We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!”

Kapari Wine Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 34 Restaurants in Imerovigli
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$43 - US$73
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Gastronomic pleasures are part of an unforgettable vacation. At Kapari Wine Restaurant, we use the finest ingredients and follow the strictest standards to create healthy and appetizing meals. Start your day with a gourmet breakfast and conclude it with an exquisite dinner: Taste mouth watering Mediterranean recipes, combined with famous local delicacies. Choose from a huge variety of premium wines. During sunset, surrender to the dramatic views of the caldera and the deep blue Aegean sea.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

If you are not a wine person, don't shy away from eating here. This was a great restaurant! Food and service were top notch. Very windy, so we had drinks and watched sunset on deck, then had dinner in their small dining room. Very intimate. Favourite dish of the evening - lamb chops.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank AMERinLON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    390
    79
    18
    12
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mornington Peninsula, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Fabulous Restaurant and Views”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

You must make a reservation for this restaurant, but it is worth it. Watching the sunset over the Caldera whilst enjoying delicious food and excellent wine makes the memory of the long trek down the many stairs disappear! The staff were attentive and knowledgeable, the menu was Modern Classic Food with unusual combinations which really worked. We would certainly recommend this restaurant for a special evening.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank snowboardingbec222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Came for the view-left disappointed”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

The restaurant was recommended to me by a friend who had visited in the past, so I came with high expectations about the food and the scenic view. The location is indeed magnificent but the food and overall atmosphere is a bit too pretentious for my liking. I enjoy simpler tastes and not elaborate styled dishes. The prices were really high, and the service a bit slow. The location might be ideal but I left disappointed by the overall experience.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tanya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“lovely food, staff and view”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We ate here once during our stay in Santorini, we received a very warm welcome and had a beautiful view on the terrace watching the sunset. The staff are friendly and helpful, im a vegetarian so have limited choice but the lady went through the menu suggesting alternatives that the chef could prepare meat free. the food was delicious and the evening most enjoyable would recommend.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ang12333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Don't let the name put you off”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

I wasn't sure what to expect of this restaurant, given its name, but I have to say that it was by far the best food we had on Santorini. I think the restaurant is trying to differentiate itself by having a sommelier explain which wines (mostly local I believe, and not grape varieties or brands that we knew) go best with which type of food. I'm not sure that, for us at least, it added a huge amount of value. The food and service more than get by on their own merits. Dora, John and Alexandra really looked after us extremely well on both our visits.

We went there as a couple on our second to last night and were so impressed that we booked again on our final night, this time going as a foursome with some fellow guests from the hotel. As other reviewers have said, the food is extremely good and wouldn't be out of place at any top end restaurant in London (or any other major foodie destination for that matter). The quality of the cooking is very good and the presentation is also excellent. It's more in the 'fine dining' category than typical Greek Taverna food, so if that's what you'd prefer, somewhere like Avocado Restaurant just up the path would be a very good choice.

The only potential downside is with the restaurant layout. It's on two levels, the top one being the main part of the restaurant and which has incredible sunset views. The problem is that once you've enjoyed the sunset and the sun has disappeared from the sky, the restaurant becomes extremely dark. So dark in fact that you can neither see the menu nor the food when it arrives (a real shame when the chef has put so much effort into presentation). The lower level has only 4 tables but is much better lit and a cosy corner out of the way. So my top tip would be to try to get a table on the lower level if you plan to eat much after 8pm.

Highly recommended.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank SqueakyKlean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kapari Wine Restaurant also viewed

Imerovigli, Santorini
Imerovigli, Santorini
 
Exo Gonia, Fira
 

Been to Kapari Wine Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing