We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice hotel with familier atmosphere - a welcome variety to all those cold-stylish hotels on Santorini!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Heliotopos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Heliotopos Hotel
Ranked #23 of 48 Hotels in Imerovigli
Certificate of Excellence
Essen, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel with familier atmosphere - a welcome variety to all those cold-stylish hotels on Santorini!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2011

I really cannot say in word, how special and wonderful this place is! We had our Wedding at Heliotopos and stayed there for one week. Everything was nice and very well organized, Lila (with her husband the owner of the hotel) gives this place an individual note with her very kind and special personality. When you stay at Heliotops, you feel like visiting friends. We were met with a very kind reception from the first moment on. Everything we asked for was managed very easy and uncomplicated, the staff is very obliging. The rooms are furnished in light and welcoming colors, typical Santorini-Syle, very inviting. (expect room no. 32, this room is below stairs, and, because it is like a cave-room, a little dark and damp. Furthermore, you don't have a good Caldera-View and the furnish is not as new as in the other roosm). Noteworthy is the homemade breakfast with fresh orange-juice, daily fresh made cake and the posibility to achive fried or scrambled eggs. Especially because Heliotops is none of those stylish but cold hotels, you find erverywhere on the island, it is a welcome variety. We would book it any time again! And here again we'd like to say thank you to the Heliotopos-Team for giving us this unforgettable stay!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank afri99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    296
    52
    13
    6
    10
See reviews for
87
166
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2011

It provises a unique combination of hospitality, aesthetics and class.

Room Tip: For families the rooms on the upper part of the hotel with the connecting door are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AMP66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
77 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2011

My wife and I stayed here for six nights in late July and thoroughly enjoyed this hotel. Heliotopos is situated in an ideal spot high atop the cliffs in Imerovigli. The views of the sunset are spectacular, more interesting I believe than those in Oia. What sets this hotel apart is the attention and attitude of its caring staff. At the top of this list is Lila, who coordinates all of the weddings and is a defacto social facilitator. Though we were not there to be married we observed 4 weddings in the span of a week—each carefully planned and executed with great attention to detail by Lila, who clearly enjoys this role as resident ‘cupid’.
The rooms are clean, well maintained, all with their own balcony or terrace area that affords a great view of each perfect sunset. I have only one minor complaint and that is that the wifi signal is weak in some of the rooms. Signal is fine in the breakfast area.
We found ourselves coming back to the hotel each day in late afternoon, to take a dip in the pool, rest and ‘recharge our batteries’ and prepare to watch each evenings perfect sunset.
If you want a local active night life and a large hotel with full restaurant, then this hotel is not for you. However, if you are looking for a quiet, well run, well located, fairly priced hotel with a caring staff, then look no further.

Room Tip: All rooms are great, don't feel like you can't stay here if you can't afford the best ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Panowizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2011

We spent 3 nights at the Heliotopos in May 2007. The heavenly views from the hotel are forever in my mind even to this day. It is the one place on earth that I have felt endless peace. The hotel is gorgeous, well located, roomy, near restuarants and stores where you can pick up and come back to eat in your room or balcony if you like. Far enough from all the crusie boat tourists. But, who cares about the rooms when you are on Santorini....the views are spectacular and I found myself just glued to the balcony chairs whenever we were in the room. Excellent wine, lovely breakfast, nice wine tasting and lesson. Fantastic service! We walked everywhere including along the path to the other end of the island. Spectactular. Come 2030, expect to find me there where we plan to retire!!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BellaOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nazareth, Israel
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2011

10 years ago my husband and I married at Heliotopos Hotel. Heliotopos made sure that our wedding was not only beautiful, but also perfect. We were treated with amazing hospitality and warmth. It was an incredible experience.
Now we return to Heliotopos to celebrate our 10-year anniversary and to renew our vows. We wanted our 7-year-old twin daughters to see where we married. I wasn’t sure how Heliotopos would be after 10 years, but once we arrived and stepped into the reception we were greeted and treated with that same amazing hospitality. Our vow renewal was memorable and a great experience for our daughters. It was a perfect holiday for the whole family.
Heliotopos literally has it all !! It has an incredible view of the Caldera, beautiful accommodations, privacy, terrific food and most of all warm hospitality.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GlobalFamily4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Clemente, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2011

My wife and I arrived on Santorini for a convention and stayed a week. The staff was fabulous and arranged a car rental with door to door service and even kept our bags when we visited Folegandros. When a ferry strike caused us to miss our connecting ferry to Crete, we were able to stay another heavenly night at Heliotropos. It was great knowing the Heliotopos staff "had our back" and did everything possible to rescue our vacation. They even provided a room for us to shower and freshen up after we had spent the day on the beach after checking out of our room and before we left for the port to catch our ferry.

The views from the pool and rooms and breathtaking and the breakfast buffet is fabulous with yoghurt, honey, fresh fruit, cheese, olives, pastry, cereal, and fresh made to order coffee/capucino/latte and fresh squeezed fruit juice.

Our jr suite was immaculate with a terrace overlooking the Caldera and a kitchenette for storing wine, cheese and other munchies we purchased at the local grocery. The small town of Imeroviglia is a delightlful alternative to the teeming streets of Fira which is but a 20 minute cliff walk away. This is a wonderful place to enjoy Santorini without the crush of tourists found in Fira and Eo.

We hope to return again and again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dnaguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
89 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2011

My husband and I stayed at Heliotopos for about 8 days and enjoyed every minute. My husband was there for a 2 day meeting, the remainder was pure enjoyment. The staff here is outstanding and helpful in every way possible. Fresh squeezed oj every morning, freshly made pies and pastries, eggs if you ask. The views are spectacular, unobstructed on the edge of the caldera. Perfect weather the entire time. Lots of steps though so not suitable for anyone who has problems with that, but neither are most of the other places on the sides of the caldera. We really enjoyed Imerovigli since it was out of the hustle and bustle of the typical tourist rush yet not far away if that's what you want. Several nice, casual restaurants within a few minutes walk, and within about a 15-20 minute walk to many more. If you are looking for nightlife, this is not the place or area for you. We enjoyed the views morning, noon and night and came home very relaxed. A great vacation. Not recommended for travelers with kids since there really is nothing to keep them entertained except a very small pool. Housekeeping could be a little better. Breakfast was delicious but could be a little more varied with a few more offerings. We highly recommend Heliotopos and applaud the owners and their wonderful staff.

Room Tip: Not handicapped accessible in any way
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gmkathy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Imerovigli hotels
0.6 mi away
Rocabella Santorini Resort & Spa
0.0 mi away
Abyssanto Suites & Spa
Abyssanto Suites & Spa
#37 of 48 in Imerovigli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
0.1 mi away
Iliovasilema Suites
Iliovasilema Suites
#24 of 48 in Imerovigli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Afroessa Hotel
Afroessa Hotel
#6 of 48 in Imerovigli
5.0 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ilioperato Traditional Apartments
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sunny Villas
Hotel Sunny Villas
#20 of 48 in Imerovigli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heliotopos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heliotopos Hotel

Property: Heliotopos Hotel
Address: Imerovigli, Imerovigli 847 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Imerovigli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Imerovigli
#19 Luxury Hotel in Imerovigli
#25 Romantic Hotel in Imerovigli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Heliotopos Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heliotopos is a unique boutique hotel complex in the traditional dome style, with one or two storey suites and studio apartments. Built on the foundations of old island structures it has been constructed to reflect the beauty of Santorini's architecture. Located at the highest point of the crater-top (the rim of the Caldera) it offers an extraordinary, breathtaking view of the volcano, the sea and the surrounding islets from every point of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers and Expedia so you can book your Heliotopos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heliotopos Hotel Imerovigli
Heliotopos Hotel Santorini/Imerovigli

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing