We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a wonderful experience”
Review of Heliotopos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Heliotopos Hotel
Ranked #24 of 48 Hotels in Imerovigli
Certificate of Excellence
uk
1 review
“a wonderful experience”
Reviewed 6 August 2009

We were at Heliotopos in mid-July and had a great time.Initially,we were a bit apprehensive,but everything turned out to be how we imagined.The views from the hotel were absolutely majestic,the post-cards and site do not do it justice,sipping fine local wine and enjoying the view while the sun sets is truly an unforgettable experience.As this was a holiday for our 10th anniversary,I can honestly say that the setting was perfect.

The staff were very friendly and helpful.They told us things about the island,what to visit which beaches to go(things that only locals know).

We were very pleased with the rooms and the breakfast offered was of wide variety and abundance.

In a nutshell,a gret hotel with great staff.Will definitely go back in the near future.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gary098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    301
    55
    13
    6
    10
See reviews for
90
169
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ft. Mitchell, KY
1 review
Reviewed 6 August 2009

I can't say enough about what a wonderful place Heliotopos was to stay in Santorini. We happened to just pick it off of the internet out of a few hotels. Our final decision to stay there was due to the fast response from Stella about our questions and rates about the hotel. You always worry about booking something over the internet without a personal recommendation. This hotel exceded our expectations. As soon as we arrived, we had a glass of wine near the pool. When we went down to our room, we were very happy that we had purchased a bottle of wine so that we could enjoy the unbelieveable sunset from the privacy of our balcony. As soon as we woke up every morning, we went right to open the doors so that we could start enjoying the beauty of Santorini. The breakfast every morning was delicious. Not only was the food great but so was the company. It was having breakfast with family. I enjoyed it every morning. You have to try the carrot cake if they make it while you are there. The fresh squeezed orange juice was another one of our favorites. We had trouble getting cabs a few days because they just don't have enough during busy times of the day. The girls at the hotel called a rental car company and they came to pick us up instead. This was a better option. Our driver took us to the beach and also agreed to be waiting for us at the same location when it was time to go back to the hotel. He was there and then took us to dinner later that evening.
Tips...Eat at Saltsa and Selene. We also had a great lunch in Oia at Ambrosa. Look around at several stores before buying because they have lots of the same items but very different prices. I can't imagine anyone going to Santorini and staying at the Heliotopos and not having one of the best times of their life! Go and enjoy but bring good shoes to walk in and dress casual.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chance4Vacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crete
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2009

We spend 4 days in this o star "hotel"!
The location wasn't convinient at all as they describe at their site,it is long walk till the center of the island!
The service was horrible and the personel was for sure not well educated to do this profession plus they offended american people and way of thinking!
The rooms were way overpriced comparable to other real luxourious hotels in the island and cause I am an architect that is not for sure traditional architecture of Cyclades!!!
The breakfast was ok and the manager of the hotel was always with a fake smile!
Absolutely bad choise this hotel and I recommend it to nobody!

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PeggyCrete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fort myers
1 review
Reviewed 1 July 2009

Images of Santorini -- post cards, restaurant murals, paintings -- invite the imagination to an idyllic hillside town. Hotel Heliotopos is the essence of that place imagined. Literally at the heart of the portrait, our hotel was ensconced among dozens of white-walled dwellings, blue-capped churches, and windmills.

Pictures of Heliotopos can't capture its charm. The rooms project from ancient caves, looking over the blue caldera and setting sun. The mind can barely resolve the immensity of scale in the vista.

The staff of Heliotopos were a match for its location and architecture: dedicated to clients with the sincerity of friends.

My wife and I cherish our experience at Heliotopos and hope nothing changes before we can return!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom_Lourdes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2009

Just returned from our trip to Santorini where we stayed in Heliotopos Hotel. The Hotel is amazing and the stuff are trully wonderfull. We can not thank Lila, Yiota and Stella enough for making our trip a memorable experience. The girls arranged everything from our travelling to our dinner reservations. Excellent Service. We left the hotel making long lasting friends. The hotel is so beautiful though its understated architecture which represents the simplicity and beauty of the Kyklades complimented by the attention to every detail from the decoration in the communal areas (amazing installations) the roof terrace and the rooms. And the view is breathtaking especially during the sunset which you can enjoy in the roof terrace of the hotel or from the privacy of your own room. In addition, the breakfast every morning was delicious with freshly made orange juices and traditional pies every single morning. All in all, excellent service in a beautiful hotel with beautiful people

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sofocleous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shropshire
1 review
Reviewed 19 June 2009

My husband and myself visited Santorini from 26th May until 2nd June .On the 1st June we went to Heliotopos to renew our wedding vows.
( We got married at Heliotopos on 1st June 2004. ) Lila and the staff could`nt do enough for us to make this a truly memoriable experience. We were made to feel like royalty.
The ceremony overlooking the caldera with the famous Santorini Sunset was magical. I was given a posy of flowers to hold . We were presented with a copy of the vows and a certificate to keep as a reminder of the ceremony. We then shared a bottle of sparkling wine. I would recommend this Hotel to anyone contemplating a wedding or renewal of their wedding vows . You would have to search long and hard to better yourselves. A++++

Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank flossie01630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange County, CA
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2009

A friend and me stayed at the Heliotopos four nights. The service was great, we were able to book everything (tours, cabs, rental cars, etc.) through the very helpful front desk staff.

The views are AMAZING!

The room was very big and had lots of space but is built into the cliffs and has a "cave like" dampness to it. It isn't overwhelming but something to consider.

There isn't much to do in the Imerovigli area where Heliotopos os located. It is in the middle of Santorini so it is easy to get to each side of the island (by bus or rental car) and is close to Fira (about a 20 minute walk). There are 2-3 restaurants near by but it is a walk, sometimes on a busy road of you don't take the cliff roads. I would recommend staying in Imperioli Stefani area which is a few miles away had has more of a small town to eat, shop, etc.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Addie76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Imerovigli hotels
0.7 mi away
Rocabella Santorini Resort & Spa
0.0 mi away
Abyssanto Suites & Spa
Abyssanto Suites & Spa
#29 of 48 in Imerovigli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
0.1 mi away
Iliovasilema Suites
Iliovasilema Suites
#21 of 48 in Imerovigli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sunny Villas
Hotel Sunny Villas
#19 of 48 in Imerovigli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pegasus Suites & Spa
Pegasus Suites & Spa
#14 of 48 in Imerovigli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
0.1 mi away
Afroessa Hotel
Afroessa Hotel
#7 of 48 in Imerovigli
5.0 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heliotopos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heliotopos Hotel

Property: Heliotopos Hotel
Address: Imerovigli, Imerovigli 847 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Imerovigli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Imerovigli
#20 Luxury Hotel in Imerovigli
#25 Romantic Hotel in Imerovigli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Heliotopos Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heliotopos is a unique boutique hotel complex in the traditional dome style, with one or two storey suites and studio apartments. Built on the foundations of old island structures it has been constructed to reflect the beauty of Santorini's architecture. Located at the highest point of the crater-top (the rim of the Caldera) it offers an extraordinary, breathtaking view of the volcano, the sea and the surrounding islets from every point of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Bookgreece.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Heliotopos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heliotopos Hotel Imerovigli
Heliotopos Hotel Santorini/Imerovigli

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing