We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing View and Accomodations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rocabella Santorini Hotel & Spa
Ranked #20 of 50 Hotels in Imerovigli
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 15 September 2011

Stayed for 3 night in Augjts as a part of our honeymoon trip. We loved it best views, great staff, suite #2 was sweet!

Great choice.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cdalwadi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ROCASS, Manager at Rocabella Santorini Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2011

Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write this review.
Thank you for your nice comments regarding our property, staff and views.
Santorini and specially Rocabella is an excellent destination for honey moon trips.
I am really glad that you enjoyed the Suite number 2 and we look forward to welcome you again in Rocabella premises having the opportunity to experience different rooms.
Thank you
Savas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (915)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

562 - 568 of 915 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2011

We stayed at Rocabella for 5 nights, attending a friend's wedding. The staff was excellent, location and views are breath-taking. Few points to note: 1) the hotel is not close to any shops/village. It would take over 1 hour to walk to nearest village and taxi may take a while to come depending on time of day and season. 2) Main town of Fira can be reached by taxi/car only - on the other hand the cars are faily cheap to hire, but local driving could be tricky. 3) There are a LOT of stairs on the property and there is lack of barriers between outer walkways and cliff edge - could be very dangerous for small children - would need to be closely supervised at all times. We had 2 rooms: superior suite and superior room. While the suite was marginally larger than the room, the view from the room balcony was much better and it was significantly cheaper. I do not think we gained much by the upgrade to the suite - you are better off asking for a room with a view than a suite.

Room Tip: You are better off asking for a room with a view than a suite on most occasions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank archie1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ROCASS, Manager at Rocabella Santorini Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2011

Dear guest,
I would like to thank you for your very useful review since Rocabella is taking under big consideration all guests comments in order to improve its customer’s services.
Thank you as well for your kind words regarding our location and views as well as for our staff. It’s something that is much appreciated.
It’s a fact that Rocabella is located on the caldera cliffs and the closest village is 700m away from our property. The taxis are sometimes hard to find but please also mind the fact that there is the option of the local buss, the car hire which is not that expensive or an ATV hire which is even cheaper and more fun to drive in the island.
Allow me to disagree with you regarding the stairs since Rocabella is considered a hotel with very easy access and has been characterized as a family friendly hotel due to the easy access fact. When everything in Santorini is located on the caldera cliffs it’s impossible to have a hotel on the cliff with no steps at all… Comparing with other hotels on the cliffs I assure you that Rocabella is a place with the fewer steps that you can be accommodated in the island.
Comparing the superior suite with the superior room is sure a fact that has to do with customer’s preferences. I share the fact that you liked the superior room more than the superior suite…From the other hand we have received opposite comments from other clients. Still though every guest’s aspect is totally respectable and welcome and it gives us also the opportunity to see things with a different view. This is the value from each review that we receive and in parallel each comment gives us the opportunity to improve and develop further our services.
Thank you once again for your kind comments,
Regards,
Savas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

We ve been here last hear as well and we were so fascinated that we decided to baptise our little girl in Santorini and have the event in the lower Rocabella pool . It was a fantastic evening , the little church (Agios Markos) is only 5 min drive from the hotel and by the cliff . After a devotional ceremony be the sunset we came back to the hotel and had a fantastic dinner party by the pool and the "kaldera" cliff . Everything was cooked by the hotel chef and it was delicious,service was fast and accurate ..it was by all mean a Fabulous event. All our guests were impressed by the island and the Hotel.Many thank to all the stuff and the Manager Mr Savas . We will be definitely back next year

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank panosmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ROCASS, Manager at Rocabella Santorini Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2011

Dear Panos,

First of all I would like to thank you for your kind comments regarding our premises, the quality of the service in all aspects and the chef.
It was a pleasure having you here and celebrating with you the very special event, the christening of little Myrto.
Every year we try to offer the best possible service and accommodation by renovating indoor and outdoor areas, in order to be prepared for memorable events.
Every guest and specially the repeaters are more than guests for us, they become family.
We look forward to welcome you again at Rocabella premises and see your beautiful Myrto growing.
See you next year..
Savas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

The view from our balcony was absolutely breath taking. We arrived late around 6pm and had not pre-booked. The room which they gave us had the most stunning view! It was a traditional cave room. We only slept there. It's clean and cosy but nothing fancy but there is no need to spend time indoors. We were welcomed with a bottle of wine on arrival and watched the sunset. An afternoon I will never forget. There is nothing around the resort so don't expect to walk anywhere although Fira is not far by taxi. We decided to stay a second night and was told were would be 'upgraded.' Whilst the room was slightly larger we lost our view and situated by the road. I was devastated! The Manager gave us a bottle of champagne and strawberries which was nice. We had one of the smaller pools to ourselves but it was far too cold. We did enjoy the tennis court though! We highly recommend this hotel as long as you get a view!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank time2travel88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ROCASS, Manager at Rocabella Santorini Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2011

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments since all guest’s reviews are quite valuable for us in order to improve our services.
According to your review you entered the hotel without a pre-booking so we offered you availability for one night according to the rooms that we had available. The next day you decided to extend your stay but unfortunately we were not able to offer you availability in the same room due to the fact that was booked from another client (pre-booking) so automatically this gives him priority to the room type that he has to receive.
The only reason that we offered you a room with side sea view for the extra night that you wish to spend here was due to the fact that the hotel was fully booked.
As explained in our website there are different categories of rooms and we separate them under the terms: front sea view and side sea view.
Therefore each guest has the option to choose the room that is suitable for him and decide if he wants to have a direct view at the caldera or not.
Thank you for your kind words regarding our hotel’s facilities and services and wish to see you again in our premises and offer you an unforgettable experience of vacation and relaxation.
Regards,
Savas
________________________________________

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2011

Rocabella was suggested to us by our travel agent for the last leg of our honeymoon to Greece. While all of the pictures/reviews we read on it were amazing, we decided- sure, why not splurge and go out with a bang. Shouldn't have done that....

It's not close to anything. ANYTHING.

My husband and I frequently walked to the next town over (which name escapes me right now) just to go to the little mini mart and actually see people. The hotel is beautiful- no doubt. So clean, very pretty- but I should have realized we would want more of an atmosphere since we like to be around people and party.

I felt like I couldn't even yell here and if I did- someone may have thought I was in trouble. It was super super super SUPER quiet. Also- the other thing that we just could NOT understand was the music they play in the pool area- very odd mix of listening to Louis Armstrong one minute, then the Gorillaz the next.

Everything here is severely overpriced- the food, drinks, places they suggest for car rental, etc. We did some basic searching on our own and found that we could get around just fine using the bus system (which we did the entire time we were there)- no car rental needed. Comparing this to a similar hotel we stayed at in Mykonos- it just doesn't compare. This gives the impression of super ultra exclusivity but you don't find that out until you get there and pay too much for it.

Our room was again..something we didnt understand. We paid a lot of money and are pretty sure the room the bed was in was the same size as the bathroom. The balcony was amazing with the private hot tub- but it was SUPER windy some nights which made sitting out there hard because of the decorative curtains they hang out there. Again- just comparing it to other hotels in Athens and mykonos that we paid less for- we just got less value here.

If we do go back to Santorini, we now know to stay closer to Fira. This just wasn't for us, but I know others may love it.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 6- giant balcony, private hot tub. SUPER small bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sarsmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ROCASS, Manager at Rocabella Santorini Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2011

Dear guest,

First of all I would like to thank you for your useful review since Rocabella takes under big consideration our entire guest’s feedback and always try to improve its services according to your comments.
Thank you also for your kind words regarding our property cleanliness and beauty. I totally respect the fact that you would like to be closer to party and crowds. It’s a fact that Roacabella is located at the edge of the caldera cliffs and offers the ultimate relaxation and peace along with breathtaking views. This is an integral part of our services and I am really sorry if your preference was different to what we offer mainly in our premises.
Regarding the wind during night this is something that happens sometimes in all Cycladic islands and is a fact that you should be aware that it might happen while visiting the Greek islands (especially the ones that belong to the Cycladic party).
I can understand the fact that you wish to be closer to the city, and that you would like to have more people and party around you. Every guest has its own aspect and its own vacation style and this is totally respectable.
Thank you once again for your useful comments and be sure that every review is a valuable factor regarding our improvement and development
Thank you
Savas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2011

My opinion is tainted after having stayed at a boutique hotel for a few days prior to staying at Rocabella. The Rocabella property is very nice with several pools with great views and the rooms are clean and modern. A few of the pool umbrellas were broken and so there wasn't any available for us to use, which was inconvenient. To me, it's the little things that make a difference between a great and average hotel, and in comparison to a boutique hotel, Rocabella is a OK hotel. The location of Rocabella is also kind of remote from central Imerovigli and trying to catch the bus from there is pretty difficult since most buses that reach the bus stop by Rocabella are full.

The room we stayed in was great, but the walls aren't as thick as they may appear. You can hear footsteps and balcony furniture being moved from the room above and hear noises from the adjacent balcony - this wasn't fun to discover the first night sleeping there. Breakfast buffet was good, but doesn't compare to having breakfast served every morning on our private veranda, as I experienced at the boutique hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chicagokims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ROCASS, Manager at Rocabella Santorini Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2011

Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. Thank you for your nice comments regarding our property and views.

Regarding the umbrellas at the pool area I am sorry if you have experienced such a thing since by all means we do not wish any of our guests to feel inconvenient during their stay. We will definitely make sure that no other guest will have such an experience.

Rocabella is located 500m away from the village of Imerovigli away from the center and that is a fact that helps us to keep the ultimate relaxation and contemplation along with spectacular views. I agree with you that the buss could sometimes arrive at the Rocabella stop full but this is something that happens during in August when the island is packed and full of visitors.

I totally respect the fact that you prefer more the boutique hotel style accommodation. Rocabella is a resort and is one of the biggest hotel’s in Santorini that are located right at the edge of the caldera cliffs and is consisted of 43 rooms and suites. You cannot compare a unit as Rocabella with a small boutique hotel since are two different things and two different style of accommodation.

Still though once again I respect your aspect and the fact that your preference regarding accommodation is keener on boutique hotels than resort style units.

Thank you very much for your helpful review. Each guest’s feedback is a key strength towards our improvement.
Regards,
Savas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2011

We stayed at the Rocabella from August 28th - September 3rd.
The hotel is beautifully positioned on the Caldera with 4 swimming pools and rooms are very clean. I see there are comments from past guests that the rooms are a little small, this is common practice is Europe and having travelled across Europe the rooms are a good size. More importantly, the rooms are brand new with all the necessary modern amenities.

We arrived very late on the night of August 28th and were put in a smaller room as the hotel was unfortunately over booked. I discussed this with both reception and the Hotel manger and they were very prompt in taking care of us the first night at no charge and upgrading us to a nicer room first thing the next morning. They simply went beyond accommodating us and truly made us feel like guests.

Elena, at the front desk, truly understands how to look after guests and was very accommodating and helpful with all our requests. She even booked us further hotels for the remainder of our vacation and constantly was offering to help. Her professionalism and integrity are truly superior.

Bottom-line, is if you want to have a peaceful relaxing vacation at a superior hotel (lovely grounds) - I suggest you stay at the Rocabella. It combines the modern trend (which a lot of North Americans are accustom to) with the traditional Greek Flare that we were craving. In addition, the hotel also hosted 2 weddings while we were there and they were beautifully orchestrated to say the least

I would recommend this property to any couples, group of friends.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Imerovigli
3.6 mi away
Petit Palace Suites Hotel
0.9 mi away
Iconic Santorini, a boutique cave hotel
0.9 mi away
Pegasus Suites & Spa
Pegasus Suites & Spa
#18 of 50 in Imerovigli
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Blue Dolphins Traditional Apartments
0.7 mi away
Iliovasilema Suites
Iliovasilema Suites
#19 of 50 in Imerovigli
462 reviews
2.9 mi away
Andronis Luxury Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rocabella Santorini Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocabella Santorini Hotel & Spa

Address: Eparchiaki Odos Firon - Oias, Imerovigli 847 00, Greece (Formerly Rocabella Santorini Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Imerovigli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Imerovigli
#5 Spa Hotel in Imerovigli
#8 Family Hotel in Imerovigli
#15 Romantic Hotel in Imerovigli
#16 Luxury Hotel in Imerovigli
Price Range: £108 - £410 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rocabella Santorini Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rocabella Santorini was born out of Santorini’s whitest whites and bluest blues, a peaceful retreat for travelers who seek a once-in-a-lifetime experience. Literally meaning ‘beautiful rock’, our resort is located in the picturesque village of Imerovigli, a slice of heaven where you can enjoy the best sizzling sunset story of your life. The privileged location of the hotel, just far enough away from the bustle of the city, yet strategically positioned within easy reach of the capital, Fira and the dreamlike village of Oia, makes it ideal for every type of traveler. Our 42 rooms and suites have been carefully designed with minimal decor, simple lines, and ethereal charm to accentuate the Cycladic culture and authentic island life. They beckon you to a storybook world of sea, romance and dreams. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prestigia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rocabella Santorini Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocabella Deluxe Suites & Spa Santorini Hotel Imerovigli
Rocabella Deluxe Suites And Spa Santorini
Rocabella Hotel Santorini
Rocabella Santorini Hotel & Spa Imerovigli

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing