We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“different perspective of the island”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Skaros Rock

Skaros Rock
Book In Advance
More Info
US$554.30*
and up
Santorini Full-Day Guided Sightseeing Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Skaros was considered the most important of Santorini's five castle fortresses. The rock was inhabited in medieval times, because the fortress constructed there offered protection from pirates.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
60 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“different perspective of the island”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

It was a nice walk/hike for some excercise and to get a different perspective of Santorini island. There is a white church on the backside of it that you can also see from afar if you take a cruise on the water. To get to the tip-top of the rock takes some skill (rockclimbing without any gear type of skills).

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

915 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    574
    287
    49
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Fun Walk”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

This is great walk/hike down the face of the town to the rock then around and up to the rock. But walker beware, this takes longer than you think and it harder than you think. You probably should be in some kind of shape when attempting this.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank chris b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“I liked the views from the hills better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

It was a long walk (lots of stairs and slippery rock). It's ok. I don't recommend doing it on the same day as the hike to oia unless you are one of those keen hikers (I just like long walks)... you could definitely do it by itself and enjoy it as it wouldn't take as long (I'd do thira to oia again but skip this bit)...

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Melissa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Climb carefully”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

We climbed all the way tothe top of it but be aware that you will need good footwear and monkey abilities to climb to the very top. My husband had to asisst several people to get up or back down the rock!!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelteamUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Skaros Rock - A Must Hike”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

Our terrace has a full caldera view & Skaros Rock is on the left. I can see Skaros in the morning, afternoon or evening light. Skaros is a huge rock & it is a pretty impressive sight. The best part is there are hiking trails to, around and up this majestic rock. You will not regret this hike... you will have the best view of Santorini, especially if you time it around sunset! We never get tired of walking to Skaros in our 10 days stay in Santroini. The best surprise of the hike is there is a little chapel Theoskepasti behind the rock which you can't see it from Imerovigli village(you can spot the chapel if you do the caldera hike to Oia). Equip with good footwear, water and a jacket (in case it is windy) is all you need. I highly recommend this hike if you visit Santorini. I have attached a web link which gives full details about Skaros, enjoy!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank happyjose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Skaros Rock also viewed

 
 

Been to Skaros Rock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing