We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unforgettable Honeymoon” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Xenones Filotera

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Xenones Filotera
Ranked #27 of 48 Hotels in Imerovigli
Certificate of Excellence
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Unforgettable Honeymoon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

We stayed here in June of 2011 for our honeymoon. It was everything they promised and more. The hotel staff was great. We had our breakfast waiting for us on our terrace or by the pool (whichever you prefer) every morning. Our restaurant and alcohol tab was rolled over, we paid it when we left. People that complain about the location are crazy. The whole island is only about 15 miles. Everyone gets around on 4-wheelers or mopeds, which the hotel helped us get. The rental place came to hotel to pick us up and dropped us back off at the end of our stay. Those that complain about the view should've know to ask for the caldera view rooms. But both sides are absolutely breath taking. The restaurant right next to the hotel (Iris) was unbelievable and not as popular as the Fira and Oia restaurants. This made for an extremely romantic meal and sunset not shared with everyone else on the island. I can't say enough good things. Our stay was amazingly perfect! Filotera was gorgeous. We dream about going back all the time!

Room Tip: Simply ask for a caldera view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kaville227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    171
    63
    19
    8
    4
See reviews for
40
165
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

This hotel was amazing. Our room was on the lower floor and had a patio on the front. The breakfast was amazing. We ordered it the night before and they seemed to know just when to bring it to our patio in the morning. The service was excellent. The pool had the most wonderful view of the ocean and the pool had bar and lunch service. the dinner there was equally to die for. The baked feta was out of this world. The only downfall to this place was the location. It was hard to get a cab to come to take us places and the bus was a little confusing to understand. But who needs a cab when everything you need is there?

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tammytaggi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monroe, North Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

My wife and I visited here as part of a multi-island trip to Greece during the "high" season. We had already stayed at Paros and in Athens, before arriving in Santorini. This was the first place we stayed at.

The views, the views, the views. It was marvelous and my wife and I both agreed that it was the best place we stayed in Greece over our 11 days there. The service, the food, etc, we all top notch. We will go back.

Did I mention the views?

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JeffGaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
123 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2012

My husband and I spent 3 nights here for our honeymoon and absoluting adored it!! We had an amazing sea-view room with a small patio with a table and chairs that we absolutely loved! It was breathtaking to be able to open our windows or step out on the patio and see breathtaking sunsets and caldera views. The breakfast is spectacular! They give you an entire menu to choose from and they will deliver your breakfast to you at your requested time either on your patio or by the pool. The restaurant at the hotel is very good as well; we had dinner here 2 out of the 3 nights because the food was great and surprisingly affordable. Our room was very spacious with a canopy bed, small kitchenette and a large bathroom.
The pool area was beautiful; though I did find it very surprising that it does not have a hot tub.
The staff was very helpful. They helped us arrange scooter rentals, gave us advice about getting around the island and held our luggage for us until it was time to catch our ferry.

The only downside for some people may be the location, as it is not really walking distance to much; but you can catch a bus just a few steps away from the hotel and it can take you to Oia or Thira. We used the bus many times as it was a cheap and reliable option. We also walked along the caldera edge with teh footpath that leads all the way to Thira...it took us about an hour to get to the center of Thira and it was a gorgeous walk.
A great place to relax and take in the caldera views!

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room with a sea view that is not obstructed; can't remember which room we ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seekingsunshine_1020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2011

We went to Xenones Filotera not knowing much but I'd organised with the help of a planner to have our wedding beside the pool overlooking the wonderful view of the caldera. The staff were helpful and even decorated our room on the night of the wedding, really sweet. Breakfast was great and the pool was amazing. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beslondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2011

I have to say from right off the bat with the not so friendly front desk attendant, I was not impressed with the place. We stayed in the Aegean sea-view villas and the only way to get a sea view was to stand outside the front door and crane your neck around the foliage, I was told that "oh sorry the trees grow up and block the view". If the view is blocked then don't charge me for a sea view!

The room itself was decorated in 1950's monastery style with heavy wooden chairs and furniture, stark walls and floors and two very hard twin beds pushed together. Not comfortable, warm or at all inviting. As a fun bonus, when you shower, the suds from the shower come up through the drain on the bathroom floor. Our toilet stopped flushing entirely and our air conditioning made it sound like we were in a wind tunnel.

There is no restaurant as mentioned and the breakfasts are mediocre at best. I don't recommend the crepes. The location really isn't near anything at all so it can get expensive trying to get to the main cities so be prepared for that.

It does have a nice view and pool but that's about what I can say, if it didn't cost so much already for what was advertised as a seaview, I would recommend springing for one of the ones on the Caldera side if you bother to stay here.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KateS676
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D.C.
Level Contributor
53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2011

We stayed 4 nights, 5 days. The place is beautiful. Breakfast on the patio at whatever time you choose is fantastic. The breakfast is good, but I would not say great...though the selection is pretty terrific. The staff were wonderful. The pool was small, but oh, so inviting. It's not really walking distance to anything....the town of Imerovigli is quite a hike, but can be done. I liked being away from the noise anyway. The view is spectacular. The price was high, but in line with Santorini prices. All of Santorini is beautiful though, and if I go back, I'll probably stay somewhere more economical. It's easy to enjoy the island no matter where you stay.

Room Tip: The rooms on the lower level do not have a view of the caldera, even though they face the caldera. A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dhm_DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Imerovigli
0.9 mi away
Abyssanto Suites & Spa
Abyssanto Suites & Spa
#36 of 48 in Imerovigli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
0.8 mi away
Heliotopos Hotel
Heliotopos Hotel
#23 of 48 in Imerovigli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
1.0 mi away
Nefeli Homes
Nefeli Homes
#39 of 48 in Imerovigli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Manos Small World
Manos Small World
#4 of 21 in Firostefani
5.0 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
0.9 mi away
Iliovasilema Suites
Iliovasilema Suites
#24 of 48 in Imerovigli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Sunny Villas
Hotel Sunny Villas
#20 of 48 in Imerovigli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Xenones Filotera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xenones Filotera

Property: Xenones Filotera
Address: Imerovigli 847 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Imerovigli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 48 Hotels in Imerovigli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Xenones Filotera 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Xenones Filotera hotel offers luxurious accommodation in Santorini (Imerovigli) and was created for those seeking an exclusive experience of the Aegean ambiance. It is located 2,5 km from the town of Fira, 10 km from the port and 7km from the town of Oia. Offering 18 luxury suites & studios with breathtaking view to the volcanic caldera of Santorini or the Aegean archipelago, our hotel will be your comfortable home for unique Santorini moments. The guests of Xenones Filotera can choose amongst a variety of suites and studios, that can accommodate 2 to 6 people and provide comfortable lounges, separate bedrooms, and private verandas, all stylishly decorated with some of the finest pieces of traditional and modern Greek craftsmanship. Xenones Filotera Hotel offers a wide variety of facilities and services which include a 24hour operating reception, private parking area within our premises, swimming pool and jacuzzi, pool bar, sauna, massage, laundry and ironing service, car rental, Internet access (wi.fi), secretarial services and more. Public areas provide wheelchair accessibility for the physically challenged guests. The luxurious Xenones Filotera Hotel is the most romantic location to experience your wedding and honeymoon plans and we will be more than happy to assist you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TravelUp and Booking.com so you can book your Xenones Filotera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xenones Filotera Imerovigli
Xenones Filotera Hotel Imerovigli
Xenones Filotera Santorini/Imerovigli

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing