We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Too amazing to be so affordable.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Afroessa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Afroessa Hotel
Ranked #7 of 48 Hotels in Imerovigli
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Too amazing to be so affordable.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2009

My husband and I spent the first 4 nights of our honeymoon at the Afroessa, and since we were new to the Greek Islands, we had no idea what to expect. The hotel was so beautiful that I was overwhelmed when we arrived late at night.

The rooms are spacious, clean, obviously recently updated, and stunning. Each room has a private balcony area, and since you are literally on the edge of the caldera, each room has an incredible view. The showers are huge, which we found to be unusual during the rest of our trip, and I can't say enough about the beautiful pool and bar area. We weren't so impressed by the beaches of Santorini, and we found the perfect day was spent at the hotel pool looking out at the amazing view.

Equally important, the hotel staff was so incredibly friendly and helpful. The food at the hotel was delicious, and the owners were often at the hotel and happy to help us with our every need (including letting us hang out at the hotel pool on our last day even though checkout was a noon but our ferry didn't leave until 5). They arranged car rentals, cab rides, port transfers, and delivered delicious food and drinks. There was also one American on staff, who was a tremendous help to us as we tried to learn the very difficult language.

As you walk the footpath to Fira, you will see tons of other hotels, and because of the way everything is set up, you can often see into rooms and you can always see the other hotels pools and bars. Nobody even compared to Afroessa, and I have a feeling a lot of people were paying a lot more than we were.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jmltravel2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    522
    50
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
32
471
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Castellanza, Italy
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2009

Afroessa is a nice location to spent holidays in Santorini. It's situated in Imerovigli with the beautiful view of Caldera.

Period: 10-08-2009 17-08.2009

Room: nr.5, small studio for two people with fridge, private balcony, little kitchen, and batroom with shower. View on Caldare and sunset.

Facilities: Brekfast served on Balcony every morning, All the area coverd by free WIFI connection, Swimmingpool on caldera.

Possibility to organize the transfer from to airport, and motorbike/car rent directly with Ioanna and Michael

Edi, Mike and Yoanna always ready to help you for everytings: typica taverna, nice beaches ans so on.

Moto rent: Many thanks to Markos for motorbike rent service ( a fantastic 150 cc Kimko)


Restaurant we have been:
-Imerovigli tavern close to the hotel
-Pandoras in Ammoudi Port close to OIA
-Aktaion in Firostefani
-Skala in OIA
-La Maison in Imerovigli close to the hotel just after Imerivigli restaurant
-Kripticos close to the airport ( road to Kamari) wanderfull meat and very low price
-Taverna Mesa Pigada beach a quite place to eat something of greek tradition

All the restaurant are suggested by Ioannaand Mike, the price level is good not to expensive, and the quality of the food is excellent. NOTE: all the restaurants don't need reservation

Beaches:
- Vlychada very quite black sand
- Perivolas/Perissa like Rimini or Mikonos due to the music black powder sand
- Kamari good quality and service middle stone and sand
- Monolitos - not too bad but not suggested
- Mesa Pigada (white beach) - quite a nice beach big stone
- Red Beach sand and stone

All the beaches have a snack bar, they serve nice food with good price ( 1,5 € for one Coca Cola, 3,5 € for one sandwich, and 2,5€ for Greek Coffe (coffe, cacao, sugar and ice.))

Thanks a lot Ioanna and Mike

Luca Vale

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LucaMgn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milano
Level Contributor
66 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2009

If you go to Santorini, you have to stay in Imerovigli. If you go to Imerovigli, you have to stay at Afroessa. You will pay less to have more. My girlfriend and I spent 7 nights here and it has been fantastic. The apartment are clean and cosy (although a little bit rustic) and every apartment is in front of caldera; There is swimming pool just two steps from the front door (our apartment was number 9) and a terrace with breathtaking view on Oia and the famous santorini sunsets. Room service was excellent, every morning we had Breakfast served on our balcony overlooking the breathtaking caldera. All in all, Money for value.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MyVacation73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
67 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2009

What more is there to say? It has all been said before. We stayed in Apartment No. 7 which was spotless and roomy with the BEST view in the world. Lake Louise in Canada now seems so ho hum in comparison to the view here. Everything ran like clockwork, we were picked up from the airport on time and it was only 15 Euros. Eddie was waiting for us to get our bags and we were flabbergasted that he carried two HUGE suitcases down the stairs - mine weighed about 25kgs! Mike was great and recommended some good restaurants. Try the Roast Pork at the Imerovigli Tavern - yummo. We rented a smart car for two days so got to see most of the island. Its far safer than a scooter as people are maniacs on the roads. We saw plenty of people with war wounds after riding without many clothes on! The ladies at the local mini mart were the only negative for us. They were so unfriendly and we felt like we were interrupting their TV viewing when we came in to buy supplies. Go to the bigger Mart in Imerovigli. They have a great selection and are far friendlier. Santorini is the most beautiful place in the world and was my favourite place in our 7 week round the world trip. Mike was very helpful and so was the American lady (didnt get her name). We got to meet the owner on the day we left so that was nice. Its so quiet at the Afroessa which was perfect for us two middle agers.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Piglethead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2009

My hubby and I reviewed lots of hotels before choosing this one. He gets more of the credit than I. He did a great job because this is a great hotel!

Before I tell you how great it is, let me just warn you that although the staff are trying their best and mean well, it is important to double and triple check the things they say. We, as well as others staying the same time as us, experienced some room shifting unexpectedly. In the end, it all works out, but when you have limited time on an island and you have plans for the days you are there, the last thing you want to do is pack up the room you have been in for a couple of days to switch to another. So I suggest to check a few times to make sure your reservation is solid and will not be changed. Also try to get it in writing via e-mail or something, because with language barriers, miscommunications can happen very easily!

OK, so the VIEW is amazing. No real need to go to Oia for the sunset. You really do get it all here. We watched the sunset from our bed carved out of the stone floor one night and it was fabulous! The POOL is great too! A must in July if you ask me. It helped to be able to cool off so easily. The walk to FIRA is beautiful, lots of kodak moments, but allow yourself 40 minutes to an hour to do so. Many RESTAURANTS to check out. The Blue Note was excellent food, but the service was very slow. If your not in a rush it was great. The location of Imerovigli is perfect and the bus system is fairly easy to use as well. Taxis will be more costly, but if you plan carefully, the bus is fine.

I recommend the volcano tour (1/2 day was plenty). Mike picked up our tickets for us, but you can get them easily yourself too. Actually, we would have been better off b/c we were suppose to leave for the tour and he hadn't picked them up yet. So we ended up having to take the later tour. Again, it all worked out, but when they say "no problem" it may not be so. But, the extra time allowed us to walk to Fira, take the cable car to the bottom, and then board the ship. The ship goes to the volcano and you can explore the volcano for a while. Then you sail over to the hot springs and swim for a bit. All in all, it was great. DEFINITELY wear sneakers to climb the volcano! You will regret it if you have flip flops on!

Also, I recommend renting an ATV. I was a bit nervous at first, but it was a great way to travel. It was 25 euro for the day. We took it all over the entire island. We rode to one of the black beaches and hung out, then over to red beach, which by the way is totally amazing - you have never seen anything like it before in your life. It was just great being able to get through nooks and crannies of places on this atv. We rushed over to OIA for sunset and the drive over was nerve racking b/c of the winding road and steep cliffs, but we made it. We had dinner over there and hung out for a while. It is beautiful. I wish we had been able to see the town during the day, but night time was great too! Nice shops and restaurants, etc.

All in all, a dream vacation and a dream island to visit. I'd love to come back and stay longer!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kbo929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2009

I went to Santorini with my boyfriend for a week and the Afroessa was the perfect choice for us!

the views really are breathtaking and i dont think i have ever taken so many pictures in my life!!!
Rooms are fine -pool area is fab- we watched the sunset many times from here

we DIDNT have a car when we stayed in Imerovigli and it wasnt a problem at all

we walked the 20 min walk to FIRA and got the bus (5 minute walk to bus stop) to OIA- the journey was only 15 mins

u can also get buses back from fira if you dont want to walk back
i was worried about not having a car but it wasnt a problem at all

there are restaurants near by too that are walkable- we walked to LA MAISON in imerovigli and really enjoyed it

special thanks to Ioanna, Mike and Edi for making our stay at the afroessa so memorable- i was one of the best hols ive had and i cant recommend the area enough

i miss the view!

this place is a little gem and i'll be back again soon!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KentLucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2009

This hotel is a gem. The people are wonderful!

I cant exagerate how beautiful the view is from your room. Its GORGEOUS!

The rooms are average, but good.

The people there help a lot with suggestions and what to do

GO to ahmoudi area for dinner, vanilia restaurant was good as well.

Must rent a car in santorini.

sunset from this hotel is the BEST.

take a jacket because its sooo windy!

I really reccomend this hotel becasue its 5 min drive to twn and 10 min to oia.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shaboki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Imerovigli
0.3 mi away
Altana Traditional Houses and Suites
0.2 mi away
Astra Suites
Astra Suites
#4 of 48 in Imerovigli
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,327 reviews
0.8 mi away
Santorini Princess
Santorini Princess
#9 of 48 in Imerovigli
5.0 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Pegasus Suites & Spa
Pegasus Suites & Spa
#14 of 48 in Imerovigli
5.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
2.6 mi away
Petit Palace Suites Hotel
1.1 mi away
Anteliz Suites
Anteliz Suites
#4 of 80 in Fira
5.0 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Afroessa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Afroessa Hotel

Property: Afroessa Hotel
Address: Imerovigli 847 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Imerovigli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Imerovigli
#5 Luxury Hotel in Imerovigli
#7 Romantic Hotel in Imerovigli
#15 Family Hotel in Imerovigli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Afroessa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel "Afroessa." Afroessa hotel praises romance. Our guests experience the exceptional view from our "old canavas" rooms, set atop Santorini's hillside. The original site of a winery built in 1700, it was renovated in 1998 on its existing foundation. Our ten studios, each with its own unique archway are built on five levels, with their own magical view of the Caldera. Each studio is individually decorated giving each its own distinct character, yet maintaining the traditional style. The beds are built into the foundations and the furnishings and decorations chosen so as to enhance the warm and romantic feelings created by the surroundings. The priceless moments which you will experience during the enchanting sunsets from your balconies and the relaxing pool bar, with chill-out music will forever remain in your memories, reminding you of the serene calm and magic of Afroessa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Afroessa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Afroessa Hotel Imerovigli
Afroessa Hotel Santorini/Imerovigli

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing