We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money”
Review of Azul Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Azul Hotel
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Read the reviews and weighed-in on the price and the availability (mid-June 2014) and so we took the plunged and book this hotel.

WHY I LOVE THIS PLACE:
1) Caldera view - only if you are on the top floor occupying room 1, 2, 3 and 4. Gorgeous caldera view slightly (very only slightly) obstructed by the electrical wires, and the hotel in front. The balcony is perfect for lounging, sun-tanning, breakfast, pretty much to chill out and yes, you get your amazing caldera view.
2) Close to the main road - therefore you are not dragging your luggage that far like some hotel. They don't necessarily have a concierge to help you with the luggage. Not easy to find if your driver is not familiar - your landmark should be the mini grocery in Imerovigli
3) No frills - this is not a boutique hotel, more like a upper scale backpacker which was perfect to what we were willing to pay at this time. We stayed 3 nights. The bed is hard - like most reviewers mentioned. It's a foam mattress on top of a concrete bed frame.
4) Rooms - super clean, super spotless and towels are changed daily. They are also quite spacious, more than enough for 2 people.
5) Very friendly staff - the 2 young ladies are super friendly. However i don't think they are quite experienced in managing the hotels as there were a number of confusion, miscommunication and lack of initiatives on some of our very simple requests and questions.(tour bookings, car, laundry) which showed lack of experience more than anything. They did so well in receiving us though - with complimentary wine and traditional wine to taste when we checked-in


A few things they can improved on:
1) Pillows - for 2 person, there should be more than just 2 pillows
2) Towels - guest should be able to bring towels when they go for boat trips
3) Breakfast - they should cook eggs differently everyday, (not just boiled daily), especially for guest staying more than 2 nights. They bread, we find, were always too hard or a bit stale. The second day we bought our own breakfast from the nearby grocery and pastry shop

Tip:
++If you are looking for a "budget-caldera view hotel" - this is your top pick! The hotel provides and amazing panorama of the caldera minus the hefty tag price.
++If budget allows, book the top floor room #1,2,3 & 4 - it's worth the upgrade. Don't get the reception level room - it's way below street level therefore I can only imagine it's very dark. At the very least, get the 2nd level - you still get the view and a nice little balcony.
++You can take taxi from the airport - it's dime and a dozen. Just make sure you have the instruction and the right landmark for the hotel.

Yes, I will still recommend this place. We stayed 3 nights and we had very minor complaints. Manage your expectation - it's obvious with the price tag. This isn't a full-on serviced hotel however this is way more than adequate for you to be able to have a magical time in Santorini. I would still choose this hotel - and stay at room #3!

Room Tip: Book the top most floor - balcony rooms #1,2,3 and 4 to get the actual caldera view. Insist on havin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ellemorena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (116)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 116 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

We loved staying here for 4 nights, and had amazing views from room 1 on the top floor.
The staff were nice and spoke good english. The best thing about this hotel is its location, close to the main road (so you can get your luggage in the taxi) and how close it is to Thira, which is the Islands centre city

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Farnaz A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Location: Situated in Imerovigli, it's a good walking distance to many restaurants, cafes, hotels and a good walk to Fira town. Near to some of the best restaurants around - Anogi and Avacado.

Service: The cleaning service was very good, the room was super cleaned everyday, just 1 minor point, to provide new shower gel everyday. The lady who attended to us, Anastasia, was very good too, very informative and helpful.
The only thing that i didn't like was the free wifi reception was poor, and there's no one you can contact in the hotel after 11pm as there's no one manning the reception. The staffs are available the next morning only at 8am. Seems like a back packer service compared to a hotel service.

Room: You'll be disappointed if you're expecting sea view... the only unobstructed sea view is the top floor rooms. If you don't get that, there's no point even if you booked the 1st floor where it's stated partial sea view... don't be fooled. of course on the website, everything looks beautiful, you haven't seen the other side. Again it's very basic, so don't expect much. It's not boutique hotel style, to me it's more like a premium back packer style.

Breakfast: The free breakfast was good the 1st time but if you are staying for many days, like us (5days) the breakfast becomes boring, there's no variation, it's the same thing day after day! At least make the eggs different, like hard boil one day, scrambled eggs the next day.... ham on the 1st day and sausages the next day, and the list goes on....etc... you get the drift.

Price: Probably the best reason for staying here, if the sea view is not a priority. I must say, it's value for money based on the offerings... and not as picky as I am.

Transfer: The port transfer and airport transfer was 20 euros each, which is expensive! And it's not private, you have to share it with other passengers even though you have paid for it. This is something i feel not justified. Like my case, i wanted to take the taxi to airport but Anastasia told me to take the transfer, so i paid for the transfer to the airport and thinking I will be the only passenger...but little did i know i had to share it with other passengers going to the airport as well. I don't mind if everyone is punctual but this is not the case.... i purposely woke up early so i can be at the airport early as i have to check in my bags but when the driver stopped at another hotel to pick up passengers, i had to wait for 30 minutes because the other passengers wasn't ready?? This is ridiculous! I might as well take the taxi then!

Room Tip: Just book the top floor, you won't be disappointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank somadKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

This hotel was recommended to us by our friend who lives on Santorini island. We were not disappointed. Upon arrival, they offered us Greek traditional sweets, sweet wine & water, while explaining to us about the island - what not to miss, where to eat, etc. The room was clean and nicely decorated. They also provided us a bottle of wine in the room. Nice!

The first few nights, we had some issues with hot water. While taking the shower, the water ran out - though it quickly came back on (after about 2 mins) - it was a bit annoying. The problem was fixed on our final day. The bathroom was small but adequate. The bed was very comfortable. But the best part of this hotel has to be the view from the balcony, where we enjoyed our breakfast (only 2 mornings out of 4 because of the weather). Breakfast was good but always very similar - boiled egg, cheese, ham, bread & cake. Tea or coffee & orange juice. It would have been nice to have a little more variation (especially because we were staying there for 5 days).

Overall, we had a great time there and I highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: Get the top floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank pekopoko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Don't be swayed by the photo, what you see is not what you might get. We were here for a week towards the end of the low season, having booked a couple of months in advance and we were put in what must have been the smallest room they had (we did check this out by looking in the other rooms). Make sure your room has a shower curtain upon booking, ours did not & sure enough everything would get wet. Management were very friendly & accommodating throughout our stay & we were able to swap rooms after asking to do so. The views were spectacular & if I were to stay here again I would be more specific, the only room to get is with a balcony & make sure you ask for the one with the domed ceiling (this is the room they show in the photo). The young woman (Christina) who brought our breakfast & cleaned our room was exceptional helped to make our stay a pleasurable experience (I hope management at this establishment know how lucky they are). Also run by the family is Jimmy's supermarket & Jimmy's car rental (both very good for service and located behind the hotel).

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Gregory S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

I visited Santorini last January, I was lucky because the weather was good for the 2 days I was there. Staying in Azul hotel in a room which has stunning view over the caldera especially when the sun set on a bright day. The staffs were helpful, they offered us airport transfer and tour service on extra cost. The room was a bit small but clean. Bathroom was too cramp, not sure to take shower without splashing all over the place. Breakfast was ok, free WiFi included. My only complaint was the ''Flintstone style of bed'' (a cement bed with mattress on it) maybe it's cool for the summer but definitely not in the winter, it was freezing, the aircondition couldn't warm up the whole room. I don't know wether this style of bed is in all Santorini's hotel or only in Azul. Overall I had a good time in Santorini, the villages view and landscape were amazing.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor of the property is the best if you want to have view of the caldera, it's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DenLilleHavrue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

On an island that's known for being expensive, it was great to find a beautiful, clean, well located hotel with a fantastic view (from some rooms) impeccable service and a breakfast that was shockingly large and beautifully presented.

The staff is wonderful, rooms clean, view stunning, and to top it off, a nice little welcome drink, a fresh fruit bowl AND a bottle of wine waiting in the room!! The little surprises go a long way. For the price, you can't find a better hotel in Santorini.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Imerovigli
0.2 mi away
Merovigliosso Apartments
Merovigliosso Apartments
#35 of 51 in Imerovigli
165 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nefeli Homes
Nefeli Homes
#36 of 51 in Imerovigli
191 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sunny Villas
Hotel Sunny Villas
#19 of 51 in Imerovigli
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Armeni Village Rooms & Suites
1 mi away
Santorini Princess
Santorini Princess
#7 of 51 in Imerovigli
939 reviews
0.3 mi away
Blue Dolphins Traditional Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Azul Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Azul Hotel

Address: Imerovigli 84700, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Imerovigli
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 47 Speciality Lodging in Imerovigli
Price Range: £45 - £438 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Azul Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Azul Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Azul Hotel Santorini/Imerovigli

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing