We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We were expecting more for the price we paid”
Review of Andromeda Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Andromeda Villas
Ranked #17 of 29 Imerovigli B&B and Inns
Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“We were expecting more for the price we paid”
Reviewed 16 July 2007

We were looking for a hotel with a great view and we got it. We didn't have to share our balcony but we were so close to our 2 neighbours that we didn't really have a lot of privacy.

For the price we paid you would expect that breakfast & use of safety deposit box are included, but NO, we had to pay extra for them.

  • Liked — good housekeeping
  • Disliked — services not worth the price we paid
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank SierraCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    255
    176
    88
    45
    51
See reviews for
95
395
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
usa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2007

Andromeda Villas was a fabulous hotel. The staff was more than friendly and accommodating. The view, right on the Caldera, was amazing. Each room has a great view. The superior room has a large bed, small kitchenette, table and chairs, big windows and the view I came for. I would recommend NOT taking the first floor rooms by the bar unless you plan to be up late and at the bar. The hotel restaurant, again, right over the Caldera and great for sunset, served good Greek food, pizza, fish, sandwiches, dessert. All is FRESH which was nice. You can walk into Fira, the main town, via the cliff walk...very exciting or hop a bus which is close by. Small grocery with fair prices is right across the street. English is spoken. A great experience.

Helpful?
5 Thank xaidw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marbella
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2007

My husband & I stayed in Andromeda Villas in June 2007.We arrived at the hotel but could not find the reception.We went our seperate ways and a German lady told me the reception was a very long way down-about 100 steps she said-she was right.When I got to the recptionist she barked at me that one of the staff ad been waiting half an hour for me to arrive to show me the reception -why I wondered??? .We were finally shown to our room -room 108.Disaster ,I could not believe after all the money we had spent that we were given this AWFUL room.It was tiny and roasting hot even with the air con on .The ceiling in our bedroom was so low ,that at 5ft8ins I could not stand up straight.The bathroom was for little people and it had the tiniest bath I had ever seen and one little fairy light for the whole bathroom.Also there was hardly any room to hang up our clothes.I rang reception and complained and I was told the hotel was booked out and we would have to stay in this room.I rang our travel agent on the Island and he said he would see what he could do to get us another hotel.A miracle happened ,the receptionist then rang back with another room for us to check to see if we liked it.Room 44 was very much better but still not great but agreed to take this but said we still were not pleased.Fablous location but the hotel is not up to scratch -the breakfast next morning was a disaster -messy dirty and untidy and very unorganised.There seemed to be no one in charge and the staff were like headless chickens running around.What a pity -it ruined our stay on a fablous island and location .One more note the porters in the hotel had the most awful jobs of carrying clients cases all the way up the steps -there were two lifts but they were mickey mouse ones and the porters had a lot of carring to do-surely this breaks all E.U regulation regarding Health and SAFETY AND THE CARRING OF WEIGHTS.Give this hotel a miss and stay in any of the other lovely hotels near by.

  • Liked — The location was superb-what a pity about the hotel
  • Disliked — The rooms and the standards of them for the price we paid
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank sorchamarbella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D.C.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2007

The Andromeda does have incredible views of the caldera, but so does every other hotel on Santorini, which is why I recommend trying somplace else.

It seemed that its location in the town of Imerovigli was situated in such a way that it was exposed to constant winds, even when the rest of the island was calm. This made enjoying the pool or balcony difficult. Also, Imerovigli has limited restaurant choices and is a good 20-30 minute walk from Fira. There is decent bus service on Santorini, but it ends early, so a late dinner in Oia or Fira means you would have a long walk back or would have to take a cab. In addition, the outside room light is not on a separate circuit from the room lighting and would not stay on in the evening, which made unlocking the door at night difficult because we could not see the lock.

The rooms were damp, the bed rock hard, water pressure and temperature was inconsistent, and there was a pervasive smell of sewage at the hotel. We only ate breakfast at Andromeda, which was the same every day with limited choices, including very greasy fried eggs.

The Andromeda is not an awful hotel, but I would recommend trying something else.

  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TPF1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2007

BEWARE!!!! BEWARE!!!! BEWARE!!!! BEWARE!!!! My husband and I just returned from staying at this hotel. We had made reservations at this hotel month's ago. We checked in with reception at the Andromeda then they had someone come and get our bags and take us to our room. They proceeded to take us out of the hotel and walked us down the street to another hotel called the Langas Villas. It was a completely different “hotel” with their own reception area. The “hotel” is more like a really dingy motel. We thought that the motel seemed really creepy. The room had a terrible odor of dust, mildew and mold. The first night in the room we were going to bed and my husband started sneezing and his eyes weld up. We think it must have been from the blankets on the bed that smelled as if they had never been washed. They were extremely dusty. Immediately my husband walked to the Andromeda Hotel and asked that we be moved into a room at their hotel. They told us that they overbooked and that they use the Langas Villas when this happens and they proceeded to tell us that there was nothing they could do. We spent the one night at the motel and the next morning, with my husband’s eyes still swollen he went back to the reception at the Andromeda and insisted to talk to a manager. They told him to come back in a half hour and the manager would be there. To make a long story short we never saw a manager. The women in reception told us that they were completely overbooked and that they could not do anything for us. She then proceeded to try and tell us that the rooms at the Langas Villas were exactly the same as the rooms at the Andromeda. When I pointed out to her that the brochure in reception showed a room much nicer than the motel down the street, she then changed her story to that the view was the same. We explained that we didn’t care about a view, we just want a room that is comparable to what we paid for. After we told her we would just wait in reception until the manager showed up she finally told us that due to my husbands eye’s being swollen she would change our room to one at the Andromeda.

I must say the room at the Andromeda was nice, but the hassle we went through to get the right room was not worth it. Also, we were not the only guests at the Andromeda who were moved to the Langas Villas. These others complained as well. We would not have cared if they put us up in a comparable room.

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
7 Thank KarenSanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Imerovigli hotels
0.4 mi away
Pegasus Suites & Spa
Pegasus Suites & Spa
#15 of 50 in Imerovigli
268 reviews
0.1 mi away
Iliovasilema Suites
Iliovasilema Suites
#22 of 50 in Imerovigli
402 reviews
1.5 mi away
San Antonio Suites
San Antonio Suites
#11 of 50 in Imerovigli
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Rocabella Santorini Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Honeymoon Petra Villas
Honeymoon Petra Villas
#18 of 50 in Imerovigli
396 reviews
0.1 mi away
Astra Suites
Astra Suites
#5 of 50 in Imerovigli
1,383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andromeda Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andromeda Villas

Property: Andromeda Villas
Address: | 84700, Imerovigli 84700, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Imerovigli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Imerovigli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Andromeda Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Bookgreece.com, HRS, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Andromeda Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andromeda Villas Hotel Imerovigli
Andromeda Villas Santorini/Imerovigli

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing