We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“When visiting Santorini, no need to look elsewhere. Book the Astra!!!”
Review of Astra Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Astra Suites
Ranked #6 of 51 Hotels in Imerovigli
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 August 2009

Our stay at the Astra seems like a dream. My husband and I love to travel but hate being diappointed by hotel's that don't meet expectations they set based on their websites. Astra was the complete opposite. They absolutely exceeded our expectations! The pictures you see on the website and from other vacationers do not do this place justice! The views are unmatched and the service reminded me of the kind of treatment celebrities must get while on vacation! They treat each guest with individual attention...they make you feel like you're the only guest in the hotel. The staff is just amazing - especially Valentia :-)! I would say to anyone booking in Santorini, stop looking and book the Astra. I know we'll be back....

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelindink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,439)
There are newer reviews for Astra Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,147 - 1,153 of 1,441 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2009

We travelled in Greece with our 15 (turned 16 on Santorini) year old daughter and 17 year son from June 28 - July 17 2009. We spent four days exploring Athens, a week on a Louis cruise of the Greek Islands and we ended the trip with 5 nights in the Astra Apartments in the village of Imerovigli on Santorini Island.

Our experience in Santorini at Astra Apartments was definitely the dessert of our entire trip to Greece! I cannot say enough good things about the superlative service of all the staff at Astra Apartments.

From the beginning of our contact with Astra, their service was excellent. We started our inquiries with Astra by email. The reservation service answered every question promptly and completely. After a review of their website (including the live webcam) we booked the Astra stay online in advance by emails. Half the payment had to be sent by wire in advance, and the balance was paid by us on credit card. We also accepted their emailed suggestion to pre-book a car transfer from the Santorini airport to Astra because they said taxis were often hard to get.

We arrived by Aegean Air in Santorini airport hot and tired. The plane landed about an hour later than scheduled and we were a bit worried that the driver would not wait. We needn't have worried. The driver from Astra was waiting for our family as we got off the plane. He had our family name on a sign and he wore the Astra uniform and a big smile. He instantly took over the handling of all our luggage (4 big suitcases and 4 carryon bags!!) and gently escorted us to his air-conditioned van. (Our friends, travelling with us but staying at a different hotel, did not have a transfer waiting although they had booked one through their hotel, and they finally had to rely on a private driver to drop them at the top of the cliff by their hotel.)

As our driver drove us to Astra Apartments, he pointed out the roads leading to various sights (beaches, Akorotiki etc) and identified the different villages by name as we passed through them. We were at Astra Square within 15 minutes. Astra Square is a flat area for parking near the hotel.

We got out of the van and he directed us to follow the signs down the steps to the hotel built into the Santorini cliffside. He assured us that he would take care of all the luggage. The signs were easy to follow and the steps are shallow but numerous. We soon discovered that they were not as steep as some of the stairs in Imerovigli. Each flight had about 10 steps and we gradually worked our way down to the Astra reception centre. I have a bad knee, but I was easily able to manage all the stairs to get to the Astra reception centre. To access any of the hotels built into the cliffside with the beautiful ocean and sunset view, you must navigate stairs in Imerovigli. The stairs throughout the island are not the "built to Code" steps we are used to in Canada, so the depth and quality of the steps cut into the stone vary. Any of the cliffside hotels would be inaccessible for anyone who could not climb stairs and if you are really out of shape, you will need to take a lot of rest stops as you climb up or down the steps.

At Astra Apartments we entered the reception area where we were warmly greeted by the Director, George, who spent time with us reviewing the various attractions of the island and the village including some recommendations for activities which might interest our teens and some excellent recommendations for lunches and dinners. He gave us a prepared hand drawn map and typed summary of his comments which we kept and to which we referred all week when planning our days.

We were escorted back up two flights of stairs outdoors to the Senior Suite and given a brief introduction to the room. Our luggage was set up inside and the suite was as beautiful as it looks on the website! There were lovely fresh flowers in the main sitting area and in the bathroom. The complimentary white wine waiting for us in the fridge was delicious and cold. The beds were comfortable and the entire cave suite was enchanting with its whitewashed interior and tasteful decor. The excellent and unobtrusive housekeeping staff came twice a day to keep everything scrupulously clean and maintain our supply of towels and amenities.

And the included breakfasts!! The choices were numerous and varied from fresh fruit, yogurt, cereals to full hot breakfasts of 3 different varieties of scrambled eggs or eggs benedict or cold cuts and cheeses. Each night we could select whatever we wanted and my son and husband, who have big breakfast appetites, indulged themselves to satisfaction. The coffee was delicious, the portions generous and perfectly cooked and served on our balcony at any time we chose between 8 am and noon. Included as well in the daily breakfast was a huge basket of fresh rolls, pound cake and buttery croissants with homemade jam and marmalade and small pots of Greek honey. Everything was delicious. My husband has a serious food allergy and usually has to avoid all baked goods when we travel. I notified the hotel about the allergy in advance and when George greeted us he assured us that everyone had been notified and the food would be safe. My husband safely enjoyed all the food in the hotel without worry.

The hotel pool was two flights down, clean and never crowded. Our teens loved it. The view was spectacular! Floating in the pool you could look over the edge to the ocean far below, or lounge and watch the sunset. There was always an ample supply of fresh towels at the pool. There were always loungers available whenever we visited the pool. Our friends told us they preferred our pool to the one at their hotel. All the honeymooners around the pool had only good things to say about their experiences at Astra as well.

As for the service, with one call from me, Astra staff in reception booked our volcano tour and sunset cruise, looking after all the details. They also arranged for a lovely birthday cake for my daughter for the dinner in Astra's tiny cliffside restaurant where we toasted her birthday and the exquisite Santorini sunset. As we lingered in the restaurant into the evening, the staff brought out soft blue blankets for us to wrap around us against the ocean breeze.

Every single member of the Astra staff offered polite, friendly and professional service throughout our stay, from the pool bartender to the cleaning staff. Every question was answered with courtesy and useful information and most often they anticipated our needs!

Finally I have to commend them for their consideration after we left Santorini to return home. I forgot my Ipod touch in the room, and George found it and sent it immediately by courier to Canada. The Ipod arrived safely within days after our return from Greece.

The Astra Apartments has a perfect location, charming and comfortable accommodations, delicious food and wonderful staff. Our Santorini stay was definitely enhanced by our experience at Astra Apartments.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CdnTouristMb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2009

My husband and I spent our honeymoon exploring different countries in Europe. The majority of our stay was in Santorini, Greece. As we researched and found many amazing places to stay we decided to ask my friends where they stayed in Santorini. They told us that Astra was amazing and that we should stay there. We checked them out online and decided to take our friends advice. WOW! We were so incredibly happy with everything about Astra! The people who work there are wonderful. They work very hard to make sure all their guests are pleased. Any questions we had about what to do, where to go or what to eat was no problem. They made our reservations for anything we wanted. Everything they recommended was absolutely perfect! They serve breakfast to your balcony every morning with many wonderful choices to choose from. The views from Astra are absolutely unbelievable! We watched the sunset there every night except when we went on the sunset cruise and were always amazed at how gorgeous it was! The bartender always offered to take our picture during sunset so we have many beautiful pictures that we will cherish forever! We plan to go back in the near future and will definitely stay at Astra again! We definitely recommend this place!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greathoneymoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2009

My wife and I arrived at the Astra Apartments and Suites after bouncing around the Greek islands for a week, and this was certainly the right place to end our trip. From the moment we arrived, the staff at the Astra Apartments were extremely courteous and helpful. We had read in other reviews that the hotel's staff could be helpful in making plans to enjoy Santorini, and that was absolutely true. They assisted in dinner recommendations, car rentals, suggestions of sites to visit and avoid.

Santorini, as everyone knows, is heralded for its sunsets, and Oia is always touted as the place to be, but on advice of the Astra staff, we stayed on our balcony. We were not disappointed and avoided the crowds in Oia. Furthermore, with Fira just a short 20 minute walk from the Astra, the Astra provides a place away from the cruise ship throngs when the ships dock in the caldera.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alfred M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2009

My wife and I ended our honeymoon after being to Athens, and Mykonos, I must say that it was a wonderful cap to our time spent in Greece. The service was great from the beginning to the end, where we were surprised with the flower petals on the bed and the complimentary wine from the Boutari winery, and our time spent in the hot tub! We had a wonderful time and the view from the room was wonderful. We definitely recommend renting a Smart car to tour the island, it was a great experience.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roandliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2009

This is one of the few places where the website pictures actually do the hotel justice. We got a suite with a private infinity pool which is definitely worth it if you want to splurge. Rooms were unique and almost rustic, but extremely clean and roomy with high ceilings. The staff was excellent and very helpful, but like most hotels in Santorini, get ready for lots of steps!!! We didn't eat at the hotel restaurant and the room service was ok, but that was the only negative I could think. Def recommend it for those going to Santorini as its in the middle of Fira and Oia which I think is the best place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JBones77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2009

Front to back, great stay, great service; the staff went out of their way to make sure we were happy and comfortable at all times including our girls. No pretensions or attitude. Great location on Santorini for the best view, and making it easy to see quieter or more busy places if you want. And excellent restaurants within walking distance. The bartender is the best I have had at any hotel and knows how to mix a drink! Thanks Valentina and Chris!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FaustoOakland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Imerovigli
0.2 mi away
Iconic Santorini, a boutique cave hotel
1.6 mi away
Aenaon Villas
Aenaon Villas
#2 of 51 in Imerovigli
584 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rocabella Santorini Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Pegasus Suites & Spa
Pegasus Suites & Spa
#17 of 51 in Imerovigli
322 reviews
1.6 mi away
San Antonio Suites
San Antonio Suites
#14 of 51 in Imerovigli
675 reviews
2.9 mi away
Atrina Canava 1894
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astra Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astra Suites

Address: PO Box 45, Imerovigli 847 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Imerovigli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Imerovigli
#2 Romantic Hotel in Imerovigli
#4 Luxury Hotel in Imerovigli
Price Range: £207 - £642 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Astra Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built at the highest point of Santorini’s steep cliffs at the legendary caldera, the Astra Suites complex enjoys the privilege of a magical panoramic view to the caldera and the immense Aegean Sea. It is the place where everything and everybody “conspire” to make you feel a VIP during your vacations. Twenty seven sumptuous Suites decorated in Cycladic style and 8 tempting suites with jacuzzi and private swimming pool welcome you to a hospitable environment where the discreet service of each individual guest is the complex’s basic instinct, and the protection of his private moments constitutes the staff’s basic priority. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Astra Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astra Hotel Imerovigli
Astra Apartments Hotel
Astra Apartments Imerovigli
Astra Apartments Santorini
Astra Suites Santorini/Imerovigli

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing