We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (497)
Filter reviews
497 results
Traveller rating
401
68
14
6
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
401
68
14
6
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wine bar natural cave cave restaurant highest point of the caldera sunset view greek coffee look no further santorini experience breakfast was delicious amazing views amazing hotel cave room every morning aegean sea small pool we loved our stay the cliff
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 497 reviews
Reviewed 18 December 2018

My husband and I stayed here for our honeymoon in November, and I could not have been any happier.

When you first arrive, be prepared for a good amount of stairs down, but the view alone is the worth the walk. Check in, enjoy a complimentary glass of wine, and take in the room. We stayed in a Honeymoon Suite, adjacent to the lobby, with the best view the hotel offered- and we weren't disappointed.

The rooms are perfection. Blue and white, as is the commonality of the island. It's a two story hotel room, with a living room, kitchen, dining room, two couches, and a loft upstairs to sleep in. The rooms are gorgeous, and they open up onto a view of Oia and the caldera.

The breakfast is worth trying, more so than anything to enjoy eating in the cave restaurant. However, it's their dinner that's really worth it. Some of the best food on the island, and the best Moscato I've had the pleasure of enjoying.

The staff is helpful, informative, and incredibly welcoming. I couldn't imagine staying at any other hotel.

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davinadawson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2018 via mobile

The heliotopos hotel overlooking the caldera of Santorini. It has a structures tipically of this Island very bright white houses with blue band.
The accomodation was fine inside the cave. Breakfast delicious. Wormly suggested for holiday.

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank mauroplantone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2018

The most picturesque, warmest and most hospitable, friendly, and conveniently located hotel on Santorini. When you think of Greece , this is the spot you are thinking of! The best sunsets on the island! My two teenage daughters and I stayed at the wonderful, clean and authentic hotel this past July. We have nothing but warm , beautiful memories from our stay. The room is authentic cave home style but is very bright and spacious and even has a small kitchen in traditional cave house style. Everything was clean and worked well, including the air conditioning. Hope, Eleni, and all of the staff were ALWAYS available and ready to help with our every question, request and wish, whether we were at the hotel or away. Hope contacted me a month before to offer assistance with setting up tours or activities we may wish to partake in. I did not respond to her until we were at the airport on our way there, and yet via email, she was able to help us set up a perfect private tour of the island for the morning after arrival as well as transfer from the airport as we arrived at 9pm. This was very comforting. Even though we got to the hotel just before it’s restaurant closed, they were so hospitable in allowing us to have a wonderful traditional Greek meal while sitting at their rooftop patio restaurant overlooking the beautiful Caldera by moonlight, starlight and candlelight. The food was delicious and the service so personalized. The hotel is perfectly situated facing the Caldera, with Oia just minutes away by taxi and Thira, a short walk along a beautiful footpath, without the hustle and bustle of either place. I went for a run each morning along that path- it is great for walking or running and so pretty. The Hotel and those around it are quaint but this one is really shows off the beautiful white and blue domed Santorini architecture and truly has the best sunsets. One afternoon, we went to Oia, which was beautiful as well, but as the evening drew closer and we sat on the steps to see “the perfect” sunset, the crowds began to come in droves and we decided to walk “upstream the people” back to the taxi stand to get a taxi back to Heliotopos. We arrived just as the sun was setting and were soo happy to be “home” with the most perfect view of the sunset. The breakfast in the morning was delicious, plentiful, served with a smile in the cutest , again cave-style restaurant, serving a wide variety of food from traditional Greek to toast and pastries. The room had all bath amenities, wonderful towels and sheets and were cleaned and service daily. The free wifi worked perfectly. Hope even has an arrangement with the larger pool across the footpath that I could use to do my laps in the morning. They helped us find the best besches, the best winery and the best spots on the island to visit on a low budget still wanting to see the most authentic parts of the island. There is absolutely nothing negative I can say about this super friendly, family run, clean authentic and beautiful hotel. This is my second trip to Santorini and I would never think of staying anywhere else. Thank you Hope, Eleni and all the staff. As the days grow colder and darker, here in the Northeast, the memories of our trip keep us warm and happy.

Room tip: All rooms face the Caldera. Ours was on the level just below the pool level and I think it was perfect but I think they are all the same.
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rbgfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2018 via mobile

Really was very nice experience , staff are awsome Eleni was very very nice , very coorpetive , we had flight canceled and still support us , many thank all team , higly recommended , morning breckfast was nice delicious

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank ahmed k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2018

A rare Mediterranean hurricane--a "Medicane"--was heading towards Santorini on the day we were scheduled to fly home, and a little part of us was actually hoping our flight would be canceled and we could stay in this wonderful hotel another couple of days!

We splurged on one of the two-story cave-style studios, with a sitting room on the upper level and a bathroom and bedroom on the lower level with caldera views from each level. If you're looking for perfect, unobstructed sunset views, this is the place. You also get to enjoy the many weddings held at the hotel next door and watch the brides have their photo shoots. In one afternoon, we saw about a dozen wedding ceremonies, which we found enormously entertaining.

The service level at Heliotopos is phenomenal. The staff was helpful and did everything they could to may our stay enjoyable. Hope, Eleni, and Joseph are incredibly cheerful and friendly despite what have to be long days and the demands of customers. We enjoyed the daily breakfast buffet in the cave-style hotel restaurant and ended up eating dinner there two nights during our stay. The selection is small, but everything is done very well.

One word of caution: if you have a rental car, parking is a challenge. The hotels don't have dedicated parking areas, so plan on finding a spot wherever you can and walking for a couple minutes back to the hotel.

But that's a pretty minor issue for an overall great location. Imerovigli is quiet and peaceful, but within minutes you can be in the hustle and bustle and traffic of Fira. The hotel sits on the caldera trail linking Fira to Oia, and it's a quick walk to Skaros Rock. It's about 30 minutes to Oia and 15-20 minutes to the airport. There's an ATM and corner store directly across the street from the hotel entrance and several good restaurants within walking distance.

In short, the Heliotopos checked all the boxes for the perfect trip to Santorini. Go and enjoy!

Room tip: We were on the level just below the reception area and offered unobstructed caldera views
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews