We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay!!”
Review of Afroessa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Afroessa Hotel
Ranked #9 of 51 Hotels in Imerovigli
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay!!”
Reviewed 11 June 2013

We stayed at the Afroessa at the end of May 2013. What a find! First, we cannot overstate how friendly and helpful Joanna, Kara (spelling?) and Eddie were. From the moment we arrived until the moment Eddie loaded our bags on the transfer they were always ready to help and did so with a smile.

Our room was a right off of the pool, which gave us easy access to the lounge chairs and the view. I know many people say that the sunset from Oia is the best there is, but I cannot imagine a better view of it than we had from the pool! A couple we met by the pool went to Oia for it and said it was not as spectacular as from the Afroessa...

We ordered breakfast and coffee which was quickly delivered to the room and was excellent. Keep in mind that they do not serve coffee and breakfast until 9:00a. If you are an early riser, you need to make the 10 minute walk down to the bakery in town. I did this and brought coffee back to enjoy while overlooking the caldera...

As a heads up to some travelers - you need to be aware that there is no elevator and LOTS of stairs. If you have issues with taking stairs I would consider another hotel. But if you don't mind stairs this is a great location. The old Fira-Oia trail/path literally runs through the hotel property. We hiked about 2 miles on this toward Oia one morning and really enjoyed the views.

Thank you again to the staff for making our stay so enjoyable!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

625 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    564
    54
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
37
507
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013 via mobile

Joanna, her family, and staff made us feel very welcomed and at home right from the moment we entered the parking lot. The service was impeccable and the property has great views. Showers in rooms are nice with body jets as well.
Property has some good restaurants nearby (Anoji) and 15 minute walk to fira. Buses are great and cheap.
Only complaint is pool could be little warmer as only comfortable on super hot days.
Would definitely recommend and come back

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank somanyplacestogo001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

We booked at Afroessa having read the reviews and we weren't disappointed. The setting is stunning and the staff are all fantastic - a real asset to the hotel. We were met at the airport and whisked to the drop-off point where Eddie met us and took our cases. We were checked in quickly and given a map etc as well as the offer of any help that we may want for organising trips, car hire, restaurants. Our flight departed in the evening and we were very kindly given use of a different room that was not occupied on that day once we left the apartment we were in. Things like this really make the difference and, it would appear, they are done if at all possible. Finally, when we were leaving Eddie appeared and carried our cases to the pick up point - something you are incredibly grateful for when faced with all the stairs!

Walking in to Imerogvigli to the restaurants - or along the path to Tasos - is easy and you have plenty of choice. The other plus is the bakery if you feel like a stroll in the morning - they have quite a wide range of pastries, savouries and breads. The buses to Oia or Fira are also easy to pick up, if you want to explore on your own.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YorkshireMat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013

An amazing 9 night stay at Afroessa for our first time in Santorini! Arrived on 19th May to 27 degree sunshine, breathtaking views, peace and quiet! Greeted as our taxi pulled up and cases were carried as we took in our surroundings, followed by a warm welcome from Joanna.

Our room, number 10 - a double, just above the pool, and of course overlooking the beautiful caldera views. Perfect for sunset viewing! Lunch and drinks ordered over the phone and delivered to our balcony. Luxury! Lovely pool for a refreshing dip from the heat! Relaxing loungers and shaded bar area. Stunning first sunset at 8.30pm. Amazing waking up to the view as we enjoyed breakfast on our balcony.

The setting of Afroessa in Imerovigli is perfect, with local restaurants: Anogi, Mezzo, Imerovigli Tavern all excellent. Go to La Maison for something extra special. Tasos, a tavern along the old path is also a must for delicious home grown veg dishes and more! (About 10 mins walk along the path to Oia, turn right at a sign saying Taverna 50m!) Imerovigli is a great base for walking to Fira, and getting the bus to Oia and black sand beaches.

The friendly and helpful staff at Afroessa were on hand to book tours, restaurant reservations and give tips on the best beaches around. The Santorini Roads wine tour was a fantastic afternoon, not to be missed!

Loved our time in Santorini, and at Afroessa! Thanks for making our stay so special and for our lovely send-off!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DomAndJo_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bundaberg, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Great first impression, which continued throughout our stay. We were met at the drop-off point by Eddie, who effortlessly carried our luggage for the 250 metres to the hotel. He maintained enthusiasm for his work and did everything professionally and willingly.
The room was well presented and equipped; with some inspirational touches......including sunken floor lighting which illuminated a portion of the old cellar.
Joanna (owner) was gracious and informative and obviously very proud of her hotel. Standards of maintenance were exceptional. We appreciated the pool area and the ability to use it whilst waiting for our port transfer.
But this place is about the VIEWS and the SUNSETS. Worth every cent.

Room Tip: Stairs can be a problem (you can't have rooms cascading a cliff without that being the case) so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeriatricJypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charles Town, West Virginia, United States
1 review
Reviewed 21 May 2013

Santorini is an experience I will never forget. Entering the hotel we were treated to an unbelievable vista that embodied the essence of the island. All of the rooms have been built around a 200 year old winery, with the original walls integrated into the architecture. The owner ensured that we knew the best restaurants and took time to sit with us, relax and plan our days. There was no need to rent a car and walking in the evening was safe and pleasant. It is hard to describe something that is so uniquely Santorini, you will have to visit to see what I mean. I would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 5 nights on our honeymoon and it was beautiful! The view from our room and the pool was stunning. It had a very quiet feel to it but it was only a short walk to nice restaurants and in to Fira. The staff were very helpful in organizing cruises, restaurant recommendations, ferry tickets and a quad bike for us - they made our stay very easy and comfortable. Our room was lovely and spacious and in the traditional architecture of Santorini. Definitely recommend this place for couples, it's the perfect hotel!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahFitz84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Imerovigli
0.5 mi away
Pegasus Suites & Spa
Pegasus Suites & Spa
#17 of 51 in Imerovigli
295 reviews
0.3 mi away
Iconic Santorini, a boutique cave hotel
3.2 mi away
Petit Palace Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Anteliz Suites Santorini
0.2 mi away
Astra Suites
Astra Suites
#7 of 51 in Imerovigli
1,422 reviews
1.4 mi away
Villa Renos
Villa Renos
#4 of 80 in Fira
805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Afroessa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Afroessa Hotel

Property: Afroessa Hotel
Address: Imerovigli 847 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Imerovigli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Imerovigli
#7 Romantic Hotel in Imerovigli
#15 Family Hotel in Imerovigli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Afroessa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel "Afroessa." Afroessa hotel praises romance. Our guests experience the exceptional view from our "old canavas" rooms, set atop Santorini's hillside. The original site of a winery built in 1700, it was renovated in 1998 on its existing foundation. Our ten studios, each with its own unique archway are built on five levels, with their own magical view of the Caldera. Each studio is individually decorated giving each its own distinct character, yet maintaining the traditional style. The beds are built into the foundations and the furnishings and decorations chosen so as to enhance the warm and romantic feelings created by the surroundings. The priceless moments which you will experience during the enchanting sunsets from your balconies and the relaxing pool bar, with chill-out music will forever remain in your memories, reminding you of the serene calm and magic of Afroessa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Afroessa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Afroessa Hotel Imerovigli
Afroessa Hotel Santorini/Imerovigli

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing