We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rockstar service and great stay”
Review of Santorini Princess

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Santorini Princess
Ranked #9 of 51 Hotels in Imerovigli
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

Had a lovely time here. View is fabulous , we had a family suite. Breakfast is good but not extraordinary.
Service is absolutely special , thanks George , Alex ,
Michael , nadia and costas. Would go again and again!
Close to bus stop and excellent pool.

Stayed: May 2014
Thank taxiDad35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (912)
There are newer reviews for Santorini Princess
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

357 - 363 of 912 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2014

Well, I think pretty much all of the superlatives have been used to describe this Hotel. We have just come back from an amazing holiday and, frankly, we would have been more than happy to stay on forever!

It began with a very pleasant and efficient drive from the airport with George,who was happy to tell us about the views etc. and we arrived at the Hotel to be greeted in style by the 'welcoming committee' - this must be what it's like to be 'piped' on board a fabulous yacht - we felt like very honoured guests indeed. Michael showed us round and then took us to our room, we already felt at home. And, I think this was how I would sum up this 5 star experience, we arrived as strangers, but left feeling like we were friends.

All the staff were amazing, without exception. We were even offered a lift into Fira by one young lad as we stood at the bus stop waiting for the bus, as he was just on his way home - above and beyond the call of duty. I would also like to extend a special thank you to Yannis in the restaurant who was discretion, friendliness and helpfulness personified and Kostas at breakfast - I could go on, but everyone deserves to be mentioned in despatches, they were all fantastic.

We had a lovely room on an upper floor, away from the pool and the restaurant, with honeysuckle clambering up the wall outside the door and smelling beautiful. The view was to die for and we were very happy to sit on our balcony, sipping a chilled glass or two and watch the world go by. The cliff path that runs from Fira to Oia (as I think someone else has said, it's pronounced more like Ear), runs in front of the Hotel and you can also watch the boats in the Caldera and the birds hunting fish when they come up to feed in the evening (having googled them, we think they might be European Shag), and it' s incredible to watch them hover over the sea and then suddenly drop like stones when they spot a fish. The room was comfortable and clean with mini bar, air-con and en-suite shower room. Cleaned every day, with fresh towels and linen, I never saw anyone come in, but it was always very efficient. The temperature on the air-con is set by a master switch elsewhere, so you have to ask if you want it altered.

The pool was lovely and warm - heated at this time of year and there is a Jacuzzi at one end. Lovely, thick towels are delivered to you when you pitch up at the pool and a member of staff is on hand to deliver your delicious drink when you are ready to order.

We ate in the restaurant twice and it was delicious, but portions small. And quite pricey compared to UK, but then this is a pricey Island in general. You'll pay between 4 and 6 Euro's for a small beer, around 10 Euro's for a main course in a family run Taverna, but 20 - 30 Euro's in a restaurant or a Taverna with a view. We also ordered room service a couple of times and this turned out to be great value and a lovely thing to do - sitting on our balcony munching on delicious pizza and salad (plenty for two) with a bottle of wine bought from the supermarket (wine around 12 Euros for a standard bottle of local wine). We drank only bottled water, as I understand that all Island's water is de-salinated and therefore not pleasant to drink. You will notice water trucks delivering water to the Hotel up the road twice a day, but oddly, I never saw one deliver to SP, so I am not sure what their arrangements are.

I definitely recommend you try the walk from the Hotel to either, Fira or Oia. We did the one to Oia, the views are amazing and at this time of year, you can smell the wild Thyme and Rosemary in the air. Wild flowers scramble over the rocks everywhere. There was one slippery slope - slippery because of loose volcanic stone and I recommend sensible walking shoes and perhaps a hiking stick, you will see lots of walkers with them. These are a good idea if you venture further afield to ancient Thira as well. It is quite a hike up the switch back road to ancient Thira, or a scary drive and then when you get there, there is another further hike up to the ruins along fairly narrow, unmade paths, with a sheer drop on one side - not great for my vertigo, but I made it and was pleased I did. But please note that most of the interesting artifacts have been removed from here and also from the the excavations in Akrotiri and placed in the museums in Fira. Most museums are closed on Mondays, but the museum of archaeology in Fira is closed on Tuesdays.

We hired a car for a couple of days and George organised this for us. The car was delivered to us at the hotel and collected again - 35 Euros for a small car (and on this small island, that's all you need), you can get it for around 30 Euro's in town, but then you have to collect and deliver yourself. We also went on the catamaran trip, which sounds expensive at 90 Euro's, but was actually a wonderful trip and excellent value, when you tot up how much you get for it (unlimited drinks, freshly cooked meal, swim at the hot springs - (which aren't that hot, but never mind) 5 hours cruising and transfers to and from your hotel), I thoroughly recommend it. Catch a bus just a few metres down the road 1.60 Euro's. Just get on and pay the conductor - when you come back, just ask for Iris (pronounced I - ris, with a phonetic I) and the conductor will stop the bus at the right place for you. Buses to come back from Oia and Fira leave from the bus station, and it's the number 15 which stops at Iris.

Wonderful Hotel, beautiful Island and very friendly and hospitable people. And all speak excellent English, so no worries there either! The Hotel will be more than happy to organise and book anything you want and for a small fee, take you anywhere if you don't fancy the walk, or the drive, or the bus.

Room Tip: Avoid the pool area, if you want privacy. All rooms have a wonderful view.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank tellno1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

I booked the Santorini princess as it seemed the best value for money at the time of booking but I was a bit dubious that it would look as good as their well designed website suggests. Honestly it is even more beautiful than the pictures on the website. Your first view of the caldera poolside almost takes your breath away, you can't quite believe it's real.
The rooms are clean, cool and comfortable with decent sized bathrooms (rain burst shower heads) and every room has it's own private balcony with that all important view of the caldera and stunning sunset. Definitely order a bottle of champagne on ice to drink one evening whilst watching the sunset from your balcony.
The food is amazing, absolutely delicious. We ate outside of the hotel for lunch a few times but had dinner here every night (7 nights) because nowhere else rivalled the quality of the food and service. We tried virtually everything on the menu and even had on the house appetisers and desserts that weren't listed on the menu and everything was absolutely delicious.
The staff are the real jewels though, every single member of staff is polite, sincere and will go out of their way to help you. Amazing people! I would mention a few names but there are too many wonderful people!
The spa is small but lovely, it is open every day (11am-8pm) for treatments, I had the 2 hour spa day which included a lymphatic drainage massage (incredible!) and a facial. I left feeling light as a feather.
Everything was perfect, even the location which seems to be a stumbling block on some reviews. I don't really understand why people complain about this because it is so private and quiet (which is what you want on holiday) yet you can easily reach the main villages by taxi (6 euros to fira, 13 euros to Oia) or you can be brave and walk (which we did, hard work but totally worth it) in the day or you can catch the bus right behind the hotel. It is set back from the cliff edge and you have no immediate neighbours. Believe me I did not envy all those people staying in the cave hotels/suites in the main villages because as a pedestrian you can walk straight through the hotel pathways and everyone can see your pool/rooms and have a good nosey, plus very noisy. So definitely 5 stars for location for Santorini Princess.
I have written a very long review here because I can't stress enough what a wonderful holiday and experience we had. We shall be back!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LaurenJEvans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Stayed at this hotel during a recent holiday in Greece. The hotel is located a short distance outside of the town of Imerovigli but within easy walking distance. Oia is a bit further away as is Fira but everything can be easlily reached by local bus. The hotel is very comfortable and the staff are great. I ate in the hotel restaurant every night and the meals were all wonderful as was the service. the views were to die for and the rooms large and comfortable.

Room Tip: Choose a room a bit away from the pool and restaurant.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

After reading reviews we decided to stay in this hotel.
We stayed there from 12th to 18th may 2014.(weather-windy)
1) staff is very friendly
2) view is breathtaking
3) location is ideal-(not as crowded as OIA or Fira but at the same time 5mins by quad or car to fira plus bus stop is rite outside the hotel along with the walking path to OIA)
4) food is excellent(except for breakfast having the same menu everyday but the food was good)
5)clean rooms

the staff is very friendly ,warm and helpful. Michael showed us around the hotel on our arrival and than we were given welcomed drinks(which were really good).the view was breathtaking.whenever we returned to our room from our excursions the room use to be clean and the fragrance was welcoming.the food was excellent we tried the salads,IMAM & seafood risotto along with baklava all were superb specially the risotto the perfect place to stay!!!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Neha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

The Santorini Princess cascades down the cilff face, with private cave rooms and little patios linked by walkways with restaurant areas and a beautiful (really!) heated pool with that amazing "caldara view". The location is a little secluded which suited us perfectly. It is right on the caldara rim, with a path in front of the resort leading on a 20minute walk to nearby Imerovigli and about 35minutes further on to the more crowded and "touristy" Firi, where small boats land numerous day trippers from the many docked cruise ships. Along the path in the other direction is the spectacular 2 hour hike to Oia at the end of the rim, famous for its spectacular sunsets. There is a bus stop just outside the hotel for travel further afield, such as Akrotiri (or if you just don't feel energetic enough for all that walking!), or the Resort can provide a hire car or transfers. However the fact that the Resort was a little isolated did slightly limit restaurant choice at night, if we felt too lazy to go very far.
Our room was very clean and comfortable; WiFi was fine; the restaurant was excellent with a good menu and great service. In fact, the staff were the outstanding feature of this resort. Everyone was friendly and helpful, someone was always available to answer a question, nothing was too difficult and there were lots of little extras such as a welcome champagne, a small entree sample in the restaurant and a parting gift. We really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swans11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

The Santorini Princess was the perfect end to our honeymoon in April 2014! Breathtaking views, an amazing heated pool, sensational breakfasts, and the most helpful and friendly staff that we had encountered on our whole trip!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mel_Adl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Imerovigli
1.1 mi away
Iconic Santorini, a boutique cave hotel
2.8 mi away
Andronis Luxury Suites
2.7 mi away
Katikies Hotel
Katikies Hotel
#14 of 56 in Oia
962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Rocabella Santorini Resort & Spa
1.1 mi away
Pegasus Suites & Spa
Pegasus Suites & Spa
#17 of 51 in Imerovigli
323 reviews
1.7 mi away
Anteliz Suites Santorini
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santorini Princess? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santorini Princess

Address: Imerovigli 84700, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Imerovigli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Imerovigli
#3 Family Hotel in Imerovigli
#7 Luxury Hotel in Imerovigli
#12 Romantic Hotel in Imerovigli
Price Range: £163 - £348 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Santorini Princess 5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Imerovigli, the most beautiful village of Santorini, you will find Santorini Princess Luxury Spa Hotel. It is situated on the enchanting and world famous caldera, 300m above the sea, having the most fascinating and unique view of the volcano and the little islands of the Aegean Sea, and of course the breathtaking sunset. The hotel is a true ornament for the region as it combines harmoniously the traditional characteristics of Santorini with discreet luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Santorini Princess reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santorini Princess Imerovigli
Santorini Princess Hotel Imerovigli

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing