We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good service and great view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Galaxy Suites & Spa
Ranked #43 of 48 Hotels in Imerovigli
Beirut
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“good service and great view”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

I put average because I don't want to rate it "very good" but really it's more like somewhere in between.
Let me start by saying that I was in one of those suites with several bedrooms that I had booked for a bunch of our friends, and the problem is, we didn't realize it would only be queen beds (not two singles) and that the rooms didn't all have doors (one had just a curtain). We each had a bathroom, but we all took a shower in the same one as it was the only one that worked properly...
The service was good, although they seemed to have a bit of a hard time handling all of us (we were a group of 11 people in two suites) especially at breakfast or when we ordered room service for everyone at the same time... but they really tried their best and were always very nice.
The rooms were nice, the towels were unbelievably thick (bring your own!), the view was amazing. All and all, we had a good time and had no major complaints... except for the Jacuzzi that flooded the entire room --but that's because 7 boys jumped in it when it's supposed to be a maximum of 3.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelingways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    34
    14
    4
    11
See reviews for
13
108
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

After searching around for an ideal hotel within our price range <400 euros/night, we stumbled upon Galaxy and booked a stay for 3 days. I will say that they place seemed a little different than advertised on their website, but they quickly made us feel extremely comfortable and took all my worries about the location away. Our room had spectacular views of the south end of the the caldera, although you can't see the 2 volcanic islands in the middle. The room was very comfortable and does include a private hot tub, but it is not private from people walking in front of your room. Overall though, after we looked online at the prices of neighboring hotels we determined that Galaxy is an amazing value for the money. Most of the other luxury hotels in Imeriovigli go for >800 euros/night.

The staff was absolutely incredible, starting with Grygory and Maria. Grygory met our every need and Maria gave us some amazing recommendations in terms of activities and restaurants. The included breakfast was spectacular and was served to us right in our room. They also accommodated us for early check-in which was very nice.

For a first stay in Santorini, you can't beat the location of Galaxy and we took advantage of this by hiking to both Fira and Oia during our stay. The staff at Galaxy really made the difference and if we return, it will be because of them.

Room Tip: Choose a room above the telephone wire for an unobstructed view of the caldera - we stayed in room 1...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jonathanedelgado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

I will start with the positives, that is quicker... a good location if you don't want to be around a lot of people (there is a reason for this). The bar staff (who also cover as technician's and the manager when she is not around) are awesome, they where the best part of our stay.
So on to the reality of the situation. Our stay was average at best. We were on our honeymoon and had booked and paid (a lot of money) in advance. A week before we were due to stay I got an email saying the manager had stuffed up the bookings so we would have to change rooms as the had no rooms that covered the same room for the two nights we were staying but the would help move our bags and give us flowers and a bottle of wine. We should have changed hotels.
The manager was so unorganised and never around. The first room we got was supposed to have an private balcony with a hot tub and views of the caldera and the sea. We had a tiny terrace area with a hot tub and a view of the pool. NO privacy and young guys bombing in the pool with the water almost coming on to us. No view of the sea or the caldera. The TV didn't work and we were told a technician would come and fix it. One of the bar guys came and played around for 30 minutes then told us he would send a technician up. After 1.5 hours waiting we called as we wanted a nap, so they send another technician (bar guy), who couldn't fix it so said he would call a technician. We called and said not to send anyone we wanted privacy, but the manager said they needed to fix it for the person coming tomorrow! It never got fixed anyway.
The next room did have a private balcony, with views obstructed by telegraph poles. It was up high, and "due to the wind" the hot tub was cold and could not be fixed. The room had a bright light in the electrical box that lit up the room and could not be covered. We also got a call from the manager telling us to pack our bags that night so that we would be out on time as the room was booked the next day!!
So our expected magical honeymoon at the Galaxy Suites was not pleasant.
There are also no restaurants close by, so you are either stuck with bar food or taking cabs.
They did however give us a nice bottle of wine, it was on their menu for 35euro. I liked it so much that when I found it at the corner shop for 9euro I bought a bottle...

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank CloverJ77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniken, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

We were at Galaxy Suites last year in 2012 for the first time and we will again visit these fantastic suites this year 2013. We had a wonderful week. The room we had was always clean, we never had any issues with the room, we enjoyed it all the time and we were feeling very comfortable. The staff were all really friendly and nice to us, we even got friends with them and we still have contact with the owner of these suites. The owners is a lovely family, where now the son is leading the management. Father and son are both lovely persons and we are really happy that we had the opportunity to get to know them. We really felt like home, every wish we had was fulfilled, they always took more than enough time to try to explain to us the various points in Santorini, like restaurants, beaches, which streets to take etc.. They were really taking their time to give us perfect guidance to the whole island. The location of the suites are perfectly embedded in the caldera with a breath taking view to the sea. Having breakfast on the terrasse overviewing the clear deep blue sea while eating was a unforgettable image. The breakfast itself is delicious and one can order almost everything to get the day started just perfectly. Also the menu card they have covers lots of yummy food, especially very good pasta I found. The sunrises in the morning and the sunsets in the evening are fabulous, like on a
postcard! Always when we came back from the sea in the afternoon or coming back from dinner
in the evenings we always felt coming home and not coming back to our suite. We trust the owner a lot, also the whole staff, they were just very very lovely people! When one comes back to the suites, you enjoy the pieceful atmosphere up there. It's very quiet, I mean ... very quiet! One can really enjoy a peaceful time up there. There is also a very yummy greek restaurant located a minute away from the suites and there is also a small grocery shop to buy water, fruits, greek coffee, etc etc.. As I mentioned in the beginning, we will visit the GalaxySuites
again this year, because we enjoyed it really really much last time. And we are looking forward to enjoy again a peaceful and fantastic vacation like last year. And I also hope to be able to visit these guys as many times as possible also in the future. We can strongly recommend GalaxySuites to everyone.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank akis01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

This hotel is exactly what i expected it to be which is rear these days.
The view from anywhere in the hotel is amazing and i think its the best in the island since we saw it from everywhere (oia, fira). It is peaceful and relaxing and our room had a lot of privacy which is what we really wanted.
The staff is very friendly and very sweet. Maria is always around to help you, book you a car, a tour and anything you might want. Grigoris at the pool bar is also extremely kind and the other staff as well.
The location is good as well, the bus stop is just down the road along with a few small shops.
All i can advise you in is to not rent a car since the chances of you scratching it somewhere or someone else hitting it are very high. And then you have to pay for that. Not that i think a bike is safe either. I believe buses are best form of transfer if you can be bothered.
Breakfast was ok and you could have pretty mich anything you want but i found it quite stressful you had to decide from the previous day the time you want it, but thats just me being weird :)

All in all i would recommend it 100%

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank supergirl3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

Took our honeymoon here. It was the most amazing place we had ever seen. The hotel was wonderful, the staff were pleasant and helpful. We wanted for nothing. Every one of our needs and requests were catered for. No job too big or too smalll for Maria and Yiannis. Breakfast was out of this world, no end of choice and the bar and waiting staff were really friendly. They recommended bars, restaurants, walks, and other day excursions. Our taxi transfers were organised and were were able to book trips via the reception and have tickets waiting for us to collect. I even left my cardi in a taxi and they managed to get it back for me!
Rooms and views were amazing. Cleaned daily with fresh towels, slippers and dressing gowns. We had a suprise each day left on pillows, flowers, sweets etc. Would definately return and reccommend this hotel of sheer luxury to anyone!

Room Tip: All rooms had the same view however some where further down the cliff side than others. Cant fault...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DSanders96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

Moderately priced, excellent location for viewing the sunset and easy access to Fira. Perched at the highest point, overlooking Oia and the water to the west it gives, in my opinion, one of the best views of the Caldera and setting sun. The staff was more than welcoming and was quick to offer assistance and recommendations. The only regret is not staying longer. We visited 5-7 July.

Room Tip: Room 21 offers the most privacy on the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jpalin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Imerovigli hotels
0.4 mi away
Cocoon Suites
Cocoon Suites
#24 of 48 in Imerovigli
5.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sophia Luxury Suites
Sophia Luxury Suites
#21 of 48 in Imerovigli
5.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gold Suites
Gold Suites
#28 of 48 in Imerovigli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Abyssanto Suites & Spa
Abyssanto Suites & Spa
#37 of 48 in Imerovigli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Vasilicos
The Vasilicos
#17 of 48 in Imerovigli
5.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
0.3 mi away
Honeymoon Petra Villas
Honeymoon Petra Villas
#18 of 48 in Imerovigli
5.0 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galaxy Suites & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galaxy Suites & Spa

Property: Galaxy Suites & Spa
Address: Imerovigli 84700, Greece (Formerly Galaxy Apartments)
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Imerovigli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 48 Hotels in Imerovigli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3 star — Galaxy Suites & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the crest of Santorini’s Caldera sit the Galaxy Suites, a luxurious collection of private abodes decorated in traditional Greek style with a modern twist. Attention to detail is paramount at this choice location; no expense has been spared when fitting the eight exclusive suites and outdoor areas. White and blue are the unifying tones of the accommodation, and with the vast blue sky above and the indigo sea sprawled out in front with a clear view of the dormant volcano-islands and sunset. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Bookgreece.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Galaxy Suites & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galaxy Suites And Spa
Galaxy Hotel Imerovigli
Galaxy Spa Imerovigli
Galaxy Suites & Spa Santorini/Imerovigli

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing