We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular Views, Congenial Host.”
Review of Afroessa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Afroessa Hotel
Ranked #10 of 51 Hotels in Imerovigli
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Great first impression, which continued throughout our stay. We were met at the drop-off point by Eddie, who effortlessly carried our luggage for the 250 metres to the hotel. He maintained enthusiasm for his work and did everything professionally and willingly.
The room was well presented and equipped; with some inspirational touches......including sunken floor lighting which illuminated a portion of the old cellar.
Joanna (owner) was gracious and informative and obviously very proud of her hotel. Standards of maintenance were exceptional. We appreciated the pool area and the ability to use it whilst waiting for our port transfer.
But this place is about the VIEWS and the SUNSETS. Worth every cent.

Room Tip: Stairs can be a problem (you can't have rooms cascading a cliff without that being the case) so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeriatricJypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (655)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

391 - 397 of 655 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2013

Santorini is an experience I will never forget. Entering the hotel we were treated to an unbelievable vista that embodied the essence of the island. All of the rooms have been built around a 200 year old winery, with the original walls integrated into the architecture. The owner ensured that we knew the best restaurants and took time to sit with us, relax and plan our days. There was no need to rent a car and walking in the evening was safe and pleasant. It is hard to describe something that is so uniquely Santorini, you will have to visit to see what I mean. I would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 5 nights on our honeymoon and it was beautiful! The view from our room and the pool was stunning. It had a very quiet feel to it but it was only a short walk to nice restaurants and in to Fira. The staff were very helpful in organizing cruises, restaurant recommendations, ferry tickets and a quad bike for us - they made our stay very easy and comfortable. Our room was lovely and spacious and in the traditional architecture of Santorini. Definitely recommend this place for couples, it's the perfect hotel!!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SarahFitz84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

Stayed at this hotel last June and was completely taken aback with the beautiful scenery and views from our room. Definitely a great place for couples to spend together, great proximity to the beaches is a definite plus! The hotel room was clean and spacious and I would definitely go back again the next time I visit Greece. Also the food was delicious!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julieforgoodfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2013

The hotel is beautifully situated in Imerovigli along the caldera rim. We had a wonderful time during our stay in Santorini, in part due to the friendly and extremely helpful Afroessa staff, who provide information and recommendations for just about anything you could need or want. We hope to be back soon!

Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Rebecca D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2013

The hotel seems a little out of the way when we first arrive but were lost for words when we saw the view at the hotel as we checked in only about 9pm. The view at the hotel was breath taking and amazing.

Eddy was really helpful with our luggage and the manager Ioanna had been very pleasant throughout our 3 nights stay. She's very motherly and extremely helpful with our transfer to airport, giving us key information when we check in. Most of all, as our flight out of Santorini was at night, she allowed us to check out much later. She even gave us a bottle of white wine on our second day to welcome us.

After visiting Fira and Oia (although we enjoyed the scenery of sunset better than in Imerovigli) staying in Afroessa was the best choice. It was much less crowded with more privacy.

Everything was great during our stay except the heater was not working and we were so cold during the first night, but they arranged to fix it very quickly.

We stayed in Room5 and was a little small to open 2 luggages at a time, but it was value for money overall. There are bigger room at different prices though.

Definitely, we strongly recommend this hotel if you're staying at Santorini!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Serene_Neo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2013

My wife and I had the most wonderful time in this hotel. First off, the staff is extremely warmhearted, caring and welcoming. They helped us get situated, found a car renter for us, recommended the best restaurants on the island... And as they knew we were here to celebrate our first anniversary, they brought us a delicious black forest cake with two roses on the very day of our anniversary. We were deeply touched by the attention!
The hotel itself is truly amazing. Each room is a little white Greek-style house with very nice furbishing. We had our private balcony with a truly breathtaking view on the caldera! The hotel has a swimming pool with the same amazing view.
If we ever have the chance to go back to Santorini we will definitely stay at this hotel again. And we obvisouly recommend it to everyone looking for the perfect stay in Santorini!

Room Tip: We had the room right upstairs of the reception. A beautiful and large one, with a very nice bathroo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flepr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Imerovigli
0.3 mi away
Altana Traditional Houses and Suites
0.8 mi away
Santorini Princess
Santorini Princess
#7 of 51 in Imerovigli
939 reviews
4.3 mi away
Grand View Hotel
Grand View Hotel
#1 of 7 in Megalochori
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kapari Natural Resort
Kapari Natural Resort
#9 of 51 in Imerovigli
498 reviews
5.5 mi away
Apanemo
Apanemo
#1 of 12 in Akrotiri
715 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sunny Villas
Hotel Sunny Villas
#14 of 51 in Imerovigli
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Afroessa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Afroessa Hotel

Address: Imerovigli 847 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Imerovigli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Imerovigli
#7 Romantic Hotel in Imerovigli
#8 Luxury Hotel in Imerovigli
#15 Family Hotel in Imerovigli
Price Range: £130 - £223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Afroessa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel "Afroessa." Afroessa hotel praises romance. Our guests experience the exceptional view from our "old canavas" rooms, set atop Santorini's hillside. The original site of a winery built in 1700, it was renovated in 1998 on its existing foundation. Our ten studios, each with its own unique archway are built on five levels, with their own magical view of the Caldera. Each studio is individually decorated giving each its own distinct character, yet maintaining the traditional style. The beds are built into the foundations and the furnishings and decorations chosen so as to enhance the warm and romantic feelings created by the surroundings. The priceless moments which you will experience during the enchanting sunsets from your balconies and the relaxing pool bar, with chill-out music will forever remain in your memories, reminding you of the serene calm and magic of Afroessa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Afroessa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Afroessa Hotel Imerovigli
Afroessa Hotel Santorini/Imerovigli

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing