We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Road View” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Azul Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Azul Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Road View”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

I stayed in Room no.3 or 4, but I was on the street level, and had no view of the famous caldera as promised.. the room felt clinical, and i had to unplug the refrigerator because the sound of it was too loud.. the best thing about the room is that everything is painted white, so it felt minimal.. but they could have improved the decoration so make it feel cozy and inviting.. the bathroom was ok, i thought the shower was small and the curtain was in the way (i'm a petite girl yet the curtain kept hitting me, i'm not sure how bigger people would feel comfortable in it).. the breakfast was continental, not greek, repeated everyday and was tasteless (sara lee cake, a few peices of bread, jam and honey, boiled egg, slice of turkey, processed cheese, and ham)
the wifi connection was horrible, i had to stand out on the balcony, which was directly on the road to make any calls..
my suggestion is to pay 100$ extra and stay somewhere else

Room Tip: Stay in the upper floors, and request a view of the caldera (not the rooms in the basement or on str...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    40
    16
    8
    7
See reviews for
9
56
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

Despite all the great reviews, unfortunately our experience had been different.
The only memorable thing from Azul was the view. We got a room that had a bad smell from the toilet and there was a problem with the drainage system. We asked for a different room but told that none available. We asked them to fix the problem but until the end of our stay, it didn't get fixed.
Anastasia was helpful when we checked in but when we asked her to do something about this problem, unfortunately none got done.
Unfortunately, we didn't feel that we got our money worth. It was only the view that was memorable from this stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fnugroho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Imerovigli hotels

toronto
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

We booked a room in Azul a couple of months ahead and got Room #1 upon arrival. From the very beginning, the staff of Azul tried to do everything they could to make our stay a great experience. A big thank you to Mary and Anastasia for arranging everything from airport pick-up to booking restaurants and suggesting wonderful places to have dinner.
We highly recommend this hotel (and especially if you get one if the 3 rooms on the top floor) to anyone who is looking for a great hotel in Imerovigli.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank yakov s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

First an enormous thank you to Anastasia at reception who was phenomenal. My husband wanted requested her help to call a local restaurant with a view of the sunset and make Reservations. Not only did she help him but she ensured the best table was saved. The day after, we were set to go on an excursion and my alarm didn't go off. In a panic we woke up 5 minutes before we were supposed to be at the bus stop. Anastasia prepared us a bag if biscuits from the breakfast we missed and we ran off and made it in time! Finally, this hotel and even the owners were so magnificent and friendly. I really cannot say enough about them. Despite having the economy room with no view, they treated us as if we were their highest paying customers. The only thing I could have wanted for was a longer bed. My husband and I are 5'9- 6'2 and we continously hit our heads on the headboard.

Note: Think twice about booking the day trip on the boat with the volcano and sunset trip with the hotel. Of no fault of the hotel, the bus drivers were so rude and even tried to leave us stranded in Oia. The travel company was so disorganized and their drivers-on all three buses we ended up taking were just horrific. Completely ignored us when we were speaking to them and acted like we were am annoyance when we were unsure where to go. When I mentioned this to the Azul staff they were apologetic and visibly upset that we were treated so badly by the tour.

I've ranted enough! Great Hotel, great location, amazing staff and beautiful rooms. Thank you Azul!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Christina E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

It is really an amazing place, staff are really friendly, welcoming.. What i liked is the presentation on the island at the check-in
Also the view is beautiful with a very nice patio..
This hotel really deserves

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MagedGuindi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
77 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

Read the reviews and weighed-in on the price and the availability (mid-June 2014) and so we took the plunged and book this hotel.

WHY I LOVE THIS PLACE:
1) Caldera view - only if you are on the top floor occupying room 1, 2, 3 and 4. Gorgeous caldera view slightly (very only slightly) obstructed by the electrical wires, and the hotel in front. The balcony is perfect for lounging, sun-tanning, breakfast, pretty much to chill out and yes, you get your amazing caldera view.
2) Close to the main road - therefore you are not dragging your luggage that far like some hotel. They don't necessarily have a concierge to help you with the luggage. Not easy to find if your driver is not familiar - your landmark should be the mini grocery in Imerovigli
3) No frills - this is not a boutique hotel, more like a upper scale backpacker which was perfect to what we were willing to pay at this time. We stayed 3 nights. The bed is hard - like most reviewers mentioned. It's a foam mattress on top of a concrete bed frame.
4) Rooms - super clean, super spotless and towels are changed daily. They are also quite spacious, more than enough for 2 people.
5) Very friendly staff - the 2 young ladies are super friendly. However i don't think they are quite experienced in managing the hotels as there were a number of confusion, miscommunication and lack of initiatives on some of our very simple requests and questions.(tour bookings, car, laundry) which showed lack of experience more than anything. They did so well in receiving us though - with complimentary wine and traditional wine to taste when we checked-in


A few things they can improved on:
1) Pillows - for 2 person, there should be more than just 2 pillows
2) Towels - guest should be able to bring towels when they go for boat trips
3) Breakfast - they should cook eggs differently everyday, (not just boiled daily), especially for guest staying more than 2 nights. They bread, we find, were always too hard or a bit stale. The second day we bought our own breakfast from the nearby grocery and pastry shop

Tip:
++If you are looking for a "budget-caldera view hotel" - this is your top pick! The hotel provides and amazing panorama of the caldera minus the hefty tag price.
++If budget allows, book the top floor room #1,2,3 & 4 - it's worth the upgrade. Don't get the reception level room - it's way below street level therefore I can only imagine it's very dark. At the very least, get the 2nd level - you still get the view and a nice little balcony.
++You can take taxi from the airport - it's dime and a dozen. Just make sure you have the instruction and the right landmark for the hotel.

Yes, I will still recommend this place. We stayed 3 nights and we had very minor complaints. Manage your expectation - it's obvious with the price tag. This isn't a full-on serviced hotel however this is way more than adequate for you to be able to have a magical time in Santorini. I would still choose this hotel - and stay at room #3!

Room Tip: Book the top most floor - balcony rooms #1,2,3 and 4 to get the actual caldera view. Insist on havin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellemorena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
369 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

We loved staying here for 4 nights, and had amazing views from room 1 on the top floor.
The staff were nice and spoke good english. The best thing about this hotel is its location, close to the main road (so you can get your luggage in the taxi) and how close it is to Thira, which is the Islands centre city

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Farnaz A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Imerovigli hotels
0.3 mi away
Prekas Apartments
Prekas Apartments
#32 of 48 in Imerovigli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nefeli Homes
Nefeli Homes
#39 of 48 in Imerovigli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sunny Villas
Hotel Sunny Villas
#20 of 48 in Imerovigli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Krokos Villas
Krokos Villas
#44 of 48 in Imerovigli
4.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
0.1 mi away
Veranda View
Veranda View
#41 of 48 in Imerovigli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
0.2 mi away
Merovigliosso Apartments
Merovigliosso Apartments
#29 of 48 in Imerovigli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Azul Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Azul Hotel

Property: Azul Hotel
Address: Imerovigli 84700, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Imerovigli
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 47 Speciality Lodging in Imerovigli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Azul Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Azul Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Azul Hotel Santorini/Imerovigli

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing