We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay ... but”
Review of Afroessa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Afroessa Hotel
Ranked #10 of 51 Hotels in Imerovigli
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 May 2011

We could not wish better for the view. Just half an our walking to Thira along the coastal "walking path" and a direct view on Thirassia. The room was spacious with a fridge and all we needed to prepare our own breakfast. The electric covers were welcome as inside it was feeling cold and damp (the weather did not help). On the lower aspect, it was not the best place to enjoy a long warm shower as there is a small individual water tank.
The little balcony facing west offers the best place to enjoy sunset...when the sky is clear.
We did not get the chance to try the pool (the weather was not good) but it was nice to know if was there.

It was overall a very pleasant stay but...
On the day we arrived after five hours of ferry and some visiting and walking around in Thira we came back to the room in the evening and discovered that what we wanted the most (to take a shower) was not possible. There was no water at all. We were hoping that a phone call or a visit to reception would solve the problem but after 9pm nobody would be there and nobody picked up the phone.
Of course this does not lead to the best night: no shower, no toilet flushing, no teeth brushing ...
Hopefully the problem was solve the following morning (after 8am) and we could finally flush. We were told that a problem occurred with the system forwarding phone calls to reception. It is not a major problem but we would have expected higher quality of services for that kind of problem at night when thinking about the price per night.
Of course they apologized several times and they did make some promises of offering us some local wine as an apology. But the troubles were quickly forgotten and the compensation offer seemed to be just words as we never seen it.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sebastien b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (655)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

479 - 485 of 655 reviews

Reviewed 16 May 2011

Well it has all been said in previous reviews but I just wanted to say Thank You so much Aliki, Ioanna and Eddie for making this one of the best stops on our 6 week trip. You all made us feel like part of the Family, extremely welcomed but respecting our privacy as well. The offer of a free laptop was greatly appreciated as we could keep in touch with our family and the small kitchenette came in very handy. This place is magical!! The pool area, the rooms and the view are to die for - unfortunately we didn't get to see one of your famous sunsets as the cloud come in at nights so we will just have to plan to come again.....

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hegleys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2011

My fiancee and I stayed at the Afroessa Hotel for a week in April 2011. We travelled to the island to plan and book our wedding, which we'll be returning for in July. The owner Joanna and her staff (Aliki and Eddie) bent over backwards to ensure that we had a fantastic stay in Santorini. I have never had hotel staff "go the extra mile" as much as they did. They went above and beyond the call of duty, ensuring that we had the best possible stay on the island. To say they exceeded our expectations would be an understatement. I feel so relieved knowing that when we return in July for our wedding, that we (and our guests), will be in good hands.

The hotel is perched high on the cliffs of Immerovigli, offering spectacular views of the caldera. There are ten rooms and each has a view of the sea. Every morning I would throw open the front door of our room, take a deep breath, and gaze out at the Aegean Sea. We enjoyed cafe lattes on our balcony each morning and glasses of wine as the sun set each evening. There is truly no where else on earthquite like Santorini.

The hotel is well-priced for its location. In our standard room we had a small kitchenette with a mini-fridge. We stocked it with breakfast foods and of course, cold beer and wine. There is a small grocery store just down the road where we picked things up. The bus service runs regularly and is an excellent way to see the island - the bus stop is just a short walk away and takes you all around the island for 1.60 Euro. We found we didn't need a car, but there are certainly LOADS of rental cars companies all over the island if you decided you did want one. You can walk into Fira from the hotel along a stunning path that winds through the other villages. (Where you can sneak peeks at all the other lovely hotels too). Just when you think you've seen the best view of the island, you take a new turn and there lies a brand new vista.

The pool and bar are clean, well maintained and again....offer sensational views of the caldera. There are lovely loungers just begging to be sat upon! When we were there, we saw a few of the other rooms and there is a range from the standard cave-like rooms which are quite common on the island, to more spacious deluxe rooms. If you have the extra cash and can afford it, I would recommend the apartments. They are definitely more special and seem a bit more modern. The service and views are by far the BEST features of the hotel!

We recommend the hotel for anyone wanting an extra special getaway and certainly look forward to our return in July.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank canuckchickkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2011

We had a great stay at Afroessa. It's a fantastic little hotel in a fantastically beautiful location. The only drawback is that Imerovigli has less to offer when it comes to restaurants than Fira and Oia. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lennart A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2011

This review is coming about 8 months after our stay at the Hotel Afroessa-but wanted to share how fantastic it was. My husband and I went with 2 other couples for a 10 day trip to the Greek Islands-this hotel was hands down all of our favorite place that we stayed. The location is great-halfway between Oia and Fira. We walked to Fira 3 out of our five nights in Santorini -eating twice at Ginger Sushi (it was that good!) and once at the Taverna. It is a little bit of a walk to and from Fira-but very doable. Aliki helped us rent cars two of the days to hit up the black sand beaches. So easy, the car rental people bring the cars to the hotel so you dont even have to decide till that morning that you want one. The hotel helped us arrange for a wine tour- this was a lot of fun. The bus picked us up right in front up the hotel and we went to about four different wineries around the island. We also did Ted's Sailing exscursion. Even with all of the activities the hotel helped us arrange, the best thing about staying there was coming back after our day at the beach or on the wine tour, ordering a bottle of wine at the pool and some other snacks and sitting, talking and taking in the amazing views. We went to Oia to watch the famous sunset and realized that we didnt have to fight those crowds because the sunsets at the Hotel Afroessa are just as magnificent if not more so. We really loved this hotel and would return in a heartbeat!

Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank bmerls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2011

It took us a good 7 months to get off our behinds and wrtite this review but our stay was absolutely amazing and is still fresh in our minds! Imerovigli was an ideal place to stay as it was quiet but close enough to oia and fira for a good time (though we had a blast driving up and down exploring the island in a cute convertable smart car!). And we couldn't say enough to praise Afroessa!! It was a piece of heaven on earth! The view from the balcony outside our room was to die for! (breakfast and evenings with feta and wine were spent sitiing out here). Rebecca was very warm and welcoming and so was Ionna (the owner) and this only enhanced our stay. The rooms, built like caves into the hill, were very cutely decorated with elegant touches.
Visiting the beaches of Perissa, Kamari and Perivolos with their black volcanic sand was surreal (especially since we were there just before the tourist storm commenced!). Megalochori is a must do. Unfortunately Akthrothiri was closed for renovation.
A great touch was when my wife left an earing on departure and a friend (i'm sorry I forget his name) biked it all the way to our car rental as were returning the car to hand it to us!
Santorini, and especially Afroessa, should be on everyone's "must visit" list-we will definitely visit again (our busy schedule permitting) and have recommended this place to a number of our friends.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank avaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2010

My husband and I were in Santorini for a few days in October and of course, we had to stay in our favorite place around the Island: Afroessa Hotel
It is so good to be back to a place that you feel like is your home away from home...
We've stayed there so many nights over the years that we can't even think about staying anywhere else.... This time around, we met two new aditions to the hotel....Her name is Aliki Rebecca....A greek-american lady that we had a pleasure to meet and talk ....She is adorable, very helpful and has the most beautiful smile....She helped us with everything and I should thank her for all her extra time to answer my husband's questions :) He loves to ask questions about anything! And also Eddie.......He is a young man who is also an immigrant and very hard worker....I can't believe that he went all the way up the steep steps carrying our two heavy bags. He brings you your breakfast and set it nicely on your table...He does pretty much everything and we were happy to meet him this time... I can't forget my dear Spressa...The cleaning lady that became a friend after all our visits to the hotel. She does the perfect work and she leaves your room imaculate clean... She is a good friend and is also a hard worker immigrant. We love her!
Everything about the hotel is perfect! The room are comfortable are very clean, the staff is amazing and the views.....What should I say.....You have to go there to see it for yourself...
Last but not least....Ioanna....The owner .... She is a great woman and does everything to make sure that you are happy at her place.... She is wonderful...... We are lucky and happy to have her in our lives.... She makes us feel so welcomed since the first time we met her in 2004... Since then, we've been back almost every year and if we could tell all the travelers going to Santorini to stay there, we will.... Beautiful place, beautiful view, beautiful people.....That's why we decided to call this review...."Home Away From Home".... So true!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cucamocca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Imerovigli
0.3 mi away
Altana Traditional Houses and Suites
0.8 mi away
Santorini Princess
Santorini Princess
#7 of 51 in Imerovigli
939 reviews
4.3 mi away
Grand View Hotel
Grand View Hotel
#1 of 7 in Megalochori
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kapari Natural Resort
Kapari Natural Resort
#9 of 51 in Imerovigli
499 reviews
5.5 mi away
Apanemo
Apanemo
#1 of 12 in Akrotiri
715 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sunny Villas
Hotel Sunny Villas
#19 of 51 in Imerovigli
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Afroessa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Afroessa Hotel

Address: Imerovigli 847 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Imerovigli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Imerovigli
#7 Romantic Hotel in Imerovigli
#7 Luxury Hotel in Imerovigli
Price Range: £130 - £223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Afroessa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel "Afroessa." Afroessa hotel praises romance. Our guests experience the exceptional view from our "old canavas" rooms, set atop Santorini's hillside. The original site of a winery built in 1700, it was renovated in 1998 on its existing foundation. Our ten studios, each with its own unique archway are built on five levels, with their own magical view of the Caldera. Each studio is individually decorated giving each its own distinct character, yet maintaining the traditional style. The beds are built into the foundations and the furnishings and decorations chosen so as to enhance the warm and romantic feelings created by the surroundings. The priceless moments which you will experience during the enchanting sunsets from your balconies and the relaxing pool bar, with chill-out music will forever remain in your memories, reminding you of the serene calm and magic of Afroessa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Afroessa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Afroessa Hotel Imerovigli
Afroessa Hotel Santorini/Imerovigli

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing