We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to stay on Santorini!”
Review of Afroessa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Afroessa Hotel
Ranked #11 of 50 Hotels in Imerovigli
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 May 2008

Not much point in my repeating what has been said already - except to write that it is all true - the facilities, the location (perfect place to visit and then retreat from the busier spots), the view, the service. A lovely, peaceful, charming and cool hotel. Attentive friendly staff (Michalis!) eager to orient and advise you on what to do and where to go on the island. But why would you leave here? Each room has its own balcony/terrace where you can enjoy Greek beers and local wine (and local pizza!) while watching the sunset in luxury. We went about the island a bit, but you start to feel like a tourist lemming - following the hoards - photographing the same scenes - when the real pleasure, the best time is to be had "at home" on your balcony or by the pool at Afroessa, where you can enjoy the main attraction "that view" in comfort and luxury. Five stars : )

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Niamho75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (652)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

555 - 561 of 652 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2008

My wife and I along with two other friends stayed at the Afroessa Hotel for five nights. Let me just say the location, the hotel facilities, rooms and service were simply spectacular. Michael, one of the hotel managers, made our trip to Greece perfect. He checked in on us to make sure we got to a restaurant he recommended (he physically took time out of his personal lunch to make sure we got to the restaurant). Michael also appeared out of nowhere in the town of Fira. We told him we were running late for a boat tour. He road ahead on his moped and informed the ticket office we were coming and to hold the boat. I have never experienced such service, the hotel truly made you feel like you were the only ones staying there.

The location of the hotel is perfect. It's close enough to walk to Fira and a short cab ride to Oia. I would not recommend that anyone stay in Fira or Oia due to the congestion of tourists. Imerovigli is perfect. The hotel is clean and the rooms are very nice. Not to mention the view you get. Simply the best look no further for a hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Goblue1Chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2008

you won't regret your stay at Afroessa as I didn't. On top of the view, nice room, welcome stuff etc you will have the best local advises how to avoid touristic restaurants and shops and get to the rare on Santorini non-touristic places.

enjoy as I did,

Alexandra

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Haski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2008

The location for this hotel was ideal to getting into Fira and also for visiting Oia. The view -- no words can describe the peace and traquility and sheer splendor it offers. We found the rooms to be Rustic. The kitchen wasn't necessary but a nice perk I suppose. If traveling with friends or children, ask specifically about the bed situation. All rooms offer 1 double bed with 10 total rooms in the resort, the room in my view being room # 1 which seems bright, and welcoming!
Pool is very clean and inviting.
Only complaint, bathrooms could offer a shower curtain and a mirror a person 4 feet or over could see into!
If your looking for something more elegant vs traditional island rustic greek, check elsewhere.

Very nice and accomodating staff....

Thank you for the comfortable stay.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank Dlphin3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2008

A few years ago we had a one day trip to Santorini and became in loved of it.
Reading tripadvisor we decided to go here , I mean to Afroessa, 2 adults with our 2 little girls (1,5 yo, 6 yo) for the Eastern days. We found here a good balance between services and costs (Santorini it is not a cheap location) and everything was as we expected.
First, a wild steep view from our room took our breath away and a simple traditional decorated room made us to feel relaxed. If you don’t want cubic block of hotels anymore but to accommodate into a Greek traditional cave-house this is the place to stay.
The services were client oriented: Transfer from airport for which we didn’t ask, we paid extra !, but was good to avoid the risk to remain in the airport with children when the full season is in place, help with the heavy baggage at arrival and departure at Afroessa, promptly positive response at every requirement and information we asked. We even kindly ask in the room a mustard, a match and salt & pepper someday and we are helped, I don't know how, immediately. Not to forget the morning breakfast which is worth the money (10 Euro) to have it in your room or at the terrace. You ask it by phone !
The services are available between 9.00 and 18.00.
The wet towels are changed daily and we like this very much.
The Imerovigli location is best. Quite isolated from the crowd, but closed (20 min walking) to Fira/Thira. Taxi reservation is more expensive than taking from the street. 15 Euro, Imerovigli –Oia. We went to Amoudi bay by taxi and return waking the 200 steps, which was quite easy. Also we had our lunch in Perissa , sandy beach!, and at Antoniou Winery who does not impressed us at all but the price was very expensive. Though my big girl got a present there and they all are very nice with the customers. Was a very beatiful but short vacation !

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nemultumitul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2008

We read reviews from TripAdvisor and decided to try the Afroessa. Getting there could not have been easier. We were picked up from the port and brought to the hotel and they scheduled us a cab for our departure. Additionally, there is bus stop near by which made it easy to get all around the island with out a car.

When we arrived at the hotel we were greeted with a very friendly reception and greek wine. Not only was the management and staff fantastic, but the view could not have been better. We sat on our patio overlooking the water and had breakfast and watched the sunset over Oia. We could also sit by the pool with the same amazing view. During our travels in Greece, this was by far our favorite hotel. We just hope to have the opportunity to return.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank jmf304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2008

We were very sceptical when we booked this hotel, because pictures on the internet/brochure are always so much better then the disappointment you see with your own eyes. Well we were in for a great surprise. We arrived to Afroessa around the time the sun decided to set and we both just stood there speechless. The room was rustic, which makes a nice change to the usual square hotel rooms and having our own balcony just make the whole setting so romantic. The service was excellent. The chambermaid, Iona the proprietor and the tireless Mike were so friendly, helpful and well informed. They are the best hoteliers we ever met. And you just have to try their yogurt with honey and fruits – so simple but the best I had anywhere. All in all a Paradise island with spectacular views a perfectly romantic setting, wonderful food and with Afroessa sitting as the jewel on it’s crown. Definitely one to go back to again … and again …Thank you for a delightful holiday. Beata & Mario.

5  Thank iwantmoreholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Imerovigli
0.3 mi away
Iconic Santorini, a boutique cave hotel
0.6 mi away
Rocabella Santorini Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Pegasus Suites & Spa
Pegasus Suites & Spa
#18 of 50 in Imerovigli
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Santorini Princess
Santorini Princess
#8 of 50 in Imerovigli
923 reviews
0.7 mi away
Blue Dolphins Traditional Apartments
0.2 mi away
Astra Suites
Astra Suites
#6 of 50 in Imerovigli
1,453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Afroessa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Afroessa Hotel

Address: Imerovigli 847 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Imerovigli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Imerovigli
#7 Romantic Hotel in Imerovigli
#8 Luxury Hotel in Imerovigli
#15 Family Hotel in Imerovigli
Price Range: £110 - £222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Afroessa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel "Afroessa." Afroessa hotel praises romance. Our guests experience the exceptional view from our "old canavas" rooms, set atop Santorini's hillside. The original site of a winery built in 1700, it was renovated in 1998 on its existing foundation. Our ten studios, each with its own unique archway are built on five levels, with their own magical view of the Caldera. Each studio is individually decorated giving each its own distinct character, yet maintaining the traditional style. The beds are built into the foundations and the furnishings and decorations chosen so as to enhance the warm and romantic feelings created by the surroundings. The priceless moments which you will experience during the enchanting sunsets from your balconies and the relaxing pool bar, with chill-out music will forever remain in your memories, reminding you of the serene calm and magic of Afroessa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Afroessa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Afroessa Hotel Imerovigli
Afroessa Hotel Santorini/Imerovigli

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing