We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Spiliotica on the Cliff
Certificate of Excellence
Wirral, England
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Beware”
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

This hotel caused my wife and I stress and disappointment by cancelling our booking just days before our holiday. We managed to book into another hotel but they too altered our room choice upon arrival. It seems that this practice is common in Santorini , they double book apparently, so be cautious when booking.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
11 Thank roger1361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    48
    21
    17
    20
See reviews for
23
135
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
408 reviews
229 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 294 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

The day before we were due to leave the UK, and 3 days from arriving at Spiliotica, I got a rather brief email from the hotel saying that they were closed due to some engineering issues. They said they’d offer an alternative hotel, but didn’t say which (there is a massive variety of hotel standards in Santorini, and we didn’t want to get a dud). I emailed them three times over the next few hours, as well as Expedia, to try to find out which hotel they would accommodate us in. Expedia were completely worthless, saying that they had no responsibility to provide alternative accommodation, unless I paid extra. I ended up cancelling and rebooking elsewhere. The hotel took 7 hours to reply to my emails, by which time I had rebooked. Terrible customer service from both hotel and Expedia.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank A380fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

The name is quite synonymous to the location of this hotel, the hotel is located at a cliff and you get a good lovely view of the sunset, volcano, other villages on the vicinity and also the cruise ships parked around the harbor.. We found the staff to be quite helpful & courteous.. Breakfast was, if not grand, was quite filling and rooms clean and airy. Washrooms were clean too though toiletries offered were limited in number.

Do remember that since it is on a cliff, you have to deal with a stiff climb, but it is manageable unless you have a very stiff knee. The flip side, didn’t find too many good eating options around the hotel, though both Fira & Oia are at easy accessible distance. In all, a good place to stay and will recommend for other travelers too.

Room Tip: Without fail, a room with the view of the volcano, that is why you have come to Santorini, so make t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DeepChoudhury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethesda, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Stayed here in October. The owner very nicely upgraded us to a suite since it was end of season. The views of the Caldera were incredible. There is a butte right in front of the hotel which we climbed and came across an amazing small church which was quite unexpected. The breakfast was pretty poor; minimal offerings and the coffee was cold, but it was included in the room, so hard to complain. The location for the view was excellent, but the weather was unseasonably cold and getting to Fira and Oia were long trips. The walk into Fira was on the road and difficult to navigate. The taxi into Oia was expensive ($25). Bathroom had a large rock in the ceiling and my 6'5" boyfriend found this to be understandably problematic. There was a water leak in our tub and we had to use all of the towels to wipe the floor. Would stay in Oia next time, but overall this was a decent hotel and we had a perfect spot to view the sunset. Santorini is gorgeous; wish we spent more time here!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PaulaJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Nothing special about this hotel. It doesn't have even a pool like they normally sell its rooms.
A very bad breakfast and absolutely not reach that in meanwhile I would say very very poor.
Nice staff and very helpful for the information they can give and among them Mr Christos that we didn't thank him leaving the hotel.
Cleanliness could be better.
Money for value so disproportional.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank runluke11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

What can I say, it is difficult to get a hotel room with a less than excellent view on Santorini. There is "sea view" which is looking towards the less desirable east side of the main island, and the "caldera view" which looks into the center of what was once the crater of a volcano. We had a caldera view. This is the view to have and afforded us a nice view of the sunset which is amazing.

The hotel rooms are cut into the side of the cliff and our room was a very nicely appointed "cave." For $100 a day, we had a large suite that had a queen sized bed, a fold-out sofa, refrigerator, two additional sofas, a private outdoor patio, a large bathroom that was nicely appointed. The room was very clean, comfortable, within walking (5 minutes) distance to three very nice not pricey restaurants, and two nice small grocery stores, and the view was amazing. The staff was courteous, informative, and attentive. They have their own restaurant which is fine for a light lunch, decent wine and drinks, but not fancy. The breakfast "buffet" was included, but was quite poor...cold scrabbled eggs, great yogurt, warm coffee, some bread, canned fruit cocktail...so breakfast was only just adequate...needs improvement. Our shower leaked onto the floor for no apparent reason, but hey, we were living on a cliffside, so it didn't really matter that much, as they gave us plenty of extra towels.

So, while breakfast was basically a no go and we had a little water on the bathroom floor, everything else was excellent and we have no regrets. I would stay there again, but just go out for breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigJimmy57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Breathtaking sunset view, you'll see FIRA and OIA if you hike to that mountain like structure in front of the hotel.

Best place to stay in Santorini if you'll be visting OIA and FIRA. The bus stop to OI and FIRA is just 10minutes away from the hotel. Sleeping quality was superb because it's the most peaceful place in Santorini. Breakfast is sumptuous, I love the greek yogurt!! The hotel is super clean, the rooms are well kept. It has a swimming pool/Jacuzzi, you won't miss it coz it's in the breakfast location area.


I would like to thank Christos and the rest of staff who made our trip in Santorini great and legendary!!

Highly recommeneded hotel. =)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KidClutch35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Imerovigli
0.3 mi away
Pegasus Suites & Spa
Pegasus Suites & Spa
#16 of 50 in Imerovigli
285 reviews
0.1 mi away
Iliovasilema Suites
Iliovasilema Suites
#21 of 50 in Imerovigli
420 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rocabella Santorini Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Iconic Santorini, a boutique cave hotel
2.9 mi away
Petit Palace Suites Hotel
0.2 mi away
Heliotopos Hotel
Heliotopos Hotel
#27 of 50 in Imerovigli
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spiliotica on the Cliff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spiliotica on the Cliff

Property: Spiliotica on the Cliff
Address: Imerovigli, Imerovigli 847 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Imerovigli
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 45 Speciality Lodging in Imerovigli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Spiliotica on the Cliff 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spiliotica on the Cliff is situated in Imerovigli village located at the highest point of Santorini's Caldera. All studios and suites offer views of the Caldera/Volcano and the island of Therasia. Hotel's facilities include free wi-fi in public areas, swimming pool and a pool bar. Studios and suites are nicely decorated with Greek Antiques. All units come with air condition, telephone, TV with satellite channels, safe, fridge, hairdryer and toiletries. Suites additionally offer an indoor or outdoor hydro massage. Enjoy your snack, coffee or drink at our hotel's terrace, offering unique views of the volcano and the famous Santorinian sunset. Hotel's restaurant "Blue Note" is located nearby. Hotel's reception can arrange cars and motorbike rentals as well as excursions and trips in nearby islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Bookgreece.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Spiliotica on the Cliff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spiliotica Traditional Apartments Hotel Imerovigli
Spiliotica On The Cliff Santorini/Imerovigli

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing