We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything and more!”
Review of Andromeda Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Andromeda Villas
Ranked #16 of 28 Imerovigli B&B and Inns
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Everything and more!”
Reviewed 27 August 2013 via mobile

Despite the delayed flight and late arrival we were greeted with a warm welcome, refreshments and a breathtaking view!
Unlike others, we had done our research and knew what to expect and it did not disappoint.
Whilst relaxing by the pool on a morning, a member of staff would bring complimentary slices of watermelon to each sunbed. This was a particularly nice touch. Cocktails and refreshment are available at the pool bar, however there is a shop opposite the entrance to the hotel which sells everything.
We ate at the pool bar on two occasions. The food was delicious, however there are so many other restaurants close by to choose from. The staff on reception are happy to recommend restaurants and make reservations for you.
It is a hotel designed predominately for couples and not family orientated. Andromeda had everything we could have hoped for for a romantic and relaxing getaway which proved to be worth every penny!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ParaExplorar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

639 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    263
    184
    92
    49
    51
See reviews for
101
411
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

If you're planning for a trip to Santorini then Andromeda Villas should be your first choice.
It's the best hotel I've ever been to in my entire life.
The location of the hotel is just perfect, you get amazing view of the Caldera & the sunset from the balcony of your room.
They have great & friendly staff that helped us a lot in our tours around santorini including restaurant reservations, ATV rentals, tours etc...
Great service in the hotel & the best breakfast buffet with all freshly cooked & baked items.

The town imerovigli is the perfect spot to be since your getting the best view of the caldera & you're on a high spot.
It's a 15-20 minutes walking distance to Fira which is the main town.
I highly recommend this hotel ;)

Room Tip: Room with caldera view & large balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Meril A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

As others have mentioned - some items that were not the hotel's fault: while we were on Santorini, there was a fire at the power plant & the power was out on the entire island. Also - there are a LOT of stairs in this hotel. That would seem to be the case throughout the island if you want the views - which are excellent at this hotel.

That said - we were not able to get into our room for several hours. Once we did, we headed to dinner in the hotel because it was so late. We waited for 30 minutes to be helped & then were told the chefs were not preparing any additional meals because they had not light in the kitchen - not even a cold dish (like Greek salad) or bread! The following days were more of the same - we were given a hard time for requesting additional towels (although we only received 2 upon check in), etc. When we requested a shuttle to Oia, we were told it would not be a problem by the front desk and went to the top of the hotel. We were given a hard time by the bellman - being told we had another room's bags (which we did not) and after asking the hotel shuttle on 2 separate occasions & waiting 45 minutes after the time our shuttle was to arrived, we secured other transportation.

All in all - it's a great location & views. We enjoyed the towns, rented quads & rode to perissa, and LOVED Santos winery, especially for sunset - and we were told service on Santorini tends to be inattentive because of all of the tourists - but be aware that for the price you pay, the service will not be great.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jennie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We just returned from a stay at this hotel. I think that I can see both sides of the reviews I have read of this place but here are my own thoughts:

First, you need to understand some general things about Santorini:

1. If you want a Caldera view, you are generally looking at a hotel on a cliff and that means steps. Some hotels have more than others but realize that you aren't going to find many without. This hotel has a lot of steps. There are bellboys to take your luggage up and down. There is an upper elevator and one in the lower part of the hotel.

2. The tap water is not potable on Santorini

3. Fira is a tourist trap. Imerovigli is 2km north of this and is a quiet little village. If you're looking for immediate night life, this is not the place. You'll need a rental for some reliable transport.

4. The beaches are on the side of the island that is opposite the Caldera (south and east). That's a bit of a drive from here. It took us about 30 minutes.

5. Most of Santorini (if not all) is on septic and there are numerous septic trucks that run the island emptying these. There can be a smell in the late afternoon if the trucks are late. This is not unique to this hotel.

6. Santorini is built mostly on honeymooners and couples. Finding kid-friendly accomodations and activities is a bit tough.

That said, our experience was a good one.

-We arrived late at night on a ferry. Our room was waiting. The night desk man was very helpful.
-Breakfast. We did not take other meals in the restaurant or by the pool but there was generally a good variety of food at this breakfast buffet and it was of better quality than most hotels we've stayed at in Europe. The waiters were very polite and attentive with that morning coffee!

- Our room was a two-room family suite that had an entry room with two twins (built in) on opposite corners for our teen and tween to live peacefully. A small kitchenette with fridge. A doorway led to our bedroom with the typical Santorini "cave room" experience. The bathroom was off of this room and included a tub/shower as well as a vanity and toilet. The room was very clean and maid service was good. We did not have a balcony but did have a table and chairs on the landing outside of the room. The sunset view from here was excellent.

- The pools were well maintained. The poolside cabanas fill up after breakfast but it is a nice pool area. Bar service is available and seemed very active and prompt.

- The reception staff was helpful. We were aided immediately to navigate the island and what activities might be suitable for children. All questions were answered and we were greeted with a smile every time up to the desk.

- The grounds staff were always polite and always seemed hard at work painting something or delivering something. Our luggage was handled expediently.

As for flaws, I would point out that there were minor things, such as a heavily chlorinated pool, too few pool towels on one day but I can't think of one major complaint. While not a complaint about the hotel, my wife did note that there were two other families with children staying here and yet, the pool area seemed somewhat dominated by sunbathers who expected utter silence and no splashing in the pool. That did not deter any of the kids from having a wonderful time.This was part of a package deal for us. I don't know if the hotel is "worth" the money. There are certainly more expensive and less expensive accomodations to be had.

Room Tip: Not a place to stay if you need night life. Very quiet. Many steps which is not unique to this prope...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank damous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

We were looking for a traditional, typically-Cycladic hotel to spend one week in, relaxing and enjoying Santorini. We looked at the main hotels of Kapari, Gold Suites, Above Blue, Astra, Tholos, Grace etc but eventually settled on this because it was a LOT less hassle to book via Thomas Cook (never again). If we go again, we will stay at one of the hotels above. Before I continue, there are a few issues which are not the fault of the Andromeda:

- The Thomas Cook rep for this hotel is utterly useless.
- Santorini is very windy. It may not bother some people, but the meltemi is a strong wind which buffets much of the islands from May - mid Sep. The Andromeda is position to the north of Skaros rock, so it is exposed to the winds. To some this may be a relief, but as Santorini is cooler than other Greek islands it can be quite chilly during the day and is strong enough to send ashtrays flying! By the end of our seven days the unrelenting wind was starting to grate, so if you can't bear the wind find a hotel to the west of Skaros, eg the Petra. It's much more sheltered.
- The airport is terribly bad, so bear in mind there is no real duty free, you will need to queue outside before bag check in, sometimes up to an hour, and the flights are very close together so it gets cramped. I've been to many, many Greek islands so am aware of how bad Greek airports can be, and this was the worst I've encountered.
- Santorini is expensive - more so than Hydra, Spetses or Mykonos. When eating out you pay for the view, so avoid Fira to escape tourist food and prices. The best food is in Imerovigli, Oia and the back roads. Expect to pay around €15 for a main, rather than the usual €8 on the less touristy islands. Away from the caldera it is much more 'Greek' but don't expect glamour here, this is traditional.
-It's hilly - it's on a cliff. At least it has a lift, many of the 5* hotels here don't. Don't mark the hotel down for this as it's mentioned everywhere.

This said, we enjoyed our holiday immensely, despite the hotels faults. Positives: it has wonderful views; our best views and photos of the sunset were from our balcony of room 2 (by the agave tree). The pools were pretty and the cleaners were thorough and efficient and were the friendliest staff we encountered. The food was actually rather decent, if a little overpriced, and the sun beds around the pool are lovely (if you can get one!) The receptionists were polite and helpful to a point. Some of the rooms are lovely. Hire an ATV/quad for €30 a day from Alta and park it at the top of the hotel by the minimarket - it's unusual to get parking in Santorini.

Negatives: scratchy threadbare towels; the breakfast was definitely geared towards a Russian/Scandinavian clientele, which is appropriate as there were many in the hotel. Breakfast included chips, green beans, pickles, cauliflower and other veg, cold processed meat etc, as well as some cooked options, meaning that there was only really yogurt and honey or croissants for breakfast if you didn't want savoury options. There was either none or very little fruit. The splash pool at the bottom was by the toilet and smelled of sewage. The restaurant and bar staff appeared bored and indifferent, and don't seem to understand simple requests; I speak Greek and still this didn't seem to help us. The wifi is slow and intermittent, so don't rely on it if you need to do business. All the neighbouring cafe's and restaurants have wifi. There is a rule not to reserve sunbeds but this is not enforced, so if you don't have your own balcony with loungers be prepared to miss out on these - people stake claim to them at 7am and don't move all day (or, more annoyingly, leave their books and towels behind on the beds while they go back to their rooms for an hour). There are not enough loungers for everyone.

My main irritation however was that we booked a double suite with a private terrace and a hot tub and on arrival we were given room 47, a tiny, cramped 2 bed 'apartment' which was right by the pool bar, meaning it was noisy and there was no privacy. We asked to move and were told this was not possible until the next day: we later learned that they had upgraded other couples who had booked standard rooms and checked in after us to VIP suites and double suites, that we had actually booked. This is unacceptable. The room we were move to the next day was no2, it's nicer and is barrel-vaulted in traditional style (on the website: pale blue room with curved concrete headboard) but didn't have the hot tub (nor whirlpool bath) but did have a nice balcony. We were not offered a our actual type of room at all, but they continued to upgrade standard-room bookings to suites, which I find very strange.

In summary (I realise this is the Tripadvisor version of the Iliad) if you do choose to stay here, make sure you get what you pay for. I think we were expecting something like the Grace for the price we paid, and although we didn't spend much time here it would have been nice to use the hot tub and have a suite. I would advise either booking the top of the range hotels (you'll find many on here, but Kapari will be our next choice - amazing food) or go for a simple apartment at Spiliotica or Annios, for example. You are paying for the view, at the end of the day, and that looks good whether you're in a suite or a box room.

Room Tip: Make sure you get what you pay for. Rooms towards the top have further to go for breakfast and the p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank journo2710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wantirna, Victoria
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

This hotel has the most amazing views and is wonderful for watching the sunset but is definitely not for those who cannot handle a lot of steps - we counted 90 to get from our room to breakfast! As the complex is built into the caldera some rooms are definitely better than others and it would be a good idea to ask to see the one allocated before accepting it. We originally were given room 108 but it was very disappointing. It was hot and stuffy and like a cave with arched walls which meant having multiple chances to hit heads and shoulders but worst of all was a high window with no blind/curtain which allowed the outside lights to shine in all night. We requested a change to another room and what a difference - spacious, much cooler and a much better view! We appreciated this as it made our stay much more enjoyable.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elzed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

I cannot stress enough how beautiful this place is. With the splash pools, swimming pool, sun beds and room balconies all looking over the caldera, you cannot beat this place. We really shopped around for a good hotel in Santorini and for what we got, this place (although not cheap) was value compared to the other exorbitantly priced places you can find offering the same views. As is with many of the other hotels, expect many steps and a good workout in the hot sun (not great for the less mobile). I would suggest renting a scooter or an ATV to get around more efficiently, unless you want to walk 20 to 30 min to Fira. Honestly, come armed with your camera. You will not be disappointed. Only complaint would be that it was a bit hard to get the water at the right temperature at times. Also, there is no shower curtain nor was there a holder for the shower head as it was more a jacuzzi type style basin, so not so great if you want to take a shower.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suemen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Imerovigli hotels
0.4 mi away
Pegasus Suites & Spa
Pegasus Suites & Spa
#17 of 51 in Imerovigli
292 reviews
0.1 mi away
Iliovasilema Suites
Iliovasilema Suites
#21 of 51 in Imerovigli
427 reviews
0.7 mi away
Rocabella Santorini Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Iconic Santorini, a boutique cave hotel
0.3 mi away
Honeymoon Petra Villas
Honeymoon Petra Villas
#14 of 51 in Imerovigli
421 reviews
0.0 mi away
Heliotopos Hotel
Heliotopos Hotel
#26 of 51 in Imerovigli
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andromeda Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andromeda Villas

Property: Andromeda Villas
Address: | 84700, Imerovigli 84700, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Imerovigli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Imerovigli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Andromeda Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Andromeda Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andromeda Villas Hotel Imerovigli
Andromeda Villas Santorini/Imerovigli

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing