We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Late Trip to Santorini”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Iliovasilema Suites
Ranked #20 of 50 Hotels in Imerovigli
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We booked his hotel over the internet and a little unsure of what to expect but from arriving in Santorini to being dropped back off at the airport we were made to feel very special. The hotel is beautifully positioned to oversee the caldera and the view is out of this world and the sunsets spectacular.
We had a twin room with a decent shared balcony where we were served breakfast every morning. The room was spotless and if needed air conditioned. The hotel staff were always smiling and very friendly and ready to assist with any needs we had.
This was our only holiday this year and I could not have wished for a better experience.
I would recommend this hotel and Imerovigli to any one who is visiting Santorini.

Room Tip: Ask for a decent balcony if possible. All rooms face the Caldera
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OZZIEDGS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
louk7, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Iliovasilema Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Dear reviewer

With this message we would like to thank you for visiting Iliovasilema Suites and for the time you spent on your review.
On behalf of our team and the new management I would like to express our sincere appreciation for your kind words and we all hope to see you again in one of your future trips in Santorini

Kind Reagards

Elina Drosaki
Operational Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (467)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

245 - 251 of 467 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2013

This was our favorite suite in our recent tour of Greece. We had room 14 which I believe is a premium room. Large sitting area, large bed room, and a magnificent bathroom and shower area. It felt as though we were in a cave but in a deluxe, well lit cave. We loved the view, having breakfast delivered to our terrace each morning and the private hot tub (although the water was too cool to enjoy). I've noticed there have been mixed reviews but we couldn't have been more pleased with this property and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LoveNewExperiences
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
louk7, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Iliovasilema Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Dear reviewer

With this message we would like to thank you for visiting Iliovasilema Suites and for the time you spent on your review.
On behalf of our team and the new management I would like to express our sincere appreciation for your kind words and we all hope to see you again in one of your future trips in Santorini

Kind Regards

Elina Drosaki
Operational Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Our expectations where pretty high to begin with, but they were exceeded. We were in Room 8 - the largest room with 2 bathrooms, 2 bedrooms and a hot tub. The views are beautiful all over Santorini and while this was stunning what really stands out here is the staff. They work very hard and are responsive to all your needs and seem to genuinely care about you. They were great helping us with dinner reservations and suggestions, car rental and breakfast requests (i'm a vegetarian). They are very friendly - we learned a great deal about the current political and economic situation in Greece from them.

There is no restaurant at this hotel, but there is very reasonably priced room service that is quite good - I recommend the greek salad. This is a great option if you've rented a car for the day and are tired when you return and just want to relax.

One thing that was a little confusing was the heating of the hot tub. On day 1 it was pretty cold, on day 2 it was perfect, then on day 3 it was somewhere in between. You do not have the ability to adjust the temperature yourself.

None of the patios seemed completely private here, so keep that in mind if that is a big concern for you. There is a footpath in front of some of the rooms (ours was one of these) but traffic on it was very light and not a problem at all for us.

There is a shared lounge chair area that can accommodate about 5 couples at most but it seemed to work out that often it wasn't even full.

Imerovigli is a great choice it if you want a quiet , more off the beaten path location. We visited Oia and Fira and I really think the view from Imerovigli is the best. Santorini is magical and Iliovaseillema Suites is a great choice.

Room Tip: Think about how much private patio space you want and how much space you need in the room. It reall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
louk7, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Iliovasilema Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Dear reviewer

With this message we would like to thank you for visiting Iliovasilema Suites and for the time you spent on your review.
On behalf of our team and the new management I would like to express our sincere appreciation for your kind words and we all hope to see you again in one of your future trips in Santorini

Kind Regards

Elina Drosaki
Operational Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

be careful which room you choose! Because of the location of the hotel and because space is a premium, there is very little shade in the public areas. One sunshade over eight sunbeds (but really only shading two!) is totally insufficient. Therefore avoid a double or superior room as you will have such a small balcony that you will really find it difficult if you want to relax at the hotel, of course, unless you are happy to sit in the searing sun all day. The pool is tiny and next to a public walkway which does not make it conducive to taking a plunge! Definitely choose at the least a Junior Suite because then you will have a little more shaded outside area. Avoid any room that has a mezzanine bedroom as the air conditioning is totally hopeless at cooling this area and it was very difficult to sleep. Also avoid room two as the balcony is practically non-existent. Breakfast served on the balcony sounds idyllic but it was a toasted cheese and ham sandwich everyday. After eight days of exactly the same, it wears very thin. Of course, there was a choice if you paid extra but you had to order the night before. No restaurant is definitely a huge disadvantage.

It is a beautiful location and the staff are very helpful and service is very much 'with a smile'. Two restaurants to recommend are Anogi and La Maison. However, I would suggest staying in Oia or Fira if you can find accommodation a little outside the main centres.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank GymGirlJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Beautiful hotel, very clean, great bed, incredible view over the Caldera. Amazing sunsets. 30 mins walk to Fira. Nice to be away from the busy streets of Fira. Many good restaurants nearby, as well as grocery stores and bus stop. Great breakfast served on your private balcony. We would definitely return.

Room Tip: Our room was just above the walking path, we did not find it intrusive to have people walk by.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FranceandKen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
louk7, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Iliovasilema Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Dear reviewer

With this message we would like to thank you for visiting Iliovasilema Suites and for the time you spent on your review.
On behalf of our team and the new management I would like to express our sincere appreciation for your kind words and we all hope to see you again in one of your future trips in Santorini

Kind Regards

Elina Drosaki
Operational Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

I don't understand how people are raving about this hotel! Yes, the setting itself is beautiful (although this hotel does have a pretty ugly rock outcropping directly in front of it that does detract from the overall view). However, the hotel itself is fair at best. Our balcony was practically non-existent. The infinity pool is small and set back from the edge of the property, so it's not as dramatic as many of the others. The bathroom and the room itself were definitely showing some wear. The towels were itchy and thin. There are SO MANY other hotels in the are or in Oia to choose from--I wouldn't return here!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
louk7, Διευθυντής at Iliovasilema Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2013

Dear Mr. Dana,

Thank you for taking the time to post on TripAdvisor your recent experience at Iliovasilema Hotel. We always appreciate guest's feedback as it is the best way to keep improving the level of service and facilities provided.

Kindly be advised though that you have reserved a Standard Double room for which you knew from the description that the balcony is semi private and the size of the room. For better facilities inside & outside the room you could have booked a Superior Double room. Furthermore about the ''ugly rock'' let us inform you that in History of Santorini ''Skaros Rock'' was one of the five fortified settlements & the most important one. Many tourists are coming to Imerovigli in order to walk & watch Skaros Rock.

We are really sorry that you didn't get to enjoy and appreciate the beauty of our own nature or take advantage of just asking if any other room was available in order to make your stay here with us more comfortable. Maybe sometimes you just need positive mood and then you get to enjoy life more...

Once more we would like to thank you for sharing your experience.
With Warm Regards,
Yiouli Nikolaidou
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We both absolutely loved this trip and constantly recommend Santorini to friends and family.

This hotel was beautiful, set into the cliffs. Each room had a little private balcony looking out to sea. The sunset view every night was so breathtaking we often didn't go out for dinner until the sun had gone down. The staff were really friendly and helpful. The food was good and we often ate lunch around the pool. Only criticism would be that the pool was very small but we split our trip into a few days around the pool and then the rest exploring other parts of the island.

Imerovigli itself is a small area of Santorini. Many people had recommended Oia which was supposed to have the most amazing sunset views but we went for one evening and it was so busy with people we thought it wrecked the experience. We think our little balcony at Iliovasillema Suites offered a equally breathtaking sunset view in a fantastically private setting. The area is quiet but there was a lovely restaurant a few mins walk from the hotel. As the hotel was in the cliffs it was about a 15 min drive to the nearest beach which were located the other side of the island. We hired a car for 3 days and explored the island visiting the beaches and the lighthouse. We definitely recommend hiring a car NOT a ATV because driving on the island is wreck-less at best.

Absolutely loved this holiday and the hotel!


Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank A_RTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
louk7, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Iliovasilema Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Dear reviewer

With this message we would like to thank you for visiting Iliovasilema Suites and for the time you spent on your review.
On behalf of our team and the new management I would like to express our sincere appreciation for your kind words and we all hope to see you again in one of your future trips in Santorini

Kind Regards

Elina Drosaki
Operational Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Imerovigli
0.4 mi away
Pegasus Suites & Spa
Pegasus Suites & Spa
#17 of 50 in Imerovigli
353 reviews
0.7 mi away
Rocabella Santorini Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Honeymoon Petra Villas
Honeymoon Petra Villas
#16 of 50 in Imerovigli
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Petit Palace Suites Hotel
2.9 mi away
Lilium Villas Santorini
0.9 mi away
Santorini Princess
Santorini Princess
#7 of 50 in Imerovigli
937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iliovasilema Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iliovasilema Suites

Address: Imerovigli 84 700, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Imerovigli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Imerovigli
#17 Family Hotel in Imerovigli
#23 Romantic Hotel in Imerovigli
Price Range: £124 - £447 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Iliovasilema Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Imerovigli, one of the most beautiful villages of Santorini Island, you will find the ILIOVASILEMA HOTEL APARTMENTS ("Iliovasilema" is the Greek word for "sunset"). Iliovasilema is situated on the enchanting and world famous Caldera. Built 350m above sea level, offers to its guests the most fascinating view of the volcano and the little islands of the Aegean Sea, as well as of the dazzling sunset. Iliovasilema was initially built in year 1996, has been renovated and remodeled in year 2002 and still grows, following always the rules and the tradition of the Cycladic architecture! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Iliovasilema Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iliovasillema Hotel Imerovigli
Iliovasilema Hotel Imerovigli
Iliovasilema Suites Santorini/Imerovigli

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing