We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Paradise Realized”
Review of Afroessa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Afroessa Hotel
Ranked #7 of 48 Hotels in Imerovigli
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Paradise Realized”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Just stop looking and book now...if there are any rooms left. Of all the places my husband and I have traveled, this was by far and away our favorite stay EVER. Ioanna and her staff run a fabulous boutique hotel with quintessential Greek style and world-class service. Let me begin with the location. This hotel is an old winery they converted in 10 picturesque rooms built into the side of the cliff. It's right along the "Old Path" and it's about a 25-30 minute walk to Fira and about a 2 hr walk to Oia (we actually made it in 1:40-45 each way with photo stops and it makes for a perfect activity), but we thought it was ideal...it was quiet (away from all the tourists in Fira) and even though we were right on the path, it was low season so foot traffic past our room was minimal, and we loved our room location (room 6) -- but we were still easily accessible to great restaurants and coming from NYC we didn't mind walking at all. Ioanna and her staff take care of everything...they arranged our airport transfer, booked our catamaran tour, recommended restaurants and made reservations each night and booked our ATV rental. Each morning we called up for breakfast and a delicious spread arrived on our terrace 15 minutes later. In the afternoons, they open the poolside bar for happy hour, which we certainly took advantage of, but we always made sure to be back on our terrace with a glass of wine for the most incredible sunsets we've ever seen. Supposedly Oia is the place to be for sunset, but the location of this hotel just might have that town beat. It was truly perfection every night. Even though Afroessa was completely booked while we were there, it was quiet and completely relaxing...it often felt like we had the place to ourselves! I really can't say enough about our incredible stay at Afroessa, but I think the ultimate compliment is to say that despite our long list of travel destinations, we're already talking about when we'll be back!

Room Tip: For extra privacy, the higher up rooms are further from the pool area and Old Path so may be worth i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ashleyshurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    529
    50
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
33
477
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Limburgerhof, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We have just come back from a truly great holiday on Santorini made extra special by staying at the Afroessa hotel. A beautiful "boutique" hotel where attention to detail really makes the difference. Ioanna and her team work tirelessly to make sure your stay is as comfortable as possible, helping to book trips, cars and recommend good restaurants. The view from the hotel is amazing and in Imerovigli you are away from the crowds but close enough to both Fira and Oia to find great food, walks and scenery. I would recommend this hotel to my best friends and family - what better recommendation than that is there......

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Afroessa I'm convinced must be one of the best hotels on Santorini. The view is without question stunning, not to mention the facilities and the rooms, which were equally stunning.

The service provided by the staff was phenominal. We arrived at a crazy 6am in the morning and the staff there worked wonders to ensure we were well looked after after a very long flight. They went above and beyond what I would have expected.

We travelled to Oia and believe me when I say, booking in Imerovigli was one of the best decisions we made on our trip. Views without the hordes of crowds. Loved every moment and would stay again at the hotel in a heartbeat.

Thanks Afroessa for everything!

-Matt & Kristy

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MatthewWhite_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Joanna and her staff were very helpful, booking a different restaurant every night and suggesting ones with a view, carrying our suitcases, and always there for anything we needed. There are only 10 rooms and we ate breakfast each morning on the little verandah outside our room. As Fira and Oia get very busy around lunch time with day visitors off the cruise ships, we were very happy to come back to our Imerovigli and have a delicious Tuna salad on our balcony, that the Afroessa staff made for us. We would of had dinner there also as the view is so lovely, but they only do breakfast and light lunch. Pool area rooms could be less private in high season.

Room Tip: Higher rooms better than down by the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Fciao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We just returned home from spending four nights at Afroessa and as others have said, the hotel is amazing. When arriving, as we awestruck as we reached the entrance of the hotel (at the top of the cliffs) and saw the view of the caldera for the first time. It really is one of the most beautiful places we've ever been, and Afroessa is built quaintly into the side of the cliffs and takes full advantage of the location. The hotel is on the smaller side (10 rooms total) and each room is unique. We stayed in a "studio" room, which was a little small, but more than adequate for a couple, with a comfortable bed and a cool/modern design, though the best part is waking up in the morning and opening your windows to look out over the caldera. Beyond that, the staff are extremely friendly and accommodating and make you feel at home right away. Joanna and Eddie were the best, always happy to answer questions, make dinner reservations or bring food or drinks to you in the room or by the pool. They even welcomed us with a complimentary glass of wine when we arrived, which made the first sunset there all the more incredible. Overall, Afroessa was definitely one of the best stays of our vacation and will be highly recommended to friends and family.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Overall, it's hard to find a caldera facing hotel at this price point but over priced for the level of quality

On the plus side, the hotel has a great view of the caldera. Also, it's location makes access to Thira / Oia fairly easy

However, the service we received was not that great. Although we had told the hotel we were arriving at 6.00 am after 24hrs of flying there was no one to check us in until the cleaning staff arrived after a few hours. Calling the 2 after-hours emergency numbers also made no difference as no one picked up. Not happy start!. Also, the hot water quality was patchy at best (even after leaving the boiler on for a long period before hand)

As a tip, ensure you organise transport (this was organised via a local hire agency which was cheaper) as public transport isn't that regular in case you want to get around Santorini

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank guruwink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We spent 4 nights at Afroessa Hotel. The staff and owner were incredibly friendly and helpful. They made reservations for us for dinner, gave advise on what activities are worth doing and organised a rental ATV for us. The hotels location in Imerovigli was ideal, on the old road between Oia and Fira and much quieter than both. The views from the hotel are spectacular and we spent every evening on our balcony watching sunset. We would definitely stay here again if we return to Santorini!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Renee D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Imerovigli
0.3 mi away
Altana Traditional Houses and Suites
0.5 mi away
Pegasus Suites & Spa
Pegasus Suites & Spa
#14 of 48 in Imerovigli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
0.2 mi away
Astra Suites
Astra Suites
#5 of 48 in Imerovigli
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Santorini Princess
Santorini Princess
#8 of 48 in Imerovigli
5.0 of 5 bubbles 841 reviews
1.4 mi away
San Antonio Suites
San Antonio Suites
#10 of 48 in Imerovigli
5.0 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
1.1 mi away
Anteliz Suites Santorini
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Afroessa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Afroessa Hotel

Property: Afroessa Hotel
Address: Imerovigli 847 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Imerovigli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Imerovigli
#4 Luxury Hotel in Imerovigli
#7 Romantic Hotel in Imerovigli
#15 Family Hotel in Imerovigli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Afroessa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel "Afroessa." Afroessa hotel praises romance. Our guests experience the exceptional view from our "old canavas" rooms, set atop Santorini's hillside. The original site of a winery built in 1700, it was renovated in 1998 on its existing foundation. Our ten studios, each with its own unique archway are built on five levels, with their own magical view of the Caldera. Each studio is individually decorated giving each its own distinct character, yet maintaining the traditional style. The beds are built into the foundations and the furnishings and decorations chosen so as to enhance the warm and romantic feelings created by the surroundings. The priceless moments which you will experience during the enchanting sunsets from your balconies and the relaxing pool bar, with chill-out music will forever remain in your memories, reminding you of the serene calm and magic of Afroessa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Afroessa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Afroessa Hotel Imerovigli
Afroessa Hotel Santorini/Imerovigli

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing