We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great luxury hotel”
Review of Afroessa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Afroessa Hotel
Ranked #8 of 50 Hotels in Imerovigli
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Great luxury hotel”
Reviewed 3 August 2010

We booked this hotel on the write ups we read.

We arrived via bus from the port which was an experience in its self due to the amazing views up to the hotel.
We were greeted by the hotel greek guy who shook our hands and took our baggage.

We arrived at the hotel which was empty, due to arriving in June. It was perfect. Imerovigli was the best place to stay in due to the best sunsets and most luxury hotels.. We are really glad we booked this hotel and this area... You will not regret this!.
The hotel was very comfortable, had a terrace with views to die for, and very comfortable bed.
The swimming pool was a great addition and we jumped into it as soon as we arrived... We were the only ones at the hotel for one day and there were few people there on our second day.

The owner of the hotel was not really interested in our stay or if we were comfortable but this was not an issue.

We would strongly recommend this hotel as it was much cheaper than the other ones that were perhaps a little more luxurious but double the price.

This is a good place to stay for a few nights.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greta S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    541
    51
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
35
486
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
athanasaurus
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2010

What could I say that hasn't already been said? This is one of the most beautiful hotels I have ever stayed at, with a view that rivals any on the island. I looked at 40 or so hotels and apartments before staying at Afroessa, and was not disappointed. The photos on the website really can't do the hotel justice, as arriving there in person and entering the top level of the hotel will honestly take your breath away. Ioanna has truly created one of the loveliest hotel atmospheres on the island, and has put together the friendliest hotel team I've ever met.

I had planned to propose to my girlfriend at the hotel (again, forget the sunsets and tourist crowds at Oia-- the view from the Afroessa pool is just as good!), and the team of Ioanna, Aliki and Amalia did everything they could to ensure the answer was a resounding "Yes!". As luck would have it, Amalia is a wedding planner (her company is Poema Weddings and Special Events, www.poemaweddings.com), and she made sure everything at the hotel was perfect for our special night. While my girlfriend and I were having an unforgettable dinner at La Maison (a recommendation from Aliki-- do not question any of her recommendations, as she is always right about the best places to eat on the island, and will help you avoid the tourist traps!), the staff set up a flower bouquet and chilled champagne on our balcony, along with hundreds of flower petals, candles and other goodies in our room (they even put a cake in the fridge!). I proposed right there on the balcony on sunset, and my girlfriend was truly overwhelmed by it all, and of course...she said "YES"!

I can't wait to get back to this hotel some day, and I have already recommended it to everyone I know. Imerovigli is the perfect location in Santorini, and gives you the best the island has to offer (central location, easy to get to Oia or Fira, non-commercial, quiet, etc.). Do not stay in Fira, as it offers nothing but a headache, and no privacy at all. I have no doubt Afroessa should be a candidate on everyone's hotel list. I can't say enough about Afroessa and Ioanna, Aliki and Amalia, and will never forget my experience there.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank athanasaurus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2010

My husband and I stayed in on our european honeymoon for 4 nights early June 2010.

When we arrived the host/ receptionist sat us down and recommended different places to eat and visit around the island which was very helpful. We had mentioned it was our honeymoon and we got upgraded from a room to a 1 bed apartment which was lovely. The cave got a bit humid with the aircon on, but it was still very comfortable and the bed was surprisingly comfy. We tried to order a few glasses of wine one night when we were there and got sent a complimentary bottle of local wine to enjoy.

The views were amazing, we hired a car and drove around the island (not for the faint hearted!) and we thought the village of Imervegli was the best location, very quite, not too touristy, very high up with great views but still walking distance to Fira.

In comparision to some of the places nearby at much higher cost, this place was excellent value and we would highly recommend it to those want a nice place to stay and don't want to be ripped off. I did heaps of research on Santorini hotels and I don't think we could have chose better. Enjoy!

Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank GeorgeofJungle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 July 2010

It would be hard to find a better view, and this small hotel had great charm. The staff was very helpful in recommending good restaurants and arranging transport and activities. Our room was simple, but comfortable and very clean. The pool was the perfect temperature for cooling off on a hot day. Sunsets from the porch of our room were indescribably beautiful. Santorini is a wonderful island, and I can't wait to return! I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff88888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malta
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 July 2010

We arrived there by taxi and found Eddy waiting for us, ready to help us with our luggages and walk us to the hotel. When we arrived at the hotel we were immediately hooked. The view was simply beautiful.

We were then taken to our room...room #5. The location was simply perfect. The sun set directly into our small veranda.

The hotel is also located just a short walk (20 minutes) from Fira and just a short drive from Oia.

In short, everything was simply perfect about this hotel...be it location, be it views or be it friendliness of staff...we really couldn't ask for anything else!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thomasgalea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2010

What a bargain for a million dollar view, and without sacrificing service. The staff of Aliki, Eddy & Amalia was extremely helpful and courteous during our 4 night stay late May, arranging transportation, tours, & making excellent suggestions for dinner. We had room #6 which was a extremely clean moderately sized room but did have a nice sitting area, and a small patio. The staff changed out the TV while we where there to a new flat screen, but needless to say you don’t go to Santorini to watch TV. We did have some small problems getting hot water for a shower but that was corrected by the staff. The location is perfect only a short walk to Fira, and if you are ambitious a 1 ½ hour walk one way to Oia. I highly recommend the walk at least 1 way with a cab back, as there are some fantastic views along the way, bring water though. The pool area was nice, a great place to sit during the day while drinking wine and eating appetizers that you can buy from the local market up the street. As far as sunsets this is the place to be with a view second to none. I would also recommend the Blue Lagoon Cruises a great way to see the island from the water.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SDFamily5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 7 July 2010

We selected this hotel for the first part of our honeymoon and we could not dream of a better start.
The view is amazing, the staff is super friendly and helpful, the room is very comfortable and spacious, the pool very relaxing and the hotel is very quiet.
A few minutes away from great restaurants in Imerovigli and ideally situated to go to Fira or Ia (by foot, car, taxi, bus. bike, quad,...)
This hotel is ideal to enjoy the best of Santorini and you'll never want to leave.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Koozya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Imerovigli
0.5 mi away
Pegasus Suites & Spa
Pegasus Suites & Spa
#14 of 50 in Imerovigli
268 reviews
1.4 mi away
San Antonio Suites
San Antonio Suites
#11 of 50 in Imerovigli
644 reviews
1.4 mi away
Villa Renos
Villa Renos
#4 of 79 in Fira
788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Iconic Santorini, a boutique cave hotel
1.1 mi away
Anteliz Suites Santorini
3.2 mi away
Petit Palace Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Afroessa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Afroessa Hotel

Property: Afroessa Hotel
Address: Imerovigli 847 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Imerovigli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Imerovigli
#7 Romantic Hotel in Imerovigli
#15 Family Hotel in Imerovigli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Afroessa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel "Afroessa." Afroessa hotel praises romance. Our guests experience the exceptional view from our "old canavas" rooms, set atop Santorini's hillside. The original site of a winery built in 1700, it was renovated in 1998 on its existing foundation. Our ten studios, each with its own unique archway are built on five levels, with their own magical view of the Caldera. Each studio is individually decorated giving each its own distinct character, yet maintaining the traditional style. The beds are built into the foundations and the furnishings and decorations chosen so as to enhance the warm and romantic feelings created by the surroundings. The priceless moments which you will experience during the enchanting sunsets from your balconies and the relaxing pool bar, with chill-out music will forever remain in your memories, reminding you of the serene calm and magic of Afroessa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Bookgreece.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Afroessa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Afroessa Hotel Imerovigli
Afroessa Hotel Santorini/Imerovigli

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing