We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little bit of magic!”
Review of Afroessa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Afroessa Hotel
Ranked #10 of 50 Hotels in Imerovigli
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 May 2014

My partner and I stayed here and it was perfect. Joanna, the owner, is the perfect hostess and her staff couldn't do more to be helpful. It's in a beautiful location and it had all the charm that a large hotel group hasn't. We really couldn't have asked for a more perfect stay and if we return to Santorini, we'd certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (654)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

327 - 333 of 654 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2014

We stayed 4 nights at Aforessa. It's in Amerovigli, high on the cliff with an absolutely astounding view from every room, but still close enough to Fira to have easy access to shops and restaurants. Room was a perfect combination of comfortable and classic Santorini style - and very good value. And best of all, the owner Ioanna (Joanna) and all the staff were just fantastic. Nothing was any problem and it felt like we were staying with an old friend. If you want the best combination of views, charm, service, location, and value then don't bother looking any further.

Room Tip: So far as I could see, all rooms have a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank steve c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We stayed at the Afroessa in late July 2013 for 3 nights. Our airport transfer was met by Eddy, who picked up our bags and escorted us to reception. Upon check in we were given a home made map of the area, plenty of ideas for places to go, and restaurant suggestions. Our room was charming, comfortable and we enjoyed incredible views from our balcony. Breakfast (which was delicious) can be ordered with 20 minutes notice and is delivered to your balcony. The pool is located several flights of stairs down the hill and was clean and refreshing. The stairs are fairly steep, and there is no hand rail which didn't bother us in the least, but if you have mobility issues it may be a concern. We walked on the "old path" from the Afroessa to Fira, and to all of the restaurants for our evening dinners out. Johanna organized an ATV rental for us (I would highly recommend that little adventure), advised on excellent restaurants, and was an exceptional host. I would go back in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: Our room was next to reception yet it wasn't too busy, and I am someone who likes a little priva...
See more room tips
Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

My husband and I stayed at Afroessa in late September 2013. The staff was very gracious and accommodating. The first evening of our stay, we arrived just before sunset and were able to enjoy the gorgeous view from our balcony with wine compliments of the hotel. The following day, they recommended a fantastic restaurant and secured reservations for us later that night. If you’re looking for a great place to stay in Imerovigli, don’t look any further.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Cody L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We stayed at the Afroessa over the Easter weekend. A perfect location - beautiful view of the caldera. The rooms very clean and a good size. Joanna was very friendly and helpful and had many suggestions of things to see and do. Breakfast was delicious. Restaurant only a few steps away was also very good. The path leading to Fira and Oia was at our doorstep. Only regret is that we didn't have a longer stay - three nights were not enough!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KELIZABETHCHIP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Everything about our stay at Afroessa was perfect. The room, although not the biggest, had a bathroom with a big shower, a bedroom with a comfortable bed, and a living area including a fridge and basic cutlery, plus a TV and DVD player. Outside there's the balcony, where you can get served meals, with the view to die for, and the properties' swimming pool, beautifully decorated with white stones. A great quiet location, 100m walk from a free car park, 800 m from the shops, the property also spans the Fira-Oia path, so there's plenty to do right by your room. However, most restaurants were closed in April, but there are plenty open in Fira and Oia worth visiting. We only ate breakfast there, but it was served on our balcony and was very good.

The place though is only half the story - what made our trip was the hospitality and friendliness of our hostess Joanna, and her family. When we arrived we couldn't find the place so her son came to find us on his motorbike. We were there Easter Sunday and were invited along with her family and other guests to join them for afternoon food and drinks. She also helped with our volcano reservation, maps, and my wife's quest to find local incense and candles. Nothing was too much trouble, and the friendliness was sincere.

Just perfect.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shaunsouthern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

We are so happy with our choice to stay at Afroessa Hotel. The transfer vehicle cannot drive right up to the entrance but he rang someone to come and meet us. He drove off but someone met us within 10mins (although standing there waiting with our luggage was not great, the staff apologised profusely once we arrived). There are lots of steep steps but this didn't bother us. Rooms were boutique style & very quaint. We enjoyed everything about our stay here! Very friendly staff who were always willing to help & absolutely stunning views!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amanda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Imerovigli
0.3 mi away
Altana Traditional Houses and Suites
0.8 mi away
Santorini Princess
Santorini Princess
#7 of 50 in Imerovigli
938 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kapari Natural Resort
Kapari Natural Resort
#9 of 50 in Imerovigli
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Grand View Hotel
Grand View Hotel
#1 of 7 in Megalochori
540 reviews
0.7 mi away
Villa Ilias Caldera Hotel
Villa Ilias Caldera Hotel
#1 of 21 in Firostefani
864 reviews
5.5 mi away
Apanemo
Apanemo
#1 of 12 in Akrotiri
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Afroessa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Afroessa Hotel

Address: Imerovigli 847 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Imerovigli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Imerovigli
#7 Romantic Hotel in Imerovigli
#8 Luxury Hotel in Imerovigli
#15 Family Hotel in Imerovigli
Price Range: £122 - £222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Afroessa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel "Afroessa." Afroessa hotel praises romance. Our guests experience the exceptional view from our "old canavas" rooms, set atop Santorini's hillside. The original site of a winery built in 1700, it was renovated in 1998 on its existing foundation. Our ten studios, each with its own unique archway are built on five levels, with their own magical view of the Caldera. Each studio is individually decorated giving each its own distinct character, yet maintaining the traditional style. The beds are built into the foundations and the furnishings and decorations chosen so as to enhance the warm and romantic feelings created by the surroundings. The priceless moments which you will experience during the enchanting sunsets from your balconies and the relaxing pool bar, with chill-out music will forever remain in your memories, reminding you of the serene calm and magic of Afroessa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Afroessa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Afroessa Hotel Imerovigli
Afroessa Hotel Santorini/Imerovigli

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing