We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“most relaxing holiday ever”
Review of Astra Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Astra Suites
Ranked #5 of 50 Hotels in Imerovigli
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“most relaxing holiday ever”
Reviewed 5 October 2010

We only stayed for two nights here but would definately stay longer next time.The staff were friendly and very helpful and the views stunning,We moved on to Enigma suites in Fira (also excellent ) but preferred the peace and tranquility of Astra with its lovely pool.
The breakfast on the balcony served whenever you wanted it was excellent and kept us going all day.Imerovigli is quite a small town/village but had regular buses to Fira (probably very crowded in high season as they were busy when we went at the end of September).There were some good restaurants between Imerovigli and Fira within an easy walk.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oscarro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,386 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,293
    67
    14
    8
    4
See reviews for
186
953
16
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2010

We booked the Astra due to the review in Frommers, and we are so glad we did. From the moment you arrive, the staff is there to assist you in anyway. From mapping out the island, recommending restaurants, to booking spa appointments for you, they are more than willing to do so, with a smile on their face. The staff is also very approachable and warm; they truly make you feel like a friend. They are also the hardest working staff. Maintance and housekeeping were always hard at work.

My husband and I stayed in room 201, which we loved, due to the huge terrace. It was a standard apartment, but the room is a great size, and again, the terrace, I think, the largest for the standard rooms. Not the most private, due to the stairway and footpath, but that didn't bother us in the least, there isn't that much traffic.

Of course you can't write a review without mention of the breakfast, it is wonderful. My husband I joked that our hardest decisions at the Astra was what do we want for breakfast and what time do we want it delivered!

For as much sightseeing we did, each late afternoon, we really looked forward to returning to our room and enjoying some wine as the sun went down. Then we would head down to the pool where we made friends with other guest and had great drinks made by Chris. Seriously the best Mojitos you will ever have!!

I would 100% recommend Astra, you will not be disappointed. I almost gave 4 stars for the value, because it is a bit pricey, but then I remembered, you get what you pay for, so I gave them 5. There are other hotels in the area that look nice, but I think that the service you receive at Astra is second to none, and to me, that is the most important. My husband and I look forward to the day we can return!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hsmayhew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 October 2010

What can we say about the Astra, George, and his wonderful staff that has not already been said? They are FANTASTIC! We wanted a “wedding to be remembered,” not only for us, but also for our guests. After endless research, we decided on the Astra. My new husband and I have travelled extensively in our separate lives, but neither of us had ever made it to Greece. We wanted a destination that both of us could experience together—a way to start our new life together, so we took the leap of faith and chose Santorini and Astra. From the very beginning, George was fantastic. Having never been to Greece and planning a destination wedding, it was a bit unnerving. But George answered every email (numerous, long, and detailed) immediately, informatively and positively. Even the fun of wading through the necessary paperwork for the Greek requirements of marriage was easy due to George’s directions.

Once we arrived in Santorini, the experience was even better. The ENTIRE staff was welcoming, warm, friendly, helpful and caring. The accommodations were breathtaking, the breakfasts were superb, the service impeccable. The staff consistently went above and beyond. For example, my wedding guests were scattered throughout the island. Little issues would arise with them, like my dad’s hotel not being able to process my credit card. There was nothing wrong with the card, but communication was challenging with his hotel’s staff, so Astra (Popi) offered to call the hotel and help translate. Another example, other family members were staying nearby and after the wedding had a quite late departure for Athens. Astra stored their luggage while they hung out at our suite, arranged transportation for them and even carried their luggage to the van when they left—all for people who weren’t even guests! We had people visiting us nonstop for the 8 days we were there, and the staff took care of each and every one of them, like they were staying guests, even walking them down the numerous flights of stairs to direct them to our suite.

The wedding—so spectacular, so magical, so memorable. George arranged every detail; nothing was forgotten, everything was easy, there was nothing to stress about. We had the most relaxing, pampered morning—massages, manicure/pedicure (in our room), lounging at our private pool and eating fabulous rooms service (OMG—the food was amazing), then my hair/makeup arrived, followed by the photographer for unforgettable pictures. The wedding took place overlooking the caldera, during the sunset. We had a reception at the pool area afterwards, followed by a grand dinner. Our guests could not stop raving about the wedding, the fantastic drinks (apparently the mojitos are to die for), the amazing, gourmet food, the views, the helpfulness of every staff member. Everyone has asked for George to go home with them to arrange their lives—he’s so easy, warm and detail-oriented! The guests have not stopped raving, now that we’re (sniff, sniff) home again. Every single one has said it was the most beautiful, amazing wedding they had ever been to and that the Astra was superb.

Having worked in the service industry, we can truly say that service of this quality is almost nonexistent. But Astra provides it, from the top level down. The only downside we can say about our trip was that we started at Astra (setting the bar much too high) and then went to Mykonos and Athens. The hotels there were extremely nice, but were missing that caring and warm level of service—making us miss Astra even more. To find a slice of paradise in Santorini and Astra makes this a destination we will return to, and a memory we, and our guests will never forget.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wreaber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2010

Gorgeous boutique hotel, amazing view of the volcano (the best in Santorini)
Astra meaning star, they deserve 5 stars! Part of the Mr & Mrs Smith guide.
A strong competition for the Maldives and Mauritius
From the moment you arrive you are made to feel special, it was such a fantastic experience for us, from the home baked breakfast served on the balcony to all members who cannot do enough to make your stay special.
Astra is the best spot to enjoy the sunset!
Next time we will be staying a week not 2 nights. We wished we had known about this hotel prior to leaving. We would never in a million years stayed where we stayed at the beginning.

A fantastic place for a honeymoon!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StephAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 October 2010

This is the first time i ever put my comments on tripadviser - i was usually just the "reader" of comments but this time, I must rave Astra on tripadviser!

Everything was great - staff was friendly and recommended a few good places, and for breakfast - they served the best omelet in the world! The view from terrace was fantastic, breath taking - we could just stay there whole day to enjoy the view from morning till midnight. And tho whole atmosphere was so peaceful and romantic - different to Fira which is busy and frantic.

It was truly an unforgettable stay and WE WILL COME BACK!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank H_L8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawnee Mission, Kansas
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2010

My wife and I recently went to Santorini on our honeymoon. We had heard great things about Fira, which is the major town on the island, and had read countless stories about the unbelievable sunset views from the smaller town of Oia on the North end of the island, but we decided on Imerovigli and the Astra Apartments and Suites. We would ablsolutely make the same decision again.

The property offers breathtaking views of the caldera from the highest point on the island. We planned each of our 5 days in Santorini around the sunset and made sure we were back on our balcony in time to open a bottle of wine (or complimentary champagne, which we received from George and his staff on our second night) and soak in the beautiful views at dusk. Most days we would relax by the infinity pool, spending 30 minutes relaxing on large double-beds ideal for couples to share before slipping into the pool to cool off while overlooking the caldera and the Aegean beyond. Other days we would walk along the very hilly but incredibly scenic 30-minute walk to Fira, where we would shop, take photos, or just watch locals and touriest mingle on the streets.

The entire staff was amazing. Fun, outgoing and helpful waiters brought fresh (and complimentary) breakfast to our balcony every morning. We shared stories with the poolside bartender, Chris, who makes the best mojito we've yet to find. The front desk staff helped us with everything - they arranged for an ATV to be brought to the hotel in the morning so that we could explore the island, took care of confirming our transfers to and from our sunset catamaran tour, and scheduled a relaxing day of massages, spa treatments, and private use of one of their jacuzzi and steam room facilities. In general, they made sure that we had the most relaxing, enjoyable, memorable honeymoon that we could have imagined.

You might notice that the "Location" section of my review only received 4 stars rather than the 5 that I applied to everything else, and this is mostly because of the distance to shopping or restaurants. There were several restaurants within 5 - 10 minutes of the Astra, and most of them were very good (I would avoid Skaros, but that is another review altogether). However, it is a 25 - 30 minute walk to Fira on some very hilly terrain, and the walk can be very hot during the day. We walked there one night for dinner and then ended up walking back the next day to do some shopping; if I had it to do again, we would have made one round-trip to Fira, or rented an ATV and explored Fira along with the rest of the island. That being said, the sunset views more than made up for the walk to any shops, and as we spent most of our vacation relaxing by the pool, the location didn't affect us a great deal.

For their service, amenities, helpfulness, and for the incredibly breathtaking views of the caldera, I would absolutely recommend the Astra to anyone lucky enough to travel to Santorini.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nsobba29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massapequa, New York
1 review
Reviewed 27 September 2010

My wife and I arrived to Astra in Sept. The weather was fantastic, and the views were amazing! Staff was very accomodating and the suite was on the small side but who really stays in the room anyway! It was though clean and updated to make us comfortable. Just be ready to walk alot and I do advise that if you have a history of bad knees or hips that this is not the area for people to travel, Best part of the trip was getting room service and eating on the balcony during the sunset!! Overall wonderful experience and would defintely go back again.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank formats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Imerovigli
0.4 mi away
Pegasus Suites & Spa
Pegasus Suites & Spa
#15 of 50 in Imerovigli
268 reviews
1.6 mi away
San Antonio Suites
San Antonio Suites
#11 of 50 in Imerovigli
645 reviews
0.2 mi away
Iconic Santorini, a boutique cave hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Chromata Hotel
Chromata Hotel
#12 of 50 in Imerovigli
594 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rocabella Santorini Resort & Spa
2.8 mi away
Celestia Grand
Celestia Grand
#1 of 79 in Fira
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astra Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astra Suites

Property: Astra Suites
Address: PO Box 45, Imerovigli 847 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Imerovigli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Imerovigli
#2 Romantic Hotel in Imerovigli
#3 Luxury Hotel in Imerovigli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Astra Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built at the highest point of Santorini’s steep cliffs at the legendary caldera, the Astra Suites complex enjoys the privilege of a magical panoramic view to the caldera and the immense Aegean Sea. It is the place where everything and everybody “conspire” to make you feel a VIP during your vacations. Twenty seven sumptuous Suites decorated in Cycladic style and 8 tempting suites with jacuzzi and private swimming pool welcome you to a hospitable environment where the discreet service of each individual guest is the complex’s basic instinct, and the protection of his private moments constitutes the staff’s basic priority. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, TravelUp, Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Astra Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astra Hotel Imerovigli
Astra Apartments Hotel
Astra Apartments Imerovigli
Astra Apartments Santorini
Astra Suites Santorini/Imerovigli

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing