We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Do not pick Anastasis Apartments if . . . . . .”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Imerovigli
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Anastasis Apartments
Ranked #1 of 48 Hotels in Imerovigli
Certificate of Excellence
Virginia Beach, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Do not pick Anastasis Apartments if . . . . . .”
Reviewed 21 May 2010

Confused on which Santorini hotel to pick? My top 10 reasons why you SHOULD NOT pick Anastasis Apartments.

DO NOT PICK ANASTASIS APARTMENTS IF ......

1) You want excellent service. These apartments do not provide excellent service. . . .that is not enough . . . . they provide "ONCE in a Lifetime Service". You will be WOW-WOWED at every turn!

2) You hate to be pampered. If it bothers you to have someone out thinking you, to make sure all your needs are met, this is not the place for you. (i.e greeting you with a bottle of water as you enter the GATE of the property, upon return from an early morning run, when you THINK everyone is asleep)!

3) You want a grand party atmosphere or are a loud person. Sorry, this is a peaceful, quiet, locale full of serenity.

It is away from the Fira Party action - Yes
It is away from the Oia Sunset view action - Yes (Better views are found in your own room).
It is NOT away from the romance and tranquility action.

You will need transportation (walk, bus, taxi, vehicle) to visit other parts of the island, shop and party. NO BIG DEAL - its' a 5-10 minute ride in a vehicle . . . it is not isolated, just not in the middle of hectic activity. No matter where you stay on the island, unless you are only going to stay in that one spot, you will need transportation. Or, you just want to shop/eat/party and walk straight to your room., otherwise . . . . .. .no big deal.

4) You want steps to ensure you are in Santorini. A few steps are only available to those on the second or third floor, and they are not the steep steps that might keep you in your room, because you don't want or need the exercise, found at other hotels on the island.

If you want steps/exercise, just bring your hiking pole and boots, (sandals are not going to make it as this is uneven rocks, dirt, grass, weeds and steep ascending and descending hills) and hoof it to OIA for the 2 hour trail walk. This is a serious early morning hike - beautiful, but hot, sun trenched hike - for those in hiking shape.

Once you see the other hotels' picturesque steps, you'll be delighted you picked Anastasis Apartments.

5) You hate privacy. The structure of the island requires most hotels to have balconies that are overlooked by passerbys. . Not here.

If you are looking for the unique, dark, cave like hotel rooms found in Santorini, you'll be disappointed. Everything here is new, fresh, open and bright. Rooms are upscale, well kept and inviting. Plush bedding, upscale toiletries/towels/robes, every small trinket, fresh flowers . .. . the list is too long. (They put EVERYTHING - i.e. balcony chairs and cushions - away late at night and bring it out again in the early morning to ensure its' freshness).

6) You don't want admiring stares of passerbys as they walk by the hotels' (and one of the island's few) infinity pools, and ask "What is the name of this Hotel?"

7) You like a little dirt here and there. Absolutely none found here. A wayward leaf or a lost flower blossom, doesn't stand a chance, let alone a regular spot of dust, dirt, cigarette butt (no smoking) or even a bit of trailed water from the pool. They get swooped up as soon as they appear. Even the painted pathway in front of the hotel is sparkling clean . . .(all the surrounding pathways of other hotels are either dirt or rocks.)

8) You want to spend tons of money for beautiful, plush, properties on the island, with spas, bars, and restaurants. You'll get much more bang for your buck here, much better service, food, (i.e. one breakfast here is wonderfully delicious and more than enough for two), cleanliness, newness and care . . .but . . .its' your money!

9) You dislike professionalism from those whose hearts are truly in their work. No short, staged answers here or someone "performing" at their best. Despina and her team have a personal investment in this locale, and it shows at every turn! "Best" is not good enough - they go way beyond!

10)You want a "nice and pleasant experience". AMAZING, OUTSTANDING, UNFORGETTABLE, UNSURPASSED or any other superlative, but "nice" just doesn't do it justice.

This was my second visit to this hotel, staying in the Suite, and I was MORE blown away this time, than the first time. I thought I knew what to expect, but Despina still had many surprises and wonderful little touches up her sleeve. So . . . in response to my wonderful experience, although my wife usually writes reviews on Trip Advisor for the places we stay, I have to give credit where credit is due.

We have stayed at some of the "best" according to Trip Advisor, Conde Nast, (5 star/5 Diamond) and Fodors. Anastasis Apartment deserves every Kudo it gets and more. It is tops in my book, surpassing many of the fancy, luxurious, historical places. Anastasis Apartments secret is that it is a hotel that recognizes its' limitations and competes and excells in the category it fits, "Small Boutique". Every playful detail can be managed, maintained and controlled under the watchful eye of its' artful, clever and remarkably talented owner, Despina, and her equally gifted assistants, Katerina and Helen and the rest of the fantastic Team.

We toured many other Santorini properties, and, admittedly, some are more plush and glorious (and more money) with many more amenities. But at not one, did I get the same vibe, crispness or peacefulness. It could have been the (mere spokesmen) showing us around, or the little hints, here and there, that they were not the same caliber or even close to being on equal par. You have to stay here to understand.

So, my last reason for you not to pick Anastasis . . .

11) You want the same room, at the same time that I do, because . . .I have 10 reasons to pick Anastasis Apartments and I don't want to be turned away!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank seatheworld2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,006 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    991
    13
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
22
855
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
N. California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2010

First: I must sincerely apologize to the lovely Despina for this VERY late review. My husband and I had the opportunity to spend our honeymoon in Santorini in Oct 2008. After reviewing different number of places where to stay - we finally came upon the multiple positive reviews of this wonderful place, and have not regret this decision - even til today - almost 2 years since. Should you ever find the opportunity to travel to Santorini, give yourself (and spouse) a wondrous treat to this beautiful island, not to mention the unending hospitality of what Anastasis Apartments has to offer. You will NOT regret it. My husband and I hope to return and celebrate our 10 year anniversary (or perhaps sooner than that)!!! Despina and family - thank you so much for everything, more importantly for the wonderful memories!!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelwanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kennett, Missouri
Level Contributor
335 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2010

We spent 6 days at Anastasis. My wife still can't stop talking about this vacation. Despina, the owner and manager of this property, and her staff - from her immediate staff to the ones who bring you food in the morning, water just when you need it, goodies at random times but always at the right time, who clean the room spotlessly, who offer knowledgeable advice about the locale, restaurants, sights, etc. - know the true meaning of hospitality and caring. Their concern is genuine and it shows. The view is unsurpassed on this island. I know. I rented a car and drove all over it. Fira and Oia have nothing on this place. The view here is fantastic. The walk between Fira and Oia is just a step away from this property. A taverna is just up the road, walking distance. A restaurant, who will pick you up and take you back to Anastasis for free (The driver repeatedly refused even a modest gratuity for this service.) is yours for the asking. A pool. A room to watch DVDs on a large screen TV, if you have the inclination. Books to read to learn about the island or to just read for fun. The green door that invites one to enter! If you decide to go to Anastasis, the GPS coordinates of its parking lot are: N 36.44254, E 25.42633. Be careful crossing the highway. (Santorini drivers are like Athens drivers, and the roads are very narrow.) If you go to Santorini and don't go to Anastasis, just remember I told you so.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JMTurnbow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 May 2010

I can not even begin to explain how amazing this hotel is. We booked here based on a friends recommendation and the reviews on tripadvisor and couldn't have been more pleased. The view is absolutely spectacular! The rooms are beautiful and super clean. Despina and her staff are so helpful and make you feel like part of the family. Right before our wedding my fiance realized he forgot to press his shirt. I called the desk and within one minute they were there to pick it up and within 5 minutes they had it back to him perfectly pressed! They take service to a whole other level!! There were so many sweet touches and surprises that we came home to each night. We travel a lot and this is by far the best place we've ever stayed!!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peaceonu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shellman Bluff, GA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2010

We stayed at Anastasis for 5 nights in April. You cannot believe the level of service at this small hotel. Despina and Katarina will act as your advisors to get the most out of your trip to Santorini. The view from the hotel is excellent. The hotel is immaculate. The staff attends to your every need. We had breakfast delivered to our patio every morning. The hotel is on the path from Fira to Oia ( you have to make this hike!!!! ).

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lowcountryangler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 May 2010

After basically planning our entire honeymoon based on tripadvisor, I felt compelled to write a few reviews. My husband and I stayed at Anastasis Apts for 3 days (2 days in the honeymoon suite and one in the junior suite). It was amazing! Both rooms are quite large but the honeymoon suite has a larger verandah with a small outside hot tub. The sunsets in Imerovigli were exceptional (It is one of the highest points in the island).
Despina (the owner and manager) is wonderful and her staff is so courteous and helpful. The food was very good and pretty affordable.
We loved Anastasis b/c it is this quiet refuge b/w Fira and Oia. That being said, if you are looking to be in "heart of town", this is not the place for you. But if you come to the Greek Islands to enjoy great service, beautiful surroundings and tranquility: look no further!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WLB77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Wickham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2010

Three of us (ladies) travelled to Santorini for 5 nights to get away from the stresses of everyday life...home and work!!!

From the minute we arrived at Anastasis until the minute we left Despina and her staff were amazing and could not do enough for us. We were greeted personally at the gate when we arrived by Despina and Katerina and from that moment on we were treated like royalty!

Our room was lovely...immaculately clean and everything we could possibly need...clean bath robes and towels daily (sometimes twice!) fresh flowers, candles and a "goodnight tray" at bedtime. Our breakfast was laid out beautifully every morning by one of the boys who appeared whenever we moved!! They were always on hand to put up the umbrellas or to refill our glasses with chilled water around the pool or to serve us cocktails and lunch.

The ambience of Anastasis was heavenly...so peaceful...do not come here if you want to party or have lots of nightlife. A nice cliff walk can take you into Imerovigli town...the Imerovigli Taverna is lovely with feshly cooked very delicious Greek food.

A short taxi ride and you are in Oia which is really lovely but don't go here necessarily for the sunset because the sunsets at Anastasis are perfect...you have the most wonderful view over the Caldera and you can sit in peace and quiet with a glass of chilled wine.

The infinity pool is lovely as is the jacuzzi area with beautiful white billowing curtains and Despina will book this for your sole use.

Cant' say enough about Anastasis...Despina is a very special lady and so is her wonderful retreat.

We were delayed by Greek strikes for another 2 days and to be honest we couldn't have been happier having our stay extended!!!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank harpo500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Imerovigli
3.3 mi away
Celestia Grand
Celestia Grand
#1 of 80 in Fira
5.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
0.7 mi away
Astra Suites
Astra Suites
#4 of 48 in Imerovigli
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,360 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pegasus Suites & Spa
Pegasus Suites & Spa
#14 of 48 in Imerovigli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Aenaon Villas
Aenaon Villas
#2 of 48 in Imerovigli
5.0 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
1.0 mi away
San Antonio Suites
San Antonio Suites
#10 of 48 in Imerovigli
5.0 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
0.8 mi away
Iconic Santorini, a boutique cave hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anastasis Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anastasis Apartments

Property: Anastasis Apartments
Address: Imerovigli, Imerovigli 847 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Imerovigli
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Imerovigli
#10 Family Hotel in Imerovigli
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Anastasis Apartments Imerovigli
Anastasis Apartments Hotel Imerovigli
Anastasis Apartments Santorini/Imerovigli

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing