We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant vacation!”
Review of Hotel Sunny Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Sunny Villas
Ranked #19 of 51 Hotels in Imerovigli
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 July 2008

We stayed at Sunny Villas in the middle of June 2008. There were 6 of us (my mother, father, my younger sister (19 years old), my husband, me and our daughter (8 years old), and we had a super suite with outdoor jaccuzi. Patio with outdoor jaccuzi, large terrace with 3 chaise longues, a sofa, a table and 4 chairs, two bedrooms, two bathrooms, two living-rooms and a kitchenette - there was plenty of space for all of us. Although jaccuzi was not heated, the water in it was warm enough, I think about +23 C, and it was a real pleasure to use it. When we returned late in the evening after having dinner, there were lighted candles near our jaccuzi, that was beautiful and very pleasant.
The view of the famous sunset from the territory of the hotel is excellent. The view from our personal terrace is a bit "spoiled" by the electric cable, but it didn't matter to us.
Famous Andreas is really a super guy! He is very hospitable, takes care of everything, always ready to help and to answer the questions.
Two girls cleaning the rooms and two guys doing all the rest are helpful, laborious and friendly. Breakfast brought to our terrace was tasty and well served.
Transfer ordered with the help of Andreas arrived in time.
It was really pity to leave Santorini and Sunny Villas. Many thanks to Andreas for our wonderful stay there! Can recommend this hotel! Come and have a nice time!!!
Thanks and many greetings from Estonia!

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank anmadis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (486)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

322 - 328 of 486 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2008

Beside the fact that this hotel has a privileged position on Imerovigli’s cliffs, giving you astonishing views of the caldera and the sunset, I will say that the most valuable asset are the peoples that are running the beautiful Sunny Villas.
Thank you, for giving us an amazing and unforgettable time.
Ioan & Ileana

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank CanadianTraveler10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2008

Location, Location. This hotel is one of several located on the hillside in Imerovigli. There is only foot traffic between the hotels. It is extremely quiet at night. There is a restaurant nearby, but it was empty before 10PM. Not a place for nightlife, which suited us just fine. It is probably the best place on the island to view the famous sunset. In June the sun sets just between the islands. We got a much better view than all the crowds who are bused each night to Oia.

The hotel staff was very nice. Although the bed was a only a double, the room was very large with a balcony. There was a small, but very lovely pool just down the stairs from our room. The room was provided with a hot plate and utensils so were we able to visit the market just up the hill and cook our own meals for a couple of nights--a very welcome relief from the Greek restaurant food.

The hotel was located just across from the famous Skaros Rock and about a 25 min walk into the main town via a paved trail along the caldera. It was the best place we stayed in all of Greece!

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Webplanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2008

The view from terrace of the caldera was absolutely beautiful. The best view on whole island. Nice location slightly removed from Fira but easy to walk or drive and park. The hotel staff were excellent. The hotel is on a hill and it is a steep walk to get to hotel and to your room. We stayed in the jacuzzi suite with two bedrooms. The suite had an upper level terrace with reclining chairs and a table large enough for six. My major problem with hotel was that I am 6" 1" and some of the doorways were only 6' high and I kept hitting my head. Also one of the bedrooms had a smaller bed that was cramped for 2. The jacuzzi was nice, but since it was not heated we were only able to get our legs wet. Also, the timer for jets stopped every 5 minutes. They delivered breakfast to our room when we called in morning. They helped with luggage coming and going which you need due to steep hill and steps. There are plenty of rent a car agencies nearby with low prices. I would stay at this hotel again and hope that it is not long before I have opportunity to return to Santorini.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank jhatman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2008

First of all, this is a great small hotel. I think it has about 25 rooms. Many of the rooms are actually caves dug into the side of the cliff. Although a cave does not typically conjure up a pretty picture, these caves have plastered walls and very nice interior finishes. The cave we stayed in was a superior double. It included a queen size bed, a nice bath, a large living room with an efficiency kitchen , TV, and a couple of couches. Plus, the outside porch/balcony area included a table for breakfast and a spectacular view of the volcanic caldera.

There is also a nice small pool with an adjoining bar. The hotel has multiple levels as it hugs the cliff face. We talked to the manager, Andreas, and learned that several of the "caves" are actually several hundred years old. Some caves are very large with full kitchens and a couple of bedrooms.

Stayed: May 2008
Thank patofcharlotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2008

Staying in Imerovigli rather than touristy Fira is the way to go. Andreas and his staff are helpful and personable. Our 4 person villa was large with terrific views. The beds were very firm like sleeping on a rock and the bathrooms seem unfinished like taking a shower in a cave with a shower curtain with the floor getting wet all the time and my 6 foot tall husband in a crouch position. But the tranquillity made it all worth it. Internet was free on the patio.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank CatheG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreasMarinis, manager at Hotel Sunny Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2008

Dear Sir/Madam,

I would like to thank for your comments, because that makes us better,
In order to avoid any misunderstandings and misleading comments i would like to make a notice on your mentioned phrase of the "Unfinished" bathroom? Please be kind to explain to the hotel and the other guests what do you mean by unfinished?
Adding to my question i am posting some photos of the bathroom and the room

Yours sincerely
Hotel Sunny Villas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2008

Stayed for 2 night- May 31 and June 1,2008

1. Location is fabolous- opposite a very good hiking spot- Skaros. The view from the top of the Skaros hill is
spectacular. I did a morning hike at 6am and the view was amazing. The view of the sunset is amazing from the room
balcony. The view is best from the bar.

2. Breakfast was ok- did the job. Very small in portion though.

3. Santorini water is not good- so try using mineral water.

4. Toilet size is small.

6. Hotel staff is good and very helpful. Andreas in particular was very helpful in giving help island tips and
booking taxis to airport and locally. His hospitability was simply awesome.

7. Big cave size room- with 2 beds.

8. Bed was comfortable- extra pillows can be found in the closet.

9. Taxi ride to airport costed me 15 Euro- Andreas booked it- very reasonable.

10. AC worked great.

11. Taxi rides in Santorini is fixed- so ask the price of travel from the taxi driver before hand.

12. Santorini is a beautiful island- black sand beach is awesome. Santorini wines are on the sweet side.
Try living in Immerovigli and at Sunny vilas- wont regret it. I paid $170 for one night for a cave room using Orbitz.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mendiratta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Imerovigli
0.3 mi away
Afroessa Hotel
Afroessa Hotel
#8 of 51 in Imerovigli
656 reviews
0.2 mi away
Heliotopos Hotel
Heliotopos Hotel
#26 of 51 in Imerovigli
428 reviews
0 mi away
Altana Traditional Houses and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Santorini Princess
Santorini Princess
#6 of 51 in Imerovigli
939 reviews
2.8 mi away
Lilium Villas
Lilium Villas
#8 of 81 in Fira
785 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rocabella Santorini Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sunny Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sunny Villas

Address: Imerovigli 84700, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Imerovigli
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Imerovigli
#14 Luxury Hotel in Imerovigli
#21 Romantic Hotel in Imerovigli
Price Range: £113 - £520 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sunny Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Sunny Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sunny Villas Santorini/Imerovigli

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing