We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEAUTIFUL!”
Review of Astra Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Astra Suites
Ranked #5 of 50 Hotels in Imerovigli
Certificate of Excellence
new hampshire
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“BEAUTIFUL!”
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Just wonderful. This was a magnificent spot with amazing views and incredible sunset. Once there you never have to leave. We ate at the outdoor restaurant and at the pool, food was perfect. Breakfast was delivered to our room-always on time and highest quality. ALL of the Astra staff members were friendly and accomodating. Our suite was perfect. very comfortable for 3 of us and clean. Kostas our new friend at the pool bar is the best! He watched out for all of us and did whatever he could to make our days and nights memorable. Thanks to everyone.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pengel8200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,400 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,307
    67
    14
    8
    4
See reviews for
187
966
16
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

We were recommended to stay in Imerovigli as it has the best views of the caldera sunsets...theAstra came most highly recommended for the friendliness of the staff and accommodations. The hotel delivered on all accounts. The views are breath-taking, the location is perfect (in btwn Fira and Oiia) and most importantly, the staff treated us like royalty. We were on our honeymoon and they delivered (champagne, wine upon arrival, chocolates, etc. pool is great and the restaurant food (which we decided to have delivered to our private balcony in our suite) was fantastic.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

As so many have said, the place is absolutely stunning. Not going to lie, Santorini is loaded with spectacular vistas from every corner, but the Astra Suites location and setting just seemed above and beyond almost any other. To start the staff has been trained to perfection and were flawless. From pickup at the ferry to the time we left, nothing seemed to be out of line. We were greeted by each person we encountered with their names and an introduction, were given a thorough overview of Santorini upon arrival, which really came in so handy. Our room was a Junior Suite overlooking the pool area. The bathroom was a bit tight, but very nice. Bed was very comfortable, the AC was great, and it was quite hot. As in all of Santorini, most of the balconies are not truly private in that they tend to sit next to pathways, but you really never think twice about it. You have this gorgeous view to concern yourself with. Pool area was perfect, small but never truly full. The barman was super nice and made great drinks. Pool area really shines at sunset, just a great photo each night. Ate at the restaurant one night, was outstanding. Only a handful of tables, and the view and setting are unbelievable. Staff, Christina and Costa, and food were topnotch. Few tips: The walk to Fira is about 30min, but it is not an easy walk. It is however, spectacular. Recommend it one night for a walk to dinner, but the walk back is mostly uphill, so take a cab or bus. They don't take AMEX, which bothers me to no end for a hotel with so many Americans, but more annoyingly give a lame excuse as to why (essentially that no one on Santorini accepts it, but we used ours daily). I recommend a car rental. The hotel also setup a car rental for us, which meant they brought a car to us, and we left the keys at the desk our last day, just so simple. But the island has much to explore, and a car just makes it so easy. Lastly, the breakfast was easily the best i have had in a hotel, and sitting out on a balcony eating each morning was perfection. I have hard time believing anyone would be disappointed at a stay here.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CJFromNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
exeter, nh
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

This is what we heard from our driver before arriving and from a number of folks every time we told them where we were staying. (Thank you True Greece for hooking us up at Astra Suites!!). The location is stunning, the views fabulous--this is the place to see the sun rise and the sunset. The staff was great. Breakfast in the am was fabulous--room service every day promptly on time and baked goods still warm from the oven. The food in both the restaurant and the bar was of the highest quality (try the Mediteranean sandwich). Service could not have been better--especially at the bar with our new Greek friend Kostas. Rooms are comfortable and clean, classic for Europe. We had a small suite and it was just right for me and my daughter. Thanks to all of our servers, especially Kostas who even hiked with the dad in our group in the am! The Astra Suites was the best! Keep up the great job and thanks for everything!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank exeternhgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellesley, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 July 2013

OK, this was to be a very special trip. And judging from the number of shots from our balcony that I posted on Facebook, it would appear that the view alone made our visit to Imerovigli a success. I echo what others have said about Astra service. George and Helen will suggest emphatically without patronizing. It's their island, of course, not mine, but how did they figure out my particular tastes so quickly and accurately? The recommendations (restaurants, sights, how much time to plan, etc.) were spot on -- and we had a great time. And the view! (Oh, I guess I'm repeating myself.)

One word of warning -- we did a lot of walking with lots of climbing stairs. We wanted exercise and we got it in spades. If you are not moderately fit and are expecting to use taxis and buses, it won't be as much fun. Santorini can be hot so be prepared. Of course, you could just hang on your balcony or at the pool and enjoy the view. (Oh, sorry.)

Almost ended without singing the praises of the breakfasts. Lots of choices, opportunity to consume quantity *and* quality, and, from the balcony, the added pleasure of the (drum roll ....... ) ____<fill in>.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rhdbrooklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

What a special hotel with the most spectacular views and absolute class staff. We were lucky enough to have the honeymoon jacuzzi suite and it was 3 days of absolute bliss. As others have said it is a bit of a walk down to the hotel however it is so quite and peaceful that it is definitely worth it. From the moment we checked in the staff did everything they could to make the stay amazing. The food was first class and we ate at the restaurant one night and it didn't disappoint. A real gem in the Med.

Room Tip: Don't miss laying by the pool as the sun sets over the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bamac13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kfar Saba, Israel
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We stayed at Astra suite for four nights.
Yes it was very expensive but the service and relaxing atmosphere is perfect. When we arrived George with his unique charm explain us exactly where to travel in the island and where to eat. We had a car so it was easy to reach all the attractions.

BTW, I realy recommend taking a car and not to fall for the ATV vehicle. With the ATV the sun will kill you during driving and the difference in the price between them is minor.
When staying in the hotel Kostas the barman at the pool is taking care of you with his big charming smile.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yaron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Imerovigli
0.4 mi away
Pegasus Suites & Spa
Pegasus Suites & Spa
#15 of 50 in Imerovigli
284 reviews
1.6 mi away
San Antonio Suites
San Antonio Suites
#13 of 50 in Imerovigli
657 reviews
0.2 mi away
Iconic Santorini, a boutique cave hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Rocabella Santorini Resort & Spa
2.8 mi away
Celestia Grand
Celestia Grand
#1 of 80 in Fira
351 reviews
0.0 mi away
Iliovasilema Suites
Iliovasilema Suites
#21 of 50 in Imerovigli
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astra Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astra Suites

Property: Astra Suites
Address: PO Box 45, Imerovigli 847 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Imerovigli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Imerovigli
#2 Romantic Hotel in Imerovigli
#3 Luxury Hotel in Imerovigli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Astra Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built at the highest point of Santorini’s steep cliffs at the legendary caldera, the Astra Suites complex enjoys the privilege of a magical panoramic view to the caldera and the immense Aegean Sea. It is the place where everything and everybody “conspire” to make you feel a VIP during your vacations. Twenty seven sumptuous Suites decorated in Cycladic style and 8 tempting suites with jacuzzi and private swimming pool welcome you to a hospitable environment where the discreet service of each individual guest is the complex’s basic instinct, and the protection of his private moments constitutes the staff’s basic priority. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Bookgreece.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Astra Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astra Hotel Imerovigli
Astra Apartments Hotel
Astra Apartments Imerovigli
Astra Apartments Santorini
Astra Suites Santorini/Imerovigli

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing