We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Arrogant / Poor Management” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Whitedeck Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Whitedeck Hotel
Ranked #42 of 48 Hotels in Imerovigli
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Arrogant / Poor Management”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2009

We are frequent holiday travellers and guess booking Oniro Suites Imerovigli is the worst experience we ever had. We arrived late in the evening around 7pm, when we first walked into the "Volcano cave suites" which cost us 170 Euro/night during mid-Sept season. I was immediately disappointed. If you look at the photos in their website, please imagine the photos were taken on the day the suites has JUST been painted, refurnished, and renovated! In reality, the room was dim, bed felt damp, nothing interesting about the 'cave' feelings. I was very particular with clean bathroom, and unfortunately, the first thing turned me off was the smell from the toilet! everything was very basic, candles are full of dust, one and only tea candle which was easily replaced, was dirty and almost used up.
The other surprising is that the so-called veranda where you are suppose to enjoy the stunning view of the Aegean sea, was in fact the common area where occupants have their breakfast served, which is right outside our suite. The jacuzzi outside our cave suite is actually for public use as well. What comes next is limited privacy, the doors are ALMOST fully by blinds on the window panels; and our immediately adjacent neighbour is in fact the reception, which is also their office, where you can hear every single word of staffs' communication, their printings going on, and we have to lower our voices to keep our privacy.
The cave is full of flies, the "salon" area with candles, sheet was covered with dust.. we called the manager in charge, Margarita Matsou, who also manages the "White Santorini Hotel" (www.whitesantorini.gr), instead of being apologetic and listen to customers, she started to argue and told us off that flies situation happens ONLY if WE leave the doors open. We were not at all impressed with her attitude, there's no one else on duty after we came back from dinner at 9.30pm, and Miss Matsou is 40mins away so she claimed she can't come over to assist, it was a nightmare, we ended up moving out by ourselves late at night due to the state of the accommodation, no assistance or customer service whatsoever, the next day they called us and demand us to pay for one night, we refused and she told us she will call the police to arrest us of not paying the cancellation fee. We were waiting for an hour and expected a visit from the tourist police but they never show up, or we were threatened that they have the details of our passport during booking, they will pass it to the police!
I am sure everyone experienced differently and this is only our story, but we never had anything like this before, not even close.
Flying all the way from Hong Kong for our 2 weeks holidays, the last thing is to let anyone ruin it, money is not the matter of what we pay, but their website (for the room we booked) is definitely deceiving!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cindychung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    16
    8
    5
    4
See reviews for
6
63
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Louisiana
Level Contributor
169 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2008

Remembering my stay at Oniro Suites almost leaves me speechless, because that is how I felt when I was there.
Our stay at Oniro Suites was the most amazing experience ever. I'll risk sounding cliche as I say that I wasn't sure if maybe this wasn't heaven. Truly, the location was ideal as we could experience the sunset with wine while right on the privacy of our own patio. The accommodations were unbelievably outstanding. (One room was full of pillows and a collection of candles.) Even the soap offered was extraordinary. The breakfast which was included was abundant and delicious, with an offering of additional pots of coffee with no extra cost. The rooms in the volcano cave suite made us never want to leave the suite, but the sunset and sun, of course, summoned our presence. The hospitality was impeccable. Never have I felt so attended to and with politeness, kindness, and friendliness too. I would go back in a heartbeat, and I'm forever grateful for a most unforgettable time at Oniro Suites.
It's a perfect name for a perfect place.

  • Liked — EVERYTHING!!! The rooms, the view, the hospitality, the pool!!!
  • Disliked — There was not a thing to dislike!
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank amyjemesouviens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2008

What a nice stay. We were greated from our 10 hr delay at the airport, with a full dinner for 4. They waited until 1AM for us to arrive.Warm and friendly staff made our vist grand. Food and rooms were a welcome treat. The view spectactular.Want to go back to Santorini.
4 guests from Chicago, IL.U.S.A.

  • Liked — the service and view
  • Disliked — the bathroom sink was tiny
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LKC11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2007

We stayed in the top-most room at the Oniro. It was a magical six days. We had lovely breakfasts brought to us at the time we requested. It was a perfect way to start the day, with the view of the caldera in morning sun and perfect quietness. We usually left during the day to explore the island, but returned just before dusk to enjoy the sunset in the privacy of our veranda. Since the hotel is higher up than most, it was a shorter climb to the road and our car. I do think we had the best view of all the rooms and likely better than the hotels below us. The room itself was spartan but clean and bright. The bed is situated in an alcove at the end of the room. I thought it was cozy rather than claustraphobic. My fiance used the jacuzzi, but the water was a touch too chilly for me. Greg, the proprietor, was helpful and friendly, but not at all intrusive. He gave us great advice on good restaurants to try in Imerovigli and Oia. Our trip to Santorini was wonderful and memorable. Oniro was our refuge from the crowded beaches and boisterous Fira. I highly recommend it for any couple traveling to Santorini.

  • Liked — The view!
  • Disliked — nothing!
  • Stayed June 2005, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank frequentflyer9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2005

This past August I travelled 12 hours to get to Santorini with my friend to find out that Oniro Suites (which is supposed to mean dream suites) was truly a nightmare! The room was small, the bed was inside the caved-like wall which looked like a closed MRI machine (yes, cute, but impossible for someone who is the slightest bit claustrophobic to sleep in), not to mention that everytime the upstairs person was flushing the toilet, water was leaking in our toilet and it sounded like the volcano across was errupting. Not to mention that when one sat on the toilet their feet were literaly inside the shower because there was less an inch space between the shower and the toilet seat. In general the room was nothing like it looks like on the internet and is way over priced. We spent one of the three days of our vacation in Santorini looking for another hotel to stay in!

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank brepandis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2005

Oniro Suites is like a dream. My Husband and I had booked the rooms over the internet for our honeymoon and were very nervous about how the place would turn out to be.....we were not only relieved when we saw it but instantly fell in love with it! The room was absolutely snug, cosy, romantic and very tastefully done up, we stayed at the Atlantis Suite. It offered a fantastic view of the volcano, Aegean Sea and the sunset. Situated in a quiete bylane away from the crowd there was complete silence around us all the time...except for a small cafe across that played lovely soft music everyday. Oniro Suites lacked a swimming pool but we did'nt miss it as there were enough beaches in Santorini to enjoy a swim in. However, Oniro Suites does have the facility of a private jacuzzi.
What makes your stay even more worthwhile is Gregory and his staff and how they take care of you. Gregory himself was very courteous, warm and friendly and always ready with help. He made us feel at home.
A truly must stay if one is going to Santorini.
Its made our trip unforgettable!

Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2004

Stayed her in October 2004. Oniro Suites is one of many small hotels in Santorin perched on the edge of the world famous cliffs looking west. Oniro is in a town called Imerovigli, just north of the main town of Fira. All the hoteliers dig their buildings into the cliff, and so the structures of the entire town are tiered, as if at a football stadium. We liked Oniro because of the hospitality. The guy that runs the place day-to-day, Gregory, is a charm and will bring you breakfast each morning. The owner owns a bar in Fira, and styled us out with a couple of shots one night. His wife is also very nice. We stayed in the Lava Room (for lovers, hah!) - very clean, comfortable bed, clean bathroom, CD player, TV, and a nice little patio with a great view. The other rooms are bigger with patios angled even a little better (facing directly west) and some have jacuzzis right in front (our's did not). Check Oniro on the web. Imerovigli competes a bit with the other cliffside town of Oia (pronounced "Eeeah"), which may be a tad fancier, but probably a tad more expensive. Imerovigli is nice enough and actually more centrally located for exploring the island, and you can pick up a bottle of wine at the store just below the road to the Oniro, and sit on your patio and watch the sun set. This place is highly recommended!

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Imerovigli hotels
0.0 mi away
Abyssanto Suites & Spa
Abyssanto Suites & Spa
#36 of 48 in Imerovigli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
0.0 mi away
Krokos Villas
Krokos Villas
#44 of 48 in Imerovigli
4.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cocoon Suites
Cocoon Suites
#25 of 48 in Imerovigli
5.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Aeolos Studios & Suites
Aeolos Studios & Suites
#37 of 48 in Imerovigli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nefeli Homes
Nefeli Homes
#39 of 48 in Imerovigli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
0.0 mi away
Iliovasilema Suites
Iliovasilema Suites
#24 of 48 in Imerovigli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whitedeck Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitedeck Hotel

Property: Whitedeck Hotel
Address: | PO Box 100, Imerovigli 84700, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Imerovigli
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#31 Romantic Hotel in Imerovigli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Whitedeck Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whitedeck Santorini complex is situated in Imerovigli, on the highest point of Imerovigli's cliff above the famous volcano offering the finest sunset view over the caldera.Whitedeck Santorini consists of 7 recently renovated luxury suites. They overlook the Caldera and the volcano and are surrounded by the Mediterranean landscape. All suites include a spacious veranda facing the ruins of the Venetian castle.The guest can enjoy breakfast served on their balcony, with spectacular views to the Aegean sea. In the evening, enjoy the jet tub, while relaxing with the best sunset views. A bar serving light snacks is also available.At Whitedeck Santorini, guests can take advantage of the stylish facilities as well as first-rate services offered by the management and personnel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Whitedeck Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oniro Hotel Imerovigli
Oniro Hotel Santorini
Whitedeck Hotel Santorini/Imerovigli

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing