We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Million Dollar Views and Service”
Review of Afroessa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Afroessa Hotel
Ranked #9 of 51 Hotels in Imerovigli
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Million Dollar Views and Service”
Reviewed 21 September 2010

The Afroessa Hotel is a beautiful small hotel located on the hillside of Imerovigli. We stayed for 4 nights and were warmly welcomed by reception who provided some great advice for things to do and see on Santorini.

The service at Afroessa is nothing short of First Class, and amazingly Friendly - Well beyond our expectations - This is a well organised outfit who know how to cater for their guests. All necessary tourist information was also made available from the room.

We had the top room which made for easy access from the main road, but also meant a longer walk to the pool which is at the bottom of the hotel. We loved the layout of the room with the cave like feel and the raised bed and the kitchenette was a bonus. Although the room was clean, it is starting to show a few signs of wear and tear in the kitchenette and bathroom with a few bits and fittings being loose.

The pool was refreshing for the September heat, and although not large, was of an adequate size when compared to the average size of pools at neighbouring hotels - It was also less on display to foot traffic when compared to other hotels which was a bonus.

The View, Service and Value are the strongpoints for this hotel with the only suggested improvement being a freshen up to the bathrooms.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tmactraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

627 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    566
    54
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
37
507
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 12 September 2010

My husband and I just returned from our 4 day stay at the hotel Afroessa in Santorini. We normally travel a lot and I never get around or care about writing a review. This stay stands out and I feel compelled to write a review about the Afroessa.
Booking was seamless. I received a reply from Aliki and Amalia the very next day asking if there was anything they could do to help or if we needed a taxi.
We arrived on the early early flight from Athens at 6:15 am and were greeted by the hired cab at the airport that the hotel arranged. When we arrived at the hotel, Ioanna, the hotel manager, greeted us and made us cappuccino as we gazed out at the beautiful view from our room. Our room was already ready for us to check in as the folks checked out the night before. Having our room ready was a very welcome surprise.
After we took a nice nap, we went to the reception and met Aliki. Aliki was very informative and gave us her undivided attention. She told us all about the island and arranged for a rent a car. The rent a car folks gave us a great deal as well, given we were a little past the peak season.
The restaurants recommended were great. We went to La Maison. Amalia arranged for us to have a stellar view of the Caldera and the wait staff there was also very friendly. We also went to the Argo restaurant in Fira, which also had amazing food and great service. We unfortunately forgot the name of the recommendation in Ammoudi, but ended up going to the Sunset restaurant. Absolutely delish!
Aliki also recommended we do a semi private yacht through Santorini Sailing with Captain Ted. I unfortunately couldn't book it as they were having email issues the week before. We did our cruise with Sailing in Santorini, it was very nice, beautiful boat but the wait staff was not as exciting or outgoing as we had heard about Captain Ted's crew.
The staff at the Afroessa was top notch service. They made us feel number one and wanted us to enjoy our visit to the island, as much as possible. All the while with a smile on their faces. So friendly. Aliki and the staff at the Afroessa made our stay so much more special.
Oh, and not to forget about the beautiful view. The place was quiet and romantic. Off the beaten path so not a lot of foot traffic, but close enough distance to the restaurants in Imerovigli. Also not too long of a walk to Fira. We stayed in the Superior studio, room 2. We are so happy we chose to stay in Imerovigli. I first wanted to stay in Oia, but I think Imerovigli has a way better view and you are not paying Oia rates.
I definately recommend the Afroessa and would stay there again in a heartbeat.

Thank you everyone at the Afroessa, especially Aliki and Ioanna. Amalia, you were amazing too.

Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank karriemorozov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2010

We stayed in Afroessa for 3 days. All the reviews you read are true... The place is perfect, the location amazing... The sunset is private because all the rooms have their own balcony. The sun was really in front of us ( we went on Septemper)! The staff is very very friendly, pleasant and the most important ,always ready to help you. We have been in Santorini 5 times, we have stayed in many places (altana, art maison etc) but Afroessa hotel is our best place. Just a heaven on earth!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mariateo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 30 August 2010

The Afroessa was fantastic. Beautiful and very friendly service, great pool and just a perfect setting. The stff was super friendly and very helpful and we generally had a beautiful time. Imerovigli is just out of town enough to be quiet but there is enough to do right around it in terms of restaurants and little shops. If you stay in imerovigli you should definitely rent a car if you want to go anywhere - the buses never run on schedule and you have to switch to go anywhere in fira (sort of a pain). Other than that Santorini is pure heaven and the Afroessa completes the picture!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanna008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2010

We stayed here for 6 nights after spending 4 nights in Akrotiri in an equally great hotel (Apanemo), so our expectations were high. We were not disappointed with this quaint little find; it was clean with a personal touch, and had amazing views from the terrace/balcony. The swimming pool area was wonderful and quiet, yet the location was perfect to access the restaurants in Thira. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank littlemoggi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2010

We booked this hotel on the write ups we read.

We arrived via bus from the port which was an experience in its self due to the amazing views up to the hotel.
We were greeted by the hotel greek guy who shook our hands and took our baggage.

We arrived at the hotel which was empty, due to arriving in June. It was perfect. Imerovigli was the best place to stay in due to the best sunsets and most luxury hotels.. We are really glad we booked this hotel and this area... You will not regret this!.
The hotel was very comfortable, had a terrace with views to die for, and very comfortable bed.
The swimming pool was a great addition and we jumped into it as soon as we arrived... We were the only ones at the hotel for one day and there were few people there on our second day.

The owner of the hotel was not really interested in our stay or if we were comfortable but this was not an issue.

We would strongly recommend this hotel as it was much cheaper than the other ones that were perhaps a little more luxurious but double the price.

This is a good place to stay for a few nights.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greta S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
athanasaurus
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2010

What could I say that hasn't already been said? This is one of the most beautiful hotels I have ever stayed at, with a view that rivals any on the island. I looked at 40 or so hotels and apartments before staying at Afroessa, and was not disappointed. The photos on the website really can't do the hotel justice, as arriving there in person and entering the top level of the hotel will honestly take your breath away. Ioanna has truly created one of the loveliest hotel atmospheres on the island, and has put together the friendliest hotel team I've ever met.

I had planned to propose to my girlfriend at the hotel (again, forget the sunsets and tourist crowds at Oia-- the view from the Afroessa pool is just as good!), and the team of Ioanna, Aliki and Amalia did everything they could to ensure the answer was a resounding "Yes!". As luck would have it, Amalia is a wedding planner (her company is Poema Weddings and Special Events, www.poemaweddings.com), and she made sure everything at the hotel was perfect for our special night. While my girlfriend and I were having an unforgettable dinner at La Maison (a recommendation from Aliki-- do not question any of her recommendations, as she is always right about the best places to eat on the island, and will help you avoid the tourist traps!), the staff set up a flower bouquet and chilled champagne on our balcony, along with hundreds of flower petals, candles and other goodies in our room (they even put a cake in the fridge!). I proposed right there on the balcony on sunset, and my girlfriend was truly overwhelmed by it all, and of course...she said "YES"!

I can't wait to get back to this hotel some day, and I have already recommended it to everyone I know. Imerovigli is the perfect location in Santorini, and gives you the best the island has to offer (central location, easy to get to Oia or Fira, non-commercial, quiet, etc.). Do not stay in Fira, as it offers nothing but a headache, and no privacy at all. I have no doubt Afroessa should be a candidate on everyone's hotel list. I can't say enough about Afroessa and Ioanna, Aliki and Amalia, and will never forget my experience there.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank athanasaurus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Imerovigli
0.5 mi away
Pegasus Suites & Spa
Pegasus Suites & Spa
#18 of 51 in Imerovigli
294 reviews
0.3 mi away
Iconic Santorini, a boutique cave hotel
3.2 mi away
Petit Palace Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Anteliz Suites Santorini
0.2 mi away
Astra Suites
Astra Suites
#7 of 51 in Imerovigli
1,422 reviews
0.2 mi away
Iliovasilema Suites
Iliovasilema Suites
#21 of 51 in Imerovigli
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Afroessa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Afroessa Hotel

Property: Afroessa Hotel
Address: Imerovigli 847 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Imerovigli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Imerovigli
#7 Romantic Hotel in Imerovigli
#15 Family Hotel in Imerovigli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Afroessa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel "Afroessa." Afroessa hotel praises romance. Our guests experience the exceptional view from our "old canavas" rooms, set atop Santorini's hillside. The original site of a winery built in 1700, it was renovated in 1998 on its existing foundation. Our ten studios, each with its own unique archway are built on five levels, with their own magical view of the Caldera. Each studio is individually decorated giving each its own distinct character, yet maintaining the traditional style. The beds are built into the foundations and the furnishings and decorations chosen so as to enhance the warm and romantic feelings created by the surroundings. The priceless moments which you will experience during the enchanting sunsets from your balconies and the relaxing pool bar, with chill-out music will forever remain in your memories, reminding you of the serene calm and magic of Afroessa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Afroessa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Afroessa Hotel Imerovigli
Afroessa Hotel Santorini/Imerovigli

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing