We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite part of my trip to Greece”
Review of Astra Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Astra Suites
Ranked #4 of 51 Hotels in Imerovigli
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 September 2010

We stayed at the Astra Suites last month and it was wonderful. The place is very clean and the staff are very attentive to the needs of the guests. My favorite time of the day was 8 am and sitting on my balcony looking over the caldera and having my sumptuous breakfast brought to me on a tray. It was so quiet and serene watching the water and listening to the sounds of the island waking up. The pool was refreshing although poolside seating was tough to get when the hotel is full. The bar and food service was wonderful. It was very hot when we were there and I wish the air conditioner was a bit colder because I like to sleep in a cold room but it was adequate. We had a problem with our ferry leaving the island and the staff at Astra let us use the hospitality suite for a few hours and we spend the afternoon at the pool awaiting our transport to the ferry. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Rooms are spacious and well furnished. I would definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valerie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,476)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,117 - 1,123 of 1,476 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Astra Apartment & Suites on our recent honeymoon. We were there for a total of 7 nights and had originally booked a standard apartment. (we were later upgraded to a superior room with 2 lounge chairs on our balcony) We had been told by many that this room would be big enough for us with plenty of space. When we got to our room we were not exactly pleased. Although we were given an extremely private room (very high up) , the room was tiny and there was literally no space to unpack anything. If we had only been there a few nights I probably would not have minded, but an entire week was a lot to deal with living out of a suitcase. Another major problem they face (which could easily be resolved) is the lack of space at the pool. They only have 2 lounge chairs and 2 big couches for people to sit on near the pool. This was a huge problem for us because in the heat of August you need to be near the water to survive the Santorini heat. Every day we had to deal with them finding us chairs from empty hotel rooms. It they would simply just put more chairs in front of the rooms near the pool this would solve the problem. Everyone we met at the hotel also felt this was a problem that could be easily fixed. They blamed it on the "heat wave" that Santorini was having. Even if it was hotter than normal, August is typically an extremely hot month in Greece and they should be better prepared for crowds of people wanting to use the pool. The last negative thing I have to say is the pool was extremely dirty. All of my bathing suits were ruined & turned yellow. There is a yellow film that lays on the top layer of the pool which is compeletly disgusting. All my light colored bathing suits are stained from this. Also, they need to keep be aware of the flies landing in the pool and try and keep up with cleaning them out of the water. This was a problem every single day and I never saw them once trying to keep the pool clean.

On a positive note, the staff was amazing. George and his crew really made a point to make sure everything was perfect. They truly care that all their guests are happy. I am not sure however if I would recommend this hotel to a friend unless they were able to fix these problems. (which they could easily fix!!) I do think if you book your own private pool suite you would not have to deal with any of this & be very very happy. Overall, we have very mixed reviews of the Astra.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Debb916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AstraSuites, General Manager at Astra Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2010

We thank the reviewer for their kind comments and constructive feedback, and also the opportunity to address these issues they experienced at our hotel.

It is true space is very limited on the caldera due to the cliff side terrain, and unfortunately, as much as we would love to, expansion of our pool area is physically not an option. We simply do the best we can with the space we have been allotted, and we were happy to provide seating for all guests in some fashion while the reviewer was here during the very peak of the tourist season as well as the peak of the heat wave.

The issue with the slick on the pool occurs simply because bathers choose not to heed our suggestion to shower before entering the pool, even though we do provide a private pool shower, thus suntan oils and natural body oils contribute to this effect, and although we skim the pool and treat the water very thoroughly every morning and evening, we feel our guests would find it very intrusive to repeat this procedure while they are enjoying their pool time. We do apologize for this, however there may be little that can realistically be done in this case and again, for less peak times, it is rarely an issue.

Regarding the reviewer’s choice of apartment category, Astra prides itself on offering a high quality product and exceptional service to our clients at every price point. We wish not to exclude anyone, thus we offer a wide range of accommodation sizes and rates. The apartment the reviewer booked is indeed offered for our more budget-conscious guests, but subject to availability, we were happy to offer a free upgrade after their first night, and they were very pleased with their new apartment and the great value they received for a significantly lower rate.

Astra will always strive to provide the highest quality of service possible, and in this case, we feel that every issue which could possibly be remedied was done so promptly and professionally.
Thank you again for this opportunity to respond.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2010

The villa manager, George Karagiannis, not only ensured that our stay was comfortable but that we experienced all of the beautiful destinations around the island. George’s staff, Zarko and Kaxa, could not have been more accommodating and friendly. The view from the villa was like something out of a movie. It was quite simply a perfect vacation.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ktconnor11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2010

First we did a lot of research of Fira, vs. Oia, vs all points in between, we never really considered the southern end of the island. Consider it if you are a person who loves the beach, are willing to rent a car or take a bus one day or two - or even a taxi day trip to caldera (it would be about $30 us one way, less if a group)
The Astra was beautiful, the staff was friendly, especially Elena. Breakfast was ample, eggs, yogurt, simple fruit salad, coffee. We had to request before 8am, 7:30 was the earliest they could do. Room was spacious, although lay out didn't maximize space and cave loft bed was a bit confining even for a short person, I might not have been happy there in the heat of the summer, AC in the lower portion of room. This is true though of most cave room hotels in Santorini, so check about lofts if you don't like small spaces.
The pool, as almost all pools in Greece is not heated, so at end of May still probably mid 60 F (I wish the islands would get some simple solar covers and let the pools heat up in the morning and open in the afternoon in the off season, just a suggestion)
Also there is music playing at every pool at every hotel along the caldera, space is at a minimum so you will over hear a lot outside your room regardless where you stay here.
Also note internet was really poor along the caldera also, again, so many places on top of each other.
My friends stayed above us in Room 5 or 9 (those are the best superior rooms) we stayed in 1 - their room was a much better layout than ours
I can't even imagine how crowded Santorini gets in the summer, but we visited a couple of the black beaches on the southern end and had a wonderful day doing so. If I were to go back I would stay there and visit the trail and sunset up north.
OR I would stay in a place 1/2 the price of Astra along the caldera (dana villas for one) with the same view and similar room situation
We also took Ted Stathis sunset boat trip - well well worth it
The best places we ate in Santorini - Imerovigli Tavern / Restaurant, really good, well prices, views
and Raki in Megalochori food was amazing here, a small village style, no water view at restaurant, but really, really tasty and friendly staff
they have hotels too, the one in Megalochori may have views if up on the hill

Most sit down places to eat in Fira were not so great, my friend ate in Oia and still preferred Imerovigli
Fira is more for the gyro, souvlaki, pastry etc.
(note several restaurants along the Caldera don't have good sunset view, some face south, so you should ask when reserving)

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eatsunlaugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2010

We just spent three days at this fabulous hotel. George and his staff took care of our every need, including arranging a private sail and a rental car. I don't believe there is a better view on the island! From our villa, we could enjoy Imerovigil, climb the volcano, walk to Fira or drive to Oia and/or the beaches. Our room was amazing - just the like the photos online (with a huge bathroom and a private pool). Breakfast was delicious and served on our spacious balcony. Astra has all of the character of Santorini with modern comfort and amenities.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carrjrc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2010

Amazing hotel. Check in was smooth. Met hotel manger super friendly. We stayed in the two bedroom suite. Absolutely perfect. Will upload our pictures too. Best view of any of the places we visited on the island. We did dinner in fira the first night...but the next two night just ate on our patio bc the view was so nice. Anything we needed the hotel staff brought very quickly! aka extra towels, extra cream, water. Everyone was super eager to help out. They booked rental car for us and had it brought to our door, made sailing reservations, coordinated pick up with out us even needing to ask, and even book our dinner reservations in Athens which is where we were headed next. Room was very spacious, a/c was great which was nice as it was 95-98 degrees our whole stay. If we ever come back to santorini would def stay here again. The place was recommended by a women in the office and I would def recommend to my friends!

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KAK2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2010

The setting of the Astra rivals any in the world, with magnificent views over the caldera and romantic sunsets on the individual balconies. Breakfast is also serve on the balconies, and the view is unparallelled. The public areas are beautiful, pristine and carefully groomed , and the individual suites are also top-notch for size, quality of furnishing, etc. The service is excellent, and the staff are very helpful. The location is 5 minutes by car or 20-30 minutes by foot to the heart of Fira town, although in peak season you will find this much quieter and more elegant, and very easy to return from town to the hotel to by cab.

Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank hamlet3pa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Imerovigli
1.6 mi away
Aenaon Villas
Aenaon Villas
#2 of 51 in Imerovigli
600 reviews
0.2 mi away
Iconic Santorini, a boutique cave hotel
0.9 mi away
Santorini Princess
Santorini Princess
#7 of 51 in Imerovigli
945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Andronis Boutique Hotel
3.1 mi away
Alta Mare by Andronis
0.2 mi away
Chromata Hotel
Chromata Hotel
#10 of 51 in Imerovigli
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astra Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astra Suites

Address: PO Box 45, Imerovigli 847 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Imerovigli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Imerovigli
#3 Luxury Hotel in Imerovigli
Price Range: £217 - £1,639 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Astra Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built at the highest point of Santorini’s steep cliffs at the legendary caldera, the Astra Suites complex enjoys the privilege of a magical panoramic view to the caldera and the immense Aegean Sea. It is the place where everything and everybody “conspire” to make you feel a VIP during your vacations. Twenty seven sumptuous Suites decorated in Cycladic style and 8 tempting suites with jacuzzi and private swimming pool welcome you to a hospitable environment where the discreet service of each individual guest is the complex’s basic instinct, and the protection of his private moments constitutes the staff’s basic priority. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Astra Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astra Hotel Imerovigli
Astra Apartments Hotel
Astra Apartments Imerovigli
Astra Apartments Santorini
Astra Suites Santorini/Imerovigli

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing