We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Look no further.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Astra Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Astra Suites
Ranked #4 of 48 Hotels in Imerovigli
Certificate of Excellence
Slc
Level Contributor
52 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Look no further.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2012

This place is perfect. The views are miraculous, service is amazing.The breakfasts on your balcony will make you feel like royalty. We hiked and went to museums and wineries, took the sunset cruise...but you could have a dream vacation just staying put at the Astra.I can't imagine staying anywhere else on the island.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,334 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,243
    65
    14
    8
    4
See reviews for
180
912
14
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

My stay at the Atra Suites was an escape to paradise, the best hotel experience I ever had in my life, significantly more so. Astra Suites is not a hotel, it is an all encompassing experience. First they have the most gorgeous location to set up the atmosphere, I could not stop drinking in the views, the highlight being the sunset and the caldera in late afternoon hours. The best view of Santorini was from Astra Suites. While the hotel has this view going for it, its staff go above and beyond and out of their way to make this the best experience possible for you. Every little detail in the hotel is well thought of, the rooms are gorgeous, the breakfast, served to your porch, is tasty and plentiful, the poolside sandwiches and drinks are fantastic. Most of all, the staff make sure you enjoy every part of your Santorini vacation. They give you valuable advice of where to go, where to eat, what tours to take. They only work with the very best, first rate customer service, and every tip they generously give out is spot on. Being at the hotel was an incredible experience and the staff made sure that every excursion outside the hotel was well worth it and enjoyable too. The staff is very generous, on the last night a "pool suite" was available and they surprised us with an upgrade. A palace is a better description than a suite. It was such a treat and wonderful way to spend our last night there. I would like to thank the entire staff at Astra Suites for making this my most memorable vacation ever. If you are going to splurge once and treat yourself to an expensive hotel, this would be it. It is money well spent.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peerster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2012

"Perfection" -> per·fec·tion /pərˈfekSHən/

1.The condition, state, or quality of being free or as free as possible from all flaws or defects.
2.A person or thing perceived as the embodiment of such a condition, state, or quality."

If you wish something less, then that is not the option for you..

Had the best time, the best service, the best view..

Thanks for everything

Savas

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JustChillinBabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2012

My husband and I stayed at Astra Suites for 2 nights, (on a short weekend break to Santorini), and had the most incredible time. We enjoy small, private, boutique hotels, therefore Astra Suites was perfect for us.

Upon arrival, we were greeted with a very generous upgrade to a junior suite, which we hugely appreciated. The suite was stunning; spotlessly clean, brilliantly located and with a balcony that was open, but also provided a good amount of privacy.

Simply put, the view from our balcony was the most amazing landscape we had ever seen, (made even more so from knowing we were staying on the rim of a volcano). Watching the sunset, with the complimentary Santorini wine, was the perfect way to start the holiday, (and the breakfasts which were delivered every morning to the balcony were a real luxurious treat).

What really stood out to us both was the quality and enthusiasm of the staff. Not only did they anticipate and cater for our every request, they seemed truly happy to do so – in particular, the waiter who served us both nights at the hotel’s restaurant. He was genuinely interested in both what we had to say, and our menu choices, which created a brilliant atmosphere. (So much so, that we immediately chose to return to the restaurant on our second, and last, night on the island.)

All other staff we came in contact with were equally as excellent – I don’t think I’ve ever seen such genuine enthusiasm for customer service before. The welcome we got at reception, the informative introduction to the island and hotel (delivered privately in our suite), and the service received at the bar (a brilliant night of cocktails as the sun went down!) were all outstanding.

We travelled to/from Santorini by ferry, and can highly recommend Astra Suites’ private transfer service from the port to the hotel. Our driver was waiting at the port to take us directly to the hotel, and upon return we received the same level of prompt service (not having to wait for other passengers, or make stops at other hotels).

We would not hesitate for a second in recommending this hotel – and already have done so, to all our family and friends, who also enjoy travelling. On arriving at the island my husband and I both thought this would be a one-off trip, (as we enjoy exploring different places and countries, rather than returning), but both of us now would love to return to Santorini. We were both stunned by the sheer beauty of the island (and Astra Suites’s grounds), and the level of hospitality received at the hotel.

Our 2 nights was a very short stay, and after talking to the hotel staff we know there would be enough activities to span an entire week. (As it was, we couldn’t bear to leave the hotel grounds!) And if we do return to the island, there is no doubt we will be going to Astra Suites.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmmaRen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2012

We chose Astra Suites because they were one of the few nicer properties on the cliff that would accept children, and based on the stellar reviews on Tripadvisor as well as Fodors.

We booked a Junior Suite for our family of three but found that the room was a bit small for us and that there was little privacy. The porch was right off the walkway to the pool. We requested another room, but unfortunately, the hotel was fully booked at the time. We were, however, offered a Honeymoon Suite on our last night at no additional charge.

Having stayed at some very exclusive 5 star properties, such as the Aman, One and Only, Six Senses and Banyan Tree, I would peg the Astra Suites as a 4 star boutique hotel rather than a 5 star based on the floor space and amount of money that appeared to be spent on each room. Additionally, the Honeymoon Suite is much closer to a 5 star experience than the Junior Suite. Look carefully at their website and liase with the hotel to book the room that would best suit your needs and preferences to avoid disappointment.

We enjoyed our stay immensely. The views were spectacular and breakfast and dinner was good. The personalized service from George, mentioned in many reviews, did also make a difference. I especially appreciated his "insider information" on the restaurants and activities on Santorini.

Room Tip: Each room is different in decor, view and privacy. So look carefully at the website and liase with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 3LittleBeachBums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

I was there last weekend with my husband , it's heaven on earth ! The staff were great , they helped a lot advising us to go to the best restaurants and beaches ! The view from the hotel is by far the best in all santorini even better then Oia!
Plus, we did a massage w a Greek woman 'Dipika' it was the best massage experience ever coming from a person who did more than 30 massages in different countries !!!! It's a must !!!!
Thanks to all the team , George , Valntina and all who have made our stay unforgettable !!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level Contributor
349 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 571 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2012

This is a magical hotel on a magical island. From the very start one could tell this hotel is special. The first thing one sees, the view from the hotel, is one of the best I've ever encountered anywhere. The enthusiasm and inclusiveness of the front desk initial presentation was as classy and welcoming as any worldwide. And then, since I had arrived in the evening, when managment suggested the very same restaurant that I was thinking about, I knew I'd be in synch for the duration. The room was all I could ask. Amenities were superb, layout was superb, and there was no shortfall I could identify in anything over 3 days. All staff at all levels were competent and pleasant, and many were wonderful. There was not the smallest mistake. While I generally don't make return visits all that often----the world is so large----- I actively want to return to Santorini, and when I do, I will only consider Astra Suites.The only possible downside is one mentioned by others: there are steep steps involved in getting to the venue as the hotel is built into a cliff, and if you are phsically challenged, you would want to carefully review how they might accomodate you.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NJ-Eric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Imerovigli
0.4 mi away
Pegasus Suites & Spa
Pegasus Suites & Spa
#14 of 48 in Imerovigli
5.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
1.6 mi away
San Antonio Suites
San Antonio Suites
#11 of 48 in Imerovigli
5.0 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chromata Hotel
Chromata Hotel
#12 of 48 in Imerovigli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Rocabella Santorini Resort & Spa
2.9 mi away
Katikies Hotel
Katikies Hotel
#8 of 54 in Oia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 900 reviews
0.2 mi away
Iconic Santorini, a boutique cave hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astra Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astra Suites

Property: Astra Suites
Address: PO Box 45, Imerovigli 847 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Imerovigli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Imerovigli
#2 Romantic Hotel in Imerovigli
#3 Luxury Hotel in Imerovigli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Astra Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built at the highest point of Santorini’s steep cliffs at the legendary caldera, the Astra Suites complex enjoys the privilege of a magical panoramic view to the caldera and the immense Aegean Sea. It is the place where everything and everybody “conspire” to make you feel a VIP during your vacations. Twenty seven sumptuous Suites decorated in Cycladic style and 8 tempting suites with jacuzzi and private swimming pool welcome you to a hospitable environment where the discreet service of each individual guest is the complex’s basic instinct, and the protection of his private moments constitutes the staff’s basic priority. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Bookgreece.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Astra Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astra Hotel Imerovigli
Astra Apartments Hotel
Astra Apartments Imerovigli
Astra Apartments Santorini
Astra Suites Santorini/Imerovigli

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing