We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing views, romantic setting, and the BEST staff!”
Review of Afroessa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Afroessa Hotel
Ranked #9 of 50 Hotels in Imerovigli
Certificate of Excellence
Huntington Beach, California
1 review
“Amazing views, romantic setting, and the BEST staff!”
Reviewed 26 September 2013

My husband and I read the reviews before booking our stay at afroessa and all the excellent comments came true when we stayed here. From the moment we got to the airport there was 100% excellent service provided. The hotel had arranged a 20€ transfer which was easy and efficient. When we arrived at the hotel the staff was there to greet us, take our bags, and check us in. From that point on anything we needed was provided. Can't say enough about the wonderful staff and service.

The hotel is set in a quiet part of santorini. It is romantic and the view is absolutely breathtaking. I liked the location because we could walk to fira and there is a bus stop close to the hotel to get anywhere else you need to go. We did walk/hike to oia which was beautiful but it takes about 2 hours.

I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Morgan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    556
    53
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
36
500
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
78 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

My husband and I stayed here and it was very enjoyable on every level. The rooms are spacious and comfortable plus a few interesting furnishings!! A eclectic mix of items. The staff are very friendly and the hotel is very clean. Breakfast was very good value, plentiful and delicious. This was bought to our room every morning and it was very relaxing to sit on the balcony and enjoy the delicious food and enjoy the wonderful view. All staff were very helpful and accommodating in every way, nothing was too much trouble. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to Santorini, Imerovigli is half way between Fira (the capital, awful, very touristy) and Oia (a beautiful part of the world but gets very busy) and staying half way offers the best of what the island has to offer. I would not hesitate to stay at this hotel, location, the staff, Joanna, Hanna, Eddie and the lovely ladies who cleaned and cooked the breakfast, value, cleanliness, couldn't fault anything actually. It was a perfect couple of days and we would love to go back.

Room Tip: all rooms offer a stunning view, room near pool doesnt offer a lot of privacy so if this is an issue...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosie7585
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney Australia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Can not speak highly enough of this hotel. The owner Joanna, and her family, were very friendly and helpful, especially her recommendations of where to eat. All the rooms had magnificent views. There was a nice pool (with more spectacular views), and a poolside bar. The hotel and its surrounds were very peaceful, though within walking distance to many fine restaurants. A longer walk, (30 minutes) along the old path takes you to the capital Fira.

Santorini itself is a lovely island, and this hotel and the town of Imerovigli was perfect for couples. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul_Johnstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We chose this hotel because of the Trip Advisor reviews and were not disappointed! It was better then we expected. We had apartment number 1 which had a more private terrace from which we could sit and look at the view- what a view! Simply stunning. The rooms are nice you get a fridge which is helpful if you want to buy your own lunch & breakfast and eat on your terrace. The pool area is lovely too, and Eddie is usually around if you would like a drink or snack.. or cocktail! Joanna, and Hanna on reception, were really helpful and friendly, they booked a table for dinner for us each night, and gave us directions and recommendations when we decided to go out for a drive (recommend you hire a car- but don't bother with Europcar). We booked the wine tour through the hotel and that was really fun. It was a small group, the guide was really knowledgable and we went to some interesting wineries. We would definitely like to come back!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoubyTun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

From the first moment we stepped onto the upper entrance to this property the only thing we could say was "wow!", and the view continued to wow us as we made our way to the registration desk and then to our unit. The place was a little hard to find, but our rental car person had called them after we picked our car up so that Eddie was waiting for us in the parking lot to carry our bags to the hotel. The staff overall was very cordial and helpful. Our unit had a nice private balcony from which we could (and did) watch the sunset over the caldera each evening. Oia is noted for its sunset views, but I can't imagine that it could compare to ours. The breakfast (included in our room rate) was delicious and ample with a variety of choices brought directly to our balcony. The unit had a small refrigerator but no stove or microwave. We noticed an unpleasant scent in the bathroom when we arrived, but chalked it up to the cliffside location. It turned out that the floor drain was clogged and once that was remedied, the scent was gone. There is a lovely pool and sundeck at the hotel. We also enjoyed being able to walk the cobbled path that runs through the property to go to restaurants, shops or sightseeing. Having a car is a good idea if you are here for more than a couple of days in order to take in the rest of the island. I would not recommend spending much, if any, time at the beaches because they are quite rocky (small stones) making them unpleasant to walk on. We would return to Afroessa anytime and hope to do so very soon.

Room Tip: Some rooms are more private than others because the steps an public path are next to some balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ASC19512013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 September 2013

The staff at this hotel could not have been more wonderful. And I loved the location. It was just outside the town but you can easily walk there. And don't get me started on the views - they are stunning!! I really hope to make it back to Imerovigli, and if I do, I will definitely stay at Afroessa.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gkgriff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 September 2013 via mobile

This place is so beautiful, so well locate it! But truly what make it perfect this place it's the hospitality!!! Their people treat you A+ all the way, they make you feel so welcome and it's like a home away from home. I travel for living a lot and being in so many hotels, but this hotel was "UNIQUE"!
The owner did an amazing job! Bravo!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cosmolima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Imerovigli
0.5 mi away
Pegasus Suites & Spa
Pegasus Suites & Spa
#16 of 50 in Imerovigli
285 reviews
0.3 mi away
Iconic Santorini, a boutique cave hotel
1.4 mi away
Villa Renos
Villa Renos
#4 of 80 in Fira
799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Anteliz Suites Santorini
3.2 mi away
Petit Palace Suites Hotel
1.4 mi away
San Antonio Suites
San Antonio Suites
#13 of 50 in Imerovigli
660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Afroessa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Afroessa Hotel

Property: Afroessa Hotel
Address: Imerovigli 847 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Imerovigli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Imerovigli
#7 Romantic Hotel in Imerovigli
#15 Family Hotel in Imerovigli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Afroessa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel "Afroessa." Afroessa hotel praises romance. Our guests experience the exceptional view from our "old canavas" rooms, set atop Santorini's hillside. The original site of a winery built in 1700, it was renovated in 1998 on its existing foundation. Our ten studios, each with its own unique archway are built on five levels, with their own magical view of the Caldera. Each studio is individually decorated giving each its own distinct character, yet maintaining the traditional style. The beds are built into the foundations and the furnishings and decorations chosen so as to enhance the warm and romantic feelings created by the surroundings. The priceless moments which you will experience during the enchanting sunsets from your balconies and the relaxing pool bar, with chill-out music will forever remain in your memories, reminding you of the serene calm and magic of Afroessa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Bookgreece.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Afroessa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Afroessa Hotel Imerovigli
Afroessa Hotel Santorini/Imerovigli

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing