We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Heliotopos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Heliotopos Hotel
Ranked #23 of 48 Hotels in Imerovigli
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wow”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

Just returned from helitopos. Amazing place!!
Our stay was excellent including the wonderful breakfast. We stayed in room 28 and our jaws hit the floor on entering the room. The hotel is quaint, authentic, traditional and ultra friendly Greek! That's what you get and more. Never a problem getting info from activities to restaurant recommendations.
In our opinion Go Go Go, you will not be disappointed.
Thank you all for a amazing stay.
(Special thanks to Lila, see you next year for our wedding x)
Paul & Clare

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PRT6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    296
    52
    13
    6
    10
See reviews for
87
166
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Taormina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

We stayed as a couple expecting something incredible for 310 euro a night. What we got was far from luxury (as advertised on trip adviser) and a suite (more like a pensione). And I have travelled all over the world and never paid this much for this quality. While the greeting was good the hotel fell short in so many ways, the front desk is generally unmanned for most of the time. Every thing was average from the splash pool size (with 4 deck chairs if you can get one) and views are restricted by buildings. Yes there are nice views above the buildings but there are views from almost everywhere in Imerovigli. The bathroom, toilet shower was literally about 2 metres square with cracked tiling. The tap and door handle fell off while using them, the hair dryer didn't work. The kitchen bench was unusable with wiring strewn all over it for the intermittent wifi router and phone. There is a switch for hot water and the bed was a double (and old lumpy mattress) not a 'queen' as advertised! and hard up against a wall so my partner had to sleep on the couch. The breakfast was very simple and not hosted. I asked for staff (all one of them) to arrange a car four times throughout the day and although promised it never arrived. Staying at one of the Astra Junior Suites the next night 30 metres away for barely more money was like chalk and cheese. Fantastic views, huge pool, great service, great bar, breakfast delivered (and cooked) and amazing room at the Astra, proper 'suites' with a proper queen size bed and amazing shower. My car was organised in 5 minutes! Don't fall for the spin at the Heliotopos, it's a three star at best hotel/pensione which should be at about a third of the cost advertised.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BSdetective007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeliotoposHotel, Owner at Heliotopos Hotel, responded to this review, 24 August 2013
Dear sirs, thank you for the feedback, we are always looking at guest advices to improve ourselves. We do find what you wrote unfair to be honest. We are everything we say we are. We are not advertised under luxury hotels but as a traditional one. The pool is exactly as seen on photos online. There is always someone at the reception, and in case the employee is in the back office on the moment you visit, there is a bell you can ring for them to know you are there. Our breakfast has been awarded several times, this could not happen if it was unmanned. How could it be when we serve fresh orange juice, and eggs upon request, and any type of coffee you may like? The bathroom in your room was not big and a tile is broken yes. But as soon as the tap broke we replaced it within 2 hours. The hair dryer is a typical hotel hair dryer, with heat limit for safety issues. We did offer to you a professional hair dryer that you did not want us to bring to you. As for the switch, I am assuming you mean the boiler that you need to turn on for 10 minutes to have hot water. I don't see how this is a problem. Our hotel is built on the cliff, where the law does not allow us to have thermal-accumulators on the settlement. Regarding the car arrangement for the next morning , you did ask for it 4 times but we confirmed this to you since the first time you asked....and you left before the time you arranged for the car to be here. We even offered a room change from the studio you had booked, but you informed us that you preferred to find another hotel for your second night. Sir, we are not trying to deceive our guests. We are a small, traditional, boutique hotel, family run and at your disposal 24/7. Tourists that are looking for a luxury stay are not the market we are referring to, we are offering a completely different experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

I am not sure there is a bad place to stay in Santorini because it is so beautiful. The Heliotopos was in the Imerovigli area which has a lot of restaurants you can walk to easily. The owner of the hotel was very accommodating and answered any questions we had with the area. The hotel itself is rustic. Each room is its own little building built into the side of the cliff with an amazing view off each balcony. The view is actually so beautiful it is where many boats go at sunset (the caldera).
Tips: Bring warm clothes because it gets quite cold at night. Also, we did a day trip on a boat and it was the best day of our vacation. It took us to all different beaches and explained the island.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chicagochica801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

From Gloria:

We haven't left Greece yet and we miss Santorini, especially the Heliotopos Hotel's hospitality already. We spent 2 days at this hotel and were blown away by everything from the spectacular, breath-taking views to the incredible personal touch provided by EVERY staff member. From the second we walked into the hotel, we were greeted by freshly squeezed orange juice and a friendly front desk manager, who checked us in and arranged our 2-day itinerary. With so much to do but so little time, we were encouraged to relax and enjoy the complimentary breakfast, which was to die for!!! Lila's (the chef 'extraordinaire', beyond many other things), fabulous homemade breakfasts are out of this world...from her daily changing savory pies (my fave was the chicken pie...if you don't see it ask her to make it for you!!! :))) to her amazingly delicious marmalades which were unbelievable. Yannis, who works the breakfast tables/coffee bar as well as bell hop (he's the all-around guy) is the sweetest guy ever!! And then there's Eleni, who saved our life by going out of her way after driving us home after watching a movie at the open-air cinema (a must-do/see in Kamari), when no taxis would come and pick us up..she recognized us as guests from her hotel and offered to take us back to the hotel!! Amazing!

We can only say that combined with what you may have seen about Santorini in the movies, the hotel justifies in all its picturesque glory...it truly is the place of the sun! No other place offers the view you get from the Heliotopos and no other hotel has the feeling you get from the staff...it's like coming home...

And if your get a chance to have some time to sit and talk with Lila...do so...you will have done your soul a small favor. Thank you Lila for your chats and thank you to the Heliotopos family for the warmest hospitality...we will surely be back to this island paradise in the sun!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gloria052010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

Our stay in this wonderful hotel is nothing short of wonderful. From arrival, Yannis, a very friendly staff, helped us be comfy. We actually arrived 5 hrs before scheduled check-in, but instead of just letting us drop our bag, they offered us a temporary room to sleep momentarily. The owner, Lila, or Mama Lila as she insisted, was so helpful, friendly and bubbly, we felt like we weren't just being welcomed into her hotel, but into her home. The daughter of the owner, Eleni, handled all of our requests with great efficiency and urgency. Yes, I find everything in here just perfect. And to top it all, the view of the famous Oia sunset is much more beautiful here, why - because you can watch it outside your villa with your favorite drink and your favorite company. I love Heliotopos!!! (Irra)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank irracenina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013 via mobile

I could go on and on about the beauty of Heliotopos hotel--its amazing view is one for the books and its serene environment makes you never want to go back home. Perched right at the heart of Imerovigli and facing the beautiful Santorini caldera--there is no place you'd rather be to take in the goodness of life. It's at a good location that splits you between Fira to soak yourself in irresponsible partying (so fun!) and Oia. I can only sing praises for the hotel because it doesn't really get better, more tasteful and more authentic than this. But what i'd very much like more to stress on is how the hotel really bent over backwards for my friends and I. First of all, when we arrived(waaaayy earlier than our check in) they were kind enough, after serving us coffee, to provide us with a temporary room, since where we'd be staying at was still unavailable, so that we could rest for a few hours. We left before check in time to take a tour of the city, travel on to Oia etc..we got back half past 11pm. Waiting for us was Lila, with a smile on her face, telling us they had called the police and hospitals, thinking of the worst, since they hadn't heard from us since we left in the morning and we hadn't even checked in yet. We thought she was joking, she wasn't. We were very impressed at her genuine concern for us. We then started calling her Mama Lila. We had a good chat with her, found things in common, laughed about the whole thing, and called it a night. Then my wallet incident. Basically, being the spaced-out girl that i am, i forgot my wallet in the bus after our boat tour. Upon hearing me panic at the reception, they immediately called the boat company and took action. After more updates with Ms Iota who was checking in with the company every so often, she rang us up at our hotel room and said the bus driver had found it! They drove over to meet up with the bus driver while we went out to Oia. I was so overwhelmed at how they handled the situation. See, this was none of their business anymore, things were out of their hands, but they found a way. Talk about going the extra mile..they literally drove a few extra miles! They really made us feel like we were taken care of, and that's what made them that more special to us. Thanks so much to Mama Lila and the rest of the staff. Thanks for your patience, thanks for your top-notch hospitality! You really made us feel as though we had a home to come back to in Santorini, as opposed to just a hotel. I will recommend this place to all of my colleagues. Cheers to all of you! Miss you already, and we just left a few days ago!!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank taraoliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
98 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

The personal is very kind and gentle, but the structure is not a 4 stars
the bathroom of the suit was really too small and old.
The common area is really too small for everybody and there were no private sun loungers for us.
We rented a bike for all week and we never staid there during the day. Better like that.
The housekeeper did not clean out glasses for all the week.
I suppose that other rooms could be better then our. Anyway I have no regrets because of the view.
I want to put in evidence again the absolutely the first class about kindness!
Not the same for the structure.

Room Tip: I strongly recommend to rent a bike and visit the beeches around the island, before coming back to e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eurillio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Imerovigli hotels
0.6 mi away
Rocabella Santorini Resort & Spa
0.0 mi away
Abyssanto Suites & Spa
Abyssanto Suites & Spa
#37 of 48 in Imerovigli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
0.1 mi away
Iliovasilema Suites
Iliovasilema Suites
#24 of 48 in Imerovigli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Afroessa Hotel
Afroessa Hotel
#6 of 48 in Imerovigli
5.0 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ilioperato Traditional Apartments
0.4 mi away
Pegasus Suites & Spa
Pegasus Suites & Spa
#14 of 48 in Imerovigli
5.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heliotopos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heliotopos Hotel

Property: Heliotopos Hotel
Address: Imerovigli, Imerovigli 847 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Imerovigli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Imerovigli
#19 Luxury Hotel in Imerovigli
#25 Romantic Hotel in Imerovigli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Heliotopos Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heliotopos is a unique boutique hotel complex in the traditional dome style, with one or two storey suites and studio apartments. Built on the foundations of old island structures it has been constructed to reflect the beauty of Santorini's architecture. Located at the highest point of the crater-top (the rim of the Caldera) it offers an extraordinary, breathtaking view of the volcano, the sea and the surrounding islets from every point of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Heliotopos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heliotopos Hotel Imerovigli
Heliotopos Hotel Santorini/Imerovigli

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing