We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Afroessa - the jewel of Santorini”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Afroessa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Afroessa Hotel
Ranked #7 of 48 Hotels in Imerovigli
Certificate of Excellence
Queenscliff
2 reviews
“Afroessa - the jewel of Santorini”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2012

First off, Imerovigli is much quieter than anywhere else on the island and Afroessa is away from all traffic and crowds. You can seek all of that out if you want to. We rented a scooter for the whole two weeks and came and went as we pleased. Having said that there were days we didn't leave the hotel until night time for dinner.
We stayed a week and wish that we had stayed there the second week too which we spent in Akrotiri for something different.
The view from Afroessa has to be one of the best on the island and absolutely perfect for the obligatory sunset viewing.
The owner and her staff are all amazingly genuinely friendly and look after your every need.
The rooms, pool and amenities are all clean and well maintained.
There a plenty of great restaurants in the area and all a short walk away.
Don't hesitate. What are you waiting for? Book now!

Room Tip: We were very fortunate to get room number two but all of the rooms seem great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SwedishMade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    524
    50
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
32
473
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights but wish it could have been more. The location and views are stunning and the service is excellent both in the weeks leading up to our stay (they helped us with car rental) and during our stay. Breakfast was not included in the price we paid so we had the option of ordering-in OR we had a small kitchenette which would have allowed us to organise our own breakfast. We ordered in and it was delicious. Made all the better when sitting out 350m above sea-level enjoying the view of the caldera and ocean. Santorini is busy and touristy but Afroessa allows you to escape from that. Love love love it here.

Room Tip: Choose Room 7 which has it's own private balcony that does not get traffic from other guests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lurve2travelmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belgium
Level Contributor
67 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2012

If you want to stay in a quiet place that is not overloaded by tourists and cruiseboat-passengers, stay in Imerovigli. This hotel is a very quiet place with an incredible view of the caldera. We took the standard deluxe room and had a nice covered terrace so we could stay outside protected from the sun, which was great relaxing. Also the pool area was very nice. Nice long beds, the bar was not open at that time but you could call for anything anytime. Breakfast was not included but was not extremely expensive and was very good (yoghurt with nuts, omelette, bread,...). The hotel is not that big (10 rooms), which makes the service more personal. They arrange transport from port or airport if you need (of course not complimentary, as they do on other islands, you are in Santorini ;-)). Ok it is not cheap but for what we saw from other hotels in Santorini, we think we can say that this hotel is price-quality range very good and has a perfect location and setting!!!

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mobiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed there for three nights during the high peak season. Thanks to the amazing service provided by the hotel, those three days were well spent. They arranged us a transport from the port and as soon as we got there we knew we made the right choice. The view is something you never get used to. The volcano, the dozens of ferries and little boats that are sailing around santorini, the endless sea and the blinding sun.

There really is nothing bad to say about Afroessa, we stayed in the deluxe room and it is absolutely beautiful, equipped with anything you might need. Everyone working there is as helpful as they could be as well as very pleasant to talk to. The swimming pool area is also great, they have a bar that works until late at night and long chairs that face the amazing, uninterrupted view.

I would recommend this place to couples without any second thoughts. Imerovigli is the quietest place in Santorini while still being on the cliffs and maintaining the beautiful island architecture. Afroessa is at the end of Imerovigli which offers peace and privacy. Simply AMAZING!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spypsycho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

We (family of 4) stayed here at the beginning of June 2012. Lets start with the view, I would describe it as heaven on earth. We were in staying in Room 7, with a balcony that was overlooking the pool and of course the incredibly spectacular Caldera. We stayed for 3 nights, but wished we had stayed for more. The rooms were very nice and easily accommodated the 4 of us. My wife and I, stayed in the bedroom and the kids stayed in the TV room, which had one bed/couch and a fold out bed (I have attached a picture). All beds were very comfortable. As the room is built in the rock, there is air conditioning and a dehumidifier to remove any moisture in the air. The free Wi-fi was very good, although it was not working well in the bedroom. The staff were excellent, Aliki, Joanna and not to forget Eddie (who helped with the bags and any maintenance). Aliki organised a cab to pick us up at the airport (very similar price to a taxi fare, just over 20 euro) and later a car to hire.
Being in Room 7, meant walking down about 3 flights of stairs, but that is what make Santorini a beautiful place, being so close to the steep edge of the caldera.
I wanted this time away to be special and we were not disappointed. Thank you Aliki, Joanna and Eddie.

Room Tip: Stay in Imerovigli, it is one of the highest locations above the Caldera. Two rooms have a balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harry I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princes Risborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2012

We had a minor problem with our transfer from the port to the hotel but Joanna, the owner and her team, resloved everything so well that we soon forgot about it and when we saw the view from the hotel over the Caldera we new we had come the the right place. The hotel is beautifully situated with fabulous views of the Cladera and sunsets from all of the rooms. We loved waking up to the sight of the blue skyand sea from our window and breakfast on our private terrace was fabulous. The studio room was stylish and very clean whilst retaining a simple Greek feel to it. The pool area was never busy and provided a wonderful setting in which to relax.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Willday40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012

We stayed here in July of 2012. As far as the view is concerned, we felt like we could not possibly have found a better place, and certainly not at such a reasonable price. All of the staff were helpful & accomodating, including carrying our luggage up & down 4 flights of stairs, which is not to be taken for granted in Santorini. I recommend asking for Aliki when you make your reservation. English is her first language, which also made it easier to communicate with her than some of the other places we considered.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank StrackAttack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Imerovigli
0.3 mi away
Altana Traditional Houses and Suites
0.5 mi away
Pegasus Suites & Spa
Pegasus Suites & Spa
#15 of 48 in Imerovigli
5.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
0.2 mi away
Astra Suites
Astra Suites
#5 of 48 in Imerovigli
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Santorini Princess
Santorini Princess
#8 of 48 in Imerovigli
5.0 of 5 bubbles 823 reviews
1.4 mi away
San Antonio Suites
San Antonio Suites
#10 of 48 in Imerovigli
5.0 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
1.1 mi away
Anteliz Suites
Anteliz Suites
#4 of 82 in Fira
5.0 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Afroessa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Afroessa Hotel

Property: Afroessa Hotel
Address: Imerovigli 847 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Imerovigli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Imerovigli
#4 Luxury Hotel in Imerovigli
#7 Romantic Hotel in Imerovigli
#15 Family Hotel in Imerovigli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Afroessa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel "Afroessa." Afroessa hotel praises romance. Our guests experience the exceptional view from our "old canavas" rooms, set atop Santorini's hillside. The original site of a winery built in 1700, it was renovated in 1998 on its existing foundation. Our ten studios, each with its own unique archway are built on five levels, with their own magical view of the Caldera. Each studio is individually decorated giving each its own distinct character, yet maintaining the traditional style. The beds are built into the foundations and the furnishings and decorations chosen so as to enhance the warm and romantic feelings created by the surroundings. The priceless moments which you will experience during the enchanting sunsets from your balconies and the relaxing pool bar, with chill-out music will forever remain in your memories, reminding you of the serene calm and magic of Afroessa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Bookgreece.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Afroessa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Afroessa Hotel Imerovigli
Afroessa Hotel Santorini/Imerovigli

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing