We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a view”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Afroessa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Afroessa Hotel
Ranked #6 of 48 Hotels in Imerovigli
Certificate of Excellence
Dartford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“What a view”
Reviewed 25 January 2012

My wife, I and our two children aghed 5 & 2 Stayed at Afroessa Hotel in late August 2011 for three nights.

Due to a communication error the transfer from the port to the hotel did not arrive, but after speaking to the staff they sent another driver, these things happen and they rectified the problem ASAP.

Location
The Hotel is situated on the edge of a cliff face giving breathtaking views of the caldera. There is a good bus service on Santarini and had no problem getting the bus to and from fira & Oia.

Room
Clean, tidy, spacious and are of the traditional Cycladic style. the view from the balcony is astounding, you can sit there all day just looking out over the sea.

Staff
Very helpful, we left one our passports at another hotel on the island of Paros (opps) and as in a few days we would be leaving for the UK, stress set in. They spoke to the other Hotel and arranged for it to sent over on the next ferry. They could not of been more helpful with regards to this matter and we were very thankful for thier help.

On the whole we had a pleasant stay at the Afreossa and enjoyed our time there.

I hope you found review this helpful.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

580 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    524
    50
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
32
472
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2011

My wife, 9-month old son, and I stayed for three nights in early October. Staff was very inviting, helped carry our luggage from the bus stop down the street, helpful in providing recommendations for restaurants and things to do, and especially accommodating for our son. Views out the balcony were spectacular. Arranged for transportation to pick us up from the airport, and again to drop us off at the ferry when we left. Room was clean, tidy, and rather large. Very soundproof, which came in handy as our son could make quite a bit of noise late at night as he wasn't adjusted to the 8-hr time change. Sunsets from the balcony were amazing. A bit of a walk to Fira (20-25 minutes), but definitely doable. Some decent restaurants in Imerovigli. Highly recommend for couples & families alike. Wish we were still there.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajrcpc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brazil
Level Contributor
80 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2011

It was the best part of our trip in Greece. Wonderful staff. We want to thanks Ioanna, Aliki and Edi. They made more than we could expect from a hotel. We can say they are friends now, even if so far away from home... The rooms. very very clean, spacious, all of them have wonderful views. We had forgotten to ask for transfer from the port to hotel. We paid a cab 20.00 euros. They could have arranged it for us. Breakfast. Wonderful. Not included in the hotel fare, but you have very good choices from their menu. We miss your honey/cinnamon muffins.... Peaceful place. Good restaurants close to the hotel. They can arrange car, quads and scooters rentals. It was a pity we had only 3 days. I could stay there for a month!!! Ah, and of course, the most wonderful sunset I have had...Thank you again!

Room Tip: all the rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank costalmeida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2011

My wife and I went for our honeymoon to Greece, Santorini. Picked Afroessa Hotel after looking through tripadvisor. It was excellent from start to end. We had prior arrange with Aliki via email with transport arranged. The Hotel staff was there to pick us up and help with the baggage. The room (room 5) they gave had an amazing scenery. The staff esp Aliki had been exceptionally helpful and their service top rate, they provided us with a map, recommended places to eat and places to visit/to go to. The rooms are clean, and nicely decorated. Compared to Oia, this place is much quieter, and less touristy but it was ideal for us who want to spend quiet pieceful times together. Overall an excellent stay, will not hesistate to book Aforessa again! Thank you to all the staff once again

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LimKH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 3 October 2011

Santorini was our kick-back & enjoy part of our Euro vacation - Afroessa was the right choice! Really enjoyed the small scenic boutique hotel - great service & yet Aliki, Ionna & Edi made it feel like you were visting good friends - that happened to have a great view. Aliki helped arrange a rental car and gave us good tips on day trips and local resturants, walks etc. Edi helped cobble together adapters to allow me re-charge my camera's - essential with all the great scenery to shoot. We were lucky to have 7 days to do some exploring and get into the island rythym - but always had to be back to Afroessa for the sunset. Thanks for a great holiday!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, UK
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 October 2011

Can only concur with every positive review you will read on here. After weeks (and possibly months...!) of painstaking research into the best place to stay on Santorini (our prerequisites were a hotel sufficiently far away from the hubbub of cruise tourists for quiet enjoyment of the island and its views, whilst at the same being close enough to a good choice of restaurants and bars, etc), we settled on the Afroessa.
After a prompt response to our booking, Aliki arranged our collection from the airport, and sure enough our lift was waiting for us on our arrival, which immediately inspired confidence. Indeed, this set the tone for our entire stay, as Aliki's assistance throughout was always informative and helpful.
The hotel itself was fantastic. Always clean, the views even surpassed those Id seen in the photos. The bed was comfortable, although we did need the a/c on for a comfortable nights sleep. The location of the hotel could not have been better. Away from the maddening crowds of Fira and Oia, Imerovigli was very quiet and relaxed, and the Afroessa was the perfect place to enjoy the views. Catching the sun by the pool was perfect for whiling away a few relaxing hours, surrounded by the scenery, and while the pool itself is small, it is perfect for cooling off.
A short walk from the hotel takes you to some local tavernas and a supermarket, from which we bought some breakfast and evening snack provisions.
We hired a car for 3 of our 7 days, which we found perfectly adequate to explore those parts of the island we couldnt reach on foot.
Ioanna the owner arrved later during our stay, and was every bit as helpful and gracious as Aliki.
If I had to say anything negative, it would be that Imerovigli in general wouldnt be for those who have a hard time walking; lots of steps and hills in some areas, and can be quite hard going in the heat. Of course, this is no reflection on the Afroessa. I'm sure I'll return at some point in the future, and when I do, I wont hesitate to book the Afroessa.

PS: Arrange a sea-boat trip to the Caldera... fantastic!!

Room Tip: We had room 5. Loved it, but all rooms seemed to have comparable views. If you are not concerned a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Randolph, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed 27 September 2011

We stayed at the Afroessa Hotel for four nights. It was amazing. The staff (especially Edi and Aliki) were amazing, friendly, hardworking and just plain, great. The views were so beautiful, as was the hotel, our room (#8) and the pool. We really were in heaven. Imerovigli was the perfect town to stay in, a short trip from both Oia and Thira. Rooms were clean and adorable.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KerSlatts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Imerovigli
0.3 mi away
Altana Traditional Houses and Suites
0.5 mi away
Pegasus Suites & Spa
Pegasus Suites & Spa
#15 of 48 in Imerovigli
237 reviews
0.2 mi away
Astra Suites
Astra Suites
#4 of 48 in Imerovigli
1,332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Santorini Princess
Santorini Princess
#8 of 48 in Imerovigli
823 reviews
1.4 mi away
San Antonio Suites
San Antonio Suites
#10 of 48 in Imerovigli
619 reviews
3.2 mi away
Petit Palace Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Afroessa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Afroessa Hotel

Property: Afroessa Hotel
Address: Imerovigli 847 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Imerovigli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Imerovigli
#4 Luxury Hotel in Imerovigli
#7 Romantic Hotel in Imerovigli
#15 Family Hotel in Imerovigli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Afroessa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel "Afroessa." Afroessa hotel praises romance. Our guests experience the exceptional view from our "old canavas" rooms, set atop Santorini's hillside. The original site of a winery built in 1700, it was renovated in 1998 on its existing foundation. Our ten studios, each with its own unique archway are built on five levels, with their own magical view of the Caldera. Each studio is individually decorated giving each its own distinct character, yet maintaining the traditional style. The beds are built into the foundations and the furnishings and decorations chosen so as to enhance the warm and romantic feelings created by the surroundings. The priceless moments which you will experience during the enchanting sunsets from your balconies and the relaxing pool bar, with chill-out music will forever remain in your memories, reminding you of the serene calm and magic of Afroessa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Afroessa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Afroessa Hotel Imerovigli
Afroessa Hotel Santorini/Imerovigli

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing