights at Astra - having been keen to return since our first visit several years ago. This hotel totally lives up to the hype; stunning views, great food, attentive staff and excellent customer service all round. I cannot recommend this hotel enough....

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NickyAlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,334 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,243
    65
    14
    8
    4
See reviews for
180
912
14
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
houston, texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2012

We stayed at Astra suites for our wedding and the beginning of a Greek island vacation. We read great things about the small hotel's manager and George did live up to the hype. We got very personalized attention from staff that was always willing to go the extra mile. We didn't get our luggage in Athens and the Astra staff made the calls to make sure our luggage made it to us. We ran into a problem with billing at the hotel and George went out of his way to correct it. I believe the rooms range from simple to more luxery chic, depending on the category. It may be worth the upgrade if you are looking for a more fancy room. We were gifted an upgrade for our wedding night by George and the pool suite is very impressive. However, the draw of the hotel is the awesome view and it does come with the cost of climbing stairs. We are fit and found it to be a task to climb but the view was worth the hike, and it was a great way to work off the delicious food! I'm sure any of the local hotels would require the same hike because the various hotels are mixed in together, as the rooms next to us were a different hotel and above us another different hotel. We found the walk into Fira an easy 25 min beautiful journey or 5 or 6 euro for a cab. We rented a quad for 30 euro one day to explore more of Santorini and enjoyed that. Our favorite part of the trip was the breakfast on your veranda, the view is really heavenly and the food was delicious.....that is an awesome way to start your day! The hotel staff has even been in contact with us since we left to make sure the rest of our trip through Greece was going well. The individualized attention really made us feel special, we will be back.

Room Tip: If you are concerned about the stair hike, consider asking for a lower room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrytic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2012

Astra Suites was a perfect place to stay in Santorini. The hotel is beautiful and wonderfully maintained. It is located along a wonderful, quiet part of the caldera. The service is above and beyond what you can imagine. We were lucky to get a free upgrade to a suite when we got there. Whenever we told people on the island we were staying at Astra, we got approving nods and effusive praise from them, further validating our experience.

Imerovigli is a smaller city so you get a beautiful place at a more reasonable price, as compared to the top places in Oia or Fira. It is a short cliffside walk to Fira town which is the main village, meaning 30 min at a normal pace, 40 if you are taking your time. While you're walking, the walk north along the water to Oia was unforgettable.

Our only personal drawback was that you're not going to be able to stroll out of your room and look left and right and see a city lit up at night, like the pictures you'll see online of Oia at night. We went to Oia one night for the sunset and one could stroll around at night afterwards. Fira is congested and doesn't have a great cliff side. So if you want that, Oia is the only place to book. Or just go there one night which is fine.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 101 which was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rackd8ball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2012

We stayed at the Astra for 4 nights - and it was great experience. The service was amazing - the staff was attentive but gave you privacy. They made it seem effortless! They never dominated the experience yet the moment you wanted something they would help you - fresh towels, cars, scooters, glass of wine poolside - getting the umbrella to stay up...they were there. Plus the food and drink were fantastic- there was a great bottle of white Santorini wine in the refrigerator when we arrived (complimentary). There was a delicious breakfasts - every thing was so fresh - the omeletes with great feta and olives, and great bread and croissants. Coffee was perfect (important note). And you never had to wait to be served... you almost felt like once you asked for something to eat or drink - they were behind the scenes running - trying to get it to you as soon as possible. Also, the rooms are really kind of cool and a little hip with great colors and fabrics, beautiful tile and very greek island white walls. The pool is refreshing and big enough for laps.

In Santorini any hotel that sits on the caldera has a great view - but you feel after staying at Santorini that you are in an oasis of luxury and privacy.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sara e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2012

My wife and I spent four days at Astra Suites after a week of sailing (in a 46 foot yacht with 8 people). It was a welcome retreat with a beautiful view of the caldera. We celebrated our anniversary at Astra Suite and the staff went out of their way to make the occasion special. While we visited a number of restaurants in Santorini, our best meals by far were at Astra Suites' restaurant. The staff was exceptional, the accommodations delightful. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Friendly_Hitch_Hiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

We stayed in Astra for 5 nights and really enjoyed this lovely hotel. Every single member of staff were friendly and helpful and they do go out of their way to make your holiday great.
Nothing seemed to be too much trouble.
The room itself was well-equipped and clean but I have to say I really didn't like our bathroom - It was dark blue and very badly lit (coming in from the bright sun you could barely see with the door closed) really very small and after one shower the place was soggy and rather unpleasant.
The good thing about our room was the very comfortable bed and the terrace with two sunloungers. Still, if I went back I would not choose to stay in the same room.

The food overall was very nice but, personally, I wasn't so thrilled by the breakfast idea. You get a card the night before and choose what you will have the next morning and at what time. I know that having breakfast in your room (or on your terrace) is a big selling point but personally I prefer the idea of deciding, when I get up, what time to have breakfast and what I feel like having at the time. I also prefer to leave my room for breakfast but, again, this is just a small thing. The weather was terrible the first two days of our stay so we had to eat in our room (a junior suite) which wasn't so great and I was thinking it was a pity that there was no indoor (or sheltered) restaurant in the property but I'm sure that for 90% of the time this isn't an issue as the weather is generally fantastic!
The lunches and one dinner we ate in Astra were delicious.

Room Tip: Jnr Suite 102 - not great bathroom but nice terrace with sunloungers
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank awcDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AstraSuites, General Manager at Astra Suites, responded to this review, 4 June 2012
Thank you so much for the opportunity to address the experiences you mention regarding your stay. First of all, we’re so happy to hear that despite the unusually lousy weather, you were able to enjoy your stay here in Santorini with us as best you could! As you mention, such weather is rare in Greece, and when it does happen, it can be unusually disruptive as so much of the island lifestyle takes place outside, as most visitors wouldn’t want it any other way and it’s precisely what they come here for.
For this reason, most dining establishments in Santorini, including ours, are designed to be enjoyed outdoors and the very limited space on the caldera cliffs of Santorini makes it difficult to maintain an indoor dining room as well, which would be very rarely used as a rule. For this reason, even our gourmet restaurant menu can be served in your suite should there be that rare inclement weather, as you experienced, and we’re sorry for that. Likewise, our guests overwhelmingly enjoy their breakfasts served individually outside on their balcony or privately in their suite, in fact we have some repeat guests for which this is one of the main reasons they return! Please know however, that if the weather had been more favorable, we would have been more than happy to serve you your breakfast at the restaurant or pool side, since you prefer to “go out” for breakfast, and it is not mandatory to order in advance, we only do this as a service to our guests to make it easier when they wake up to not have to worry about it first thing. As you mentioned, we do pride ourselves on our personalized service, so whatever you request, we would always do our best for you, so please next time, just let us know how to better serve you your meals while you are here. We are pleased to hear you did enjoy the quality of your food.

We also understand that proper lighting is an important issue, and just to clarify a bit, we have employed the use of environmentally friendly lighting in parts of the hotel, and these lights come on gradually at first and brighten after several minutes, the theory being that this method of gradually released electrical current saves energy. And this probably led to the issue you had when you initially entered the bathroom, especially from the bright sunshine. However we have noted your valuable observations and will definitely take them into consideration regarding our newly acquired lighting mechanisms. Regarding the size of your bathroom, please note that the Junior Suites do not have as large a bathroom as some of our higher categories, and if bathroom size is important to you, we will be happy to assist you next time with an accommodation which features a more oversized bathroom more suitable to your needs and wishes.

We thank you again for your thoughtful feedback. Positive or not so positive, it is always invaluable for us to assess our hotel and services to best meet the needs of our valued guests. And we certainly do look forward to welcoming you another time with more pleasant weather!

Sincerely,
George Karayiannis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mykonos, Greece
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

A must read, guaranteed!!! We were due to spend our honeymoon period here for 3 nights after Prague. However, we had a major hiccup in Milan, on transit to Athens, and our bags were delayed for 3 days, which is not uncommon for Milan airport. I won't bore you with all the positive comments others have said already about George (manager) and all his friendly and helpful team, at your service. Because the other excellent reviews are proof of this. What I will say is how George and his team went above and beyond their call of duty to help us find our bags. On arrival, George had arranged for some necessities for us, such as toothpaste, toothbrush and shavers, which was a special touch. The next day, we discovered that his staff members had been following up with the Athens airport to find out updates throughout the day. The front desk staff showed us where to get a few changes of clothes in town. We made the most of our stay, and while they told us to relax and enjoy our stay, they chased up on info and updates on our behalf. This was totally unexpected and comforting to know. They even found chargers for our phone and laptop, and one of the girls offered to bring a hair straightener from home for my wife. Their breakfast was really yummy too, which they bring straight to your room or balcony. My wife loved the omelette and croissants, so they brought extra croissants for her on request. The views were spectacular, and like George said, the views of the sunset is stunning, so there's no need to go anywhere else and be cramped up with tourists. Especially enjoying the sunset by the infinity pool, and kick back a few drinks at the pool bar. Ask the barman, Chris, to make you a Diablo. He's very friendly and likes to have a laid back chat. The staff can also arrange for ATVs (quad bike) & cars rentals if need be. We hired a quad bike and went exploring around the island. We really enjoyed our experience, and they really made our stay memorable despite having only a few clothes. If you are ever in Santorini, we couldn't recommend Astra highly enough. We would definitely be back to the Greek Islands, and would never consider any other alternatives. Superb work George and staff. Special mention also to Valentina, Helen & Popi for their assistance throughout in locating our bags. Keep up the good work and we'll see you again on our next visit.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BD79ers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AstraSuites, General Manager at Astra Suites, responded to this review, 4 June 2012
First of all, may I say we are all just so thrilled to hear that, despite your unfortunate travel woes, you were both still able and willing to have a wonderful stay in Santorini with us! We at ASTRA Suites do understand that sometimes the “joys of travel” are not always so joyful, which is why we considered it a privilege to be able to assist you with your lost luggage, and to not let it become too overwhelming for you when you’re just trying to have a relaxing vacation! Of course we all love to travel too, so we get it, and we just try to treat our guests with the same level of care and service we would hope to receive ourselves should the situation ever be reversed. We would just hate for something like this to spoil your holidays, and so it’s the least we could do, and we did it with great pleasure, no thanks required! However on behalf of all the staff, I do thank you for all your kind comments in spite of your luggage inconvenience, and we will be most honored to have you as our guests again soon!

George Karayiannis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Imerovigli
0.4 mi away
Pegasus Suites & Spa
Pegasus Suites & Spa
#14 of 48 in Imerovigli
5.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
1.6 mi away
San Antonio Suites
San Antonio Suites
#11 of 48 in Imerovigli
5.0 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chromata Hotel
Chromata Hotel
#12 of 48 in Imerovigli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Rocabella Santorini Resort & Spa
2.9 mi away
Katikies Hotel
Katikies Hotel
#8 of 54 in Oia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 900 reviews
0.2 mi away
Iconic Santorini, a boutique cave hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astra Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astra Suites

Property: Astra Suites
Address: PO Box 45, Imerovigli 847 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Imerovigli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Imerovigli
#2 Romantic Hotel in Imerovigli
#3 Luxury Hotel in Imerovigli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Astra Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built at the highest point of Santorini’s steep cliffs at the legendary caldera, the Astra Suites complex enjoys the privilege of a magical panoramic view to the caldera and the immense Aegean Sea. It is the place where everything and everybody “conspire” to make you feel a VIP during your vacations. Twenty seven sumptuous Suites decorated in Cycladic style and 8 tempting suites with jacuzzi and private swimming pool welcome you to a hospitable environment where the discreet service of each individual guest is the complex’s basic instinct, and the protection of his private moments constitutes the staff’s basic priority. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Bookgreece.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Astra Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astra Hotel Imerovigli
Astra Apartments Hotel
Astra Apartments Imerovigli
Astra Apartments Santorini
Astra Suites Santorini/Imerovigli

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing