We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced though with nice service and views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Iliovasilema Suites
Ranked #22 of 51 Hotels in Imerovigli
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 September 2008

We spent 3 days at this hotel and came out with mixed feelings. The hotel is positioned high up on the Imerovigli cliffs, overlooking the beautiful Santorini Caldera.

The room is adequate if somewhat small (we stayed in an "apartment", though it is hard to really call it that). Our room did not have a pool which we thought would be ok since the hotel has a pool, but when we arrived we discovered that the hotel pool is extremely deep, making it impossible to stand in. This is problematic for people with small children, like us. When added to the fact that the balcony of our room was so narrow that it made it impossible to hide from the sun, the result was that we really couldn't hang out at the hotel at all. When you pay 220 euros a night, you expect to be able to use your room and we simply were not.

Our main other complaint is that for this price we would also expect breakfast to be included and it wasn't. In general, the food options were very limited and highly overpriced (no greek food at all and overall prices were double the prices in the surrounding restaurants).

Other than that, the place was nice, well maintained and the service wad very friendly and nice. The village is also beautiful with amazing views, though not as special as Oia, which we highly recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank travelfiend_30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (445)
There are newer reviews for Iliovasilema Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

311 - 317 of 445 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2008

This is a beautiful hotel with incredible views. The morning breakfast was served anywhere we wanted it, so every morning we ate on the balcony overlooking the caldera. Staff are great and very accommodating, having internet was nice to send emails home. Its a pleasant walk to Fira. Want to go back very soon.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
26  Thank bellbabies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2008

We had a phone confirmation two nights ago to stay at Iliovasilema Aug 9-19, and sent the hotel our credit card info the next morning to reserve our trip. Just yesterday, they said the room had been given to other guests because of high-demand, and they could not accomodate us for our entire stay. Although staff were eager to assist us in finding another hotel, it seems management is just in the business for the quickest and highest "dollar"!!! Their cancellation was done in bad taste, especially since we had explained this was our honeymoon trip. They didn't even call us before they gave the room away. Such disregard for first-time customers is inappropriate.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
4  Thank petaloudamm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eriko12, Manager at Iliovasilema Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2008

Dear Sir/Madam,

We would like to comment on what your legitimate member has written concerning our hotel.
To begin with, the first contact we had concerning this reservation, took place on the 24th of July by a phone call.
After that telephone conversation and on the 27th of July and mail of the reservation form which was supposed to be filled in and sent back the next morning.
The reservation form was not sent back, instead your member called in order to clarify some questions.
On the 29th of July we resent your member the reservation form after her request, having informed her that the reservation is made by sending us the reservation form by the next morning, attaching the copy of the deposit slip or credit card info.
On the 30th of July we had another telephone call from your member, that reassured us that she would send the reservation form first thing in the morning.
She did send us the reservation form, but this happened late in the afternoon, (and to be more exact at 4:07pm).
Meanwhile, we had already rejected a numerous of requests. The same morning that we were supposed to have the reservation form filled and deposit slip, we had another request, among the others and since we had no reply from your member, we had to reject her reservation.
We firstly, called to inform her of the situation on her cell phone, that we where given, but no answer, and no return call was made within the next 3-4 hours. So we went ahead and sent an E-mail explaining the situation.
Late in the afternoon on the 31st the reservation form came with no deposit slip but a credit card number.
We had an immediate call and we were asked for explanations in a tranquil voice.
We explained the situation and proposed to help her in finding another establishment around the same price and with the same view.
This could have been avoided if he had the credit card info from the beginning.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2008

Great views. Great Sunset (better the Oia in early June)

The service was excellent, the rooms fantastic. We had a superior suite. Its not particularly cheap but I am not sure anywhere in Santorini is.

I would stay here again. But there seems to be plenty of accomdation options all along the cauldra

Its an nice 25 min walk along the Cauldra path to Fira there are some great resturants along the way.

  • Stayed: June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank BradUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2008

The most beautiful hotel on Santorini! We went to Santorini for a wedding. We had no idea what to expect. I booked this hotel because I wanted a nice view. It was not just a nice view, it was the most fantastic view in the world! Our friends that were getting married stayed at the hotel next door to ours by coincidence. We saw their honeymoon suite, and it did not compare to ours. We had more space (2 bathrooms and 2 beds) and we had the best view. Ours was so much better that I didn't want the honeymoon couple to see ours because I didn't want to make them jealous.
The view is so breathtaking, I can't even describe it. I couldn't take my eyes off of it.
But not only was the view great, but the rooms were incredible. Huge rooms, nicely decorated. The staff were so friendly. They treated us like honeymooners, even though we were there for another wedding. It actually was our 9th anniversary, but the staff didn't know that. They helped us get ATVs to rent. We had so much fun driving those around the island.
I can't say enough about this hotel. A must stay if you go to Santorini.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
28  Thank Danibruno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2008

My wife and I (we are 27 to give you a frame of reference) just got back from our Honeymoon in Greece with our first 4 days of our 10 day trip at the Iliovasilema Hotel in Santorini. I must say that I booked my trip because of the reviews on this site so I feel compelled to spread the wealth of information that I received before our trip.

I could write for hours about Santorini to see, to do but I will limit this post for those considering this hotel.

We arrived at the hotel and were shocked at how amazing the view was. Get used to it in Santorini because there arent many other places in the world that compare to it. We had booked the trip through the website of this hotel and everything was incredibly smooth. The manager, Nikos, was waiting for us at the top, our bags taken down to our room for us, to a bottle of wine to enjoy the sunset with.

The apartment we were staying in was at the bottom of the hotel, but by no means the bottom of the cliff. We had room 8. This was their standard apartment. Our balcony was small fitting only a table and 2 chairs, but would definitely not complain about it. The room was sized maybe a little smaller than expected but we were happy with it. THere is no question it is the views you are paying for on this island. Cost was about 200 Euro a night not including breakfast. We never eat at the hotels we are staying at unless its free. Love finding the great places in town. The pool was different than I had hoped. Ok size, but more of a plunge pool than a swimming pool. The kind that are 5-6 ft. deep the whole way around. Only item that I would maybe complaign about, but we realized that it gave us more time at the beaches and exploring the island, so maybe a good thing. Very clean bathrooms and rooms all of the time. The staff is all over it here. I would definitely say you wont be disappointed here. Manager is great, asst. manager is great, they will take care of everything for you. They are there to please and considering the hotel only has about 14 suites, it is very personal, but not intrusive. You occasionally see the staff around, but really will only see them if you need them. I wouldnt recommend staying in one of the suites in front of the pool, just because it isnt private and probably not worth the money to have it.

All in all, great time here and the reviews were a great help.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
11  Thank Nati_Traveler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2008

My husband and I stayed at Iliovasilema for four nights during our honeymoon and had an absolutely wonderful stay at Iliovasilema.

We had originally wanted to stay in Oia but found our top choices completely booked. As luck would have it, we found we far prefered Imerovigli's view and less busy vibe. Both the town and this hotel will be our top choices when we come back.

The view is nothing short of breathtaking and the rooms are elegant, comfortable and remarkably spacious. We stayed in a junior suite with a jacuzzi and found we used our lovely front deck nearly non-stop for wine-sipping and sunset-watching.

More than anything, though, the staff at Iliovasilema made our holiday a complete pleasure. Stella and Nico were unfailingly friendly, helpful and always willing to go an extra mile for us. It's obvious the passion they have for the island and the care they take to ensure their guests have wonderful experiences while at the hotel. When asked, they gave us fantastic suggestions for everything from slightly-less-touristy dinner spots, to the best day-sailing options or even ways to deal with challenging parking tickets (!).

We have our fingers crossed that we can indulge in a one-year anniversary visit to Iliovasilema!

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
28  Thank torontotraveller9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Imerovigli hotels
0.4 mi away
Pegasus Suites & Spa
Pegasus Suites & Spa
#17 of 51 in Imerovigli
320 reviews
0.7 mi away
Rocabella Santorini Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Honeymoon Petra Villas
Honeymoon Petra Villas
#18 of 51 in Imerovigli
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Iconic Santorini, a boutique cave hotel
0.2 mi away
Chromata Hotel
Chromata Hotel
#13 of 51 in Imerovigli
625 reviews
1.6 mi away
San Antonio Suites
San Antonio Suites
#14 of 51 in Imerovigli
675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iliovasilema Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iliovasilema Suites

Address: Imerovigli 84 700, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Imerovigli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Imerovigli
#18 Luxury Hotel in Imerovigli
#23 Romantic Hotel in Imerovigli
Price Range: £181 - £555 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Iliovasilema Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Imerovigli, one of the most beautiful villages of Santorini Island, you will find the ILIOVASILEMA HOTEL APARTMENTS ("Iliovasilema" is the Greek word for "sunset"). Iliovasilema is situated on the enchanting and world famous Caldera. Built 350m above sea level, offers to its guests the most fascinating view of the volcano and the little islands of the Aegean Sea, as well as of the dazzling sunset. Iliovasilema was initially built in year 1996, has been renovated and remodeled in year 2002 and still grows, following always the rules and the tradition of the Cycladic architecture! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Iliovasilema Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iliovasillema Hotel Imerovigli
Iliovasilema Hotel Imerovigli
Iliovasilema Suites Santorini/Imerovigli

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing