We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great view, WAY overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Iliovasilema Suites
Ranked #21 of 48 Hotels in Imerovigli
Certificate of Excellence
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
178 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Great view, WAY overpriced”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

First and foremost let me begin by telling you that my review of this hotel will be extremely harsh purely because of the outrageous amount of money we paid for it. Had we paid a decent price compared to the service we got, i'd have been more content with my stay but i feel completely ripped off.

I'll start with the good and move on with the bad.

The view. Purely breathtaking! Could never get tired of looking at it. So relaxing and romantic. It's the best i've seen on the whole island, found it much better there than in Oia.
The hotel is located in Imerovigli, which is a 30min walk to Fira, the island's main city. Some may be put off by the distance but it's honestly the cutest little path. Don't follow the main road and get lost in the little streets. It's worth it!
It's also a nice location as you feel a bit more out of the purely touristic center and are more in the "romantic area".
Like most hotels in Santorini, it has a limited amount of rooms, which can be good.
The breakfast is room service only, served on the private balcony/table in front of the room.
The staff (especially) Elina was friendly and tried their best to help us out.
They were quite reactive. I broke a glass and they came straight away to clean up the mess and did it very thoroughly.
We were given a free bottle of Proseco.


Now comes the ugly bit...
Breakfast. We were told it was included in the price but what you get is actually very little food : 1 croissant, 1 small piece of bread, 2 tbsp (i kid you not!) of jam and honey, 1 glass of orange juice (obviously NOT freshly squeezed) and a hot drink (classic lipton tea as the only choice and coffee). That's it. For any extra you'll have to pay. When they brought 2 croissants and 2 pieces of bread the first day, we thought they had forgotten one portion. My boyfriend ate it all and when the waiter came back we told him he forgot mine and he said that was a portion for two. When we asked if we could have more he simple replied "we ran out" - i've never been told that in a hotel in my life!
The first day we got extras - (sad) fruit salad for me and yoghurt for my boyfriend. We were told we could have any extra for free but then the next day they said it was only exceptional for the first day. Oh and also the second day onwards, the quantity of milk and tea was divided by half without any reasons.

Wifi
The Wifi doesn't work in the rooms or in front of them. You have to go to the reception or go on the other side of the swimming pool to have a chance of catching a (bad) connection. A hotel without a fully functional free wifi connection in 2014 is like a hotel without towels. It should be a basic service to the guests.

They were forgetful. We ordered two greek salads they would only bring one. They would take forever to remove the trays from the table and i'd just lie there for an hour +. I asked for soy milk, they told me we'd get some but they never brought any. We asked for 2 towels, they took both tags (you give in exchange for towels and get them back when you bring them back) but never brought the second towel. Only gave us the tags for the swimming pool towels so we took them to the beach as we didn't know we had to use separate ones, and they didn't seem happy about it when it was their mistake.

I know it's the case in every hotel in Santorini but i'll never get used to having to throw away toilet paper in a bin! They should at least have two separate trash cans in the bathroom. You end up throwing away your used make up wipes in the same bin as your soiled toilet paper... Not cool!

The bath tub was a sad and uninviting jacuzzi that seemed to come straight out of the 90s and was leaking. The hot cold system wasn't easy to get.

There is absolutely 0 privacy. Anyone (guest or non guest) can walk past your room and that's not very nice. Thank god we didn't have a private jacuzzi. Think you can have a nice romantic private dip with your significant other? Think again! I know it's the case in most hotels in the area but still.

There was a price list for massages in the room but then when we enquired about them at the reception, the price were cut in half. Not complaining about that but thought they inflated the price for naive tourists and weren't consistent with their price listing.

The safe wasn't working well and we had to ask for assistance. He didn't know how to work it either.

The phone was from the 80s.

The batteries of the AC's remote control were dead.


Now that was one of the longest and harshest reviews i've ever written. I wrote down every detail.
As stated at the beginning of my review, i'd have been a lot more lenient if the price we paid for wasn't so outrageously high. We could have gotten a room at a W or Mandarin Oriental in a major city for the price we paid, and ended up getting a low 4* service. That to me is unacceptable. You ONLY pay for the view.
I don't mind that i have to pay a little extra for my breakfast, i don't mind that i don't get orange juice that isn't freshly squeezed, i don't care that they only have one sort of Lipton tea. What i *do* mind is getting all of that for the price we paid. It was totally unacceptable. AND we only got a standard room. I can't even imagine how much the others paid.

For this reason, i don't recommend you go there. It's probably going to be the case in every hotel in Santorini during the high season but still think it's absolutely over rated and outrageously expensive. If you make your clients pay so much for the view, at least make the service on par with it.

Room Tip: Don't think it's worth getting a room with a jacuzzi since you get no privacy anycase
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Caroline R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
louk7, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Iliovasilema Suites, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear reviewer

With this message we would like to thank you for visiting Iliovasilema Suites and for the time you spend on your review.
Even though we consider that any issue regarding your visit should have been settled while in premises we do appreciate the opportunity to reply to your extensive review.
Our Hotel as you honestly mention in your review is located in one of the most beautiful areas of Santorini with amazing breathtaking views.
It is also honestly said that that we feature a limited amount of rooms and exclusively room service continental breakfast.
It concludes to the fact that Small Boutique Hotels hanging on the cliffs of Santorini witnessing the World Known Santorinian Sunset and the views of the Unique Caldera, the Volcanic Island and the Agean Sea are rated accordingly.
Continental room service breakfast is included in our rates.
Continental room service breakfast was delivered daily in your veranda where you could enjoy it overlooking the amazing views of Iliovasilema Suites.
An extensive à la carte breakfast menu was also available.
Running through our files we see no extra breakfast charges and we vividly remember that when you have requested soy milk (not an everyday request) we honestly replied that we didn’t have at the time.
We offered though to bring some especially for you and you kindly refused our offer.
Two Greek Salads are your only extra consumptions on file during your three night stay.
It is strange to mention that only one salad was delivered while two are charged and paid by you.
If there was no delivery of the Salad you would, obviously, not pay for it.
It is also honestly said that we have a massage menu both in the reception desk and in the room folders.
The masseur is an external cooperator, she visited your room, offered her services and you paid her DIRECTLY.
We were happy to make the arrangements and deliver the masseur in your room.
The pricing, payment, bargains, deals you made it directly with the therapist we have nothing to excuse about.

We also do not understand the Towel misunderstanding!
You have asked for towels to use outside the room, brought us the towel tags, took two towels and used them by the pool area and then took the towels to the beach. Then you returned the towels and took the tags back for a future use.
We do not see something wrong with it or with the procedure.
During your stay in Santorini we have experienced 28-35 Celsius.
It has been really hot.
If your A/C was not working properly you would have mentioned while in the house.
No complaints considering the A/C are on file as well.
We are very sorry though to hear that the A/C batteries dropped dead during your stay with us and we didn’t find out.
You should have reported during your stay so that we could replace them.
We do feature simple phones in our rooms easy to use if you want to communicate with the reception or call back home.
We also have bins in our WCs where you throw garbage away.
It’s a common thing around many countries in Europe.
It is also honestly said that you have booked the basic room type which happened to feature a Jacuzzi bath tub.
We are sorry if you don’t appreciate the existence of a Jacuzzi bath tub in your accommodation.
Let us make clear though that we do not advertise or feature Jucuzzi bath tubs in the type of accommodation you have reserved.
Allow us to excuse ourselves for the poor WI FI signal.
It is true that we are not one of the hotels you have mentioned in your review IN A MAJOR city.
We are located on a little Greek Island and our rooms are curved in to the cliffs of Santorini .
Wi Fi gets slow sometimes but we consider unfair the fact that you DO not mention our living room which is a fully Air Conditioned area available for all of our guests to use for FREE our PC and get on line using our cabled internet connection.
At this point we would like to thank you for your kind remarks regarding me and my team considering our efficiency and reactions and excuse ourselves for any slights during your visit in our premises.
It is also extensively mentioned in your review the privacy of our rooms and verandas.
We are sorry to say that the architecture of the landscape and the uniqueness of our buildings cannot support full privacy. All the structures on the Cliffside are build next or on top of each other all facing towards the view all been a little ‘’exposed’’.
Privacy, prime location, size, facilities and direct views are elements that consist room types and their rates.
Your reservation was for a basic type of accommodation.
We do believe that you should have inform us for your queries before checking out and allow us to work with any of your issues while in house .
We thank you again for visiting us

Kind regards

Elina Drosaki
Operational Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    278
    67
    19
    11
    12
See reviews for
30
270
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

This was our first visit to Santorini and we couldn't have picked a more perfect place to stay. The location is ideal - the views really do take your breath away. The staff was AMAZING - so welcoming and helpful and willing to do anything to make our stay enjoyable. We can't wait to book our return to this lovely place!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ontheroad048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Iliovasilema was an amazing experience. From the moment we arrived, it took our breath away.

The staff were very welcoming and always on call to help in all aspects of our holiday. From restaurant advice to activities, they were across everything.

The location - Imerovigli is approximately a 20 (greek) minutes away from Fira, the main centre of Santorini. Whilst this is the case, it is located in a quiet location close enough but also far away enough for our liking. Close by there are two restaurants called anogi and avocado which are cute with great food. This makes the suites have nice restaurants close by if you want a night not in the actual fira town. The walk to Fira is beautiful along the mountain top. Definitely worth doing. A cab to fira meanwhile is less than 10 Euro. Avoid the bus, its jam packed and somewhat annoying.

The view - AMAZING. Our private balcony was the perfect setting for sunset and we couldn't have asked for a better view.

The hotel - One of the few with a decent sized pool and great area for tanning. Spacious rooms and air conditioning was awesome. The staff were great and always helpful.

Definitely a worthwhile experience and we would visit again!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JandJSyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Its a lovely resort, amazing views from every level, breakfast delivered do your balcony every morning at your time of choosing up to 12,breathtaking views. The staff made the difference, a very personal service, booking restaurants, advising where to see on the island, amazing I have never experienced this level of care at a hotel before & I travel a lot for my photography http://www.lawlor.me

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stavrosthecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cyprus
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We stayed in this hotel in July 2014. No words are enough to describe the breathtaking views from this hotel, the uniqueness and beauty of each room, the service and friendliness of the staff. The manager Elina Drossaki is such an asset to the hotel always willing with a smile to help us with the restaurant reservations, transportations and accommodate all our requests. We are very grateful to her and very happy we have chosen this hotel for our holidays. We will definitely be back!!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Demar2013Cy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zuoz, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We'd planned to stay in Imerovigli for only a couple of days, but once we found Iliovasilema Suites we ended up spending the whole week. The villas are beautifully presented and very comfortable. Each has its own terrace overlooking the caldera, which looks stunning at any time of day. We spend at least three hours soaking up the ambience, the views and the peace that Iliovasilema offers. In the evening we did the same (but with a couple of gin and tonics). In their simplicity and tranquillity the rooms - which are carved into the side of a cliff - beat every five-star hotel I've ever been in.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank pets678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, uk
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

This hotel in Imerovigli is at the furthest point from Fira and is therefore much more peaceful. You can walk along the Caldera (coastal) path into Fira approx 30 mins and admire the breathtaking views ( cobbled path - so suitable footwear advisable or take the bus (1.60 euro's per person) or taxi (7 Euro's)
The staff are exceptionally friendly and try very hard to ensure you have a lovely time. The rooms are immaculately clean. However, the hotel is set within the caves and therefore has very steep steps and a lack of handrails and guard rails ! Making this unsuitable for those less agile or children. The hotel has paths and steps running throughout it and a lot of shared balconies all of which affect your privacy and at times the 'peace and quiet that is desired. The rooms are basic painted white and not 4* standard. The prices shown on the hotels web page are overpriced so shop around as they do advertise on other sites with discounts. I would recommend you look at the photo's taken by holidaymakers as they give a true reflection as opposed to the 'cleverly angled professional photo's. The swimming pool was a big disappointment as it's small, you can't touch the floor (anywhere) and it's located directly in front of three hotel rooms; so you feel as if you're intruding. The continental breakfast on your balcony was a nice touch, although the lack of privacy was a shame. We also had other meals (lunch and evening) delivered to our room and the food was very good and reasonably priced. (Stuffed chicken with rice) and the Greek salad our favourite.
The evenings are much cooler and the winds prevail, so cardigans/jumpers are advisable - especially for sitting on your balcony and watching the sunset !!! Amazing views and very romantic.
Nearby restaurants Avocado ( acceptable meals) Anogi (very good) and La Maison ( the best, but nouvelle cuisine so not large portions). Bus into Oia is worthwhile ( 1.60 Euro's per person).
I think a long weekend or 7 days (max) would be an ideal stay, due to the disappointing pool, lack of privacy and 'things to do' .

Room Tip: All rooms have a Caldera (sea) view and balcony. However, if you want a room that is higher up then...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kent_ukMacs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Imerovigli hotels
0.4 mi away
Pegasus Suites & Spa
Pegasus Suites & Spa
#14 of 48 in Imerovigli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
1.6 mi away
San Antonio Suites
San Antonio Suites
#10 of 48 in Imerovigli
5.0 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
0.7 mi away
Rocabella Santorini Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Altana Traditional Houses and Suites
0.2 mi away
Afroessa Hotel
Afroessa Hotel
#7 of 48 in Imerovigli
5.0 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
0.2 mi away
Honeymoon Petra Villas
Honeymoon Petra Villas
#17 of 48 in Imerovigli
5.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iliovasilema Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iliovasilema Suites

Property: Iliovasilema Suites
Address: Imerovigli 84 700, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Imerovigli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Imerovigli
#17 Family Hotel in Imerovigli
#23 Romantic Hotel in Imerovigli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Iliovasilema Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Imerovigli, one of the most beautiful villages of Santorini Island, you will find the ILIOVASILEMA HOTEL APARTMENTS ("Iliovasilema" is the Greek word for "sunset"). Iliovasilema is situated on the enchanting and world famous Caldera. Built 350m above sea level, offers to its guests the most fascinating view of the volcano and the little islands of the Aegean Sea, as well as of the dazzling sunset. Iliovasilema was initially built in year 1996, has been renovated and remodeled in year 2002 and still grows, following always the rules and the tradition of the Cycladic architecture! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Bookgreece.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Iliovasilema Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iliovasillema Hotel Imerovigli
Iliovasilema Hotel Imerovigli
Iliovasilema Suites Santorini/Imerovigli

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing