We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking Views, Amazing Service, Romantic Room - Don't miss out”
Review of Artemis Villas

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Imerovigli
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Artemis Villas
Ranked #3 of 50 Hotels in Imerovigli
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Breathtaking Views, Amazing Service, Romantic Room - Don't miss out”
Reviewed 17 July 2011

My wife and I stayed at Artemis villas this past June and know we'll definitely return. There are so many little towns in Santorini, it's hard to tell where you really want to stay on the island. First, definitely stay on the western side for amazing sunsets. If you don't plan to explore the island, Oia is probably a great pick. It's a nice little town with a lot of restaurants and shopping. However, if you plan to explore Ancient Thera, the red sand beach and the black sand beaches, you probably want to stay somewhere more central. When we were looking at hotels we were a little hesitant to pick Imerovigli because I couldn't tell how much of our view would be blocked by Skaros rock. After being all over the island, we wouldn't stay anywhere but Imerovigli. During all hours of the day and night it is extremely quite since there are very few roads that go through it and no big attractions other than Skaros rock to bring tourists staying in other towns to it.

When we finally narrowed our Santorini stay down to Imerovigli, we were looking for a small hotel with a pool and romantic room. Artemis villas has a small pool, and sun deck which is perfect for the 8(?) rooms it has. Our room also had it's own Jacuzzi which probably wasn't necessary considering how hot it was some days, but it was nice to use a few times. Our room had two rooms, the bedroom and then a kitchen with a electric burner, sink, and small fridge. We only used the fridge as it would have been hard to do much cooking in there. The bedroom was very romantic (see pictures) and had great air conditioning. There is also a TV, but why would you use that in paradise? They do have wireless internet. We had problems getting reception so Angela let us borrow a signal booster, but we still had to sit out on the patio to get signal. The bathroom was definitely the smallest I've ever had in a hotel room, but considering it was half the price of most other hotels in this area, we dealt with it.

Upon arrival Chris and Angela met us with welcome drinks and fresh fruit. We also enjoyed the american breakfast which was enough for four people. Every day Angela would make afternoon snacks for all of the rooms. She is a great cook! We she found out we were celebrating our anniversary, she gave us breakfast for free that day and she made a delicious strawberry cake and brought us champagne. You couldn't ask for a more friendly staff.

The one thing we wish we would have found out earlier is that laundry service is available for free. All you have to do is tip the maid!

We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jburkett07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    510
    33
    8
    6
    1
See reviews for
55
405
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2011

I chose to stay at Artemis after looking through dozens of Santorini hotels.
Imerovigli seemed the ideal location and Artemis villas the ideal place for our family. We had a large 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom villa with living room which was quite traditional in its style. It was not trendy and cool as many of the surrounding hotels. Simply a beautiful place to stay, clean, neat and very comfortable. We could not have been happier.
Breakfast was our favourite part of the day sitting up high on our large verandah with a view to die for. Yoghurt with masses of fresh fruit, muesli, boiled eggs, huge bakery basket, orange juice, tea and freshly baked cake!
We felt so welcome and at home after meeting Chris and Angela and the villas were a total reflection of them. They often dropped delicious snacks to us of fruit, cakes or nibbles which were a great treat.
They were absolutely wonderful hosts and were an incredible help with all the strikes on in Athens at the time reorganising flights and hotel bookings. They took control and organised everything so quickly.
Thankyou Chris and Angela

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank diesy8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2011

My wife and I just got back from a six night stay on Santorini for our honeymoon. We booked at Artemis Villas based on the reviews we found here on tripadvisor and our stay definitely exceeded our expectations.

Service
What really sets Artemis apart is the service. Angela, Chris and the rest of the staff really make you feel special. We checked in on July 5 just in time for sunset. Angela and Chris came to greet us with a chilled bottle of champagne and fresh banana and nutella crepes for us to enjoy. After 14 hours or travel, it really hit the spot.

When we mentioned that Aegean air lost one of our bags coming in, Chris and Angela asked for our claim form and told us not to worry about the rest. The next morning they had our bag waiting for us.

Other touches were really nice as well. At the pool, staff would bring cold bottles of water, each night during sunset, there would be additional special surprises and every day after the room was made up, we would always have new fresh flowers and herbs around the room.

Our Room
Our room was really well appointed. Nice Grecian-style furnishings with white marble coutertops, flat screen tv, comfy king-size bed and a kitchenette with refrigerator. Like all the rooms at Artemis, ours had stunning views of the caldera. Sunsets were absolutely amazing and having your own jacuzzi on your patio was an additional bonus.

Our jacuzzi wasn't in an ideal position for watching out over the caldera, half of it was tucked under a set of stairs that led up to the next set of rooms, but we only ended up using it one night.

Before the trip, I was a bit worried about how private the porches would be, given the photos I saw. While they weren't as private as other hotels I've been to, I was pleasantly surprised to find that there wasn't much noise or distraction from ours. Sitting on our porch was quiet and relaxing, and we never felt like other folks were around us.

Food
Definitely order breakfast from Artemis. It's delivered right to your patio at exactly the time you ask for it, has a great variety and is very generous in terms of portion size. We went to breakfast elsewhere one morning, and ended up waiting 30 minutes for our meal and spending just as much money for half the amount of food. For lunch and dinners, Chris and Angela have excellent restaurant recommendations and made several reservations for us during our stay, each time getting us fantastic seats for sunset views.

Location
Artemis is in Imerovigli, which is situated between Fira and Oia. While Imerovigli itself doesn't have the same density of shops and restaurants of the two towns it sits between, its an ideal location to set up base on Santorini. You're a 30 minute walk to Fira and a 15 minute bus ride to Oia. You can even hike the caldera trail to Oia if you're up for it, but it's about 2 hours. The caldera views at Artemis are fantastic. The sunsets are better than what we saw in Oia. In addition, you're within a 5 minute walk of several tavernas and open air bars. We enjoyed getting a night cap several nights at the nearby Spilotica cafe, which is lit by candlelight, had fantastic caldera views, great mellow music and a good selection of drinks.

All in all, The whole Artemis experience was fantastic. Our honeymoon memories will last a lifetime.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LawsonDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2011

The location of Artemis Villas is perfect, away from the crowds at Fira and Oia and has a perfect view of the Caldera and sunset. Remember to have the breakfast- its a nice way to start the day and they serve it on the terrace.

Angela and Chris made the stay more enjoyable- they were very welcoming and friendly and was very helpful on all our queries of the island.

Room Tip: Arrange for the hotel transfer as there are only 60 taxis on the island and the queues for a taxi ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Coucoubanana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2011

My boyfriend & I stayed at the Artemis Villas, Santorini, for 5 nights on route to a wedding on the island of Paros. We didn't want to leave! The service is impeccable, from the welcome drink on your balcony to the drinks or snacks which arrived on the house each evening in time for the sunsets. Our ferry tickets were even collected for us. The staff here really cannot do enough for you, and Angela and Chris should be proud of their justifiably wonderful reputation on Trip Advisor. Our room was elegant and spotlessly clean, with a hot tub on the terrace overlooking the caldera. The views from the rooms and the plunge pool have to be seen to be believed. Stop reading reviews and just book -! You won't regret it!

Room Tip: A superior room with a jacuzzi on the balcony is well worth the extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Capability_Brown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2011

We stayed just the one night at the villas and I was extremely impressed. My boyfriend booked it as a surprize at the end of our trip and proposed as we watched the sun set. I cannot thank Angela, the owner enough, she was aware of what my boyfriend had planned and went above and beyond in making it the most special occassion. She couldn't have been more welcoming. The apartment was huge, spotlessly clean and extremely comfortable. All rooms, have a private terraces with fantastic views over the Caldera. There is also a pool on the top terrace with equally stunning views. The location is really peaceful and the perfect setting for watching the sun set. We would definitely recommend the Artemis, especially if you are planning a proposal or for a romantic trip.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Goaorbust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2011

We stayed in beautiful Artemis Villas for 6 wonderful nights in June 2011 and all of the research planning this trip definitely paid dividends! Having already stayed for four nights in a lovely, clean, but fairly basic hotel in Crete we were ready for a touch of luxury in beautiful Santorini for the latter part of our honeymoon and Artemis Villas provided that in spades. Imerovigli is about a 20 minute brisk walk from Fira, away from the hustle and bustle of the tourist centre, on a magnificent part of the island overlooking the Caldera and Skaros. It was the perfect place for a relaxing, and stunning break and definitely not too far away from all the action should we feel like being more sociable.

We stayed in a superior studio with jacuzzi on the balcony for watching the amazing sunsets, which we were lucky enough to enjoy every night. Great weather every day! The room was absolutely lovely. Very spacious, with a very comfortable bed and marble bathroom. The view from the balcony must be seen to be believed.. the incredible pictures we took and that some other people have uploaded here don't even do it justice. We sat on our balcony (or in the jacuzzi) each evening and were brought delicious home made snacks, all on the house, as we enjoyed some of the most amazing sunsets it must be possible to see anywhere.

Santorini is such an amazing island and has left us with memories that I doubt will fade any time soon. We walked into Fira or Firostefani most days and also took the, sometimes slightly challenging, but always absolutely stunning hike to Oia one day as well (definitely worth doing, if you have time). In the evenings however, we tried to make sure we were back for our amazing sunset view (I honestly believe the sunsets in Imerovigli are better than anywhere else on the island - although they're bound to be pretty good everywhere :¬P) and then to head off to the little gem of a restaurant we found just down the road on the Caldera. Try Taverna Imerovigli, the food was to die for! (Elli's restaurant in Fira was quite good too :¬))

Angela and Chris made our stay at Artemis Villas an absolute joy and nothing was too much trouble for them (they arranged for our passports, which we had accidentally left at our hotel in Crete, to be couriered over within a couple of days, and arranged for transfers to the police station for us when we'd discovered that my husband's phone had been lost/stolen - all this didn't even darken our experience one little bit - a testimony to how wonderful Santorini and Artemis Villas is). Thank you Angela, Chris, Gazi & Eddi (the strongest men in Greece!) and the lovely lady that cleans the rooms (sorry we didn't catch your name) who arranged our towels into romantic or funny animals and surrounded them with flower petals every day. You made our stay in Santorini even better than we had hoped for... and our hopes were pretty high after already reading the reviews on Trip Advisor. :¬) Anyway, I could go on and on... but you get the picture. Don't hestitate to book Artemis Villas for your dream holiday to Santorini, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KnJ_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Imerovigli
0.2 mi away
Iconic Santorini, a boutique cave hotel
1.6 mi away
Aenaon Villas
Aenaon Villas
#2 of 50 in Imerovigli
557 reviews
0.0 mi away
Astra Suites
Astra Suites
#5 of 50 in Imerovigli
1,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Celestia Grand
Celestia Grand
#1 of 80 in Fira
351 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kapari Natural Resort
Kapari Natural Resort
#9 of 50 in Imerovigli
464 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pegasus Suites & Spa
Pegasus Suites & Spa
#15 of 50 in Imerovigli
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Artemis Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artemis Villas

Property: Artemis Villas
Address: Imerovigli, Imerovigli 847 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Imerovigli
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Imerovigli
#6 Family Hotel in Imerovigli
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Artemis Villas Hotel Imerovigli
Artemis Villas Santorini/Imerovigli

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing