We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Sunny Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Sunny Villas
Ranked #20 of 48 Hotels in Imerovigli
Certificate of Excellence
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2012

After reading countless reviews I decided to book this hotel. I would not recommend this hotel. It is dark and dingy. The bed didn't have sheets. The bathroom flooded because the shower was leaking and when I called the reception desk, they asked me what I wanted them to do about it. The view is amazing, however. The pool is VERY small, and the pool chairs are the most ridiculous I have ever sat in. The location is a nice walking distance to many restaurants, however, I would recommend staying in Oia. We rented a car and drove to Oia for dinner and such - and it is a great town! I also highly recommend the Blue Lagoon catamaran cruise - it was a beautiful day of sailing and they cook an amazing meal on board.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    316
    86
    19
    9
    4
See reviews for
58
275
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2011

The guy in the hotel was really helpful all the time, it is far away enough from all of the tourist coming in every day from the cruises. It is easy to move around by motorbike.
I really liked the room, but I saw a lot of different ones so make sure you get one with a view.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J923571
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toledo, Ohio
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2011

Perhaps I would have enoyed having more time to walk around if we'd stayed in Oia, but we stayed at Sunny Villas in Imerovigli on Santorini and it was incredible.
The views are just incredible. The staff was great. The stairs are steep, FYI. I loved exploring every inch and nooks and crannies of Imerovigli, even if I wondered if I'd fall to my death. I loved that my family and I had different suites that all looked completely different, like they're just converted apartments. There is so much charm and character and you can feel the history of the place. Especially the realization that *THIS* was Atlantis!

We took the looooooooong walk down and up the Skaros where a midevil castle used to be (and back again), which was exhausting but the view was INCREDIBLE....I wouldn't trade that experience at all (or being able to just walk back to my hotel and relax, intead of cramming into a cab and taking a harrowing ride back to some other part of Santorini).

Room Tip: If you have bad knees, ask for a room on a higher (street) level so you're not climbing up and d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ivychick425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
174 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2011

The view from your terrace is what you're here for. It is absolutely breathtaking. Waking up to the blue of the caldera or watching sunset with a bottle of wine is divine. The guy who runs the place (Andreas) is very helpful and the other guy (Michael I think) makes awesome cocktails poolside. Water in the pool is pretty cold, but it's a welcome thing in the temperatures of Santorini in the summer! Breakfast included with the room rate is nothing too special and pretty limited, so we ordered eggs and bacon or something else extra every day to supplement it. The rooms are "caves" as they are dug into the sides of the cliff, but it gives them character that we found pretty cool. The furnishings were a bit on the old side, could use an update, but that's about the only thing that I'd change. Take a hike to the Skaros Rock that's right in front of the hotel - endlessly beautiful photo opportunities. Walk to Fira, it's an awesome walk. Go to the Red Beach too. Andreas can suggest more things to do for you, just ask!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lmitravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2011

We had reservations at at nearby hotel. They were not there for 3 hours when we arrived, so just found Sunny Villas by chance. The rooms were beautiful and yes, they are "caves", in that they are built into the side of the mountain. It IS Santorini, after all! They were very helpful with restaurant recommendations. The bed was excellent and very comfortable. We got a great rate, since we were there in October.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coachmary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2011

we paid over $285AUD for this hotel, which I consider expensive. The rooms were dark, dingy. The only nice thing is the balcony with good views. The breakfast is not good. There are NO lying down chairs at the pool. You must be able to ly at your pool in santorini as you cannot walk to beaches. The bed was very uncomfortable! There are definately much nicer and better places to stay in Imerovigli than this property. Keep looking...

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank seeking_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herning, Denmark
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2011

My husbond and I just spend our honeymoon at Sunny Villas, and it was amazing. The room was bright and clean, and the private terrase had the most fantastic view over the Caldera. We are comming back!!!
Remember to ask the owner where to eat, he is spot on..

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ILDSVAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Imerovigli hotels
0.3 mi away
Pegasus Suites & Spa
Pegasus Suites & Spa
#15 of 48 in Imerovigli
5.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
0.2 mi away
Heliotopos Hotel
Heliotopos Hotel
#22 of 48 in Imerovigli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
0.3 mi away
Afroessa Hotel
Afroessa Hotel
#7 of 48 in Imerovigli
5.0 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Altana Traditional Houses and Suites
0.8 mi away
Rocabella Santorini Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Iliovasilema Suites
Iliovasilema Suites
#26 of 48 in Imerovigli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sunny Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sunny Villas

Property: Hotel Sunny Villas
Address: Imerovigli 84700, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Imerovigli
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Imerovigli
#16 Luxury Hotel in Imerovigli
#21 Romantic Hotel in Imerovigli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sunny Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Sunny Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sunny Villas Santorini/Imerovigli

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing