We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Skaros Rock - A Must Hike” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Skaros Rock

Skaros Rock
Book In Advance
More Info
US$548.89*
and up
Santorini Full-Day Guided Sightseeing Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Skaros was considered the most important of Santorini's five castle fortresses. The rock was inhabited in medieval times, because the fortress constructed there offered protection from pirates.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Skaros Rock - A Must Hike”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

Our terrace has a full caldera view & Skaros Rock is on the left. I can see Skaros in the morning, afternoon or evening light. Skaros is a huge rock & it is a pretty impressive sight. The best part is there are hiking trails to, around and up this majestic rock. You will not regret this hike... you will have the best view of Santorini, especially if you time it around sunset! We never get tired of walking to Skaros in our 10 days stay in Santroini. The best surprise of the hike is there is a little chapel Theoskepasti behind the rock which you can't see it from Imerovigli village(you can spot the chapel if you do the caldera hike to Oia). Equip with good footwear, water and a jacket (in case it is windy) is all you need. I highly recommend this hike if you visit Santorini. I have attached a web link which gives full details about Skaros, enjoy!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank happyjose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

893 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    558
    282
    48
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Exhausted hubby!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

My husband ventured onto Skaros Rock, and was glad he did... although I've never seen him so exhausted when he got back! It's got a fascinating history, and is utterly deceptive: when you arrived at it from the cliff path between Imerovigli and Fira, you're looking down at the Rock and it almost seems small. But, when you see it from other parts of the island, you realise how very high it is after all!
It's a tiring trek, not to be attempted in sandals, and take a bottle of water. But, totally worth doing (so hubby says: my pregnant self didn't even dare attempt it!)

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank EmmaF1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury,England
Level Contributor
63 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Fantastic views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

We were staying facing the rock, so walking out to it was a must. I found the first part of the walk easy and also the section down to the church on the far side was okay, it is a wonderful sight to see the church perched on the edge of the rock. I wasn`t able to get on top of the rock, I was on my own and didn`t want to risk it, hopefully I will try again next year, but worth it for the views.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lankyswan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
Level Contributor
371 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
“Great views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

Come here to see a wonderful sunset. A bit of a scramble to get to the end but well worth it especially when you look back to get a close up view of the caldera and into Fira and Oia.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank BerkshireWomble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“wild side of santorini”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

It was shame that due to some bad weather, they no longer has an easy access to the top. You need to have proper gear (i.e. rope) to climb up on top.
But still, it was beautiful.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Millie2london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Skaros Rock also viewed

 

Been to Skaros Rock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing