We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ultimate luxury experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Iconic Santorini, a boutique cave hotel
Ranked #3 of 48 Hotels in Imerovigli
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Daphne, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“ultimate luxury experience”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

This is more than a luxury hotel. It is a total immersion in relaxation. The staff is superb. Each person on the staff goes out of their way to see that every wish is gratified. The rooms are caves with gorgeous bathrooms with windows in the shower that view over the caldera. The breakfast is on demand with whatever you want, salmon, eggs benedict, greek yoghurt with Cretan honey and incredible baked goods. Add the superb greek latte and your day is set. Beakfast is served on your own terrace which contains your sun lounges also.
There is a taverna-pool restaurant and a separate restaurant as well as a private dining room. The food is perfection and the most reasonably priced that we found on the island. My favorite? An individual moussaka in an earthenware pot.
The pool has water falls and a jetted section....all over looking the caldera. There are only 30 taxis on the island but the Iconic has two brothers who answer immediately to whisk you to OIA or FIRA.
This is the hotel experience that all others will be compared to......more like staying at a wealthy friends villa (one with an extensive staff!) We will be back

Room Tip: If you have any ambulatory issues, ask for a room on the restaurant level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maria c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ximena D, General Manager at Iconic Santorini, a boutique cave hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Greetings from sunny Santorini!

Thank you for sharing this positive feedback following your stay at Iconic Santorini!

I was thrilled to share your comments with my dedicated team, which motivates them to continue striving for service excellence. We are pleased that you enjoyed our delightful daily breakfast and meals at the property, we pride ourselves in serving delicious food crafted using authentic local recipes and the freshest produce. The residential feeling you spoke about is exactly what the team and I work towards each and every day, so it is great to hear this is the atmosphere you experienced.

Once again thanks very much for your kind review and we are happy that you had a most enjoyable stay at our haven of tranquility.

My very best wishes!

Ximena Diaz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    207
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
163
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Iconic for our honeymoon. We had heard great things about the hotel but nothing could have prepared us for our experience. My husband and I have travelled abroad quite a bit and we both say that Iconic is hands down the best experience we have ever had and we can not wait to go back. Iconic's setting is spectacular and the location is perfect. The staff went over and beyond to make our stay amazing. Everyone was so warm and friendly. We ate breakfast every morning in the restaurant and it was always fresh and delicious. The dinner was fabulous as well and probably one of our favorite meals while in Santorini. Everything was super clean and well maintained. I am not a great sleeper when away from home but the beds and pillows were so comfortable that I did not have any trouble sleeping at all (definitely a first for me). The bathrooms were very clean and they provide very nice Aesop toiletries. The water pressure was great and I had no problems using any of my electrical things to get ready with a power converter. Another really fantastic feature of the hotel is that they have a wi-fi router for every room so we had great internet service the entire time. At the Iconic with the layout of the property you feel more like you are at a private home than a hotel. We can not say enough wonderful things about our Iconic experience and would recommend it for everyone. It was our favorite destination and hotel to date!!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Samples561
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ximena D, General Manager at Iconic Santorini, a boutique cave hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Kalimera from Iconic Santorini!

I would like to express my sincere thanks for taking the time to post this wonderful feedback regarding your recent stay at our boutique cave hotel.

It was a true pleasure to host you both during your honeymoon, a most special time in your lives. The team and I are delighted to receive your valued feedback indicating your satisfaction of the services offered, especially in the restaurant and housekeeping. Our luxurious Aesop bath products and all-natural COCO-MAT 4-Layer bedding program has become very popular, I am glad that you were able to fully relax and enjoy a great sleep experience each evening.

Thank you once again for sharing this motivating feedback, the entire Iconic Santorini team were pleased to provide some long-lasting memories to be cherished. I look forward to an opportunity of welcoming you back to the beautiful island of Santorini - perhaps to celebrate a future anniversary?

With best wishes,

Ximena Diaz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

The restaurant offers refined traditional Greek dishes at a reasonable price. Every day, a new menu is presented. The wine list is well above average, offering typical Santorini wines. Breakfast is complete: fresh orange juice, selected meat, fried eggs, fresh butter... The swimming pool is clean and warm. The rooms are cleaned twice a day. Staff members are friendly and dedicated. This hotel wants to be perfect, even in details.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaak2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ximena D, General Manager at Iconic Santorini, a boutique cave hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Greetings from Iconic Santorini!

I would like to express my sincere thanks for taking the time to share such motivating feedback following your stay at our boutique cave hotel.

It is most rewarding for me to be able to share your positive comments with my team regarding the personalized and attentive services offered, as well as the quality of our traditional Santorini cuisine and wines.

It was a true pleasure having you stay with us, I look forward to an opportunity of welcoming you back to Iconic Santorini, a boutique cave hotel.

Warm wishes!

Ximena Diaz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

An absolutely gorgeous place to stay, wish we could have stayed longer. We were celebrating our wedding anniversary and had such a warm and friendly welcome on arrival as well as the most thoughtful touches in our grotto suite including champagne, towel swans on the bed and little flower buds, the perfect start to a romantic break. All the staff were the kindest, gentlest I have ever met in a hotel. So very thoughtful, attentive and nothing too much trouble. Very knowledgable about the island and it's history. We were given a private dining room every night and served by a lovely lady who took time to explain the menu, ingredients and wine choices. The food was fantastic and very reasonably priced and the chef was even kind enough to let me have the recipe for his delicious fava dish. We will certainly visit again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ximena D, General Manager at Iconic Santorini, a boutique cave hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Hello from Iconic Santorini, a boutique cave hotel,

Thank you for choosing to spend your wedding anniversary with us and for the kind review, we were honoured to have you stay with us.

I was most pleased to read your comments about the Grotto Suite, delightful caldera views from the terrace, the private dining room and Santorinian cuisine freshly prepared each day by our creative Chef. Personalized service and capturing the fine attention to detail is what we focus on, as such your review is greatly appreciated and highly motivating to the entire team.

Again, thank you for choosing Iconic Santorini and for taking the time to provide such wonderful feedback. I will look forward to welcoming you back to the beautiful village of Imerovigli at some point in the near future.

With best wishes,

Ximena Diaz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Travelled with my parents and a friend for our first real family escape in many years. My sister’s children were able to join us and we had a simply amazing time. The rooms are in caves that were carved out of the face of a cliff. Every detail made us feel we were in a private home, with little touches all around that made us feel special. You can get lost in the beds and breakfast is an endless feast. The view is incredible, the food was great and the staff were very friendly and attentive. The stay was simply amazing.

Room Tip: Traveled with my parents, and they had a grotto suite with their own indoor plunge pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank E S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ximena D, General Manager at Iconic Santorini, a boutique cave hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Greetings from beautiful Santorini!

Thank you very much for taking the time to share such positive feedback following your stay at Iconic Santorini, a boutique cave hotel!

It was an honour to host your family as our first guests of the 2014 season and was pleased to hear your complete satisfaction with our enchanting cave residences, all-natural oversize COCO-MAT beds, fresh local cuisine, and breathtaking views over the Aegean Sea.

We sincerely appreciate your kind comments and I have shared them with my dedicated team, always great motivation to continue delivering genuine Hellenic hospitality as we strive for each day.

Thank you once again for your stay and the wonderful feedback. We look forward to an opportunity of welcoming you back to our haven of tranquility in the near future.

With warm regards,

Ximena Diaz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westlake Village, California
Level Contributor
103 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

I spent a few nights at this unique, most special place. If the view alone wasn't enough the facilities and the service is over the top. Everything about it is well done...great beds, large flat TV with great channel selection, wifi without any problem, excellent food, a gorgeous small spa. Had a massage from a local masseuse and she was as professional as I've had anywhere.

Even though it was winter the weather was decent and the views and service don't change in the off season. The manager, chef and the rest of the staff were well trained, friendly and gracious. They have that touch of giving service in understated elegance.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bruce D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ximena D, General Manager at Iconic Santorini, a boutique cave hotel, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Greetings from the beautiful island of Santorini,

Thank you very much for sharing the experiences of your stay at our boutique cave hotel.

We truly appreciate your time taken to share the kind feedback which is an incredible motivator for my dedicated team. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our onsite facilities and amenities, as well as a relaxing treatment in the massage suite.

Thank you once again for your stay and the wonderful feedback, I will look forward to an opportunity of welcoming you back to Iconic Santorini in the not-too-distant future.

With warm regards,

Ximena Diaz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Iconic Santorini is the most unique, spectacular, one-of-a-kind hotel experience of my life. Hands down. This is the type of hotel you remember for your entire life.

Every detail--the design, the decor, the orientation of the space--is spectacular. Our Grotto Suite was a gracious white oasis with a private splash pool. The private balcony space overlooking the cliffs and the sea was one of the most breathtaking spots I've ever been. I cannot say enough about this hotel.

However, as magnificent and world-class as the space and design are, the most important aspect of staying at Iconic is the level of service. It's basically unprecedented, in my opinion. The attention to detail, the care each member of the team takes to ensure your stay is peaceful, special, seamless, and lovely, is amazing. The extraordinary GM, Ximena Diaz, paid such close attention to every aspect of our experience, and the grace and care she brings is shared by the entire team.

I cannot say enough about Iconic. It is worth the trip to Santorini simply to stay in this magnificent hotel.

Room Tip: Each room is unique, charming, private, and lovely. We toured a selection of rooms and suites befor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jake S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ximena D, General Manager at Iconic Santorini, a boutique cave hotel, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Greetings from the beautiful and romantic island of Santorini!

Thank you very much for taking the time to share such wonderful feedback following your stay at our all new boutique cave hotel!

I was truly delighted and honoured to hear that you consider the stay at Iconic Santorini as your best hotel experience. It is pleasing to read all your wonderful comments regarding the comforts of the lovely Grotto Suite; the breathtaking views from the terrace; Greek-style décor, oversize COCO-MAT bed and the unique indoor grotto pool.

Personalized service and attention to detail is what we really strive for each and every day so your kind review is greatly appreciated and highly motivating to the entire team. It is our sincere desire to provide memorable and timeless experiences to our valued guests and based on your warm thoughts, I am pleased that we were able to achieve this for you!

Thank you once again for your stay and wonderful feedback, I do look forward to welcoming you back to our Greek residences in the near future.

With warm regards,

Ximena Diaz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Imerovigli
2.6 mi away
Celestia Grand
Celestia Grand
#1 of 80 in Fira
5.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
0.2 mi away
Astra Suites
Astra Suites
#4 of 48 in Imerovigli
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,358 reviews
0.1 mi away
Altana Traditional Houses and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Aenaon Villas
Aenaon Villas
#2 of 48 in Imerovigli
5.0 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
3.2 mi away
Filotera Suites
Filotera Suites
#1 of 55 in Oia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kapari Natural Resort
Kapari Natural Resort
#5 of 48 in Imerovigli
5.0 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iconic Santorini, a boutique cave hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iconic Santorini, a boutique cave hotel

Property: Iconic Santorini, a boutique cave hotel
Address: Imerovigli, Imerovigli 847 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Imerovigli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Imerovigli
#2 Green Hotel in Imerovigli
#6 Romantic Hotel in Imerovigli
#11 Family Hotel in Imerovigli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:2 star — Iconic Santorini, a boutique cave hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A timeless experience awaits guests of the Iconic Santorini, a unique boutique cave hotel located in the picturesque Greek island village of Imerovigli. Situated on a spectacular hillside setting and literally carved from Santorini’s volcanic caldera wall, this tranquil retreat offers breathtaking views of the azure waters below from each of the five hotel levels. Every room or suite is distinct and all provide personal veranda seating high above the majestic wonders of this ancient volcanic island rising from the Aegean Sea below. First class service and luxury amenities combine with unparalleled serenity and magnificent views to create a truly unforgettable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Iconic Santorini, a boutique cave hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Icons Hotel Imerovigli
Iconic Santorini, a Boutique Cave Hotel Imerovigli

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing