We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not bad”
Review of Hotel Sunny Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Sunny Villas
Ranked #18 of 48 Hotels in Imerovigli
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
152 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Not bad”
Reviewed 20 September 2008

This small hotel has a superb sunset view location. The rooms are good sized and have their own private patios, large sitting area and separate bedroom. The breakfast was somewhat spendy for what was provided. The major negative however was the bathroom. The shower overflowed and backed up through the floor drain. That was fixable but the bathroom also smelled badly. Apparently, in some of the area hotels you must put your used toilet paper in the trash rather than in the toilet. That was really gross and kind of ruined things in an otherwise nice place for the money.

  • Liked — View
  • Disliked — Bathroom
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank lbearpal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreasMarinis, Manager Andreas Marinis at Hotel Sunny Villas, responded to this review, 8 December 2008
Thank you for the opportunity to respond in this serious problem.
Anyone who has travelled to Greece will know that the habit of disposing of toilet paper down the toilet is a problem. This applies to the whole country and is not restricted either to Santorini or specifically to hotels. The finer arts of plumbing have unfortunately not been embraced by the trade here, and old habits die hard. Paper has a habit of blocking our drainage systems, resulting in flooding and odours. It should also be pointed out that as most properties still use natural soakaways, as opposed to septic tanks or mains drainage, the paper would clog the bottom of the soakaway, thereby destroying its natural action, hence the restriction.
So, although we sympathise with this reviewers comments, there is nothing we can do to eliminate this practice. On the other hand, our maid service pays particular attention to the waste bins in the bathrooms, which are changed on a daily basis.
We therefore hope that the reviewer will now reconsider his negative views and have a better understanding of our predicament.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    325
    86
    19
    9
    4
See reviews for
59
281
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stafford
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 September 2008

So Relaxed and loved it, very romantic, and like every review the sunset is amazing
The pool is small but rewarding after a day in the sun, great water jets and spa effect while listening to the bars chilled out music with a drink.
We stayed in one of the studio rooms with a private terrace; everything you could need is to hand, large fridge, aircon, ample plugs, small hot ring cooker if you fancy a cook up on holiday??? Ideal a cup of coffee though.
The staff are top people, feel guilty watching them run up and down those steps all day, beer helps that feeling go away. Met up with a lovely couple from New Zealand great easy relaxed place to be. Chill,chat or be on your own its up to you.
We stayed for four nights perhaps one day to long as we had seen everything we wanted, having said that we will return. As for the Island of Santorini this is an average priced hotel for the area but Santorini like Mykonos is not cheap. We got recommended this hotel last year by a group we meet and they did not let us down, so in a nut shell if you like spectacular chilled out sunsets this is the place for you. Go for it!!!!
Ged

  • Liked — The View, and feeling safe
  • Disliked — Don't go to the Greek Islands if you are looking for all mod cons
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank redged
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Haven
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 August 2008

I can't say enough great things about Sunny Villas. We stayed in one of the "small" studios, and it was lovely and very spacious. The view was, of course, unbeatable, and the staff was very courteous. Santorini as a whole is a magical place!

  • Liked — The view
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovetotravelNewHaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2008

We stayed at Hotel Sunny Villas in July of 2008 after making a last minute online booking through Venere.com.

Our arrival by taxi was met with a helpful staff member who promptly took our luggage off our hands, leaving us unencumbered to walk the numerous steps down to the hotel.

Our first impressions from the walk down to the hotel reception was that we'd chosen a most beautiful location. The views of the Caldera from the hotel surrounds were absolutely breathtaking.

Andreas, the hotel manager, greeted us with a welcoming smile and quickly took us through the registration process, taking the time to provide us with all the information we could possibly need during our stay. We generally research our activities well beforehand to ensure we're getting the best possible experience and his advice (from suggested restaurants to car and moped hire) proved to be right on the mark.

We had booked a Suite and the rooms were quaint, clean and cool. Ours had two double beds and two bathrooms with a private terrace overlooking the pool and bar.

While taking dips in the pool, Timmy the bartender played perfect chillout music for us and was willing to deliver anything we needed direct to our room. He even lent me his laptop to transfer data off my bergeoning memory cards to flash media. Excellent!!

Michael popped in occassionally (in between general maintenance jobs) to see if we needed anything.

Overall, I would definately recommend this hotel based on location, friendly staff, cleanliness and service.

A+++

  • Liked — Cool and clean
  • Disliked — The showers
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Camsta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 August 2008

Having read some truly glowing reviews on the 'Hotel Sunny Villas', my boyfriend and I decided that it sounded like the ideal setting for a romantic summer break.... We were not wrong!

'Sunny Villas' has plenty to offer: Danny and I stayed in one of the cave rooms: we were actually rather impressed by its size, despite what previous reviewers say! The rooms are large and spacious with a bed area, kitchenette, bathroom and terrace. We were very fortunate that our terrace was particularly large. In my opinion, the bedrooms are far more appealing in person than on the photographs. Every morning a delicious array of food was delivered to our balcony for breakfast - including cake, Greek coffee (wonderful stuff!), bread and condiments and a variety of meats and veg. Very continental! The pool was a little walk away, but well worth it! Even though 'Sunny Villas' is always busy, the pool was quite quiet most of the time. A great atmosphere is created by Timmy, though - he brings the tunes to the poolside and makes divine cocktails! He became a good friend of ours. He has a lovely amiable nature and can never do too much to help. We miss you, Timmy!

Imerovigli was an ideal location. Set back from the bustling Fira and separated from the night time hot spot Oia, it emanates tranquillity and calm. Up a flight of stairs from our apartment was a mini market, bakery and tavernas facing away from the Caldera - meaning they were somewhat less expensive. One of the downsides to Santorini is that its cosmopolitan reputation has led to prices as steep as the surrounding cliffs! Imerovigli is a great base and has some good surrounding tavernas with amazing views of the sunset; you really do not have to travel to Oia for this, but it is a great experience, because the sheer quantity of excited people is really something to behold! One of our favourite places to visit was Firostefani, which is on the way to Fira. We became fans of 'Il Cantuccio', a local Italian restaurant. You can order a bottle of wine for about 5 Euros - a snip of a price in comparison to most other restaurants. It has a lively, homely atmosphere, integrating local and tourists alike.

For those who desire activity, visit the Volcano and the Hot Springs. In the heat, it is exhausting work, but it is of interest, although the 'Hot Springs' are changeable in temperature - not quite as 'hot' as they claim to be. There are plenty of museums to see, some of the black beaches are fascinating and bars and nightclubs are there for the taking. There really is something for everyone!

I would like to take this opportunity again to thank Andreas, Michealis, Timmy and all the staff of the 'Sunny Villas' for their outstanding hospitality. Santorini is a breath-taking island and the care of such warm-hearted people only made the holiday better. I hope to return again soon.

Grace Bird and Danny Robinson

  • Liked — View, room, staff. SUNSETS!
  • Disliked — Steep stairs!
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank graceofthesun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2008

We stayed at this hotel 4 nights and the experience was great. The rooms were spacious with large balconies over looking the Caldera. The swimming pool at the edge of the cliff was big (most on Santorini are very small) and clean. The owners are very helpful. Just a word of caution ask not to be given the room directly underneath the stair well that connects the hotel to the main foot path.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Shared Balconies
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank discerningtraveler11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
taipei
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2008

The best thing about this hotel is the view! You do not have to go to Oia for sunset if you stay here. And there is a small hill on the opposite of the hotel that you must climb over--there is a small church on the other side of the hill!
Some of the previous reviewer said there is no restaurant around, actually there is a very good restaurant outside the hotel, only you have to climb up to the road side, it is just across the road, the food there is a lot better than the restuarant at Fira, and cheaper!
The down side of the hotel (I think it would be the same as all other cave room), is that the ventilation is not that good! Avoid cooking or smoking with the door shut!
We were out of electricity one night, around 2 am, and the owner (not Andrea, his father, a Greek captain on vacation) attend to our problem immediately. Turn out to be a popular problem in Santorini, as we met the same problem at Kamari 2 nights later.
In conclusion, very good hotel with excellent view~!

  • Liked — view
  • Disliked — bathroom is small!
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HLChang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Imerovigli hotels
0.3 mi away
Pegasus Suites & Spa
Pegasus Suites & Spa
#14 of 48 in Imerovigli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
0.2 mi away
Heliotopos Hotel
Heliotopos Hotel
#24 of 48 in Imerovigli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
0.3 mi away
Afroessa Hotel
Afroessa Hotel
#7 of 48 in Imerovigli
5.0 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Altana Traditional Houses and Suites
0.8 mi away
Rocabella Santorini Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Iliovasilema Suites
Iliovasilema Suites
#21 of 48 in Imerovigli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sunny Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sunny Villas

Property: Hotel Sunny Villas
Address: Imerovigli 84700, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Imerovigli
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Imerovigli
#14 Family Hotel in Imerovigli
#21 Romantic Hotel in Imerovigli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sunny Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Sunny Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sunny Villas Santorini/Imerovigli

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing