We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“magic. pure magic.”
Review of Artemis Villas

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Imerovigli
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Artemis Villas
Ranked #3 of 50 Hotels in Imerovigli
Certificate of Excellence
Bedford, Massachusetts, United States
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“magic. pure magic.”
Reviewed 24 September 2012

I can not say enough about this place. Honestly. I have never, in my life, felt more at home, than I did in Artemis. Chris and Angela were the most accomodating hosts we have ever had the pleasure to meet. The views were insane. The jacuzzi and the room were huge and beautiful and on point. I have included pictures of the honeymoon suite, but none of it does it justice. If we had known that amazing magic of this place, we never would have ventured elsewhere. As it was, we ended up staying at another number one hotel that was not nearly as nice.
Chris gave us names of restaurants, and even take out places that brought food to our door as we just never wanted to leave. It was close enough to town to be within a decent walking distance, but really, we just never wanted to leave. Our room had an outdoor jacuzzi on the first floor and then an above that deck with completely unrestricted views where we had breakast every morning.
Chris gave us SO much on the house, and we were surprised with little treats at sunset of dessert and wine. I honestly, can not say enough about this place. I would never go anywhere else, and would recommend them over and over and over and... well you get it. Clean, comfortable, huge rooms, beautiful views... PERFECT. on every level. PERFECT.

Room Tip: honeymoon suite for sure. any with outdoor jacuzzis are awesome though i imagine
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    510
    33
    8
    6
    1
See reviews for
55
405
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2012

funnily enough, I’ve managed to put off writing this review for far too long.

we had a 5 week European holiday in july/august which we planned for nearly 18 months. santorini held a special place in our hearts because we’d been there 13 years earlier and had always dreamed of returning. we had previously stayed in perissa but new for certain we wanted to stay this time overlooking the caldera. as anyone who has looked for accommodation overlooking the caldera can attest, finding a hotel you’re really happy with can be an exhaustive process.

and it was no different for us. we were intentionally picky about what we were looking for, reading as many “terrible” posts as we did “excellent” on trip advisor to make sure we were getting a balanced viewpoint of each hotel.

the reason I mention all this is that by the time we picked artemis, we’d almost put too much time into it and in the process, inadvertently lumped a lot of pressure on the hotel to live up to our expectations. we were there for five nights and it was costing a lot of money and we went there hoping for - and dare I say, expecting – a perfect caldera holiday.

as can be seen, we didn’t rate this stay “excellent”. I think that’s perhaps why I’ve put off writing this review, because deep down I wanted it to be “excellent” but knew honestly it wasn’t worthy of that rating. having said that, i’ll very quickly step in here and say there were many “excellent” aspects of staying at artemis.

first and foremost, the staff. the hosts - angela and chris - were wonderful. they run a very well organized ship and are intent on making their guests welcome and part of the family. as others have mentioned, the idea of the 7.30pm surprise was the perfect example of their focus on the guest. whilst we were there, the sun was setting around 8.15pm. and as you tend to do whilst on santorini, you watch the sunset every day. as part of their wonderful hospitality, angela and chris send mystery treats to each balcony anywhere between 7 and 8pm. this was usually either a cocktail or some kind of dessert. it’s such a simple idea. but it added such a simple level of excitement to that time of day.

there are three other staff working there – eddie, julietta and gazzie. they were equally fantastic. they were always smiling and so interested in connecting with the guests. a lot of hotel reviews we read mentioned as a negative the attitude of the staff. nothing could be further from the truth at artemis – it was one big, warm welcoming family.

the location is unsurpassed. imerovigli is geographically the highest point on santorini. it offers amazing views over the caldera, including west to oia and the sunset. it’s fair to say that just about any hotel along the caldera has amazing views out over the water. but not all have equally amazing views to the west. skaros rock, which juts out in front of imerovigli, is somewhat of a barrier to the view of villages to the east – specifically firostefani and to a lesser extent, fira. there are many many hotels in these parts which have almost blocked views of oia and definitely restricted views of the sunset.

imerovigli however, has undoubtedly the best views on offer. and artemis sits high up on the slope. the view from lower down is still good, but not as good as the view higher up.

breakfast was served on your balcony from 9am, at a cost of €14 p/p. I don’t think we ate a better breakfast during the three weeks we were in Greece. we never finished what was given to us, such were the generous servings on offer. and with possibly one of the most amazing views in the world on offer, breakfast was an unusual highlight of the day.

but we didn’t give our stay an “excellent” rating, and there has to be a reason.

the rooms were okay. not great, but okay. we were happy with our room, but... we’re not high maintenance guests and weren’t expecting anything palatial. after all, you’re there for what’s outside not what’s inside. but the rooms were small-ish. we were in a junior suite, and it’s not unreasonable to expect a slightly larger room with the money being paid. yes, you’re paying for the view, but it’s not unreasonable to expect a little more.

being ex-backpackers from many years ago, we are easily pleased. the bathroom was fine, but I would imagine many guests would have been disappointed with the shower. the water pressure was almost non-existent and without a shower screen of any type, it was impossible to stop the bathroom floor getting covered in water. and when I stood in the bath to have a shower, my head was only inches from the ceiling.

does any of this matter? not particularly to us. but in our view, it was enough to prevent us giving the hotel an “excellent” rating. but there were other minor irritations.

our room was one of two sitting alongside each other – the two highest rooms in the hotel. the balconies for both rooms are adjoining, separated only by a small two foot high wall. so when you’re both on your balcony, there’s no privacy. this wasn’t an issue with the other rooms. but it was an issue for us. as it turned out, our neighbours were lovely people. but we had envisioned a private balcony and it was anything but.

and lastly, we had a problem with the sun. our respective balconies were protected from the morning sun and offered us shade until about 2pm. but from 2pm until about 7.30pm, it copped the full force of the afternoon sun. and in summertime Greece, the sun is hot. they had umbrellas on lower balconies, but not on our balconies because of the prospect of wind blowing them away. the end result for this was that we couldn’t use our balcony from 2pm onwards. we had to schedule our day around the idea of not being able to use our balcony in the afternoon. we noticed one of the guests in the lower rooms sitting in the shade of his umbrella reading a book one afternoon. we would have loved to have been able to do that, but we could not – it was way too hot. we had this amazing view from our balcony, but we were unable to actually enjoy it for at least 5 hours of the day. so in many ways, we felt like we were denied one of the simple pleasures in staying in a hotel overlooking the caldera. I asked angela about it, but all the umbrellas are cemented in to prevent them blowing away and they didn’t have another one to offer us.

as I said, this wasn’t a problem for the other rooms. but again, it was enough for us to knock a point off what was otherwise a memorable stay. would we stay there again? of course. but we’d simply choose a different room.

Room Tip: i'd avoid the junior suites because of the lack of protection from the afternoon sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Capt_Funkelicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2012

It s just a magic place. The location is perfect. Imerovigli is the place to stay in Santorini. For me much better than Oia. The view is spectacular. The combination of looking at Skaros, the volcano, Thirassia and the open sea made it unique. The sunsets are indescribable beauty. What more ? Staying at Artemis villas and your stay cannot be better. We have been to this place a number of times and each one of them were perfect. Thanks to Angela and Chris who make this place an haven on earth. They will do their upmost to make your stay an unforgettable experience. We will come back again, don't worry

Room Tip: We stayed in the white suite which is very big and the bed very confortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nolofinwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2012

This place is superb... It is peaceful and luxurious with beautiful views of the caldera and exceptional service.

The location is perfect for viewing the sunset and for walking to the nearby towns.

The food is fantastic quality..... really tasty and reasonably priced. Additionally a fabulous extra is that every night the staff bring a different surprise sunset snack to your balcony. This was a lovely touch and much appreciated.

The rooms were beautiful - really good size, with lovely balconies and jacuzzis. We also stayed in the honeymoon suite one night, which was really unusual and simply stunning!

Chris and his team provided some of the best customer service we've experienced..... we were met on arrival, escorted to our rooms, and anything we needed was dealt with straight away (including arrival drinks!) Chris also helped us organise transfers, book restaurant reservations, and excursions, and was really knowledgable about Santorini.

We really couldn't rate this place high enough and would definitely like to do a return visit! This is THE place to stay in Santorini if you like luxury, romance, good service and gorgeous surroundings!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmmaGovus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

What a beautiful quiet place to stay, the staff was very serviceminded.
Beautiful balcony with a jaccuzi.
But the rooms were very small, no place for the two suitcases and a small bed for two persons.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grobsmeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawson Creek, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012

Went here for our 25th anniversary and loved it. Very centeral ,great service,clean and beautiful. Would diffenitly go there again. The islands are beautiful, a hidden destination is also the island of Milos, stayed at Tania Villas, again amazing! I think the most disappointing part of our trip was Athens. I really wanted to go to the Acropolis for historical reasons, what I did not realize was the disrespect the Greeks had for their city. So much history is in this city, where at one time was respected by their own people,what happened???? Never seen so much graffiti, garbage, hasseling, ect. (even from young children), it was incredable. Would neven go to Athens again, But would go the islands for sure, they are totaly a beautiful place, great food ,people, accomadation ect.We had a wonderful time in Greece. Santorini you are an amazing island and thank's to the staff at Artemis Villas we had a wonderful time, this place is great. I loved it and would definatly recommend it to anyone and go back there again!!

Room Tip: I think all rooms are great, depends on what you want to spend. All have a fantastic view and thats...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trippper64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2012

The Artemis is ideal for anyone wanting to relax. It is just so peaceful and idyllic. Our days developed a gentle rhythm of breakfast on the terrace (American was too much food but Continental breakfast was delicious), time at the pool, where you'd often be served ice cream and water, lunch poolside (I wouldn't bother going out, food and prices at the hotel are far better and the salads are excellent), treat time and sunset, then dinner locally. We did go to a few sites, although after the peace of Imerovigli, I found Fira too busy, but were always pleased to return home to our spotless villa.

Everyone at Artemis does as much as possible to make your stay relaxing and enjoyable. We rarely return to destinations but I think there is a real possibility of being drawn back to Imerovigli and the Artemis.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Imerovigli
0.2 mi away
Iconic Santorini, a boutique cave hotel
1.6 mi away
Aenaon Villas
Aenaon Villas
#2 of 50 in Imerovigli
557 reviews
2.8 mi away
Celestia Grand
Celestia Grand
#1 of 80 in Fira
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Astra Suites
Astra Suites
#6 of 50 in Imerovigli
1,400 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pegasus Suites & Spa
Pegasus Suites & Spa
#15 of 50 in Imerovigli
284 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kapari Natural Resort
Kapari Natural Resort
#8 of 50 in Imerovigli
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Artemis Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artemis Villas

Property: Artemis Villas
Address: Imerovigli, Imerovigli 847 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Imerovigli
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Imerovigli
#6 Family Hotel in Imerovigli
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Artemis Villas Hotel Imerovigli
Artemis Villas Santorini/Imerovigli

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing