We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hosts, mesmerising sunset” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Afroessa Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Afroessa Hotel
Ranked #6 of 48 Hotels in Imerovigli
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great hosts, mesmerising sunset”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2011

Forget Oia and Thira... for the finest sunsets stay in Imerovigli. It's higher elevation than other Santorini towns gives it the viewing edge.
Santorini is geographically beautiful and the Afroessa is positioned well to appreciate this. When not gazing at the view, we ate at great restaurants, drank local wines, joined a snorkeling trip and toured the island by hire car. Each of these aspects were gracefully arranged by our hosts who accommodated us like life long friends. Many thanks, Ioanna, Aliki and Eddie.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SnT76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    522
    50
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
32
471
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pearland, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2011

This was a fabulous place to stay for a romantic vacation. The view was unbeatable and the lodging was very comfortable and clean. The beautiful pool was also very refreshing on those hot days! The best feature of the Afroessa is the staff. Joanna, Aliki, and Eddie bent over backwards to make sure that we had everything that we needed and that our stay was enjoyable. We couldn't walk by the office without one of them poking their head out to say hi or see if we needed anything. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nickie4031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2011

I love Afroessa! The owner and employees are super nice and helpful. The room is very nice and clean. The view from my room was just amazing. I really like the pool area. I spent a lot of time relaxing on the sunbed and enjoying the view of Caldera sea. The sunset is way better from Afroessa than Oia. The staff was great in bringing food/drinks to me when ordered. This is a quiet location on Santorini Island. It was nice to stay here for couple nights after staying in Fira. I got a good mix of fun in Fira and relaxation in Imerovigli. There is a bus stop nearby so you don't have to worry about transportation to Oia or Fira. You can take the bus to either part of town or you can rent a car. I would definitely return in the future to Afroessa. I had a great experience here and would recommend this to everyone. Thanks Joanna, Aliki, and Eddie for your help during my stay!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GVan24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2011

My husband and I went to Santorini for our honeymoon. We stayed in Afroessa for 5 days and it was the best experience we've ever had! The hotel is situated at a quiet part of the island, about 30 minute walk to Thira/Fira. Every room in the hotel has a breathtaking view of the ocean. It was amazing to wake up to that view every morning. Our room was very nicely decorated. It also has a nice pool where you can relax and watch the sunset if you wish to just stay put in the hotel. The friend staff made our stay very pleasant! They always greet you with a smile. Rebecca (Aliki) is very knowledgeable about the excursions around the island and was able to point us into the right direction. She was also very accomodating by providing towels for us when we had to go to the beach. We enjoyed our stay very much and it was the most romantic setting! We'll definitely come back to celebrate our anniversary.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsJYang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
60 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2011

My wife and I stayed five nights in an apartment. We arrived just as the sun was setting. We sat on our balcony and just stared in awe. The next morning, we had a great breakfast overlooking the caldera and pool. Joana, Aliki and Eddie were very accommodating and always seemed to have just the right solution to where to go and what to do.
I recommend this hotel highly for anyone.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank worldair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2011

We had high expectations and they have been exceeded. The rooms are great and the layout of the hotel is perfect with views from every room. We loved eating breakfast on our porch! I also really liked being in Imerovigli. I was concerned about having enough to do but there are several good restaurants and the views and quiet are great!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BackcountryGirl8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2011

My (now) wife and I stayed at Afroessa for the second time this May in the build up to our wedding in Santorini after staying there last year as well.

As per the title of the review, this really is a great little hotel and fantastic value for money compared with the others along the caldera. This has the brilliant views that you pay the extra for when staying on the caldera, and being in Imerovigli in our opinion gives the best sunset on the Island as you get to see Oia and Thirasia as a part of the view.

As for the hotel itself, the rooms are all slightly different (which we got to see as a few of our friends stayed here), but all clean and well presented. We were in room 4, which is like it's own little cave and although it is on the walking path, as you're out the far side of Imerovigli you don't get many people going past.

The hotel also has a nice pool area, with plenty of sun loungers for the size of the hotel and a reasonable sized pool. Another plus is that you get complimentary wifi in the hotel, although we couldn't pick it up in our room - not really an issue.

The final point to mention is that the staff are great, with particular mention to Joanna the owner, Aliki on reception and Eddie who seems to do everything from porter to chef!

As we said to start, if you want to be on the caldera, for value you probably can't beat it and Imerovigli is a great little village to be in with plenty of tavernas and supermarkets, yet only at 30-40 min walk from Fira or 5 mins in a taxi (which only cost 5 euros).

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick2704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Imerovigli
0.3 mi away
Altana Traditional Houses and Suites
0.2 mi away
Astra Suites
Astra Suites
#4 of 48 in Imerovigli
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,327 reviews
0.8 mi away
Santorini Princess
Santorini Princess
#8 of 48 in Imerovigli
5.0 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Pegasus Suites & Spa
Pegasus Suites & Spa
#18 of 48 in Imerovigli
5.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
2.6 mi away
Petit Palace Suites Hotel
1.1 mi away
Anteliz Suites
Anteliz Suites
#4 of 80 in Fira
5.0 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Afroessa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Afroessa Hotel

Property: Afroessa Hotel
Address: Imerovigli 847 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Imerovigli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Imerovigli
#4 Luxury Hotel in Imerovigli
#7 Romantic Hotel in Imerovigli
#15 Family Hotel in Imerovigli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Afroessa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel "Afroessa." Afroessa hotel praises romance. Our guests experience the exceptional view from our "old canavas" rooms, set atop Santorini's hillside. The original site of a winery built in 1700, it was renovated in 1998 on its existing foundation. Our ten studios, each with its own unique archway are built on five levels, with their own magical view of the Caldera. Each studio is individually decorated giving each its own distinct character, yet maintaining the traditional style. The beds are built into the foundations and the furnishings and decorations chosen so as to enhance the warm and romantic feelings created by the surroundings. The priceless moments which you will experience during the enchanting sunsets from your balconies and the relaxing pool bar, with chill-out music will forever remain in your memories, reminding you of the serene calm and magic of Afroessa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, HotelsClick and Hotels.com so you can book your Afroessa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Afroessa Hotel Imerovigli
Afroessa Hotel Santorini/Imerovigli

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing