We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location - Great Views”
Review of Afroessa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Afroessa Hotel
Ranked #8 of 51 Hotels in Imerovigli
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 June 2014

This was our second time in Santorini and we could not have picked a better place to stay. The views are incredible and you are on the right side of Imerovigli to witness the beautiful sunsets right from your own private balcony. The room we stayed in (room 7) was very spacious and had everything we needed. The owner, Ioanna and her staff were absolutely fantastic and could not have done enough for us. The pool are was fantastic with great views and a good size pool to cool down and spend the afternoons around. Would thoroughly recommend Afroessa to anyone thinking of spending a few day here.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Con K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (656)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

306 - 312 of 656 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2014

We stayed here from 14-18 June and could not have picked a better hotel to go to after our intial hotel . The room we had was No 1 and the views from the balcony were second to none . All the rooms look out to the beatuful Caldera so what ever room you are in you will not be disapointed. From the moment we got out of the taxi to the moment we left we felt like we were part of this hotels family . The pool area was the most relaxing I have ever been in around the globe and the staff could not do enough for us . Laying by the pool overlooking the Caldera was the best and watching the sunsets from here was probably the best place to view that from . The room was traditional and absolutly spotless with the bed linen & towels changed daily and the room totally cleaned . The fridge we stocked up with for cocktails to watch the sunset and I cannot fault this hotel in any way , best shower on the island . Thank you LoannaI and her staff for making us feel at home and would definitely have this on my No 1 list of hotels on the island . You will not be disappointed with this hotel , a must for all who want to find that perfect retreat.

Thankyou Loannal

Room Tip: Perfect Hotel in every way
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roy o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We spent 3 nights of our honeymoon here while we were in Santorini. The property has amazing caldera views, and from what we could tell, all rooms had some kind of terrace or patio on which to sit and relax. All of the staff were incredibly kind and helpful, and helped us organize transportation to/from the ports and airport, and coordinate a boat trip to the volcano. One thing to note is that Imerovigli is a bit of a walk from Fira (the main town) - we liked that, since it meant tons of peace and quiet, but just something to keep in mind. There is ample transportation (bus and taxi) between Fira and Imerovigli, however, and the walk itself is along a beautiful, completely car/bike-free old road along the caldera.

Room Tip: From what we could tell, all the rooms are excellently located, but we stayed in room 8, which was r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Edd265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We stayed 4 nights during the 2nd week of May. This is a great place if you don't want to be around a lot of people & hustle, bustle of the town.We were also here before the tourist season really begins. 2 out of the 4 days we had beautiful weather; the other 2 were chilly, but didn't stop us from having fun! It's a nice stroll to the city with lots of great restaurants and shops. The views and sunsets are truly AMAZING!! - especially relaxing on our patio with a glass of wine.
The shower took getting used to. The city doesn't allow solar panels, so we had to turn on a water heater 10 minutes before we showered. :( You cannot drink the water out of the faucet; only drink bottled water.
Joanna is a doll!! We all hugged & kissed each other goodbye! Joanna found out it was my husband's birthday in the late afternoon when I asked her for a dinner suggestion. She said I should have told her the day before so could've baked him a cake! Instead she sent a bottle of wine to our room. She always greeted us, helped make reservations, etc. Eddie couldn't do enough for us - from carrying our luggage, directing us to certain places, & serving food. Hara was also helpful in the office.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is not next to any pathways.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fun123452014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

My husband and I stayed 5 nights at Afroessa. Loanna, the manager was wonderful! She made went out of her way to make us feel welcome our entire stay. Our room was spacious and clean with a small kitchen and a gorgeous view. The room, pool area, and property were much nicer than the two places the rest of our family stayed. We would definitely recommend to anyone wanting a great getaway!

Room Tip: Ask for a private balcony as the other rooms are near the pool or main walk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Jessica H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Well, you've read all the reviews, and 99% of them say it fantastic! and 99% of the reviews are correct, so there is no point in me telling you that the views are out of this world, the customer service is second to none, so al I can do is offer a little advice on how to get the best out of your stay.
We initially booked through a price comparison website, and it was a good deal, but when I spoke to Joanna, we got a more favourable deal, happy days.
Joanna asked us if we needed transport from the airport (€35) there are less than 40 taxis on the island, and at peak times are like gold dust ( €40 each way) so booked through Joanna, when we got to Santorini, our transport was waiting for us, happy days, it was an immaculately clean minibus, nice chap and very friendly. Got to the car park, 2 lads from the hotel waiting for us to carry our bags down, checked in, offered lots of advice on restaurants near by, trips and tours etc.
Our room was lovely, watched the sun set every night from our balcony with a nice glass of wine, FAB!
Had breakfast in the room most days, €10 for a continental breakfast, happy days, worth every cent.
Had a drink at the pool bar, Edi is a really nice young man, knocked up a jug of frozen cocktail and took a drink round to everyone round the pool, very nice!
Nipped into the new bar for a quick drink before we went for a meal, complimentary cheese, tomatoes, olives, bread etc, (very nice).
The cleaners did a fantastic job, and it was near lunchtime before they would ask if they could clean our room, thank goodness a hotel has finally worked out that we don't want our room cleaning at 9am every morning whilst I am on holiday.
Every time we passed reception, whoever was on duty, they would always come out and say hello, a very nice touch.
I know my review is a little wordy, but, I hope my tips will help you to book your stay at the Afroessa at the best price and get you there with the minimum of fuss. But for the avoidance of any doubt, the Afroessa is one of the friendliest and most relaxing hotels we have ever stayed and would return without a doubt.
Thank you Joanna and team, you are doing a fantastic job.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank krish_singh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for part of our honeymoon and never wanted to leave. From the second we got out of the car we felt like we were stepping into a dream. The view is breathtaking and the location is private and romantic with the best view of the sunset anywhere on the island. Joanna made us feel welcome and like part of her family from the moment we arrived. She told us everything we needed to know about the island and even gave us tips for our next stop on the vacation. The view from our hotel bed was incredible and we loved staying right by the pool and having our own bartender at our disposal and breakfast on the balcony. The rest of the staff was also amazing and helped us with everything we could possibly want or need. If you're visiting Santorini look no further than Afroessa for your stay. You won't regret it and you'll never want to leave.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelBugLL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Imerovigli hotels
0.3 mi away
Altana Traditional Houses and Suites
0.8 mi away
Santorini Princess
Santorini Princess
#6 of 51 in Imerovigli
940 reviews
1.4 mi away
Aenaon Villas
Aenaon Villas
#1 of 51 in Imerovigli
600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Heliotopos Hotel
Heliotopos Hotel
#25 of 51 in Imerovigli
428 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kapari Natural Resort
Kapari Natural Resort
#9 of 51 in Imerovigli
499 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sunny Villas
Hotel Sunny Villas
#19 of 51 in Imerovigli
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Afroessa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Afroessa Hotel

Address: Imerovigli 847 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Imerovigli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Imerovigli
#6 Luxury Hotel in Imerovigli
#7 Romantic Hotel in Imerovigli
Price Range: £147 - £223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Afroessa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel "Afroessa." Afroessa hotel praises romance. Our guests experience the exceptional view from our "old canavas" rooms, set atop Santorini's hillside. The original site of a winery built in 1700, it was renovated in 1998 on its existing foundation. Our ten studios, each with its own unique archway are built on five levels, with their own magical view of the Caldera. Each studio is individually decorated giving each its own distinct character, yet maintaining the traditional style. The beds are built into the foundations and the furnishings and decorations chosen so as to enhance the warm and romantic feelings created by the surroundings. The priceless moments which you will experience during the enchanting sunsets from your balconies and the relaxing pool bar, with chill-out music will forever remain in your memories, reminding you of the serene calm and magic of Afroessa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Afroessa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Afroessa Hotel Imerovigli
Afroessa Hotel Santorini/Imerovigli

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing